Weddings

Susan Kane Catering Reviews

Susan Kane Catering View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

30 User photos

Sort by:
  • Bob
    Bob B. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Susan was phenomenal.

    Susan was phenomenal. She guided us through a very complex time to be having a wedding reception. She was always patient and took great care in meeting our needs. of the several caterers I called, Susan was the only who who was proactive and immediately had great ideas for our event. I would contract her again.

    Susan Kane Catering's reply:

    So kind of you Bob. I am forever grateful. We had a great relationship throughout planning Emma's wedding. It meant everything to me. Stay safe and God Bless all of you. I shall cherish this for a very long time. Susan Kane
  • D
    Dacia J. Married on 09/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply Amazing

    I called Susan Kane Catering about eight weeks before my wedding. Which was originally scheduled to be at a venue and with this pandemic, everything was cancelled. She responded quickly to my email.
    Our first phone conference I indicated the amount of people and elegant backyard setting I wanted for our wedding. We created a customized menu and Susan guided me with options that would work for the guests etc. next we had a phenomenal tasting of (crab cakes, mini angus burgers, shrimp cocktail shooters, Mac and cheese, spinach empanadas and a puff pastry). Susan arrived to our home on time, served the above-mentioned appetizers. We booked her the same day.
    We then have endless communication with our menu, in addition Susan assisted us with linens, tables, chairs, tents, drink wear etc for the wedding.
    Our wedding day was perfect, guests enjoyed the food (which included a wide variety of desserts all prepared by Susan), the wait staff, bartender, everyone on her team were professional and catered to all of our guests needs.
    We highly recommend Susan and her team to any bride looking to have a catered wedding with great tasting food and professional staff. I can’t stop raving about how good the food was and our guests have since requested her information for future events. You will not be disappointed in the least with Susan Kane Catering, she was hands on even though she had her staff covering all of the bases.
  • Liz
    Liz B. Married on 09/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Food, Amazing People

    Susan Kane really allows you to put your own personal touch on your food (your favorites!). Her food is out of this world delicious. She has a heart of gold and is willing to help you however you need. I highly recommend her!
  • B
    Betty V. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and service

    Great personality awesome food excellent service. Great experience

    Susan Kane Catering's reply:

    You are a sweetheart. Thank you so much for having us on your special day. Will always remember this experience that we shared. Susan Kane
  • Ted
    Ted L. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Local Favorite!

    As a local favorite, Susan came highly recommended. After trying to start a dialog with other caterers in the area who didn't make our wedding a priority due to its small size, Susan took a very personalized approach and made us feel very well cared for.

    Working with our burdget and venue, Susan showed us her special skills as coordinator by arranging a florist and rental furniture company that matched her standards of excellence.

    Most impressive is her cuisine! Comprised of classic dishes with unique flavor fusions, our guests found the food to be World-class!

    Susan's experience showed at every stage in the planning process and on the day. Her team of waiters, bartenders and cooks was led by a Captain who was able to realize our unique vision for the dinner and reception. We can testity that Susan will go an extra several miles for her clients and as you will see in the photos we have shared here, the results were truly FIVE STAR!

    Susan Kane Catering's reply:

    Wow! This is truly awesome you too. Miss both of you so much. Thanks thanks Thanks. Fondly Susan
  • L
    Lauren Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan and her staff were amazing. They were professional, friendly and made our wedding a memorable event. Susan was flexible when we needed to add a few last minute guests and she and her team were attentive and totally in sync with passing of the food during cocktail hour and keeping the flow of the evening on point. Everything we choose was delicious and exceeded my expectations. We would recommend Susan Kane Catering to anyone needing her services. We would hire her again for any event we needed catering!
  • Stacy
    Stacy Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    We got married this past July in Ridgefield, CT at Lounsbury House. Susan came highly recommended by them. We were blown away at the tasting and signed with her on the spot. My father is a chef and my husband and I love to cook. Great food was at the top of our list and Susan delivered. She was wonderful to work with and all of our guests said it was the best food they've had at a wedding. Susan was so helpful in getting our menu together and accommodating all our needs and some special requests from guests. Her staff was very attentive. We recommend her highly.
  • N
    Natacha T. Married on 07/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Nat and Mark Wedding, May 2018

    I am so glad Susan was available to cater my wedding. I did not have a wedding planner, and Susan has helped me so much throughout the process. She is very flexible, responsive , and fun to work with. The food was amazing. Thanks so much Susan .
  • D
    Daniel M. Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond

    If I could clone susan I would make her my wedding planner as well as caterer. She was so helpful with the staging of our event, and was not afraid to suggest new ideas we never thought of. She was professional from the tasting at her kitchen, and even was clever enough to put aside some sliders my wife and I missed during our photos. She provided peace of mind and thorough follow through on the promise she made to make the event sparkle.
  • Katie
    Katie M. Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Over delivered people still talk about the food and amazing staff

    Susan was a dream amazing ideas and really helped manage the wending “planner “ who fell short. Pricing could have been a little clearer, but I would have paid double for her services!
    Extremely grateful and highly recommend her.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan Kane Catering catered our wedding, Susan is very easy to talk to and quickly replied to emails and phone calls. We especially liked that she worked with us when we told her about our budget.
    We liked that there was a vast choice of different buffet selections and passed hors d’oeuvres for cocktail hour. Our guests thought everything was delicious!
    If we need catering again, we will call her.
  • K
    Kurt Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan Kane catered our wedding and she was instrumental in making our special day most memorable! Her food was very tasty and the her staff is awesome! They are courteous, accommodating , very professional! I would not hesitate to contract her again for any event! Thanks Susan!
  • User2026511 Event on: 01/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hosted a seated dinner party and Susan Kane catered the evening for us--every thing was excellent! We were thrilled with the quality of the food preparation and the professionalism of the servers. We had a wonderful evening!
  • User2027026 Event on: 12/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    my firm has used Susan for our summer parties and client events, her staff has always been very professional, the food is fabulous and her prices are not unreasonable. I highly recommend Susan for your catering needs, she is very organized and helps you plan the event. She also assists with any rentals you may need.
  • P
    Pamela Event on: 12/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan was wonderful and her food is outstanding. Her staff was very professional. We had a wonderful evening.
  • G
    Gay Event on: 11/29/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan Kane provided a fabulous dinner for a special birthday celebration I hosted for 35 guests in my home last fall. She thought of every detail, she was wonderful to work with, and could not have been more helpful! Her Salmon, Filet, & Scalloped Potatoes were absolutely delicious and everyone raved about them all. I look forward to working with her again!
  • K
    Karen Event on: 09/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan and her staff were on time and extremely professional. Helped with decorations setup to break down. She can handle a small dinner party to a big Holiday or Corporate Party. She is very responsive to dietary restrictions as well.
    I will definitely hire her again!
    Karen K
  • User2026524 Event on: 12/19/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Susan and her staff provided a relaxed atmosphere that was wonderful for this busy Holiday Season.
    The food was abundant and the presentation impressive. Simple yet elegant. Susan is always ready to respond with intelligence and experience to back her up. Thank you for a wonderful party.
  • Liza
    Liza L. Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing

    Susan Kane just catered my wedding for my husband and I on Saturday September 11th. We had a gorgeous wedding outside in Niantic at McCook Park. It is very hard to have an outside wedding these days and having the menu that we really wanted. We had an appetizer wedding which included a lot of high-end appetizers. We had some issues with the rentals that I got from Taylor Rental but Susan and her staff made it work and the food was absolutely amazing. Their staff hustled all day and everyone enjoyed their scrumptious and delectable food!! If you think you can't have an elegant wedding outside, think again. We had everything from tuna, lobster rolls crab cakes pulled chicken, beef sliders, Etc. The charcuterie station was to die for!! You cannot believe the amount of food that we had and the quality. Everyone was over the moon. Thank you Miss Susan!!!
  • Janice
    Janice A. Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Helpful Staff and Delicious Food!

    I really loved my experience with Susan because she was willing to work closely with me in creating the perfect reception for our wedding. Our wedding was a bit different because the guests were comprised of people who were used to a very Korean-style wedding and culture as well as people who were used to a very American-style wedding and culture. Susan was open to changing her approach in order to suit the needs and style of our wedding, while also balancing her desire to make sure that the event was held to a high standard. I valued her feedback and input greatly because there were several decisions she helped us make that made the flow of the reception go smoothly. Also, when I met her staff on the day of the wedding I was so impressed at their professionalism, kindness, and warmth. They worked really hard to set up all the tables and centerpieces the way I envisioned, and they really impressed (and surprised) me with how beautifully they decorated the sweetheart table - especially since my friend had brought a lovely sign for decoration! They each made me feel that they wanted the best for us and our guests and it made our experience with Susan Kane Catering very memorable!

    We were also very impressed with the quality of the food - Susan worked with us to make sure that we had delicious options for everyone. When we asked for a vegetarian option, she created an incredibly tasty (and popular) pasta dish! It was actually my favorite thing on the menu, as well as the rolls with butter. My husband's favorite dish was the NY style skirt steak! And the guests, both Korean and American, loved all the different dishes, which was something I had been worried about. So if you are looking for a wonderful caterer who will work with you to make your experience memorable, then look no further - I highly recommend you hire Susan Kane Catering!
  • T
    Tatsiana Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan and her crew were amazing! I couldn't wish for better on my wedding day.
    Susan was responsive to all our comments regarding the menu and set up. I felt so comfortable leaving all the logistics in Susan and Dawn's capable hands, that on the actual day I literally could sit back and enjoy my bridal status.
    The food was great and Susan made sure to customize the menu based on our personal preferences.
    If I had to do this all over again, I wouldn't pick anybody else.
  • User2026497 Event on: 10/07/2012
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Susan is a please to work with. She is an outstanding caterer, food is top notch!
  • Joey
    Joey Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wei and I were so fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with you leading up to our wedding day! You took the time to break down every aspect of our day piece by piece to the point where we could visualize everything. It made the entire process much easier and gave the both of us peace of mind in knowing that you had everything under control. Your knowledge of the industry was so helpful to us all throughout the planning process.

    On the wedding day I witnessed everyone so pleased with the food. It was such a great display in addition to being very tasty. Your staff was very polite, and knew their way around the venue which was nice. I could tell you took time to build a quality team. Well dressed, proper, polite to the guests, helpful and conscious of everyone’s needs. All in all, a great experience! I already know two family members planning to contact you for upcoming events. Thanks you, Susan!
  • Kristen
    Kristen G. Getting married on 10/07/2022
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Beware of unreliability

    I had tried to connect with Susan for my wedding since my venue requires us to hire an outside catering service. I was really excited to speak with her, since I saw for the most part great reviews and the pictures of her food looked delicious. We had a scheduled phone call to discuss what my fiancé and I would like to have on our menu, and she was extremely flustered. You can tell in her voice her mind was elsewhere and rambling on about things that were not even relevant on what we were talking about. Kind of felt like she had to gloat about all of the catering she did over the weekend, instead of talking about what WE would like on our special day as future husband and wife. She then promised us a first draft of our menu two days after we spoke on the phone.... Guess what, over six weeks have passed and no rough draft, no communication whatsoever. Even tried getting in touch with her asking where the menu was, and no response. Luckily my wedding is two years away, so I am in no rush... but if you need a caterer ASAP that is reliable, and trustworthy, DO NOT USE SUSAN KANE.

    Susan Kane Catering's reply:

    Dear Kimberly

    I am reaching out to you for a few reasons. I had not purposely placed your daughter on the back burner. With the Covid for I had gotten extremely busy helping wedding couples that lost everything their deposits their venues and so much more. I have been catering small outdoor weddings since the end of June 2020 and had not stopped. And continuing to do so through this November. My daughter was recently diagnosed with Acute Lymphoma Leukemia as well and were making trips to California to be by her side. She is at Sanford University Hospital. Also all of my 2020 weddings postponed to 2021 so this has consumed all of my time and working 10 x's harder. I never meant to neglect Kristen what so ever. We did have an awesome conversation. Forgive me for
    not completing their 1st draft menu and contract proposal. Also being 2 years out I felt I had time. And I never heard back from you Kimberly with you on a response to my initial emails. I would be more than happy to revisit all of this with Kristen and Michael. My daughter Naomi is very ill and she is all that I have. Kindly Susan Kane
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 0.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    Susan Kane booked another wedding the day of our wedding. We only saw her the first few minutes of our reception and then she left to do the other wedding. Her captain that was left in charge could not get it together our food was not replenished quick enough, we (the bridal party) did not get enough food during the cocktail hour in the bridal suite, food was not passed around our entire reception and guests were left out, the captain was not calling the tables accordingly and left most of our guests sitting waiting to be called for food, the champagne was not poured for our toast, our coffee was not passed out nor was our cake which left us with an insane amount of leftover cake. At the end of the night after being given a $300 tip for the staff the captain handed our tip back over and demanded $500 which was not only rude, but extremely unprofessional and tacky. I will NEVER hire Susan Kane again EVER!