Skip to main content
Weddings

Simply Gourmet Reviews

Simply Gourmet View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
91 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

91
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • Kelly
    Kelly Sent on 10/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Only Caterer You Need to Look At!!

    I am so so so happy we found Simply Gourmet! We were married on 9/29/23 in Middletown, NY, and finding a caterer was honestly the most stressful part of all of my planning.... Until I found
  • K
    Katie D. Sent on 10/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Simply Gourmet did a fantastic job catering our wedding.

    From the months of planning beforehand to the wedding day itself, Mike was so professional, kind, communicative, and attentive. The planning process was incredibly organized and we felt at ease knowing that he was able to handle all of the details. The transition from ceremony to cocktails, dinner and dessert was seamless. And of course, the food was wonderful! We received so many compliments from our guests. If you are looking for a caterer or planner, Simply Gourmet is definitely the best choice!
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra D. Sent on 10/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Gourmet is the best!!

    Mike and the Simply Gourmet team truly exemplified excellence. Mike and his team's impeccable foresight and meticulous planning ensured that our wedding day flowed seamlessly, leaving us with complete peace of mind. It's hard to put into words just how highly we recommend Mike and his team, they were nothing short of extraordinary, embodying both exceptional professionalism and genuine kindness. The food was also amazing and as someone with food allergies they went above and beyond ensuring i was able to enjoy everything.

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Alex! Thank you so much for the kind words! I am so glad that the weather held off until the end for everyone to enjoy a great event!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Taryn
    Taryn G. Sent on 08/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My Dream Wedding

    I was a bit late planning my wedding. I called Mike mid March for an early July wedding. As soon as I talked with him I knew I wanted to go with Simply Gourmet if they were able to take me on. It was clear that he knew what he was doing, he was good at it and I was in good hands. He was extremely straightforward in explaining the prices and he was clear and quick to point out all the places where people get confused, where there can be price fluctuations or where miscommunication tends to happens. This was not the case in other calls I had with caterers. I felt with other calls that things were amorphous and cost-analysis was confusing and dodgy. Every other vendor that I was considering working with from flowers to tent rentals had heard of Mike and said variations of "Oh they're good" and "they're on top of it ". I knew I was lucky when he agreed to cater my Thursday wedding with not that much lead time. And wow, the food was incredible!! The apps delicious and fun, the fish tender, the ravioli fantastic, the signature cocktail a major hit. The day of coordinator Darnell, provided by Simply, was really wonderful and took care of me on the day, making sure I got food and corralling my family for the pictures. The staff was so warm and in general, it was a dream. My wedding was on private land and wasn't a traditional venue. It had some logistical challenges and Mike and his team were willing and able to adjust. I had asked family to come from all over the world and drive down many dirt roads to be here for this day and for all this trouble, I wanted them to feel taken care of and thought of on my wedding day. Delicious food is one of the best ways take care of people you love and Mike helped me do that with crostinis, tenderloin, pecan crusted salmon and pretzel bars to spare. I would highly, highly recommend Simply Gourmet.

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Taryn,

    Thank you so much for the kind words! I am glad to know that we were able to make you, and your guests, feel so special. Thank you for letting us be a part of it!

    -Mike
  • K
    Kristina K. Sent on 11/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Where do I even begin!? Mike and his team are phenomenal. My wedding was at a new venue and not only did Simply Gourmet provide the most amazing food ever but also support throughout the process that we didn't even know we needed. From menu recommendations, timeline, floor layout etc Mike helped us every step of the way. And the food! Our family and friends are still raving about how delicious everything was. A wedding of 250 people and everything came out together, hot and delicious. I actually made sure to sit down during my wedding because I knew I did not want to miss out on this part of our day. Every member of his staff that he brings to events is professional and also super friendly and knew how to make everyone feel welcome. I can not thank the Simply Gourmet team enough.
  • Jodi
    Jodi D. Sent on 10/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and great people!

    We're so happy we chose Simply Gourmet for our wedding at Nostrano Vineyards. From the moment we booked, they were a pleasure to work with and the food was absolutely delicious. Our guests were raving about the food all night long saying it was some of the best wedding food they've ever had. Highly recommend!
  • Angelina
    Angelina Sent on 09/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unbelievable service!

    We were absolutely blown away by the service from Simply Gourmet!! Not only is the food incredible but the staff is simply one of a kind. Mike is an absolute pleasure to work with and incredibly organized and responsive! Darnell was an amazing captain and constantly checked in to make sure we were fed and happy. Our day was absolutely perfect and we have simply gourmet to thank for that. We cannot thank them enough!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Angelina! Thank you very much for the kind words! I am happy to know that you and the guests enjoyed everything! You both were a lot of fun to work with!
  • Matt
    Matt B. Sent on 12/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    PHENOMENAL catering in the Hudson Valley

    If you're looking for quality catering, look no further than Simply Gourmet. They were extremely patient and understanding while we planned our wedding from 1000 miles away. They take care of all the stressful parts of planning...and not to mention their DELICIOUS food. The best wedding food I've ever had, hands down. Thanks to the entire Simply team for making my wife and my day so special!
  • K
    Karen Sent on 05/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great caterer to work with!

    The Simply Gourmet team worked so seamlessly with all of our vendors. They put such care into their work, so our event went without a hitch! Everyone loved all aspects of our wedding and raved about the food (especially the wild mushroom ravioli). All of our decorations were set up and placed exactly how we envisioned it. They did such a great job, even as we threw in some last minute decorations. Everything looked so beautiful and the whole event was perfect. We couldn’t have had such a successful event without the Simply Gourmet team.

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    HI Karen! We are so happy to know that you and your guests enjoyed the day! Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be a part of it.
  • T
    Tara T. Sent on 05/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best caterer out there

    My husband and I chose Simply Gourmet to cater our wedding. Mike and his team were extremely helpful from start to finish. Mike is very responsive via email. He is very friendly, helpful, professional, and organized. The tasting was amazing and our guests raved about our wedding food. I could not be any happier with our cocktail hour and reception selections. Go with Mike and Simply Gourmet. They are the best and you will not be disappointed.

  • B
    Brittany C. Sent on 11/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely incredible!!

    Mike and his team at Simply Gourmet are phenomenal. The food was perfect and delicious; we received compliments on the food all night. The team followed my decor instruction to a T - everything looked exactly how I wanted it. The wait staff kept my husband and I fed all night. They were so quick to answer any questions or respond to a request. Not to mention, they were so kind! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Thank you for the kind review! I am glad that you and your guests enjoyed a great night. It was a fun event!
  • S
    Sara T. Sent on 03/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible food! Incredible people!

    Mike and the team from Simply Gourmet were phenomenal! The food was absolutely incredible and all of our guests still talk about the food at our wedding. Mike is so responsive, and a true team player. He's easy to work with, and so knowledgeable. His team was so attentive to us during our wedding, and always made sure we had everything we needed. If you are looking for a catering and set-up team to ease your worries and make your day run smooth... Simply Gourmet can't be beat! 10/10 would recommend for weddings or any other catered event.
  • Cassie
    Cassie M. Sent on 10/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So impressed!

    Can't say enough about how happy we were with hiring Simply Gourmet. From the planning, the set up, food, drink, service, cleanup and a warm, patient and supportive staff! We could not have asked for anything better.
    We have gotten so many compliments on the food, some saying best wedding food they have had and we loved their focus locally sourced food and drinks. Mike was an absolute pleasure to work; patient, pleasant, fun and detailed oriented are just some qualities to mention. Thanks to the entire team for helping us throw an unforgettable event!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Cassie! Thank you for the review! It was a lot of fun working with you the day was beautiful!! I am glad that you and your guests enjoyed everything!
  • Deborah
    Deborah S. Sent on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fall Wedding

    Simply Gourmet made my Daughter and Son in Laws wedding so memorable. The food was amazing. The service was great and the staff went above and beyond.
  • Lauren
    Lauren N. Sent on 02/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Gourmet is Simply the Best

    We knew from the moment we met Mike that Simply Gourmet was the right choice for our wedding caterer. Mike answered all our questions early on and clearly approached the event with enthusiasm. He assured us that we wouldn't need a wedding planner/coordinator and their team would help with everything and they went above and beyond our expectations. We don't know what we would've done without them. They paid attention to all of our requests, nailed every detail and made sure the day went smoothly. All of our guests raved about the food and the amazing staff. They took great care of us, made sure our schedule stayed on track, greeted us with cocktails right after the ceremony, and made sure we took time to eat. They had our best interests in mind from start to finish and we couldn't be happier with our decision to book with them!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Lauren! Thank you so much for the kind review. I am happy to know that you and your guests enjoyed everything! It was a beautiful fall day at Nostrano!
  • Margot
    Margot Y. Sent on 02/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious food! Hire Mike!

    Hiring Simply Gourmet/ Mike was the second best decision we made, after deciding to marry each other. Our friends had used him and recommended him for his responsiveness and attention to detail. He is extremely - scarily, even - good at managing the minutiae of a 150 person event. He handled all our rentals (which we paid for through him) as well which was a HUGE weight off our shoulders, and recommended our beloved wedding planner (Lauren F at Wild Blooms Bridal). He worked with the owners of our location (Hayfield Catskills) to conduct a site visit and make sure everything was laid out exactly right, and then easily pivoted when it looked like it was going to rain. His food wildly exceeded our expectations based on all the wedding food we've had elsewhere - how did he produce 75 portions of perfectly cooked salmon and short ribs, at the same time?? The menu is varied, universally delicious, and has something for everyone (vegan/ GF/ omnivore). He is flexible and accommodated a special vendor from my husband's home state serving a specific lemonade, and happily provided booze to spike it with. His grazing table is not to be missed and the dessert buffet was a huge hit (especially the apple cider donuts!). He and his staff are consummate professionals and we cannot recommend them enough!!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Hi Margot! Thank you for the kind review! It was a pleasure working with you! The event was fantastic and we enjoyed the lemonade as well!
  • Kayla
    Kayla M. Sent on 07/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best, hands down! More than just an amazing catering service

    Simply Gourmet catered our wedding and simply blew us away with their organization, timeliness and kindness! Mike helped us plan our wedding for two years, and did not disappoint! Shoutout to Darnell, the team’s captain. It rained on our wedding day and Darnell made us feel at ease. We had originally planned for an outdoor ceremony, and were pretty upset when the rain wouldn’t let up. Darnell’s daughter got married at the same venue (also on a rainy day), and she assured us they could make our ceremony look just as beautiful inside and she was right! The team turned the reception area into a ceremony for us and it looked stunning!

    Our guests couldn’t stop telling us how delicious Simply Gourmet’s food was! We have some snobby food guests, so I was worried about what they would say, but we heard back only good things! We loved the food and crave it every now and then! I think the best part about the day was how hospitable the staff was to us, they made sure we had a plate of all the cocktail food immediately after the ceremony, and a drink in our hands at all times. The entire staff treated us like royalty, we felt so special all day. A few even joined us on the dance floor at one point.

    I would 100 percent recommend booking Simply Gourmet for your wedding and/or any event for that matter! Thank you Mike, Darnell and the SG team! We don’t have all of our professional photos back yet so here are some pics snapped by our wedding guests. Get the broccoli cole slaw and locally made cider donuts!!
  • Gretchen
    Gretchen S. Sent on 06/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome! 10/10

    Simply Gourmet was amazing — we’re so glad we chose them as our wedding caterer! Mike and Darnell were a pleasure to work with, and were so patient and kind throughout the entire process. They couldn’t have made it more seamless for us and we were thrilled with how everything came together. The food was delicious and our guests are still talking about how good it was! We would absolutely hire them again for any event, and will undoubtedly order from them when we are in the area. 😊

    Highly, highly recommend!! Thanks to Mike, Darnell and the Simply Gourmet team!!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Sent on 06/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the total package!

    where to start - I hired Simply Gourmet only a few months before my wedding as I threw it together last minute. they make it very clear and easy in selecting from their range of catering options. I loved that they also provided the staffing & bar - that made things much simpler. from there I spoke with & met Mike several times where he quickly resolved any of my concerns/questions. DIY weddings where you bring in your own caterer/rentals is very stressful, Mike made all of that easier, he handled everything with other vendors and was my day of coordinator (including setting up all my decor and establishing the day of timeline). my wedding was the best day of my life, my husband & I were so impressed with the food (the guests raved about it too) and how professional/attentive Mike & his team were. 10000% would use SG again and highly recommend them if you're looking for the total package. thank you Mike for making our day a success!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    Thanks Jess! It was so nice working with you. I am so happy that your day went very smoothly and that your Guests had a great day!
  • Samantha
    Samantha Sent on 06/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Perfect!

    Simply Gourmet catering our wedding was an absolute dream! From the planning process, Mike was super responsive and listened to every single question/concern we had, which was definitely needed in the time of Covid. If there was anything we were unsure of, he always gave us the time to think things over and even made some suggestions to help us out along the way. With constant changes in event regulations happening over the months leading up to our wedding, Mike made sure to constantly keep us in the loop. And a plus, he also played the middleman with the rental company for the wedding which alleviated a lot of stress from us.

    As for the day of the wedding, their service and food was a 10/10. By the time we arrived to do our first look, which was a few hours prior to the ceremony start, everything was already setup and absolutely beautiful. The moment the ceremony ended, Darnell had my husband and I's drink of choice in hand, waiting for us! Darnell made sure to check up on us throughout the night to make sure things were running smoothly and to make sure to let her know if we needed anything.

    The food was outstanding. We had a bunch of our guests rave about their meals. We even had one of my cousins from Texas (she loves her steakhouses) mention how incredible the steak was and how perfectly it was cooked.

    I could go on and on about my experience with Simply Gourmet but at that point, it woud end up being a novel. Mike and Darnell are a power team! I highly recommend working with them for your big day. They will not disappoint!

    Thank you, Simply Gourmet for going above and beyond. You were such a pleasure to work with!
  • Tracy
    Tracy K. Sent on 06/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience!

    Working with Simply Gourmet was amazing! Mike and his colleague served dinner at our small wedding in Swan Lake, NY and they were both professional and friendly. The food was amazing - everyone enjoyed it and they were able to accommodate for a couple of different dietary needs. Mike worked with us on a short timeline and put together a beautiful menu at a very fair price. Would definitely recommend and use Simply Gourmet again!

    Simply Gourmet's reply:

    So glad that we could be a part of your event!!! It was nice working with you. Best wishes for your future together! -Mike
  • T
    Taylor O. Sent on 06/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing caterer

    Mike4 and his team at Simply Gourmet helped us create an amazing wedding day experience for us and our guests. They were did so much more than provide food (which was delicious). They helped with planning, and day of scheduling, and lot's of other things that I had never thought of. Highly recommend!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey L. Sent on 04/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid Wedding Success!

    I cannot say enough good things about working with Simply Gourmet. From the beginning, Mike was an absolute pleasure to work with. Covid unfortunately hit us mid wedding planning, but Mike was 100% on top of all the guidelines and great with keeping us updated. We ended up going forth with our original date with 50 guest and we are so happy we did not postpone. We actually ended up using Simply Gourmet for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. Their on-site space is perfect- it allowed our guests to move around freely without worrying about bothering other guests in a restaurant. It allowed us (and our guests) to really get to know the team (esp the bartender) that would be at our actually wedding. There is so much variety to their menu, that there was no overlap at all with food between the rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. Darnell was out captain for both events and she really helped everything run so smoothly. Our families still cannot stop talking about how great everything was. We would recommend Simply Gourmet for any event, and can hopefully find an excuse to use them again.
  • S
    Samantha G. Sent on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Service

    Simply Gourmet not only provided food but helped with day of coordination and decoration. They made our wedding run smoothly and everyone loved the food.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message