Simplicity Reviews

16 | Ferndale, MI
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Simplicity

Recommended by 100%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • P

    Paul · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simplicity DOC was easily the best investment of all of our wedding vendors. We worked with Jill for our wedding at Belle Isle Casino. She helped us plan, ensured our vendors were coordinated and prepared and generally eased our mind about everything. The day of our wedding ran flawlessly, largely due to Jill’s preparation. She is extremely accommodating and dedicated to making the events she works a success. We only found out about potential complications afterward – we were too busy having fun while Jill and her staff smoothed them over. We highly recommend Simplicity DOC.

    Sent on 11/13/2013

    Simplicity's reply:

    Thank you!!! Loved working with you both!
  • M

    Mary Lynn · Married on 03/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jill did a superb job handling the last minute details for my daughter's wedding. She kept track of everything so we wouldn't have to and dealt with day-of issues calmly and professionally, in addition to being a joy to work with. Do yourself the favor of being able to enjoy your own party - it's worth every penny.

    Sent on 04/02/2013

    Simplicity's reply:

    Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!
  • User2536167 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jill is absolutely amazing! She made all of our family feel so comfortable and she helped us out throughout the whole process. There is no need to be stressed out on your wedding day and Jill did such an amazing job with controlling and perfecting every aspect. I couldn't have had such a beautiful event if it weren't for her!

    Sent on 07/12/2012
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Simplicity to anybody looking to wake up the morning of their wedding and not have to worry about a thing. That's how my day was! Shelly is amazing and did a fantastic job! They set everything up perfect and dealt with all the little issues that came up so that I didn't have to. They did this so well that I didn't even know there were issues until after the wedding. She did a great job dealing with my less than friendly reception venue staff! They truly were money we'll spent!

    Sent on 11/11/2011
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish there were more stars to rate the service we received on my daughters wedding day - 9.10.11!!! From our initial meeting Shelly was professional and on task! Her assistance from start to finish was immeasureable. As the wedding day approached I was more and more thankful that we hired a Day Of Coordinator as the list of final items began to grow increasingly larger... I can't imagine having to do these things now.

    Shelly provided a level of comfort that allowed us to truly enjoy the day! After all the planning and coordinating the day arrived and we entrusted the finest details with her and she did an amazing job!!! So thankful for her guidance and assistance! She was a pure delight to work with and honestly made this special day even better! What a gift!

    Loved the Blog - unexpected and so sweet! To my delight she took several pictures and captured many of the highlights and special touches that we were unable to do ourselves. I thought I over looked this, but she came thru for us there too! Amazing!!

    So thankful! Mary Hayes - Proud Mother of the Bride!!!

    Sent on 09/26/2011
  • S

    Sue · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly did the coordination of our wedding and it was one of the best decisions I made for a "vendor". She really isn't like a vendor, she becomes more of a friend during the process. I'm a pretty organized person, so a lot of the planning and DIY was done early in the process. But, with our venue (Greenmead Village in Livonia), there was only access to the chapel and banquet portion 2 hrs before the event. THAT made a fabulous coordinator invaluable. Everywhere I looked on our Wedding Day, there was Shelly.......not in an obvious way, just going about her business making sure everything ran smoothly. The entire day went by in a blur, but her attention to detail and following of the timeline took away any opportunities for delays or mistakes. GREAT DOC, I highly recommend her.

    Sent on 09/06/2011
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I begin? Every minute of working with Jill was amazing. She was so helpful, sweet, professional, creative, flexible and just all around fabulous. We did a lot of our planning and preparations long distance so it was super important that we had someone who could handle the last minute stuff and Jill did such an incredible job. Wish I could give her more stars!

    Sent on 08/21/2011

    Simplicity's reply:

    Thank you!! I loved working with you, and I am so lucky to have been a part of your beautiful wedding xxoo
  • C

    Rachael · Married on 10/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simplicity Day of Wedding Coordination transformed my entire wedding day. At first, I didn't really think I needed a day of coordinator, but my maid of honor gave me "Shelly" as her wedding gift. She thought the last thing I wanted to deal with on the most important day of my life was if the shuttles were on time or if the florist brought the right flowers. Boy was she right! I met with Shelly about 4 months before the wedding just to get acquainted and to tell her how the plans were coming along. She was great at brainstorming ideas I hadn't thought of and steering me in the right direction when it came to timelines. It was great to have an "expert opinion" on those details. I met with Shelly two days before the wedding and "handed over" my plans, knowing they were in her very capable hands. She contacted each of our vendors to finalize their arrival times and confirm arrangements. When I woke up on my wedding day, the only thing I had on my mind was marrying my husband and truly enjoying the day. I was very "present" and enjoyed every single moment I spent before the ceremony with my close friends and family, without getting sidetracked by the details. Shelly helped make sure the day was flowing along and everyone knew exactly what to do and where to be. She was the one that brought me a tissue right before I took my first step down the aisle and the one to bustle my dress when I had forgotten, right before being introduced into the reception. Shelly was the "rock" during the planning and on the day and the memories I have wouldn't have been possible without her. My biggest piece of advice to any bride is "hire Simplicity"!!

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jill and Shelly were so fantastic. Jill was so willing to work with any changes and even made sure everyone knew about the timeline change that morning! We had added a favor that my dad ordered (we didn’t know about it until the day before) and they were ready to roll with it and they were out the tables before the ceremony. I can say so many good things about them: Jill took care of me at the ceremony, made sure I had my drink full all night, packed up everything, emptied the limo…. We didn’t have to worry about a thing! Absolutely fantastic

    Sent on 06/05/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Much like the other reviews, there is not one bad thing I can say about Shelly/Simplicity. I thought I could handle everything myself, including setting up and taking down all the centerpieces. As our day got closer I realized that I was in WAY over my head. Shelly totally came to the rescue. After our first meeting I never felt stressed again. I had complete confidence in her and she definitely delivered.
    She handled our day with absolute professionalism and made me feel completely at ease.
    She went above and beyond what we discussed and thought of every little detail. I would recommend her to anyone planning their big day.
    I must say that hiring her was one of the best decisions I made in the entire planning process.

    Sent on 06/02/2010
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 04/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jill and Shelly are awesome! We started looking for DOCs late in our planning. At that point we figured we had spent all of this money to make the day great and we didn’t want it to be crazy for us or have something fall through the cracks because we couldn’t keep up. We really didn’t want to clean up at the end of the night - we wanted to go the the hotel bar with our family and friends.

    I literally didn’t have a care in the world on my wedding day and wasn’t worried about them AT ALL leading up to the wedding. I knew what tasks were Jill’s responsibilities and which were mine and I had no doubts in her. Jill and I met twice before the wedding and I shared with her every detail that I had in my head – she took notes and seemed very engaged throughout the conversation. This gave me complete trust in her. I trusted her so much that I didn’t even see the room until the guests were in it.

    Jill also called my vendors in the days leading up to our wedding just to confirm but also to set up deliver times. (Linens have to arrive before cake and flowers. Don’t want cake there too early for it to melt. Etc.) This was an awesome stress saver. And they stayed until the wee hours of the morning packing our things up and even putting different items in different people’s cars. SO GREAT! And she didn't kill my hubby or me when we couldn't tell her where our car keys were and she was digging through our luggage - THANKS JILL!

    I whole-heartedly recommend them and could go on and on but….just hire them!

    Sent on 05/18/2010

    Simplicity's reply:

    Thank you so much for the nice review!!!!!!!! Kristin, you and Bill were a JOY to work with and we were sooooo happy to be a part of your beautiful day!
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about Simplicity. Shelly was fantastic to work with. She went above and beyond what we had discussed during our meetings leading up to our wedding. Numerous times she came to our rescue to make sure our special day went as smoothly as possible. We didn't hire a DOC until the last minute and the only thing we wish we had done differently is that we wish we had hired them sooner! Simplicity made our day all that it could be and much, much more!

    Sent on 01/19/2010
  • M

    Stacey · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hadn't intended to hire a day-of coordinator -- I thought a few members of my family could set up the centerpieces, favors, place card table, etc. No big deal. But then I heard quite a few brides (and a close friend!) raving about Simplicity and figured I would check them out. And I'm so glad I did because there is a lot more to be done than decorating a reception hall.

    Prior to the wedding, I met twice with Jill and we exchanged tons of emails. She easily helped me work through every detail. Did my day-of schedule have any holes? Did my room layout make sense? What do I do with my engagement ring during the ceremony? :) And a zillion other little things. As we approached the big day, people kept asking me if I was nervous. And I wasn't! I knew the Simplicity team had me covered.

    Shelly attended my rehearsal and took a ton of notes. I had a full Catholic mass and it can get a little quirky for non-Catholics, so it was so great to have someone there and on top of everything. On the wedding day, Jill and Shelly split time coordinating and decorating between the church and the hall. I had a "vision" for the church and hall, but Jill and Shelly pulled it together much better than I could have. I just kept staring at all the tables, centerpieces, and all the wonderful little details they added and I got a little emotional! Everything was so perfect.

    On top of the decorating and vendor coordinating, Jill and Shelly anticipated our every need. We never asked for anything -- they would know what we wanted before WE did. My husband always cites this story: the limo dropped us off at the hall and he was carrying all of my random bags in. Before he even got through the door, Jill and Shelly took the bags out of his hands and stored them at their vendor table. He didn't even have to ask. This might seem like such a small detail, but there were so many situations exactly like this during the day where Jill and Shelly just got the job done, no questions asked.

    I'll conclude with my one big lesson learned! My family probably could have decorated the hall and church. I probably could have had an aunt coordinate the processional. I probably could have assigned a bridesmaid to be the main contact for my vendors on the wedding day. But Simplicity allowed not only me, but all of my family and friends to completely enjoy the day, no worries, no responsibilities. And honestly, they did it so much better than my mom, aunt, bridesmaid, or I could. Put your day in the hands of the professionals at Simplicity. I guarantee you will be thrilled.

    Sent on 10/14/2009

    Simplicity's reply:

    Ohhhh Stacey! We enjoyed every single moment of working with you two. You guys are amazing and your wedding party rocked. THANK YOU for letting us be there to share your special day!
  • T

    Kristina · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it came to wedding coordination, I was fairly certain that hiring someone to do this was the last thing I would ever do. Then our hall put us in a very difficult situation by saying that we may or may not have been able to get into our hall until just 2 hours before the reception. There was no way we were going to be able to decorate in the time between our ceremony and reception, when we had pictures and everything else to do, so we hired Jill. Now, I just wish I would have hired her for more than day of coordination! Jill was absolutely amazing. She provided everything we needed and more when it came to wedding coordination. She was so extremely helpful prior to the wedding, always answering our phones and e-mails right away. She went out of her way for us on many occassions. When it came to the day of the wedding, the hall was beautifully decorated and everything ran very smoothly. I was honestly taken aback by how gorgeous everything was. She was able to set up and take down all of our decorations in a very short amount of time, and was extremely helpful when it came to any last minute requests I had. She was by far our favorite vendor. Even our families can't stop talking about how sweet and helpful Jill was at the wedding.

    Having our hall put us in that situation was a blessing in disguise. Not only did she make our wedding day stress free, she made the time leading up to the wedding stress free by handling little hiccups with our vendors. In the end, we both agree that hiring Jill was the best decision we made when it came to wedding vendors.

    Sent on 08/22/2009

    Simplicity's reply:

    Thank you! We loved working with you both! Not only are you two an amazing couple, your family is amazing as well!! The nice things everyone said to us on your big night brought Shelly and I to tears! THANK YOU!
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am pretty confident in my ability to do everything myself, so I didn't think I needed to pay someone to help me. Boy was I wrong! Now I just look back and laugh. Jill was absolutely freaking amazing. There is no way things would have gone as smoothly without her. All my vendors commented that she was the best DOC they have ever seen and I am pretty sure my family is in love with her. I really could write a novel on helpful she was, especially at the end of the night. I highly advise anyone to hire Simplicity for their event.

    Sent on 05/26/2009
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/16/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jill is absolutely fabulous!! She went above and beyond and because of her, my wedding was stress-free!!

    Sent on 06/01/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review