Sissi Chan Reviews

36 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for Sissi Chan

Recommended by 100%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Cali · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is amazing!! Having booked her for my City Hall wedding (I live out of state), I did not book a trial for my hair/make-up with her. Sissi came to my hotel room the morning of my wedding, which helped make the process so much more comfortable, especially since I'm not from NYC. Sissi took my Pinterest photos, and made my vision a reality. Sissi is so talented and has such a calming presence (much appreciated for a bride!). I had so much fun with her while getting ready and I can't thank her enough for making me look and feel the most beautiful I've ever felt for my wedding day.

  • User4160336 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Sissi highly enough. She did my hair and makeup for my wedding as well as a trial beforehand. During both the trial and my wedding day, she arrived punctually, was calm and professional, and did the best job I could've imagined! It was so easy to communicate with her throughout the process, and her rates are very reasonable. She is an amazing hair and makeup artist.

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 04/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi was a great part of my day, she helped put me at ease with her relaxed attitude on the morning of the ceremony... and even helped me into my dress at the last minute. I felt very special and beautiful, thanks to Sissi!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is the best! She made me look and feel more beautiful on my wedding day than I have ever felt in my life (just how every bride wants to feel!). From start to finish, working with Sissi was such an easy and fun experience. Sissi came to my home for a trial. First impression: she was exactly on time, and had brought detailed notes on everything from getting to my place to my wedding date, location, and bridal party size. I was so impressed by how organized she was--and being pretty type A myself, I felt immediately that she would be great to work with. At the trial she worked carefully with me to figure out the look I wanted. She offered great suggestions but also took into account my requests.

    On the wedding day, she arrived early (she came from NY to Princeton, NJ) and got started right away. Again she was super prepared with notes so I didn't have to remind her anything, she just got to work. She worked carefully but also made sure I was done on time for my pictures. I was so happy with my final look, and it held up all night without any touch ups. Though I normally don't wear a lot of makeup, her technique was great, the makeup felt comfortable, and I looked very much myself (just enhanced :) ) She does a fantastic job!

    I also appreciated how calm and soothing Sissi's presence was. She's very sweet and makes you feel at ease. The last thing you need to feel on your wedding day is stressed--so working with her was really a stress-free experience.

    One note is that Sissi works by herself, so if you have a large bridal party, it is suggested that you hire additional stylists. I loved Sissi's work so much I knew I wanted to have her as my stylist, so it was a little bit of extra work to find additional help, but very much worth the extra step.

    Her prices are very competitive with most (even lower than some) NYC-based artists, so it's such a great value to work with her. Look no further for all your wedding hair and makeup needs!

  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi was amazing - and so reasonably priced compared to many other hair/makeup stylists I researched. She was punctual and friendly, very calming and easy to be around - exactly what you want the hours before your wedding! She really listened to me and took my requests into consideration, and I was completely stunned with the results. My hair and makeup lasted from my morning ceremony (9:30am) all the way through the end of my reception (11pm). I even slept with my hair still styled and wore it the next day for family brunches and dinners. It looked great and really held up!

  • User3386164 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is the best of the best! I found her on Wedding Wire and really loved her style - very beautiful yet natural hair and makeup. I sent her a bunch of Pinterest pictures of hair and makeup I liked, and she was able to recreate the styles I wanted to the tee. Throughout the whole process she was always organized and prompt with email communication which I really appreciate. We scheduled a trial at my apartment and the style came out looking just as beautiful on the big day. Of course wedding day can be stressful but throughout it all Sissi was professional, friendly, and very laid back.

    My mom joked that there wasn't a need to get my hair and makeup professionally done since it would be coming apart by the end of the night, but I'm proud to say that through profuse amounts of tears and a rockin' dance floor, my hair AND makeup stayed intact! I opted for airbrush makeup and I think it really made a difference, the coverage was great but didn't look overdone. I loved working with Sissi and highly recommend her!

  • User3435657 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After reading all the yelp and wedding wire reviews, I knew I had to have Sissi as my hair and makeup artist. I had a trial done in November to try out the hairstyle and makeup. She was so professional and prompt about everything. And she is also very pleasant to be around.

    Not only did she replicate the hair and makeup eight months later in June, but she also helped lace up my wedding dress (in like 5 minutes). I didn't have anyone at the time to help me lace up the back and time was churning. No one, not even the seamstress laced it up that quickly before. She truly went above and beyond to make me beautiful on my wedding day. Not to mention, the makeup and hair lasted all night. I would definitely recommend her.

  • B

    Barisa · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Sissi on Wedding Wire and really loved the different styles on her website. Sissi was prompt and professional in all of our communications and was also very patient with all of my questions and updates. I scheduled a trial and Sissi walked me through each step - from eye makeup and lashes to the different options I had for my hair. I had a combination of styles I wanted to try and Sissi was able to create the exact styles I selected for my hair. It was great to get an idea and some direction for the look I was going for. I contacted Sissi a few times after the trial to update the style and colors for the makeup and she made all of the notes. On my wedding day, she was ready to go with all of the information from our conversations and trial results. She created the exact look I wanted. I couldn't have been more thrilled with the way my hair and makeup looked. On top of that, she also did my two sister's hair and makeup and my mom's hair. They all looked gorgeous. Sissi really knows how makeup should look on different faces. We started the makeup at 8:30am with the last hair style finishing at 2:15. Sissi was efficient and diligent and worked straight through and got us in our limo on time. I really enjoyed working with Sissi - from the first communication all the way to looking at my wedding photos and loving how we all look - and I would highly recommend her for any hair and makeup you need.

  • User2667604 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi Chan was an absolute pleasure and professional to work with - I couldn't recommend her more highly!!

    I have never written a Yelp review but I think everyone should have a chance to discover and work with Sissi. I had been researching hair and makeup artists for my wedding day and it seemed as though everyone's rates were exorbitant. Sissi's website gave a great first impression of her capacities and experience and provided an overview of her most reasonable prices. We easily arranged for a hair and makeup trial, she traveled to my home and in what seemed like no time she had transformed me into exactly what I'd wanted to look like on my wedding day. Working with Sissi, she was always polite, gave great advice when I needed it, and was extremely responsive over email and in person. I was also very impressed by how organized and accommodating she was -- Sissi was able to fit in two of my cousins and a close friend who made last minute requests for updos and eyelash extensions, and they couldn't have been happier!

    My hair and makeup looked perfect through the entire night and my mother, sister's did as well. Sissi is amazing to work with and was one of the best decisions I made regarding wedding preparations. If I could give Sissi 6 stars or more, I would!

  • P

    Phylicia · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is amazing. She did my hair and makeup for my wedding and hair for my bridesmaids. She was quick to respond to email, polite and could carry on a conversation. She showed up on time (both for my trial and day of), kept to the schedule and did beautiful work. My hair and makeup held up the entire night, the longest I've had any professional services last and my pictures look fabulous.

    Strongly recommend

  • C

    C · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could have not have been happier working with Sissi. She did a fantastic job on my make-up and hair (which held up throughout the night with no problems whatsoever). She also did hair and make up for my sister and mother and they both looked great and their hair stayed up and the curls stayed intact! Sissi was very response throughout the planning process and on the day of the wedding she was organized, prompt and a wonderfully calming presence. I also love that she does hair and make-up. I highly recommend her services.

  • User2657732 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi Chan is wonderful. I used her services as a hair-stylist for my wedding. I was looking for a hair stylist with reasonable rates who could come to my venue, and feel very fortunate that I was able to find and book Sissi. She is pleasant to be around, very responsive, and very flexible. She answered all of my rookie questions by email with grace and patience, before I hired her for a trial. For the trial, she replicated very faithfully the picture I showed her. I decided on a small change as my wedding came closer and she was able to incorporate that without any problems on my wedding day. The style she created for my wedding was a very chic side bun -- I received many compliments and it held very well throughout the afternoon and evening. I could not have been happier. I wholeheartedly recommend her!

  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 09/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi was an amazing find. We had a destination wedding/elopement in NYC, so I booked sissi based on online reviews. I was unable to book any trial runs and sissi did not disappoint. My hair and make up came out great. She was so easy going and flexible, going with whatever I wanted. And most important...she was on time!! Glad I found her. She was also a great value, especially in NYC!

  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 09/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is very talented! She made me look like a princess on my wedding day. She is very friendly and professional; not to mention, she is very on time!

  • M

    Melandrei · Married on 08/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW, WOW and WOW!!!! I have never written a review about anyone before, but I had to for Sissi Chan, because she is hands down amazingly talented at what she does! I would recommend her to any bride wanting beautiful hair for their wedding day! She was prompt and so friendly the morning I meet her. I actually booked her a week before my wedding since the previous hairstylist I had gave me problems about transportation and cost was insanely pricey. And I'm so glad it happened the way it did! I couldn't have been more happier that I booked Sissi. And to my surprise she was available! Everything happens for a reason. There was only a week that I had from the time I booked her to my actually wedding date, therefore was unable to fit in a trial. But she made me feel at ease and had me e-mail her photos of what hairstyle I wanted and collaborated with me via e-mail and via phone. That day she had print outs of my hairstyle that I e-mailed her, collaborated with me, gave her professional opinion, assessed everything and got to work from there. The hairstyle lasted and lasted through summer heat and all the dancing I did at my reception. I received so many compliments and never felt more beautiful. She attached by hairpiece and waited till I got dressed to attached my veil and blusher. She is so patient and kind and a joy to work with. I would do it all over again and I would give her 10 stars if I could. Ladies you won't regret booking her for your big day!

  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is difficult for me to put into words how amazing it was to work with Sissi Chan! She did my hair and makeup for my wedding day, and I was overjoyed with the results. I have never been someone who loves having pictures taken (I don't think I'm the most photogenic person), and I was worried that I might end up disliking the way I looked in my wedding pictures. However, in Sissi Chan's competent hands, I had nothing to worry about! I have never felt as gorgeous and glamorous as I did on my wedding day. My hair and makeup were absolute perfection. As a result of her work, I felt so beautiful and confident. I never once had to worry about how I looked, and I could just concentrate on marrying the man of my dreams and enjoying every moment of my wedding day. The temperature was in the 90s the day I got married and my ceremony was outside, so it was an enormous testament to Sissi's skill that my hair and makeup lasted the entire day. Not to mention, I received so many compliments on my wedding day "look" from family, guests, and, most of all, my husband! A million thanks to Sissi for making me feel like the most beautiful bride!

  • A

    Anne-Sophie · Married on 06/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi Chan did my hair and make up and the ones of my bridesmaid. We do not leave in New York, we had a destination wedding there, so I had no trial but Sissi and I discussed extensively by e mail my hair and make up style. She always replied very quickly and the day of the wedding she had print outs of all the pictures for hair and make up inspiration that I had sent her.
    She arrived early, was very very calm. We had a nice chat on weddings, destination weddings etc, definitly helped me keep calm on the day of my wedding.
    The resulst for both my bridesmaid and myself was GREAT! The make up lasted for the whole day + night (and then we removed it but I am sure it would have lasted even longer!). Everything, hair + make up was just perfect and how we wanted it.
    I would recommend her warmly.

  • H

    Hailey · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi was amazing and everyone was raving about how beautiful my hair and makeup was! My bridesmaid loved Sissi's work so much she booked Sissi for her own wedding. Sissi did a terrific job there as well.

  • M

    Marianne · Married on 05/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi Chan did the hair and makeup for my bridesmaids, mother and sister for my wedding in NYC, and the only complaint I have was that I didn't use her for my own hair and makeup. Sissi was incredibly organized, quick, friendly and easy-going and did an absolutely fantastic job on everyone's hair and makeup. I was originally going to have Sissi do my hair and makeup too, but a couple of weeks before the wedding I got stressed that we would have to start at the crack of dawn to have enough time for everyone, so I booked someone else for myself. Timing-wise this was a good idea - but Sissi, while having lower rates, did a MUCH better job that the vendor who did my services. She also has a very calming demeanor, was incredibly professional and used very high quality products. All communication leading up to the wedding was very easy, too - Sissi would always respond quickly, and it was very easy to set everything up. I would recommend Sissi Chan to any and everyone, and if I was doing this all again, I would have her do my hair and makeup as well.

  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is absolutely fantastic to work with! She is flexible, responsive, courteous, and extremely professional! She made me look amazing on my wedding day and also for my wedding shower! She is willing to travel to any location and and is always prepared with everything. She is the most talented makeup/hair professional I know, look no further, just hire Sissi! Everyone was raving about how beautiful I looked on my wedding day, and I have to thank Sissi for all the compliments! She is the best!!!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am very happy I chose Sissi Chan for my wedding day! She made me look awesome. I received many compliments from guests of how good i looked! She is easy to communicate with and works with you. I recommend the trial session so you can get an idea of what you'll look on your wedding day. She also worked on one bridesmaid and my flower girl. They looked great! My hair and makeup really lasted all day. I didn't even do any retouching except for my lipstick. You will not be disappointed when you choose Sissi Chan.

  • M

    Marjorie · Married on 12/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi did my hair and several of my bridesmaid's hair for our wedding. I loved my hair. When we met for the trial, I didn't know exactly what I wanted, but Sissi helped me figure it out. The day of the wedding, she did my hair perfectly, and I really loved it. All of the bridesmaid's loved their hairstyles too. Sissi is very nice, laid back, and professional. I am so glad that I found her to do my hair, she was perfect. Also, her prices are very reasonable. I would absolutely recommend her.

  • Z

    Zaina · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi is so sweet and was wonderful to work with. I actually had Sissi do my hair and makeup for a smaller event I had and then a few months later do my hair for my wedding and all my bridesmaids. She did a fantastic job on both events. She was so professional and helped me get the exact look I wanted. She also did a great job with all six of my bridesmaids and accommodated all the different looks the girls wanted. I was also so impressed by how calm Sissi was with all the chaos that was going on on my wedding day with everyone getting ready and with my family members asking her a million questions.

    I highly recommend working with Sissi. Her hair and makeup lasted all night and she really does make you look your best on your special day!

  • L

    Leslie · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sissi was a dream to work with...very talented but easy going. She
    showed up bright and early and had a great attitude. I love that she
    made my bridesmaids look uniquely gorgeous!! Everyone had stunning
    makeup and different hair..I couldnt help staring :) Would definitely
    recommend her to anyone!

  • N

    Ella · Married on 02/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'll start by saying I have a lot of thick, long hair. And I wanted to wear it half up, half down with a lot of thick curls. I was so nervous that the curls would fall after some movement, but Sissi worked her magic and they stayed through dancing and hugs. She is an absolute pleasure to be around (that is something to consider - who wants to deal with unpleasant people on their wedding day!?), and she is a true pro. Her price can't be beat! If she can conquer my hair, she can handle any bride's 'do. I highly recommend her - don't delay, she books up fast!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review