Weddings

Simply K Studios Reviews

Simply K Studios

Simply K Studios

Wethersfield, CT
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Mary
    Mary B. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    When a wedding photographer chooses THEIR photographer

    Lots of people asked how on earth I choose a wedding photographer after being a wedding photographer myself for 13 years. Of course, being on the other side of the camera- I had to decide who to entrust with our big day. Simply K Studios is owned by two awesome ladies that I got to know through working in the industry and it wasn’t long before we became genuine friends. Will Wood and I were in Cancun (on a job with Simply K) when we found out we got our house and it was Kathy and her husband that we celebrated with.
    When it came to our wedding, we knew we had to have them as our wedding photographers. The day of, Katherine Tomasek Loiselle and Kelly Myers came with their sweet and authentic personalities, that not only did my husband and I feel at ease, but so did everyone around us. Their personal approach allowed for our story to be told as it was- parents laughed with full smiles, bridal party had fun and enjoyed getting their picture taken and above all/ my husband and I got to be us, and therefore our photographs were me and him to our core. Also did I mention our epic engagement session where Kathy not only listened to our ideas but put her own creative spin on them which blew us away. As a wedding photographer myself (and maybe I shouldn’t be saying this 🤣) I would hire Simply K over and over again for the most important day of my life. These two talented women captured very essence of who we are as a couple. Thank you, thank you Kathy and Kelly for giving us the gift of a lifetime and beyond.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 03/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Finding a photographer was harder than finding a fiancé, but Simply K is The One.

    YOUR SEARCH IS OVER. TRUST ME. Simply K is who you want. If you don't have time to read my whole review, at least read this list of the top things you need to know about working with Kelly: EXTREMELY, UNBELIEVABLY talented; black-belt director of uncooperative bridal parties & families; accommodating to the extreme; reassuring emotional support that rivals even the cutest therapy dog; truly cares about her clients; my new best friend.

    Working with Kelly was truly one of the highlights of our wedding day, which started during our first phonecall many months before. Not to be a bridezilla, but I had contacted and spoken with at least 30 different photographers before I found Simply K. Every one of those 30+ photographers managed to give me a reason not to trust them - mostly it boiled down to a lack of respect for us as people and not just subjects of their photography.

    Then I found Simply K. Kelly and I got on a quick phone call and it became immediately clear that Kelly's primary aim is to make a friend, and if you hire her then she'll be happy to be photographing her new friend's wedding. She listened to my story and concerns about the other photographers I had spoken to, and reassured me that we would be able to find a way to work together if that was what I wanted, and we did. During that phone call she even told me to call or text her if I needed to vent about anything at all, that she was there for me. Kelly legitimately cares about the people she works with.

    During the wedding, Kelly and her partner were able to wrangle a challenging 13-person bridal party (cops and firefighters don't like taking photos), a 3-year-old flower girl (cranky toddler alert), two large families with plenty of divorce and awkward dynamics to consider...and they did everything proficiently with smiles on their faces. Going back to their primary mission - at least half of our bridal party came back to us later to say how cool they thought the photographers were and how lucky we were to have them (which obv we already knew). They even showed us the photos they were capturing every so often so we could give feedback and direction if we wanted (though we never needed to do). My husband and I were also tired, stressed and barely holding it together that day and Kelly and her partner were sincerely there for us and the only vendors (including our wedding planner!) who made us feel really calm and happy. You cannot find another wedding photographer that can do all of that and still do a good job with the photos.

    Then, this super-photog got us our edited photos less than a month after the wedding. And they...are...FANTASTIC. I've had them for about a week, still look at them multiple times a day, still almost cry over how good they are. I have felt so much joy looking at these photos, knowing how our grandkids will eventually see them and joke about how beautiful we used to be before we got old and wrinkly, because HOT DAMN did they make us look good. I'm now trying to come up with more reasons to hire her - Christmas card? Boudoir? Maternity? Sitting in traffic on I-95? Whatever, she'll do it and she'll make it amazing.

    Hire this woman. You will not regret it.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 05/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough great things about Kathy and Kelly, I have worked with them twice in the past and am also having photos done of my 1 year old by them. I enjoy working with them both and they always help me find the vision I want for my photos. Love them!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Incredibly professional, I hardly notice they were there and while we were taking photos she would periodically show me previews of staged shots and from what I have seen they look amazing!
  • Anastasia
    Anastasia Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    ENGAGEMENT: From the beginning, my fiance and I had a hard time deciding on a photographer. Having amazing photos was my number one priority and I was not willing to budge. After much searching, we found Simply K Studios. Kathy has been very nice, responsive, and helpful! In October of 2016 we had our engagement session which we were extremely nervous about (being awkward, not knowing what to do), but Kathy made us feel completely comfortable! Once we got our engagement photos (which we absolutely loved) we could not wait to have Kathy photograph our wedding day in July of 2017!

    WEDDING: Scott and I got married on July 22nd of 2017 at Maneeley's in South Windsor and our day was perfect! Kathy and Kelly captured our wedding day from beginning to end perfectly. There were so many times that I had forgotten they were even there, which really gave them the chance to capture true, honest, and raw emotions. Scott and I did a first look and I am soooo glad! It was a hot day, so we definitely looked our best those first few hours! It did not take anything away from the actual ceremony at all. I still felt the ceremony was the most emotional part of the day. Kathy was so easy to communicate with before and after the wedding. She always made me feel more like a friend than a client. We got our photos just 4 short weeks after the wedding and we could not be happier with them!!! When we went to pick them up, not only did we get the photos, but we were surprised with a very thoughtful and beautiful gift!

    Kathy and Kelly, thank you so much for capturing moments that Scott and I will cherish for the rest of our lives. We are looking forward to working with you in the future!
  • J
    Jerry Married on 06/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very lucky to have Simply K studios as our photographers for our engagement session and wedding. Kathy and Kelly did such an incredible job, all the pictures came out beautiful. They made us a guestbook using our engagement photos and it came out amazing. The best thing about Simply K Studies is not just their talent but it’s their passion and professionalism. They wanted to make sure our pictures came out perfect. They worked very hard to incorporate everything we wanted to do. We did a first touch and they did an amazing job of coordinating that for us and it turned out incredible. Unfortunately we had a significant amount of rain come through during our wedding, Kathy and Kelly did not miss a beat despite the weather, it was pretty awesome to see them in action. When we saw the pictures we honestly don’t know how they could have turned out any better. Thank you Simply K Studios!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We met Kelly at a wedding event before we were even engaged; however, our friends hired Simply K after that event. Kelly is personable, professional, and has an incredible eye for photography. Our friends had Kathy as their primary shooter, and they loved her. That led us to hire Simply K, as well. I was so happy to have Kelly as our primary shooter. She was responsive, relatable, and had lots of good advice (e.g., move your hand here, look this way). Our photos came out amazing and were worth every penny (we also did engagement photos with Kelly). I would not hesitate to hire either Kelly or Kathy again!
  • C
    Caroline Married on 08/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    we had an amazing experience with Kathy and Bobbi! Our pictures came out amazing , everyone loves them. Kathy and Bobbi know exactly what they're doing !!!!
  • Jennifer M
    Jennifer Married on 04/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Planning Process: Where do I begin? I knew right away that Simply K Studios was the right choice for our wedding after our first meeting. Kathy is very friendly, genuine, calm and professional. She also has a passion for photography that shines through from the moment you meet her! At our first meeting, she was very clear and thorough about their style and how to work within our budget. She shared a variety of photos and portfolios so we could truly get a sense of their work, and make sure it connected with our vision of how we wanted our day captured. Throughout the entire wedding planning process, Kathy was very responsive and quick to answer any questions, big or small.

    Engagement Session: After learning that my “dream” engagement session would be at a national park in Maryland – she did everything in her power to make it happen… and it did. Not many people can say their photographer traveled 8 hours to take their engagement photos on a beach among wild horses. She endured over an hour of horse fly and mosquito bites and literally walked into the ocean up to her waist just to capture the perfect shot for us!

    Wedding Day: My heart is so full of joy each time I look at the photos from our wedding. Kathy and Kelly captured our day so beautifully. Their emphasis on capturing genuine emotion, rather than staged shots, is something that sets Simply K apart from other photographers. Their photos truly captured the story of our wedding day, and all of the emotions felt by myself and my husband, family, and our guests.

    Kathy and Kelly are dedicated, gracious, and highly skilled photographers and it is without hesitation that I would recommend them to anyone.
  • J
    Jenna Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kathy and Bobby did an amazing job photographing our wedding. Throughout the whole planning process, Kathy was very professional and responded quickly to any questions we had.
    We only had a short amount of time to do formal pictures before the reception and they made sure we didn't have to sacrifice any of the pictures we wanted due to time. They were very organized and prompt in taking them.
    Not only were the formal pictures beautiful, but we especially loved how they captured the fun of the reception as well!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 04/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Simply K Studios is awesome!! Did our engagement shoot with Kathy and she was such a trooper trekking into the freezing knee-deep snow to get us the great, dreamy shots we were hoping for! We cannot wait to see her work for the wedding this April, they are amazing and the results do not disappoint!!
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 07/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We booked Simply K Studios for our wedding this past July and I don't think I could be any happier with our photos. Kelly and Kathy are professional, easy to work with, flexible (drove all the way to Maine... enough said), prompt with communication and incredibly talented. Check out their site. Beautiful photography! It was a great experience working with them. The only thing I'm sad about is that we live in the Northwest and won't be able to do family and baby photos with them....
  • User1266951 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We did both our engagement photos and wedding photos with Simply K Studios. Kelly is amazing and I would highly recommend.
  • User1210668 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I loved working with Kelly and Kathy from Simply K!! We used them for our engagement session and for our wedding and we have been nothing but estatic about their work. We haven't recieved our proofs from our wedding yet, but the sneak peaks that were posted on Facebook were beyond beautiful. Our family and friends have given us so many compliments on their work, and we have recommened them to everyone! These two wonderful women make you feel so comfortable while working with them and thats one of the many reasons why you should chose them to document your special day. Please take the time to check them out, you wont regret it!!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 07/01/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kathy and Kelly are beyond extraordinary!!!! We absolutely loved our engagement shoot and wedding photos. These ladies are extremely professional and they produce high quality work! We can't wait to hire them again!!!!
  • A
    Kellie Married on 08/13/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kathy and Kelly at Simply K Studios were so wonderful! We truly enjoyed working with them. They were so friendly, and you could just tell that they take pride in what they do. It never seemed like a "job" or "work" to them, they truly enjoy working with you and what they are doing. Believe me they KNOW what they are doing! We always felt so relaxed with them. The pictures came out wonderful, it became so hard to decide which ones to choose! Kathy and Kelly were always available to talk to, for questions, they always got back to us right away. We would recommend Simply K Studios to anyone out there who is looking for top notch photographers!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly and Bobby photographed our wedding in mid September and they were FANTASTIC! Kelly also did our engagement shoot months before, so we knew she and her team were the right match for us! Kelly was with me and the bridesmaids all morning while we got ready, and she was so helpful in getting us together to take pictures, but without being in the way at all. She literally told us to pretend she wasn't there, that she would be wandering around getting shots and would let us know when something was needed, she did exactly that. She was also really helpful in posing for pictures! Bobby was at the groom's house taking pictures of the guys getting dressed and their family. She had a great sense of humor (which is needed with a group of 9 men!) but did a great job getting the perfect shots and really capturing the fun and emotional moments of that morning.

    Our wedding photos truly captured the emotion and memories of the day! They both have such a great eye for photography! Not only were the pictures amazing, but we received our "sneak peak" shots 2 days after the wedding and received our electronic copies of ALL the photos only 3 weeks after the wedding!! We can't say enough nice things about Simply K, they were just fantastic and we are so happy they helped us capture the beautiful memories of our special day! :)
  • User2253750 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We did our engagement session and wedding photography with Kelly. She was highly professional and knowledgeable. I was so glad that we did our engagement session with her, not only did we get amazing photos, but she also made us comfortable. We were not exactly comfortable in front of the camera, especially kissing, but for the wedding we were relaxed. Kelly was easy to talk to and her work is beyond amazing. I have received nothing but great compliments on the pictures we have so far. One comment I read on previous reviews was that you didn’t even know they were there and that was one of the reasons I contacted her. If I did not see photos, I wouldn’t have even known they were there! If you are looking for great photos from professionals with great personalities, I highly recommend them.
  • L
    Lesley Married on 08/20/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly and Kathy are a joy to work with. They are professional, have great ideas, and managed to blend seamlessly into the background on our wedding day, yet captured countless great moments. We also loved our engagement photos session and were amazed at the amount of time Kelly is willing to take to ensure that you find the perfect shots. She is patient has very unique ideas. We are extremely pleased with their services, and their pricing is very reasonable. We cannot recommend them enough!