Skip to main content
Weddings

Special Days Weddings and Events Reviews

Special Days Weddings and Events

Special Days Weddings and Events

Sunset Beach, NC
4.8 out of 5 rating, 36 Reviews
View more information

36 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 36
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

32 User photos

  • Deven
    Deven B. Getting married on 09/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply amazing!

    I got married May 14, 2022! I am from Cleveland, OH, but my family has been vacationing in Sunset Beach for over 40 years; my husband and I quickly decided that was the perfect destination for our wedding. Needless to say I was nervous how I was going to plan a NC wedding from OH but Mel put my mind at ease right away.
    Last May we met with Mel and I knew right away she was the wedding planner for me; her calm demeanor, knowledge of vendors in the area, sense of humor and responsiveness stood out right away. After we met we immediately got to planning! Mel and Shameka were amazing from start to finish. Mel saw my vision and made it come to life, she recommended all of the vendors we used and they were all nothing short of perfect!
    Mel and Shameka were very responsive throughout the year of planning; whether it was emails back and forth, Zoom calls, or setting up meetings with vendors.
    On the day of Mel and Shameka got right to work setting up everything (tables, chairs, decorations, etc.) it was hard to imagine how all of the different pieces would come together, but as soon as I saw everything it was as if the picture I had in my head came to life.
    Our day was perfect and I have Special Days Weddings and Events to thank for it. My husband and I both say it was the best day of our lives.

    Special Days Weddings and Events's reply:

    Deven,
    I'm thrilled that you are so happy with the outcome of your wedding day. I enjoyed working alongside yourself as well as your mother throughout the planning process. We developed a friendship and a bond that I will forever be grateful for. You guys really made it so easy for me by knowing exactly what you wanted from the very beginning. You all deserve nothing but the best. I wish you and Mike a lifetime of love and happiness.

    Love,
    Mel
  • L
    Lauren L. Married on 06/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING! I could not be happier

    Mel and her assistant Shameka are AMAZING! I was very nervous that my big day would not go how I wanted it, I don't know why, but I was just very stressed because I had everything planned a certain way. I was actually going to just do the whole thing myself, but I AM SO GLAD I hired Mel for my day-of-coordinator. She made everything perfect! I would recommend 100%! THANK YOU!

    Special Days Weddings and Events's reply:

    Lauren,
    You and Dave are a magical couple and I am so happy your day was everything you wanted. It was so romantic with all of your special touches.
    Wishing you two endless happiness,
    Mel
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Alyssa F. Married on 05/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Helpful Planner!

    Mel and Shameka were both professional and helpful leading up to and during our wedding day! They wrangled us before and during + our guests and made sure everything went smoothly. It was extremely helpful having an extra set of hands that wasn't invested in the day emotionally and could facilitate with vendors, etc. Highly recommend!

    Special Days Weddings and Events's reply:

    Alyssa,

    Thank you so much for your great review. Everything was so beautiful and your vision was crystal clear. We hope that you and Phillip are doing well and are still celebrating your love for each other.

    Wishes for a lifetime of love and happiness,
    Mel
  • D
    Deven B. Married on 05/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Amazing!

    I got married May 14, 2022! I am from Cleveland, OH, but my family has been vacationing in Sunset Beach for over 40 years; my husband and I quickly decided that was the perfect destination for our wedding. Needless to say I was nervous how I was going to plan a NC wedding from OH but Mel put my mind at ease right away.
  • Macy
    Macy Married on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Service!!

    Mel was very calm, professional, responsive to all my needs and overall made our wedding an amazing day!!

    Special Days Weddings and Events's reply:

    Macy,
    I'm so happy to hear that I had a part in making your wedding day amazing. Everything turned out beautifully for you and you were an absolutely stunning bride. I wish nothing but the very best for you and Seth throughout your lives together.

    Best wishes,
    Mel
  • Jillian
    Jillian L. Married on 12/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel is the best!

    Mel is the best, very helpful, smart, creative and gets things done. I loved working with her and will do more events with her in the future.
  • Debbie
    Debbie D. Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel And Her Team Are Top Notch!

    As Mother and Father-Of-The-Bride, Mel coordinated every little detail of our daughter's wedding. Her and her team were invaluable and kept that day for all of us as calm and stress free as possible knowing that she had everything under control and to perfection. When our daughter and her fiance told us they had hired Mel, they couldn't stop raving how wonderful she was, how grateful they were for her communication with them along the way and how she was always readily available with any questions or concerns they had no matter how minor or small. It really gave them peace of mind knowing she always had a recommendation or solution! In our mind Mel was the perfect person to handle everything for their big day and it went beautifully. She was a huge part of what helped make their dreams come true on a gorgeous day in October overlooking the ocean. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
  • Courtney
    Courtney Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel was wonderful every step of the way!

    When we planned our destination wedding in Ocean Isle, NC we knew we would need some help from a local wedding planner. Mel was so helpful in recommending venders and was there for us every step of the way.
  • A
    Alyssa D. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Day of wedding planner

    Mel did an awesome job and went above and beyond what we expected. So glad we decided to hire her as our wedding planner. Eased our stress and made the planning experience a much better one.
  • D
    Darious J. Married on 08/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Coordinator

    Mel did an awesome job. She said it was her job to make sure our day was special and she didn’t disappoint. She definitely did more than she was required per our contract.

    Special Days Weddings and Events's reply:

    Thank you, you all made it so easy. Best of everything to you both. I hope you have a wonderful time growing old together.
  • N
    Nikki S. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel was absolutely amazing!

    She found and communicated with ALL vendors while we planned a wedding from almost 200 miles away. 10/10 would hire over and over again!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 04/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Married 10/02/2021

    Mel was great through the whole process! She was there for us from the beginning, meeting us at our venue, providing recommendations, and ensuring everything was taken care of. I did not worry at all the day of the wedding. She and her assistant took care of everything and more. She truly went above and beyond!!!
  • Maggie
    Maggie Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding investment, hands down

    There aren't enough words to describe how thankful I am that I chose Mel to be my day-of wedding coordinator. Throughout the entire wedding planning process, she was so easy to work with and was always there to answer every question we had. There were so many aspects of wedding planning that I would have never even thought of by myself. But thanks to Mel, every little detail was discussed and taken care of. She completely understood how I envisioned my wedding to look and pulled it off flawlessly. On the big day, everything went so smoothly and it was exactly what I had always hoped for. I know for a fact that none of that would have been possible without enlisting Mel's help.
  • E
    Erin M. Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I hired this service for my wedding coordination

    Special Days and Events (Mel) recently helped coordinate my wedding on the beach in NC. She was nothing short of amazing. I cannot give enough praise because everything went so smoothly and efficiently on my wedding day. She takes the time to help you really plan in advance as well and her staff was wonderful. Great experience, and I highly recommend.
  • Chris
    Chris Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel is Fabulous

    From beginning to end, Mel was there with questions and suggestions.
    The things I didn't remember or even think about, she had it already covered.
  • busy chemist
    Natalya Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    and they lived happily ever after...

    I am married now for three weeks ... I should say that my wedding day was absolutely perfect! Beautiful venue on the beach, flowers, food, my hair & makeup, ceremony , toasts and happy faces of our family and friends- all this were fruits of loving labor of our wedding planner, Mel O'Daniels ( Special Days Events).
    Mel is an army! You hire one person and she brings whole team with her...Mel takes all your worries away, calms you down and holds your hand from the day you sign a contract with her till you say: I DO!
    She has personal touch, wonderful taste, sharp proactive mind and connections- all that assures your wedding a success! Finding her was a gift from above !
    Thank you , Mel, for absolutely beautiful wedding day - I will treasure this memories forever. I would not change a single thing in it! Thank you!
  • Jess
    Jess Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dilligent and Knowledgable!

    Mel was extremely flexible, knowledgeable, and affordable! I would recommend her to anyone. She made sure the day ran smoothly and to plan. I couldn't have done it without her!!
  • P
    Pamela Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mel O’Daniels is Great!

    Mel was very helpful for our daughters wedding. She met we us on a couple different times to go over our daughters wedding and always answered my calls and text. We are from out of town, and Mel let us have items shipped to her house. (Even went out of the way to track a package down when I shipped to a wrong address). You can not go wrong using Mel and her staff for your wedding planning, our daughters wedding turned out just the way she wanted it to, we have Mel to Thank for that!! She knows weddings and all the right contacts for everything wedding!!

  • M
    Morgan Married on 11/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!

    We cannot express how awesome our experience was with Mel. We only booked a day of coordination and she went so far above and beyond. From day one she was there walking us through everything (recommending vendors, answering questions, helping with big and small details) right up to making sure our big day went smooth. We had a simple nautical/relaxed beach style wedding as our vision and she absolutely made it come to life. Thank you for everything Mel! We highly recommend!

    -M&J
  • N
    Naphat (. Married on 11/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Service great

    She always give me the answer I need and always helpful and good advice from her
    The amount of time she spent for our wedding is perfect for small budget like us
    Thank again
  • S
    Sarah C. Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful wedding day-of and rehearsal coordinator for beach wedding

    Mel was an incredible planner who helped pull off a beach wedding without a hitch!
  • B
    Brad H. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Good person to have on your team!

    Mel O'Daniels was a wonderful wedding planner. She is attentive and structured. She has a lot of experience and helped us pull off an amazing weekend wedding even though Hurricane Florence blew through town just 4 days prior. Mel is not afraid to think "outside the box".
  • J
    Julia Married on 08/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We cannot express how ecstatic we were with Mel and her team at Special Days. My mom met Mel at a bridal expo and as soon as she reached out to us, we knew she was the one. Planning a wedding in North Carolina while living in California is not an easy task and we really had to find a person we could trust to execute our ideal wedding.
    We let Mel know what our vision was and she went to work. We wanted a wedding at the beach in a house that we could also stay in for the week of the wedding. Mel found us the most perfect house, the Memory Maker in Ocean Isle Beach. We wanted a low country boil. Mel found us a delicious caterer, Costal Catering. We wanted specific flower arrangements. Mel found the right florist, Calabash florist, and built a beautiful arbor for us to get married under on the beach. We wanted perfect weather. Mel made sure that the weather was perfect and the moon was full :-) !!!!!!
    You get the picture and speaking of pictures, Darlene, at Timeless Memories was also a dream to work with. We could not have done this without Mel. She works with a great team and they were on top of everything making sure we had no worries on our big day. She dealt with the typical wedding guest drama with ease. Very professional and organized. Can't recommend her enough!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Mel to be our day of coordinator. Mel met with us at the ceremony site about 6 months before the wedding and the week of the wedding. She was great about staying in contact with any questions, and she even recommended vendors for us, like our violinist who we also loved. Mel did just a wonderful job the day of the wedding, going above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. She is 100% worth what you spend, my family and friends could not stop talking about the wonderful job she did. Thank you so much Mel, we highly recommend!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message