Weddings

Surf and Sand Resort Reviews

Surf and Sand Resort

Surf and Sand Resort

Laguna Beach, CA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 42 Reviews
View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 42
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

24 User photos

Sort by:
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay C. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hosting our wedding at Surf & Sand Resort was easily the single best decision we made throughout the entire wedding planning process.

    In January 2019, we visited Surf & Sand and met with Alana for a tour. She showcased the beautiful property and explained all of the costs and minimums associated hosting our wedding. It was stunning and within our budget and quickly became an instant "yes" for our original date in April 2020. Trust me, you cannot beat the magic that exists at Surf & Sand, especially for the price (compared to other resort weddings in the area). As you may remember, a global pandemic came through and ruined our plans. Immediately, Alana helped us pivot and reschedule our wedding for later that summer. This was during March 2020, the beginning phase of the pandemic, when nobody knew anything about how long it would last or what rules would dictate and all I was reading were horror stories from other brides online. This whole process with Surf & Sand was absolutely seamless. We originally booked an off-peak date and were given a peak date to accommodate without extra fees. As the late summer date loomed closer without any end in sight for the pandemic, we opted to postpone a second time, to July 2021. This, again, was absolutely seamless. Alana was always quick to answer my questions via email and was immensely helpful throughout the entire TWO AND A HALF YEARS I worked with her. Major kudos to her for her professionalism and quick response times when I was a little panicked. The day of the wedding was also as seamless as the entire experience thus far had been. I can honestly say I don't have a single regret about my wedding day. Everyone at the resort was friendly and accommodating and SO professional. We ended up hiring several of the vendors listed in the packet provided by Surf & Sand and were so glad we did! Everyone around really knew their stuff and provided the best service imaginable. The dining room host constantly checked in on us and even provided cake cutting for free the night of. The food was INCREDIBLE and my only wish was that I got to try any of the appetizers because I heard from guests that they were so delicious! All of our guests were beaming that the food and accommodations were absolutely spectacular. We were truly spoiled on our wedding day and I can safely say that Surf & Sand Resort (and Alana!) played major roles in that.
  • Xiaoxi
    Xiaoxi S. Married on 05/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Super smooth! Love Lav and her team!

    We found Lav two weeks prior to our wedding due to last minute cancellation. But Lav with her super responsiveness streamlined everything for us in a fast turnaround. Can’t believe we were so lucky to find such amazing reception venue without any issue!!

    Our guests enjoyed the food. Lav, Danny and the team are super sweet!! Strongly recommended to any bride who is looking for a stressless wedding planning experience!
  • A
    Alexandra D. Married on 07/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very Responsive

    It's absolutely beautiful and they responsiveness was amazing. My review is for initial RFP only, as we aren't reserving the venue. because it's outside our budget.
  • Sanaz
    Sanaz Married on 01/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A beautiful beach wedding venue

    We had our ceremony at the Catalina Terrace and couldn't be happier with how beautiful the ceremony turned out. A gorgeous ocean front venue in Laguna beach. Lav was our wedding coordinator and catering manager, she did an excellent job helping me throughout the 6 months planning and being responsive to my never ending emails. On the day of the wedding staff was extremely helpful, and we got so many compliments from guests on how delicious the food was. Thank you so much!
  • Lauren
    Lauren C. Married on 12/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    HIGHLY Recommend! Personalized, caring, and wonderful experience!

    You cannot beat the view at Surf and Sand- I fell in love with the Catalina Terrace as a ceremony location as soon as I saw it over a year ago. I think it's the perfect venue because you can get the beautiful beach views and vibes, but allow your guests to dress up and not stress about having to go into the sand. We also had the cocktail hour on the Catalina Terrace which let everyone enjoy the sunset and take pictures with our decorations and the ocean view. The beach access made it super easy for us to take photos on the beach before the reception. The Pelican Room is beautiful and intimate, and all of the food we had was delicious. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful throughout the entire weekend, which my guests also commented on and appreciated. Lav Seatres was our catering manager and we could not have pulled this wedding off without her help! She answered all my questions through the year of planning, was extremely helpful and flexible when we had changes, and overall was a joy to work with. Surf and Sand was my favorite venue from the beginning, and we feel so lucky to have held our wedding there. All members of their staff, from the first check in, to helping us with bags, to all the personnel during the wedding itself were friendly, helpful, and great to be around. Thank you so much!
  • Emily
    Emily K. Married on 10/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding

    My husband and I had always wanted to get married at the beach and the Surf and Sand Resort is the most incredible oceanfront wedding venue in Southern California! Not only are the views and grounds amazing, Alana Zee the on-site coordinator is a total rockstar! She made me feel so relaxed and I complete trusted that she had everything under control. Everyone at the resort was quick to respond to emails and made the whole planning process and day of as easy as possible. If you’re looking for a dream beach wedding, I would 100% recommend the Surf and Sand.
  • Amy
    Amy Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceeded my expectations!

    So my husband and I decided to plan a wedding at the last minute instead of waiting until next year. Fortunately for us the Surf and Sand and Lav our catering manager was available.
    It was beautiful on the Ocean Terrace for our intimate wedding over looking the ocean right before sunset.
    Then we moved to the Sand Castle patio which was pretty with the lights in the bushes, high top tables and open bar.
    Then they open the doors to our adjacent ball room. I made just a few upgrades with lighting and chairs and we picked the surf and turf meal. The food turned out wonderful and the service was exceptional!
    From the moment we checked into the hotel until we left I can honestly say I had the time of my life! Lav made herself available for all my needs!
  • Diane
    Diane Married on 04/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision

    My husband and I were married on 4/27/19 and it was the best day of our lives (as it should be), thanks to the Surf and Sand Resort. First of all, Alana Zee, who was our coordinator throughout the whole wedding process could not have been any better. She was SUPER responsive, honest, helpful, and overall amazing. The day of, she took care of everything and made the day run smoothly. The weekend of the wedding, all the staff were incredible- from the valet, bellhops, servers, bartenders, and concierge. They all went above and beyond to make sure that myself and my guests were taken care of. The venue itself is stunning, and our guests raved about the food. My husband and I are from the East Coast originally, and when we walked out of our tour after seeing the ceremony views, he told me "I am going to be groomzilla, I have to have it!" I'm so glad that we had our dream wedding here.
  • A
    Angel Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alana Zee was our wedding coordinator and she was fabulous! She was so knowledgeable and helpful throughout our wedding planning process. She was always very responsive, professional, and friendly. On the day of the wedding she was so calm, helpful and organized. We are so impressed with how smoothly our wedding day went and could not be more pleased. The Surf and Sand Resort is a stunning wedding venue and all of our guests were blown away by the ocean views. The food st the reception was also amazing. Everyone from the valet, front desk, room service, coffee shop, and especially the wait staff at our reception were a pleasure and always so friendly and helpful. It was the best day of our lives and we are so grateful to Alana and the Surf and Sand Resort!
  • Amber
    Amber Married on 07/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely magical!

    Our wedding at the surf and sand was an absolute dream! It was everyone my husband and I could have asked for. Our coordinator was Lav, I would recommend her to anyone looking for a stress free wedding. She was absolutely amazing and went above and beyond to make sure everything was in order.
  • M
    Monica Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I recently had my wedding at Surf & Sand Resort on 6/30/18. We worked with Alana Zee and she was absolutely amazing!! From the beginning, she was quick to respond to emails and phone calls. She answered all of my questions in a timely manner. She was flexible and made my vision come to life! On the day of our wedding she was calm, collected, professional, and made my wedding day as smooth as possible! She is a friendly, outgoing person that made our experience wonderful! Surf and Sand is an absolutely beautiful venue on the coast and all of my guests were extremely impressed! The food was fabulous and the staff very friendly. As the bride and groom, we received a complimentary suite the night of the wedding, which was gorgeous! They even decorated it for us which was a nice surprise as newlyweds! I highly recommend getting married at Surf & Sand to any future bride and groom! The views are worth everything and the whole experience was absolutely amazing! We also enjoyed spending time at the pool, beach, and Splashes (restaurant on site) the whole weekend with friends and family!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lav was exceptional, and the venue was beautiful.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at Surf & Sand in July and we couldn't be happier with everything!! We worked with Alana and she was on top of every aspect of the event. She worked seamlessly with our wedding planner (Ashley Powell) and our day ran so smoothly.

    When we were searching for wedding venues, we knew we wanted something with an ocean view, but also had a larger guest count. Many of the venues we looked at could only fit about 100-150 guests max. Surf & Sand was able to accommodate our wedding size of 180, and had the BEST VIEW by FAR!! When we stepped out onto the ceremony space, I immediately fell in love with it. **heart eyes emoji**

    Everyone we worked with from the front desk staff to the waiters were professional, kind, and helpful. Our wedding food was to die for - All of our guests said it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding.

    We stayed in a suite for our wedding night and it was absolutely beautiful. The staff made us feel so special and we truly had the most incredible wedding weekend. We can't say enough about how much we love this resort and we can't wait to go back and relive our wedding day!
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 08/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chiara from the Surf and Sand Resort catering team was a dream to work with. She was all I needed for a wedding planner. Every meeting up to the wedding and the execution at the wedding was perfect. I want to thank Chiara for everything she did and highly recommend her for your event!!!!
  • J
    Jamie-Dee Married on 12/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at Surf & Sand this past December and the day could not have been more perfect. Not only is this a breathtakingly beautiful venue, but the staff was absolutely amazing. We worked with Chiara and she was there with us every step of the way. I always felt like she had everything on track and was never worried about them dropping the ball. She was one step ahead of me the entire time. I can't thank her enough for ensuring that our wedding day was perfect. As for the venue, the food was phenomenal. Our wedding guests continue to tell us how delicious everything was. The staff was very friendly and attentive and every last detail was taken care of. Everything that we asked for Chiara made sure was done for us. I can't say enough great things about this venue. If you are looking for a beach wedding this is the venue for you.
  • M
    Megan Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best venue ever for the "Best Day Ever"
    Our guests were Wowed
    Everything was perfect !!
    The staff treated us like a member of the family
    Every detail was taken care of
    The food was cooked to perfection
    Our wedding coordinator Erin was there every step of the way , she went above and beyond
    We even bought our favors from the Spa and they wrapped them for us
    Night of wedding suite was specially decorated and made everything perfect
    The Catalina Terrace was a perfect site for the ceremony , the views of the ocean were breathtaking
    Can't thank them enough




  • User2425546 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were married here on 11/7/15. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, service, & FOOD. Everything was amazing. Everyone thought the venue was absolutely beautiful!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Location, food, service and staff were all topnotch. Our guests had a great time!
  • S
    Sophia Married on 09/13/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can not say enough wonderful things about this Hotel. I was able to have my dream Wedding here. It's a beautiful location, (we check out over 15 different places to have our wedding). Lauren Bergmann who is the Catering Sales Manager is outstanding. She is there for you every step of the way. The food is stellar. Everyone at the wedding was commenting on how great the dinner was. If I had to do all over again it would still be with the Surf and Sand Resort. We will return again for our first anniversary and future special events!
  • K
    Kathryn Married on 07/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was my dream venue! Lauren & her team were the best & so helpful at all times. Lauren was so accommodating to all of my requests & inquiries. Everyone was so impressed with the venue. It's absolutely beautiful & the food is fantastic. Thanks for making all of my wishes come true!!
  • MrsMartin101213
    Jamie Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could not be more thrilled with how our wedding turned out. It was SO gorgeous. The staff was so accommodating. I am still hearing raves from our guests. Food was on point. And Lauren was THE BEST!!
  • B
    Brittany Event on: 09/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Surf & Sand is the best resort to get married at! Not only does it have the most gorgeous views on this oceanfront property but they provide you with tables, chairs, linens, table numbers, candles, glassware, etc... The food options are delicious and they provide with a wedding coordinator. Our coordinator was the best!!!
  • B
    Barbara Married on 05/03/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kat and the Surf and Sand Team,

    Words cannot express how much we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all that you did to make our wedding a pure joy and a success. When we started planning this fairytale we never imagined it would ever be so amazing and weddings can be stressful. As a bride you made this the easiest journey to take and that allowed me to treasure each minute in our time that brought us to May3, 2013. As a partner in the industry you have set the bar of what this business and customer service should truly look like. I haven’t had a chance to get the written letters out yet but wanted you to know that YOU, Kat Lawrence defined our wedding day and made it spectacular. The staff of Surf and Sand, hats off to each of you as well….such an amazing team of people. Thank you!

    Kat, thank you…

    Barb and Matt
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/17/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just had our wedding at the Surf & Sand Resort in Laguna Beach and couldn't be happier. Yes, it is a little expensive but not in comparison to other Laguna Beach venues! They provide free of charge a wedding coordinator who helps the day of your wedding go as smoothly as possible and helps get you ready up until the day of! The food is AMAZING... NOT your normal lame wedding food. ALL of our guests told us that our food (the Luau buffet) was the BEST food they had ever had at a wedding! Highly recommend and we'd do it again in a heartbeat! :)