Sixth & I Historic Synagogue Reviews

18 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Sixth & I Historic Synagogue

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

18

5 User photos

Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 1
Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 2
Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 3
Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 4
Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 5
Order by:
  • B

    Bart Schuster · Married on 11/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Remarkable Team and Location

    What an amazing Synagogue! When we started looking for location for our special day, I was prompted to check out Sixth and I. The sanctuary is beautiful and unlike any other spaces we visited in the city, simply put the location was a winner. The other critical part is the team you work with and here Robin aided us like a true pro. Communication is key, she was prompt in responding to our requests for visits, walk through's and even played our music pre and post service. She aided in every possible way to ensure the day went off without a hitch! If you are looking looking for the "best" location to honor your event, stop looking and get to Sixth & I.

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • J

    Jerry Markon · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sixth & i -- a great experience

    We recently got married at Sixth & I and were thrilled. It is affordable, centrally located in D.C. and absolutely beautiful -- little decoration required. Their weddings/special events contact, Robin Farber, was utterly professional, responsive and helpful. There are dietary restrictions for receptions if you don't use a Kosher caterer, which we did not. But the food turned out very good as well - you just have to be a little creative. We would strongly recommend Sixth & I for a wedding!

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • Kiki

    Kiki · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding ceremony here and it was absolutely perfect. Their team was very accommodating with allowing us to leave items there the day before and with hosting our rehearsal, and the entire space is gorgeous! My husband is Jewish and I am not but they never made me or any of our guests feel uncomfortable or out of place - all you could feel was the love in the room, it was amazing.

    Sent on 05/23/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 03/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful celebration at 6th and I! The team was helpful, accommodating and made our evening as perfect as it could be -- and more! Highly recommended!!!!!!

    Sent on 04/08/2018
  • R

    Ronit · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous space and the venue had all the extra things we needed--amazing acoustics (hardly needed the sound system!), extra small rooms for pre-ceremony events, handicap access and bathrooms, and an AMAZING events manager, Robin. She was phenomenal to work with. The ceremony went off exactly as we had imagined and hoped, and she made it so easy, from the very first walk-through to the day of the wedding. She thought of everything, from chairs in the right places to sound equipment and "reserved" signs for my grandmothers. She had amazing suggestions for the rehearsal and logistics because she knows the space so well! We didn't have to worry about anything--she, and Sixth&I staff and security, made the day--and all the time leading up to the wedding--so easy.

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • L

    Lori · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony at Sixth & I in October 2016. We worked with Robin, who was incredibly responsive to our questions, and was as accommodating as anyone could have possibly been. It was so nice to have the option to use their chuppah or bring in one from the outside - we chose an outside chuppah rental vendor and it was very easy for them to get in and set up. We were very happy with the facilities in general, many different rooms can be rented for various purposes before or after the ceremony. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout. Not to mention just how gorgeous the sanctuary is itself - our photos are so beautiful and we were so happy to be married there. Thank you Sixth & I!

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 03/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This historic synagogue is a beautiful setting for a wedding. The space is so warm and the architectural details made for some excellent photo opportunities. The location, in downtown DC and close to Metro, was perfect for our guests, and compared to other downtown DC locations the price couldn't be beat. Robin, the events coordinator, was unbelievably responsive and helpful with answering the millions of questions and requests that we had, starting from over a year out all the way up to the day of. We could not have imagined having our wedding anywhere else.

    Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 6
    Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 7
    Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 8
    Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 9
    Sixth & I Historic Synagogue 10
    Sent on 03/21/2018
  • B

    Beth · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish Sixth & I was an amazing player in my wedding experience. Our coordinator, Robin, was incredibly patient with our logistical questions and was quick to respond every time.

    Sent on 08/06/2015
  • M

    Micah · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was perfect! The team at 6th and I were so helpful and responsive. We are so grateful for their support in making this amazing day happen.

    Sent on 03/27/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sixth and I is a gorgeous venue, and the staff was amazing!! The communication was crystal clear, and they have all the amenities for you and your wedding party.

    Sent on 03/27/2018
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 04/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I would not have chosen any other place in the world to get married than the amazing and beautiful Sixth and I Historic Synagogue. We feel so fortunate to have been able to get married at such a special place. We worked with Matt Goldenberg, who as wonderful to work with, and accommodated our every need. He (and 6th & I) were completely flexible on every issue and we felt that he worked WITH us in making the day exactly as we wanted it to be. Our day-of was flawless and perfect, thanks to Matt and his helpers. We could not more strongly recommend 6th & I as a wedding venue to any Jewish couple.

    Sent on 05/19/2009
  • L

    Leah · Married on 11/15/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful wedding ceremony at 6th & I in November 2015. It really is a stunning venue! I can't think of a more beautiful spot for a Jewish wedding in the Washington, DC area. Plus, the location is ideal, with lots of hotels, restaurants, and museums for guests to enjoy nearby. Robin was the on-site coordinator, who did an excellent job answering all our questions, helping us book the venue, and coordinating all the details, big and small, to make sure our big day went off perfectly. I think 6th & I normally books events in morning and afternoon/evening slots. If you need to rent the synagogue out for the morning and afternoon/evening (depending on your set-up needs for flowers, music, etc), they can probably accommodate it, but you may need to pay a little extra, at their hourly rate. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 03/16/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/04/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our ceremony at 6th & I. We worked with David Goldstein. Getting the date was hard, it books in advance! But after that everything was great! It was easy to hold our date, they were easy with payments, and they had their own chuppah that our florist could decorate instead of building from scratch. The synagogue is absolutely beautiful and everyone loved it. It can hold over 500 people, but still felt intimate with our 120. It is also really accessible, close to metro and downtown. Highly recommend 6th and I for your jewish wedding receptions

    Sent on 09/28/2011
  • M

    Jennifer · Married on 04/06/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sixth & I is a really interesting synagogue. It doesn't have a congregation so in order to use the space for your wedding, you have to rent the space and hire your own rabbi. Renting the space is not cheap, but it's worth it. But I have to say, this is the most beautiful synagogue that I have ever seen! All of our guests were amazed! The staff there are great as well, and they were very helpful in putting together our entire event - they're extremely helpful and professional.

    Sent on 04/25/2008
  • L

    Lara · Married on 06/25/2006

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    6th and I is one of the most beautiful synagogues I have ever been in. When you walk in the door, you can feel the holiness of the building. I would not have gotten married anywhere else. The ultimate perk in my eyes was I could bring in my own rabbi which was very important to me.

    There are a few issues with the synagogue. We could not choose our own time slot which made things a bit challenging. It was either 12-2 or 5-7, we had to be the flexible ones when it came to scheduling. The aisle is a bit narrow for three people to walk down, but we made it work. There really is not a great place to park, though it is metro accessible. (We used buses from out hotel and reception sight.)

    However, as I mentioned before, no matter what the issues were, I would not have gotten married anywhere else and I am not sure I could have found a more beautiful, peaceful, and spiritual Jewish sanctuary to be married in.

    Sent on 03/22/2008
  • S

    Seth · Married on 09/07/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sixth and I Synagogue was a gorgeous location for our ceremony. Many guests commented on how picturesque it was, and we loved how amazing our wedding pictures turned out. It is more expensive than other ceremony locations in the area, but we are so happy we chose Sixth and I as our location.

    Sent on 04/01/2018
  • J

    Jennie · Married on 03/18/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This synagogue was a tad more expensive than others in the area, but when I explained our budget requirements, the administrators were very reasonable and were able to give me a discount. They were extremely easy to work with and did everything they could to accommodate our needs. I should add that the synagogue itself is gorgeous.

    Sent on 06/25/2007
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/28/2011

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Sixth and I Historic Synagogue is an outstanding place for a Jewish wedding. There are few places that feel so religious, while also boasting a supreme court justice has visited and your favorite Indie band has probably played right where you've placed your chuppah -- all in the past few weeks.
    It's a great location - it is metro accessible and there is a public parking lot across the street available for guests.
    We used the social hall below for a beautiful reception for 120 guests. If I had only used the sanctuary, I would give Sixth and I 5 stars. You barely need flowers the place is so lovely.
    Just be aware if you want to use the social hall, the staff is not used to wedding planning. I'd recommend a wedding planner. Despite its modest appearances (and my initial doubts!), however, the social hall can be decked out for a reception worthy of the social hall's greatness.

    Sent on 10/04/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review