Skip to main content
Weddings

Susan La Reau Events Reviews

Susan La Reau Events

Susan La Reau Events

San Jose, CR
5.0 out of 5 rating, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

61 User photos

  • Bridget
    Bridget L. Married on 03/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most detail oriented wedding planner every!

    The best wedding planner! Susan is not only an amazing talented professional, she’s also such an amazing kind, patient and detail oriented person. She made the whole process of planning my wedding fun and stress free, especially having planned through the pandemic. From every vendor she recommended to every small detail, everything was so amazing. I can’t get over of how perfect was our wedding day was! It was beyond our expectations we had and even better than we had both visualized. Susan, we love you and we are forever grateful! If your looking for a wedding planner/destination planner you need to meet Susan!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    OMG You made my day! Thank you so much Bridget and Tom to take the time to share your experience here! I am truly blessed to have had the opportunity to plan your dream wedding! It was a pleasure working with both of you, it was so fun and easy to be part of your team! I cannot wait to have you come visit me in New England or in Costa Rica ! Cheers!
  • Paola
    Paola A. Married on 12/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    EPIC wedding!

    Susan was a delight to work with! Not only is she amazing but her whole team is too. They did a great job for our wedding in Costa Rica. We planned everything virtually and it turned out so so beautiful. It was a dream. I love the relationships she has with her vendors. She guided us throughout this process with an honest perspective.

    Super star team! Professionalism at its finest.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Pao and Brandon, where do I start. You are fun and kind and truly a dream couple! Your wedding was so beautiful and I had the best time putting together every detail of the big day while my team ran the day of the celebration. I wish you the best of this new stage of your lives together! Que Dios les bendiga su hogar!
  • Kristine
    Kristine Married on 09/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Savior

    We started working with Susan back in July of 2018 for our 2020 destination wedding in Costa Rica. She came with great reviews and was a recommended vendor at the Villa we chose for our venue. I interviewed a couple of Costa Rican wedding planners and Susan by far was the most genuine person I spoke with. We were on track with planning , then the pandemic hit. Through our roller coaster of deciding to post pone our wedding and even changing venues, Susan was with us and supported us each step of the way. Once we decided to change venues to Savannah, GA, (a city that was not in her portfolio) she was quick to find local vendors and venues for us in such a short turn around time. We eventually decided to post pone the wedding in Savannah to the following year and still she came through with everything we can ask for and more. Our parents and wedding party was so impressed with her. After the wedding we had “Susan withdrawals” because we worked with her for so long and she felt like a part of our family. She even followed up months after our wedding to check in on us and made sure we received all of our photos and videography. Our friends and family still reminisce about how beautiful and memorable our wedding was. I 110% recommend Susan for all your planning needs! You will not be disappointed!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Kristine and AJ! I miss you so much!!! Thank you for the beautiful testimony and kind words. It was a crazy and beautiful ride with uncertainty due the pandemic, but I am glad we were able to put together a memorable celebration!
    Cheers to many happy years ahead!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Hayley
    Hayley B. Married on 12/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Susan makes every wedding magical!

    I never thought that I would have hired a wedding planner—that is until I met Susan. I thought it would be easy to plan my wedding by myself (boy was I wrong) since I had a general idea of what I wanted it to look like but I wasn’t sure how I was going to accomplish it all. Before Susan and I started working together, I was stressed trying to find my vendors, book a venue, and how I would pull it all off.

    I hired Susan for full planning and design. She listened to everything I wanted and didn’t want. She took the ideas that before were just in my head and made them real life. She was the main point of contact for all the vendors which she recommended to me and we chose together. I honestly was never stressed about the wedding with her planning it! It was so nice to enjoy the rehearsal dinner without worrying if I had everything ready for the next day. It was even nicer when I got to sleep in and drink champagne with my bridesmaids while Susan worked her magic and put everything together.

    The day of the wedding, Susan took care of EVERYTHING! If something went wrong she had it fixed before I even knew and made sure I was having a good time. She provided a sense of relief and direction I didn’t even know I needed until after I hired her. On top of everything, she is the kindest soul and has the best personal style! I will forever be thankful for Susan that she created my dream wedding.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Hayley and Trent,
    Thank you very much for your kind works! I miss you already! I had the best time planning together your big day! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world :)
    You were gorgeous inside and out, not only on your wedding day but during all the planning. Thank you for the opportunity to plan your wedding day.
    xoxo

    Susan
  • A
    Ashley Married on 09/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful wedding planning experience bc of Susan!!

    My now hubby and I were in the beginning stages of our wedding planning when Susan was recommended to us. We looked at a few venues prior and selected a venue that recommended Susan. We were interested in finding someone who would help us with the details of planning. After having a conference call with Susan and telling her my vision and our wants for our wedding- I was really reassured and felt a lot better about the undertaking of wedding planning. My first call with Susan- I honestly felt like I had just got off the phone with a long time friend. Least to say, Susan left an impression. She is kind, professional, patient, trustworthy, and has an eye for detail (I promise). We hired Susan for full planning and design- reason mostly being a destination wedding. But I would 100% recommend her full planning because 1.) helping you organize the beginning stages and laying out a plan is key- she uses an incredible platform to stay organized 2. she offers a lot of reassurance for anything good or bad that comes up by quickly resolving issues and getting responses quickly 3. so many reasons, that after choosing her, you will know for yourself. In working with Susan, we were able to really appreciate all the effort planning our wedding took and to have someone care to make it even more beautiful and memorable than we could have imagined. If I could redo everything and have it turn out the same way- I would get married every weekend and this is because of Susan’s shear perfection!! She created what I never even dreamt- but in reality was ultimately my most perfect dream wedding. Thank you. You will not go wrong working with Susan!

    For the Brides- wedding day, I was in complete joy!! Day was perfection, the production of everything being set up was seamless thanks to Susan’s high attention for organization; paying the vendors wasn’t a terrible task because Susan ensured that everything was in order; Susan made our wedding run smoothly from beginning to end! Her personal touch- irreplaceable.

    Vernon wants to add- you should know that Susan cares. She aims for perfection and it is clear in her work. Because she cares- really- she’s priceless.

    Ashley & Vernon
  • Holly
    Holly Married on 07/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My Dream Wedding Went Off Without a Hitch!

    Susan worked tirelessly with me for months to create my dream wedding and it turned out absolutely perfect! From our initial FaceTime through every meeting leading up to the big day Susan was genuinely sweet and kind. She brought me a sense of calm and maintained poise and professionalism through all the troubleshooting that came along the way. She even got tough with vendors when it was necessary so I wouldn’t have to. Her talent for design and overall sense of style shined through the entire process and the end result was the most personalized and stunningly beautiful wedding I could have imagined. Hire Susan if you have absolutely no sense of design and can’t make decisions and trust her process. Also hire her if you know exactly what you want and she will execute every detail large and small. In either case you can’t lose with Susan! The weekend and day of our wedding Susan blew me away with her efforts. There was a package with our seating chart and table settings that did not arrive so Susan tracked down the package and picked it up! I forgot to buy 2 picture frames meant for our signature drink signs so Susan bought new ones and spray painted them gold to match our decor. Our guestbook was a watercolor portrait of our dogs (with the missing package mentioned before) but it was too wrinkled when she got it so she had the image printed out instead and it looked much better. Things that could have been major disappointments she solved immediately! To name a few things from the wedding day, she made sure our timeline ran smoothly, she took amazing pictures of us throughout so we would have something to look at while we wait for professional shots, she touched up my makeup after dancing, while taking photos I heard the DJ play a slower song but I wanted the party to amp up so Susan had him change it right away, she setup a marshmallow display for our fire pit that was lovely, and packed up absolutely everything (including the cake) and delivered it to me at our hotel the next day! Thanks to Susan my wedding was gorgeous and perfect because Susan worked to make sure any little hiccup was solved to the point where I didn’t even notice. I had a stress free, happy day thanks to her! You’re the best Susan!
  • H
    Heather Married on 08/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Susan for day of coordination. As a meeting and event planner myself, I knew that if I didn't hire someone, I would drown in the details and forget to enjoy our special day. Susan made that decision one of the best decisions we made and her professionalism and attention to detail was the perfect fit for my personality and our guests. From our first phone call to the night of the wedding, I never felt like I had to step in, and she truly allowed me to enjoy our day.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Heather and Wade,
    You were the most romantic couple ever! Thank you for letting me be part of your big day! Thanks for your kinds words! I had an amazing time working together! xoxo Susan
  • Amanda
    Amanda C. Married on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Experience

    Incredible Experience!!! Susan and her team were incredible to work with. Some brides have beautiful ideas and have a great visual, for me that was not the case. Susan and her team created a beautiful wedding for us. Her follow up, hand on, and detail was fantastic! Thank you Susan for your kindness and beautiful talent you created for us!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Amanda & Curt, thank you so much for your kind words and feedback!
    We had an amazing time planning your big day! Thank you for letting us be there by our side before and during the wedding day!
    You look stunning! I still cry with the video. You are adorable and I look forward to seeing you grow old together.

    xoxo

    Susan
  • T
    Trisha Married on 06/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It is hard sum up in words how phenomenal Susan has been and the fantastic service she provides…it really has to be experienced. Before Cary and I started working with Susan, we struggled to find a venue for our wedding and select vendors to work with (e.g., DJ, catering, photographer, videographer, rental equipment, hair and make-up, flowers, hotels for guests). With so many choices and decisions to make for a destination wedding, we didn’t know where to begin. Susan helped us immediately by giving us her recommendations for a venue and vendors that she worked with previously and thought highly of. Her recommendations saved us a lot of time and gave us peace of mind. Susan strengths are her attention to detail, organizational skills, excellent taste, creativity, patience, and professionalism. Susan kept us organized, on track, and within budget. Even though we planned our wedding a year and a half in advance, there was so much to do and time flies by. She kept us organized with to do lists and timetables. She would follow up with us to make sure we completed our tasks. She also coordinated everything and everyone for us. With so many details, it is so easy to drop the ball. She made sure everyone was in the loop. We invested in the full planning and design. We could not imagine having someone just handle the day of coordination since we lived far away and could not work with and communicate with many of the vendors in Spanish prior to the wedding. We were also able to enjoy ourselves and spend time with our guests on our wedding day instead of having vendors. Susan always knew exactly what needed to be done. Since she had been part of the planning process from the very beginning, she had been already working closely with the vendors. Susan is extraordinary planner, and we could not imagine pulling off this EPIC wedding without her. We and our guests came away feeling that we had the perfect wedding that set the new standard for weddings.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    At the beginning of our wedding planning journey, a friend told me the MOST important thing during planning was to get a good wedding planner, and she was right! We did most of our wedding planning ourselves but I reached out to Susan about her day-of services, and ended up hiring her for the month leading up to the wedding. She was helpful even before that, but kicked it into high gear 30 days out from the wedding. I needed the most help with coordinating all our vendors (we had a pretty DIY wedding, and our venue didn't have any kind of planner). She figured out scheduling, worked with our caterer to get the layout of the venue, and made sure all the vendors had everything they needed & got paid on time! On the day of she and her assistant Megan were extremely helpful and totally calm under pressure. Susan also had little ideas throughout the day for memorable photo opportunities, table name cards, center pieces, and more! We had multiple vendors showing up or leaving during the day, and she handled it all - I didn't feel nervous about anything after handing it off to her. The wedding went so smoothly and it wouldn't have been possible without Susan. The wedding was also outside and it rained for a chunk of the day but she was always ready to solve the next problem and make sure that nothing too difficult fell on me, my husband, or our parents. I highly recommend Susan's services for your wedding!!
  • M
    Megan Married on 04/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Susan is exactly what you need in a wedding planner!! The thought of planning a wedding was extremely overwhelming to me. Just thinking about it stressed me out. When my husband and I decided to do a destination wedding in Costa Rica, I knew immediately that I would need to find a wedding planner. Fortunately, my search was over when I found Susan. Her presentation, website and proposal for her services were very clear and well communicated. When I spoke with her on the phone, I immediately connected with her – which is very important for this type of service. She has a genuine sense of excitement, a calm demeanor and passion for what she does. These qualities blended together perfectly to create the best day of my life in Manual Antonio, Costa Rica. I hired Susan for both wedding planning and rehearsal dinner coordination services. She was very organized, kept things moving so that we wouldn’t be in a panic later and most importantly, she listened to what I wanted for my special day. I was always able to count on her for suggestions and input, when needed. Even when I didn’t want to make another decision on anything or didn’t think that some of the little details were that important Susan helped me through it! All the little details did matter and that is what separates a great wedding planner from all the rest – they pay attention to those special details that they know will make a difference! Susan was extremely professional throughout the whole process and truly made our wedding day completely unforgettable. I can’t tell you the number of compliments we received on everything from our guests. She made herself available and I knew I could call or e-mail her anytime. She also put us in touch with some great vendors and was very resourceful. For such a special day that is often one of the bigger expenses in a couple’s life, Susan was an amazing investment – worth her weight in gold! – and we made a friend along the way!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Megan & Jake! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind words with me! You are a memorable couple . You will always be in my heart and memories! Working with you planning your big day was so much fun! Thank you for letting me be part of your love story! With love, Susan
  • J
    Jackie Married on 10/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Josh and I were so lucky to have found Susan! She did an amazing job and has impeccable taste. Susan went above and beyond anything we could have imagined and was so kind, and sweet to work with. We had a 140 person wedding in Downtown Boston. She and her team coordinated all of the details flawlessly. Four weeks before the wedding we decided we needed a day-of coordinator which brought us to Susan. Having a perfect event is so important to Susan that she did far more than most event planners offer for this service. She was extremely organized and had all of the details laid out on a digital platform that all parties involved could access to review and adjust as desired! I never imagined a stress-free wedding day but Susan made that happen. I most highly recommend Susan. She was truly wonderful and is just an all-around great person to work with.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Jackie and Josh,

    It means the world to me that you took the time to write such a nice review. I enjoyed every single part of the planning and the day of. You look absolutely gorgeous! I wish you the best on your new journey together! Blessings!

    Susan
  • J
    Jackie Married on 01/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Susan paid attention to every single detail. Our guests were amazed by how everything looked, tasted and sounded! Her recommendations made all the difference!
  • A
    Abby Married on 11/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Susan was amazing! We interviewed several wedding planners after we got engaged and Susan stood out with her professionalism, attention to detail, availability, and network of contacts. The most important thing to us was that all 70 of our guests would feel welcome and have fun, which was no small feat since we were mixing languages, cultures, families and friends. It would not have been possible without Susan bringing Susan on board as our full service wedding planner. With years of experience, she knows what works and what doesn't, and kept us on track for 10 months. She helped us bring some of our non-traditional (i.e. weird) ideas to life in a way that was fun for our us and our guests. Beyond her professional credentials, we felt like Susan really cared for us and was cheering us on in the lead up to the wedding day. We can't recommend Susan highly enough!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Abby & Rodrigo, I have no words to tell you how happy I feel every time I remember your wedding day and all our Skype planning session! :) I had so much fun planning your wedding day! I still go trough the pictures and just smile more and more after every photo I see. You both rock! Your Wedding Planner, Susan Flores
  • M
    Melissa Married on 05/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Susan Flores events helped us to plan the best time of our lives one year ago. She listened to all our ideas and gradually converted that ideas in the best day of our lives and it was even better than we imagined it. My husband Alexander and I recommend Susan, we don't overpass our budget and the most important thing was that we did not worry about that day and we enjoyed every detail from our wedding! Thank you very much
  • A
    Andrea Married on 01/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Susan was the best wedding planner we could ever think of. She helped us plan every detail and was completely available for calls, emails, and messages in what I will call after office hours. My husband and I felt very special counting with her on our wedding day, she made sure everything happened flawlessly and every detail we planned showed up. Our guests were impressed with all the planning and for sure we will remember this day as one of the best days in our lives. Thank you Susan for being part of this day!

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Andrea and Mike,

    Thanks so much for your kind note! I had an amazing time planning with you both your big day. I am glad to know you did as well!
    With Love,
    Susan
  • E
    Etty Event on: 09/15/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The event was in a hotel and Susan was extremely helpful coordinating it with them.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Etty, It has great working together planning your son's Destination Bar Mitzvah! I had a great time and l am glad everybody enjoyed it!

    My best!

    Susan
  • D
    Denisse Married on 03/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are planning a wedding, you MUST allow Susan to plan and coordinate your dream wedding. She assisted us with our wedding in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. The ceremony was on the beach and reception at a Beach club. She was very professional and always available through e-mail or phone. She took the time to visit vendors with me and carefully help me with all the selections. The day of the wedding she did an awesome job taking care of all the details before, during and after the event, she was awesome adjusting to the changes as they arise. Her flexibility and attention to detail is upstanding. Susan has a true passion for weddings and events and you will find out during your first interaction with her. Her great customer service set her aside from other wedding planners. I have been working in the Hospitality Industry for more than 11 years and Susan really stands out from other planners I met in the past, and that is why we choose her to help us with our dream wedding in Costa Rica. Simply awesome! Words can't express how grateful we were to have Susan!.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Denisse & Chris. Your destination wedding was memorable! I loved every single detail of it! Thank you very much for letting me be part of such a milestone! I wish you the best and many blessings in your life together. Pura Vida! Susan Flores
  • B
    Becky Married on 01/07/2017
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Susan to plan our wedding in Costa Rica was the best decision we could have made! She turned our vision of a dream wedding into a reality. She’s very organized, knowledgeable, and connected with great vendors to choose from. Susan was always available for questions or to hear our ideas, and was kind and accommodating when we changed our minds, which happened quite often. On the day of our wedding, Susan and her staff made sure that everything happened on time and we heard over and over from our guests that it was one of the best weddings they’ve ever attended.

    Susan La Reau Events's reply:

    Becky and Justin,

    I loved every single detail of planning your big day! From the menu tastings and the decor design to the moment I saw you walking down the aisle! Over 100 people together to celebrate with you your destination wedding shows how everybody loves and support your love! I wish you many more blessings in your life together! xoxo Susan
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message