St. Augustine Historical Society Reviews

10 | Saint Augustine, FL
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for St. Augustine Historical Society

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

10
Order by:
  • T

    Tetyana · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ok I'll start with the most important thing - there is an approved vendors list. There might be a little flexibility with the photographers, DJs, and transportation, BUT I would run those by Angie to make sure you can hire them. However, this info is provided to you before you sign the contract. If you are willing to be limited to your vendor choices (which I should mention makes your job easier, because you have a list of vendors, contact them, pick your fave ones and you're done.... and all the vendors on the list are amazing so you won't miss out) you'll be ok. I feel like people that complain are the ones who just ignore the list and start hiring their vendors.... but that's on them... One more thing to mention (which is pretty obvious) is that the venue is outdoors, so you have to reserve a tent just in case it rains.
    Now back to my review and my experience with Angie (wedding coordinator) and the venue (both ceremony and reception were held at the Lllambias house). Angie is absolutely amazing. I have no idea what I would do without her. She was very prompt with emails, extremely friendly, professional, and willing to help out with anything you ask her for. She guided us through the process during the rehearsal, helped with the set up before the wedding, coordinated everything during, set up our cake on the well, and helped with the clean up. What else can you ask for? Also, our tent rental company set up the wrong tent (old and dirty) the day before the wedding. She called me and made sure I was aware and didn't freak out once got to the rehearsal. Then, I didn't have to do anything - she called the rental co for me and arranged everything to be changed. Tent was replaced the next morning without me having to call anyone. I can't thank her enough for everything she's done.
    as for the llambias house - I wouldn't have my wedding anywhere else - it's gorgeous!

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • User3968915 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Angie was absolutely phenomenal!!! Every question we had she answered right away (which was a lot) and she never got annoyed with us! She helped out so much during the actual wedding I can't believe that some people waste money on wedding coordinators when they have weddings at the Oldest House. She was especially helpful with my large family and very understanding that we needed to cut corners where possible to save money. The only stressful thing is there is no back up space if it rains (which thankfully was not a problem for us) so keep that in mind when booking this site, which you totally should!!

    Sent on 11/11/2015
  • A

    Alissa · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    thank you angie and everyone at the gardens for helping us with our dream ceremony! everything was beautiful and all of our guests couldn't get over how beautiful the gardens were!

    Sent on 01/14/2013
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an absolutely gorgeous venue for a wedding. We had our reception here and the words we constantly heard from our guests about the Llambias House were: beautiful, magical, fairytale and stunning. Angie was the event coordinator there and she was such a pleasure to work with. She always had a great attitude, is very knowledgeable and is so easy to get along with. Just a heads up to brides and grooms, there is a noise restriction at this venue so if you are looking to party hard this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for an intimate venue that will wow your guests, the Llambias House is definitely worth checking out.

    Thank you Angie for helping make our day truly memorable.

    Sent on 04/15/2013
  • H

    Nancy · Married on 05/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at the Llambias House in St Augustine & event planners were amazing! They let my amazing photographer tour the area the morning of, and let me visit with my DJ prior to figure out where he was going to set up. While setting up, they were there every step of the way, assisting the catering crew or helping with the flowers & getting everybody situated! The head planner (I hate that I forgot her name!) even got the tree trimming people (they were cutting across the street) to speed it up because the ceremony was about to begin! She was great!

    Sent on 03/18/2011
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 02/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location and wonderful staff . . . . thank you for helping to make our night a dream come true;)

    Sent on 02/21/2010
  • M

    Marie · Married on 03/01/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our ceremony at the Llambias House in St. Augustine, FL on March 1, 2014. Let me just start off by saying that the SAHS was not easy to work with but Angie - the coordinator and the one whom you primarily communicate with- was absolutely phenomenal!! She was so so sweet and accommodating. Whenever we wanted to visit Llambias House, she would meet us. If we were running late, she would wait for us. She kept the grounds of Llambias House immaculate! During our rehearsal, she had great tips for the order of the ceremony. She thought of things I didn't even think of like the width of the aisle because I was having both my mom and dad walk me down. On the day of, she made sure everything ran on time and had everyone where they needed to be. The Llambias House itself is an amazingly beautiful venue! The pictures online don't do it justice. Our guests, videographer and photographers were gushing over it!! We loved working with Angie, we loved Llambias House and would recommend it to anyone!

    Sent on 04/02/2014
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 04/11/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was perfect! It was so pretty outside the wind had picked up a and was knocking over the flowers! Cheryl took charge and tied the flowers to the chairs which was perfect! It all looked so pretty! Thanks

    Sent on 04/29/2009
  • User3050679 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Finding a venue/reception site for your wedding can be a tough decision. But it's like finding the right person, when you know, you know. My wife and I searched and searched until we finally made an appointment with Angie at the Llambias House.

    Let me just say, WOW! We immediately knew this was it, it was exactly what we were looking for! Elegant, beautiful, chic, fairytale like, and much more!

    If you decide this is your place, too, make sure you work with Angie! She envisioned exactly what we wanted, helped out tremendously the day of our wedding, and up to the day of. She immediately responds back to any questions or concerns you may have, and is extremely personable. We ALWAYS felt welcomed (even when we asked a billion questions)!

    Our biggest set back was the miscommunication of the insurance policy for all vendors. Being new to the wedding world, we were unaware of this rule (and it was never talked about directly). The Llambias house provides a list of preferred vendors, but you can choose other vendors as well. The set back was that it was not directly stated that ALL of your vendors must have wedding insurance. The people on the list of preferred vendors were insured, but we did not know that this was the reason. We didn't realize either that not many vendors have wedding insurance, so it was not something we asked about before hiring. It did cause a problem with our DJ, and we lost our deposit and had to find another DJ a month before the wedding, but everything happens for a reason and our DJ (Brian Sullivan - Beachside Entertainment) was even better than than the 1st DJ! Also, the main person in charge of the weddings here is very strict on decor. She would not let us do several things that we really thought would make the house romantic. Still came out stunning, but make sure to ask all of your questions ahead of time as it was tough working around her.

    Sent on 10/14/2013
  • User3652891 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I fell in love with The Oldest House and Gardens and booked the venue for our ceremony. It is an incredibly beautiful site, the old oak tree makes a perfect scenic backdrop for a ceremony. Quite sadly, there are many drawbacks to holding an event at The Oldest House.

    1) No onsite parking for guests.

    2) Very strict policies for vendors. Beware if you attempt to choose any vendor that is not on their pre-approved vendor list. The Oldest House and Gardens require that ALL vendors provide a business license and liability insurance with the St. Augustine Historical Society listed as holder. We discovered two weeks before our ceremony that the musician we hired did not have a business license nor did they have the exact type of insurance needed. This resulted in endless phone calls and e-mails back and forth, tears, and an unbelievable amount of stress leading up to the days before our wedding.

    3) Possibility of rain. We planned our wedding for a "dry month" and the week before the wedding the forecast came out projecting 40% chance of rain. As the day got closer it went up to 50-60%. The Oldest House and Gardens is an outdoor venue, with the only possible contingency plan being to pay extra to rent a tent. Note also, the tent rental company requires advance notice. If it does not rain the tent would still need to be set up ahead of time. We had to make the incredibly difficult last minute decision to move our ceremony indoors to the same venue as our reception at the Casa Monica Hotel. The Oldest House does not give refunds for any reason, and we lost our entire ceremony venue payment, as well as the money we had paid for the chair rental. (One positive aside, the rain did clear up after our ceremony at the Casa Monica so The Oldest House allowed us to come take pictures onsite.)

    The Oldest House and Gardens is a beautiful setting for a wedding, but the bride and groom will need to be incredibly flexible to manage these potential situations.

    Sent on 11/26/2013