Sugar Coated Bakery Reviews

19 | Dracut, MA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Sugar Coated Bakery

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

19

4 User photos

Order by:
  • Kacey

    Kacey · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cant wait for our anniversary so we can have more cake!!

    Our cake was looked and tasted amazing. The girls at sugar coated did such an amazing job!

    Sent on 01/16/2020
  • Ginny

    Ginny · Married on 10/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nailed it!

    Super affordable and great design. Probably the best cake we had and our wedding guests told us they were still dreaming about it days later!

    Sent on 10/18/2019
  • Vicky

    Vicky · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best cake we could ever dream of

    We gave Jen full creative control for our cake and we are so glad we did! It was delicious and creative beyond our wildest dreams.

    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • Linda

    Linda · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Coated Bakery was amazing!

    We ordered a little gift boxes for everyone who helped with the wedding, a 5-tier cake and attended a cake tasting to figure out the flavors we wanted for our cake. Jennifer was super helpful in getting us what we wanted. We also had a lot of compliments on our cake, and the taste was mouthwatering. We had a great experience and aside from that, their shop was so cute! They also have ready to go goodies! I’ll definitely be coming back!

    Sent on 07/28/2019
  • C

    Carol Baraldi · Married on 03/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So many compliments!

    A delicious cake with beautiful decorations for my daughter’s baby shower! They were excellent to work with and captured exactly what I was looking for! Thank you, Sugar Coates Bakery!!

    Sent on 03/04/2019
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ordered a sweet 16 cake a week ahead, and let me tell you! I only had a small taste of the cake and I wish I got to have a piece of it because it was so delicious! The cake was gone within 10 minutes! I secretly want to order another just so I could have it to myself! Haha, the decorations was super cute! The flavor was yummy and the texture was so good! I give this bakery 5 stars! I’m not just saying it, I appreciated the whole thing! Also, it was my first time ordering cake from an actual bakery and not Market Basket or Hannaford. Now that I’ve had the best, I’m not going back to a supermarket! I’ve been missing out! Thanks so much to Jenn and her crew for making such a delicious cake!

    Sent on 08/27/2018
  • D

    Deirdre · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was delicious and the workers were diligent in making what I wanted. I am not a fan of fondant so I used Italian sweet cream and it was so perfect you couldn't tell. My guests thought the cake wasn't real it looked so nice!

    Sent on 09/02/2018
  • E

    Eric · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had ordered a three tier wedding cake, over the course of our planning we changed a few things here and there and the owner was very willing to work with us to get us the cake we wanted. From changing the cake size from 120 people to 70, and a little addition of a Deadpool peaking out from under the cake, the owner was awesome at taking our cake ideas and putting them into a delicious cake that my guests are still talking about. I would recommend this bakery to anyone who is seeking out an affordable and very delicious cake option for their wedding. Also she has an awesome concept of your 1 year anniversary where she will make you a fresh mini wedding cake rather than you freezing your cake, absolutely amazing idea!!

    Sent on 07/09/2018
  • A

    Aja · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar coated did our wedding cake and people are still amazed by their work! Not only were they willing to accommodate any design idea we had, but they also make the most delicious cake I've ever had--cake that I've been regularly craving since our tasting! From their more than generous cake tasting to their positive, relatable attitude and overall talent, we highly recommend this awesome, zany bakery!

    Sent on 05/04/2018
  • M

    Maranda · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want affordable but great this is the place to go. Our wedding cake was so good . Another plus the thought of freezing cake for anniversary grossed me out ! They make you a anniversary one for your one year. She was very accommodating for a memorial day weekend wedding.

    Sent on 06/03/2017
  • User4806547 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST WEDDING CAKE EVER. We had our wedding on Harry Potter's birthday. I asked Jenn to insert the Golden Snitch (a keychain) into the cake and she accommodated this unusual request with NO problem. Her design was BEAUTIFUL, her communication ON POINT, and her cake was SO delicious that we had NO LEFTOVERS. She will deliver the cake on that day, while you or the venue can provide the knife.

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Sugar Coated Bakery for our wedding cake and we regret NOTHING!!! Not only was the cake affordable and delicious, but Jenn created an amazing design for us! We are huge Walking Dead and Game of Thrones fans. Jenn had the task of creating a cake that represented both. She nailed it!! We sent photos and also had some special cake toppers made. She took all of these and created a cake that was delicious and a visual masterpiece. Guests kept coming up and taking pictures of the cake. They loved it!!! You should definitely get a wedding cake from the Sugar Coated Bakery.

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 01/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sugar Coated Bakery, and Jennifer in particular, was absolutely amazing! Our cake was simply beautiful , and had everything that we wanted! In addition, I am gluten-free (not my husband) and Jennifer was so accommodating, and created my own large gluten-free cupcake, to look exactly like our cake! Loved everything!

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • User4983491 · event on: 08/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cakes are delicious and the designs are very creative. I have gotten many cakes from here, all amazing.

    Sent on 04/27/2015
  • User3275035 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I received so many complements for our wedding cake!! One couple who have been guests at 33 weddings informed me this was the best wedding cake they had ever had!! Great quality and great price! Thank you for the awesome wedding cake!

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • T

    Tom · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we did a 4 tear cake with 4 different types of cake. all came out good! very nice family run bakery!

    Sent on 11/13/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Sugar Coated bakery was the most delicious cake for the price. You are getting a really good value when you choose them. Our biggest complaint was that we were planning a wedding long distance and could not meet with her in person. She did not have a lot of availability to talk over the phone and preferred email, which made designing a cake more complicated in my opinion. However, if you are local, she is really easy to work with in person.

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • User2734042 · 2+ years ago

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I ordered my wedding cake from Sugar Coated Bakery and was disappointed. I had ordered an ivory cake with real ivy draped on each tier but the cake was delivered to my wedding reception WITHOUT the ivy. I had met with the owner, Jen, the week before my wedding to finalize the plan and she confirmed that she would purchase the ivy and place it on the cake BEFORE delivery. I asked her about it the day after the wedding and she said she “forgot” that she was going to take care of the ivy! She gave me a $50 refund. Needless to say, I was disappointed--especially for such a special occasion and that I had just met with her one week before the wedding. Each tier was a different flavor; the lemon and raspberry flavors were good but the chocolate was dry and not sweet enough. Also, they made a custom cake topper which I felt looked sloppy and not professional-bakery quality. The owner is a nice person with a professional demeanor but she failed to deliver what I ordered for a very special day.

    Sent on 10/24/2012
  • M

    Maria Rodrigues · Married on 01/12/2019

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Surprised with professionalism

    A friend recommended the bakery. I spoke with one of the girls was surprised with her professionalism, she was a bit abrupt and it didn’t seem she was interested or rather patient with me. I went in for a cake, butter cream frosting, chocolate mousse filling and a ribbon around the cake. I did say I wasn’t interested in fondant. Quickly she said we don’t do or use ribbon (similar to lace) on or around our cakes, we can do fondant as the ribbon. I could have sworn on the website there were cakes with a ribbon wrapped around the cake and it wasn’t made in fondant. I said ok, I’ll ordered as long there is a silver ribbon around the cake but made in fondant and also they were highly recommended. She wasn’t polite, ‘blondie’ not sure if she was the owner or the manager, maybe it wasn’t her day. However, after I left the bakery, I looked into the website again, sure enough I did see cakes, whether wedding cakes or not they have made cakes ( 3) tier cakes with some kind of ribbon and they were not made in fondant. Very disappointed and asked for my deposit back. Question was asked why I decided to cancel the order, my response was I decided not to go with them, no need to explain. I contemplated to write this review as this is not my character but needed to as I really was impressed with the cakes I saw at the bakery but did not get the professionalism from the person who took my order.




    Sent on 11/23/2019