Susan Deborah Bridal Reviews

16 | Rochester, NY
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Susan Deborah Bridal

Recommended by 60%

16

3.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Professionalism 3.0
  • Flexibility 2.9
  • Value 3.1
  • Average response time 3.0
Sort by:
  • E

    Eileen · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm truly shocked by some of the negative reviews I've seen for Susan Deborah, so I'd like to share my amazing experience with anyone thinking of booking an appointment here. The selection of dresses is what first drew me to the salon, with designers like Alvina Valenta, Lazaro, Jim Hjelm, and others that I was hard pressed to find anywhere else. I'd been shopping at 3 other stores before Susan Deborah, 2 in Saratoga Springs and one in Manhattan, ad I have to say that Chela's selection of dresses is just amazing. These are high quality designer gowns, though not all come with a crazy high price tag. I remember trying on one for a little less than 2,000 before I found my dream Ulla Maija gown for 5,000. The dress has always been incredibly important to me, and I made sure to budget for plenty of room in that area, cutting corners in others. When it comes to service, Chela and her staff are nothing but accomodating,, and so knowledgeable! From the gowns to the shoes to veils and accessories and even how to wear your hair for each, Chela is a woman who knows what she's talking about. While my bridesmaids wanted a shop closer to home to search for their gowns, we went right back to Susan Deborah when it was time to look for my mother's. As someone coming from over 2 hours away this shop is absolutely worth it. My first fitting will be in 3 months, though I've already had the chance to meet their seamstress and discuss changes I want to make to the dress - she knew exactly how to alter the style to get the perfect fit and cut I want. I absolutely recommend - I've never come across a bridal salon that knows their stuff like Susan Deborah. 5 stars all the way!

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I came here to get my dress after going to over 10 other dress boutiques the woman I worked with looked at me immediately and my body type and she pulled four dresses out of that four dresses I was able to choose the dress of my dreams!! they were so sweet and so nice to me there and really made me feel good about my body type! If you were looking for wedding dresses out and don't know where to go because you run out of options go here be treated well and they also do alterations there as well and they do not charge you an absurd amount of money and tthey will make sure that your dress fits you perfectly

    Sent on 08/28/2017
  • J

    Juliann · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you would like personalized service and high quality, Susan Deborah is the place to go. I tried dresses on at some of the larger bridal stores, but did not get the same welcome that I did at Susan Deborah. I am very happy with the quality of the dress and veil. The dress was stunning and the fit was fantastic for the ceremony and reception. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • D

    Deanna · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am pretty shocked at the amount of poor reviews Susan Deborah has. Having had a wonderful experience with this store and its employees, I would like to attempt to set the record straight.

    Susan Deborah Bridal is a "JLM Couture" boutique. Chela carries Jim Hjelm, Lazaro and Alvina Valenta, just to name a few. None of these gowns come cheap and I would be hard pressed to say that you can find a gown of one of these names for under $3,000.

    With that being said, I had my heart set on an Alvina Valenta gown. However, I was well aware of the cost associated with an Alvina gown before going into this store. Chela is very honest when it comes to price (she will tell you if you are wasting your time at the store) and style (she will tell if you something does or does not look good on you). Personally, I'm a blunt person and very much appreciate this level of honesty. In fact, I can't stand when salespeople say you look great to make a sale.

    With that being said, being a smaller framed individual, I know that I wanted a cap sleeve dress because that style is more flattering. I really dislike strapless dresses. I made sure to tell Chela this and she was over-the-moon I agreed with her, saying it would not flatter my frame. Therefore, I would recommend understanding your price point and being ready for some honest, professional fashion advice before visiting.

    All in all, these ladies were wonderful, including the alterations team. I ended up with a unique dress that very much flattered my frame and fit my style. My dress fit my like a glove. This beauty will definitely be getting preserved!

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • M

    Leah · Married on 08/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My dress started life out as a strapless wedding gown and ended as a high neck, three quarter length sleeved beautiful wedding dress! My mom and I walked into the store on a whim a week and a half after I got engaged and walked out having found both a mother-of-the-bride dress and my wedding gown. We both tried on only one dress based on the owner's recommendation and couldn't have been happier. I only had a 4 month engagement, and they completed everything in plenty of time.
    No one could tell that my dress was a build up--I got, and still get, dozens of compliments on the dress. I think the seamstress did an absolutely beautiful job. She listened to what I wanted and it turned out beautifully.

    Sent on 10/23/2011
  • M

    Mary · Married on 12/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If the bride, her family and bridal party want that unique experience, quality and fashionable attire, knowledgeable and professional bridal consultants, Susan Deborah Bridal is the hidden gem in upstate New York. I was recommended by a previous bride of Susan Deborah's. I am so pleased I listened and made my appointment. Chela listened to my "dream wedding" expectations and guided me to the perfect bridal gown and accessories that fit my style and enhanced the beauty of my wedding day! Thank you!

    Sent on 11/18/2016
  • User2936151 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The two women at Susan Deborah Bridal are INCREDIBLE. I was very nervous about finding the right dress for my body and I only tried on two and felt like a princess. I can't express how good they are at not only helping you find your perfect dress but making it yours. Both my sister and I got our wedding dresses there and could not have been happier.

    Sent on 01/04/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/23/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My mother and I went to Susan Deborah expecting just to look, as I had only gotten engaged the week before. I had some idea of what I liked but not exactly. When I met Chela and told her my vague ideas, she said she knew exactly what I should get. The very first dress I put on was so perfect my mother and I both had tears in our eyes. Chela insisted that I try on 2 more just to be sure, and they were lovely but I had my heart set on the first one. It was about $1000 out of our price range, but Chela offered to sell me the sample for a price much closer to my budgeted amount. She stored the dress for me at no cost for close to a year. The seamstress had to take the dress in 2 sizes (did I mention it was a lace dress) and hem it several inches. This involved snipping off the existing lace hem, removing the extra inches of lace, then reattaching the lace hem. The top was also entirely lace and she had to almost entirely reconstruct the high neck and cap sleeves to fit my body. When I went in for the next to last fitting, she could see that the cap sleeves were uncomfortable so she took them apart in front of me and reworked them into straps. When I went to pay, I was surprised to find Chela had given us a discount on the alterations! I was extremely pleased with the final product and the service I received at Susan Deborah.

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • E

    E · Married on 05/21/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was a little skeptical going here after the poor reviews I had seen online, but I checked it out. The women that work there are brutally honest, but I loved it. My dress fit me perfectly and I felt like royalty on my wedding day! I recommend this place if you would like 1:1 attention in every step of the dress process.

    Sent on 06/03/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/11/2013

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I was really disappointed by Susan Deborah. The woman Chela was by nice in the beginning but then it was all down hill. They made me feel like I was stupid sometimes. I called to make my first fitting and they told me they did Mon-Friday until 3:30... I am a teacher and that did not work in my schedule. Then I did make my appointment for a Sunday and noticed a spot of glue on my veil she said she would fix and never did. When I called about it she said she tried but couldn't get it. Ten my bridemaids got their dresses from here and many had length added because they are so tall. Two bridesmaids paid for length but none was added. When I called after wedding to tell Chela all of these things she just said "no dear." Two of my bridesmaids had elate rations done here and they moved the slight train from their dresses because the seamstress said that's what the bride wanted- they never asked me about it!!!!!!!

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • Paula

    Paula Janowsky · Married on 10/28/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Run away now

    Short story: RUN AWAY NOW. If I could give zero stars, I would! You will not be treated with respect. Horrible service. They talk down on you. We were rushed out of there. And they do not care what you are looking for, only what THEY think will look good on your body.

    Long story: We booked an appointment at Susan Deborah to look for a wedding dress. We entered the store and were met with the older woman (presumably the owner) and did not even get a 'hello'. No small talk, no 'how are you', not even the question of what type of dress are you looking for or talks of budget. Off to a great start.

    She immediately brings the bride over to some dresses and starts looking at them. The woman starts pulling dresses, still not really saying much or asking the bride her preferences. The bride starts talking about the style of dresses she likes. The woman responds saying how she will pick dresses that she thinks will look good on her. Ok, judgy. Next, the bride mentions her budget. The woman turns and says "All our dresses are made in the US and are high quality. For your budget you can get a dress from China". She turns and continues to pick out dresses for the bride without considering her thoughts or opinions.

    So, after learning her dresses are all $3,000 + we (bridesmaids and family) start pulling dresses ourselves. This is one of the brides' first appointments, so we are still trying to figure out what fit and style she likes. We explained this to the woman. The bride asks if we can just leisurely look around and pick some dresses. She snapped back and said "NO do not touch the dresses. I am trying to find something you can afford."

    Looking back, I'm not sure how we didn't walk out right there and there.
    Onto the dress fitting, where the bride tries on a couple of dresses that do not even fit over her head. She is very average sized, maybe a size 6, but I think all the dresses in the shop were a size 0 or 2. At one point I go to grab a dress that looks like something the bride would like. The woman comes over and says "No, she can only try on 5 dresses". She did not tell the bride this. And what shop has a 5-dress rule? So, what next, if we didn't find The One, we're SOL? It was obvious she just wanted us to leave. I have never heard of booking an appointment for a time frame yet only being allowed to try on a certain number of dresses.

    We were out of there within 15 minutes. We all left angry and frustrated. What a waste of time. To the shop owner: Do not treat your clients like they are lesser than you. If you were welcoming and listened to the bride's preferences, you never know, you could have sold the bride on a dress over her budget.

    I do not know how this woman keeps business. Please save yourself the stress and DO NOT GO HERE. You will not be treated with respect.

    Sent on 06/17/2019
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 08/20/2016

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Horrible customer service. I went here for my bridesmaid dresses, and chose this salon because they were the only place in WNY that sells Amsale dresses. The dresses were gorgeous, but every time we went in to try things on and pick up the dresses they were so rude. I ended up pulling things and helping the girls because the employees at the store would not give us the time of day (even though I called ahead and made sure they knew I was coming with all 11 of my bridesmaids). No one helped us at all and they even tried kicking us out of the dressing room because a bride was going to need it in 2 hours. I would not recommend them at all, I think they treated us so horribly because I didn't buy my wedding dress there, but we were also purchasing 11 very expensive dresses and should have been treated with a little more respect. The dresses were gorgeous, but I would recommend driving to Toronto if you want to get the Amsale designer and definitely not this place.

    Sent on 09/10/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/29/2013

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I made my very first appointment to try on wedding dresses at Susan Deborah Bridal. My mother and sister flew in and we drove up on a Saturday afternoon excited to begin my search for the perfect dress. We had an appointment at Susan Deborah for 2pm. After brief introductions, Chela at the front desk could not have been more rude and inhospitable. She was disgusted by our price range and at one point scolded my sister (who is a desinger herself) for touching the bag of a particular dress I was interested in. She hurried us out of the store after trying on one dress and refused to show us anything else.

    We drove up the street to Juliana's and had a fantastic afternoon. The staff and Juliana's were so accommodating and friendly and we ended up spending top dollar for an Anne Barge dress -- and were pleased to do so in honor of the exemplary customer service and friendly demeanor of the staff. DO NOT go to Susan Deborah... it was such an unfortunate way to start the exciting process of finding a wedding dress. I was also sad to see the way Chela (at Susan Deborah Bridal) treated my mother and sister. It was demeaning and it really broke my heart on what should have been one of the most memorable days of my life.

    Sent on 03/22/2013
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 08/04/2018

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    My daughter went in for a head piece to wear to a wedding. She did not take the time to thoroughly read what she signed when she put the piece on the credit card. That was her mistake. BUT - she thought she was purchasing an inexpensive headpiece. Once she got home, she realized it was $400. The store was closed by then. She immediately went back Monday morning (today) and the woman refused to take the piece back. When I called the store myself and asked her to respectfully reconsider as my daughter cannot afford a $400 purchase, she said too bad, she signed a contract. I believe that this is an unacceptable way to do business. They must not have many sales if they need to take advantage of people like this. I told the woman I would leave this kind of review and she said go ahead and do whatever you want. Nice...

    Sent on 07/30/2018
  • User3077174 · 2+ years ago

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    When we arrived at the store we were greeted so warmly by and elderly lady with an accent. She asked my sister when and where she was having her wedding. She picked out two big ball gowns and quickly turned down my sister after she asked for one with lace. The lady was pushy but still very nice. After my sister tried on the second gown the old lady asked my parents if they had a price point and my parents told her 2,000 but if she found something she really liked they would talk about it. Well at that point our appointment was as good as over she shouted in disgust "I have nothing for you in that price range not even close!" She made my parents feel awful. I think she could have handled herself in a more polite and professional manner. The thing is she didn't even give anyone time to explain that my sister was going to contribute as well and that her price point would have been well over 2,000 dollars. They must make enough money there because they turn away people a lot. There was a group of people in front of us who left upset.

    Sent on 02/19/2013
  • bride

    lisa · Married on 08/16/2009

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Do yourself a favor and don't get your dress there! The owner and seamstress were incredibly rude! The seamstress did such a horrible job altering my dress that she absolutely ruined it! She was a complete moron! She told me she does A+ work sometimes and sometimes she does a C but she'll do her best. The work on my dress gets an F!!!! She kept saying she would make it better but it was unwearable! The gusset she put was a different color than the dress! Finally I gave up 3 days before the wedding because I knew she wouldn't have it ready ontime if I kept counting on her so I had to go dress shopping 3 days before my wedding. These women caused me far more stress than a person should endure before their wedding!!!! They won't even refund my money because the dress has been altered....even though the alterations ruined the dress! You should go to Heart to Heart Bridal in Manchester. That is where I went 3 days before my wedding and she had the dress perfect and ready the next day! (I decided to go there because that's where my mom got her dress for my wedding and loved it there!)

    Sent on 09/03/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review