Sheraton Madison Hotel Reviews

13 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Sheraton Madison Hotel

Recommended by 81%

13
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • A

    Arielle · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sheraton was the perfect place for our wedding reception. Lauren and Maija were so helpful from the beginning to the end. They promptly responded to all emails and answered all my questions and guided me through the whole process. The food was fantastic and served beautifully. All the wait staff and bartenders were so friendly and helpful. The ballroom was beautiful and held our group well. It is in a fun and easily accessible location, with lots to do before the reception. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! Thank you again Lauren and Maija for all the help!

    Sent on 10/23/2017

    Sheraton Madison Hotel's reply:

    Thank you Arielle for you kind review! We had a great time working with you and Adam to coordinate your special day and loved how your navy and grey decor fit the ballroom to a T. Working with brides as organized and kind as you are what makes us love our work. Come visit soon!
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren and Maija were absolutely fantastic, and our wedding reception was the perfect ending to a beautiful day. Everything went off without a hitch, and we really appreciated how often people checked in with us to ensure everything was to our liking. We also had our rehearsal dinner at the Sheraton, and it was lovely as well. All in all, I have no complaints. Couldn't be happier we made this choice. :)

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • A

    Anne · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about the Sheraton Madison was truly top notch. It was by far the best decision we could have made for our wedding reception venue. Lauren and Maija were stellar from our first visit last year, all the way up to the food tasting, room set up and making sure the reception evening went smoothly. (You have a room reserved to bustle my dress? And our favorite drinks ready for us on a silver platter? Wow! Do we cut the cake now? When do we start making rounds to visit our guest tables?) The catering manager and the chef were also fantastic as we had a variety dietary concerns that they handled with no questions asked. The food was out of this world delicious. No one expects wedding food to be good... IT WAS AMAZING! I can't say enough about the staff. The front desk was so helpful, the servers at the cafe knew who we were on Wednesday at lunch and brought my parents, my (now) husband and myself a little treat, the bartender made best friends with my nieces over the weekend, the servers at the reception went above and beyond for us. The whole staff really made our whole wedding weekend unbelievably special and we are so grateful for all of their hard work. Our wedding day was truly the best day of our lives and the Sheraton had a huge hand in making that happen. Thank you all!

    Sent on 06/18/2016

    Sheraton Madison Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. It was a sincere pleasure hosting you and your family! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sheraton hotel is a perfect place to have a wedding reception. We had so many compliments on how beautiful the room was. Lauren, the events coordinator, and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that all our needs were met. We live in a different state and Lauren worked with us planning over email and phone. We will recommend the Sheraton hotel to everyone!

    Sent on 01/23/2014
  • User2176080 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome venue! So easy to work with the wedding and banquet staff! Very accomodating! LOVED our reception!

    Sent on 12/30/2012
  • W

    William · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Location: As Madison residents with several out-of-town guests, we needed a location that could accommodate a large number of people in an easy to navigate location. The Sheraton was perfect. Plenty of room, even with 300+ guests, and easy to get to. And, lots of our out-of-town guests came in a few nights early and took the free shuttle to downtown.

    Overall Service: We cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Sheraton. Lauren and Jeff are both outstanding. Lauren is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and accommodating; our meetings with her were extremely helpful in creating an amazing reception. The staff are very polite, efficient, and talented. It seemed that everything ran as a fine-tuned machine – plates came out at the perfect rate, and transitions were flawless – but, at the same time, you almost didn't notice they were there. Serving perfection.

    A quick note on value: Yes, a wedding is pricey. But, every dollar we spent at the Sheraton was WELL WORTH IT. The amount of praise we received from our guests was unbelievable, and, if given the opportunity to do it all over, we would do it exactly the same way.

    Congratulations to the staff at the Sheraton for creating such an unbelievable experience for their guests. Well done.

    Sent on 01/30/2013
  • User7268418 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sheraton started as our 3rd pick for venues but quickly rose to the top because Maija and Lauren were so helpful. The other venues didn't seem to be interested in our business or answering our question so choosing the Sheraton was easy.
    We also liked the free parking as well as an airport shuttle for guests. Lauren was there on our wedding day, thank goodness, because we definitely needed a little help organizing as our wedding was planned on short notice. Thank You!!!

    Sent on 01/02/2017

    Sheraton Madison Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review! We had a wonderful time working with you, and short or long term planning windows aside, we are here to be a resource for you and are glad we met your expectations. Congratulations on your marriage and thank you again for choosing to share your day with us!
  • H

    Hoda · Married on 09/04/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren and Jeff are wonderful and they made sure that everything was perfect for my wedding!!

    Sent on 09/13/2011
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience holding our reception at the Sheraton. Lauren (wedding coordinator) answered our many questions timely. The room looked great and the food was fantastic! I didn't have to worry about a thing. The only slightly negative I heard from guests was that drinks were a little on the pricey side.

    Overall, well worth it!

    Sent on 08/18/2011
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 12/31/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were planning our wedding in a VERY short amount of time (2 months) and on a holiday...so everything was very rushed and The Sheraton was great at quickly getting things arranged for us! Lauren the coordinator was AWESOME and so nice! We only had a few minor mishaps, that were addressed after letting them know. Overall, a great experience!

    Sent on 03/24/2011
  • T

    Tasha · Married on 04/25/2015

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We requested a wedding hotel block. When our block would fill the Sheraton said they would notify us and see if we would like to add another block. We assumed a block consisted of 8 to 16 rooms as many hotels do. The Sheraton block consists of 4 rooms. They also did not contact us when our block filled within the first week of sending out our wedding invites. I also left 3 voicemails requesting to rent the Sheraton shuttle to transport my guests back and forth. 2 voicemails were to the wedding coordinators and one was directly with the person in charge of the shuttle services with no returned call ever. So we rented a bus with a different company for $475. I was a little upset when I called the Sheraton and asked how many rooms we had in our block. It was at that time- 1week prior to the wedding I found out that only four rooms were filled and they closed our block!!! So we spent $475 to transport 8 people back and forth!!!! When my other wedding guests called inquiring about getting a room they constantly told them our block was full and never contacted us to extend the block! There prices were rediculously overpriced so my wedding guests went next door to the Holiday Inn Express for half the price.

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • Ainsley

    Ainsley · Married on 08/05/2017

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We used the Sheraton as our hotel block and ran into multiple problems with them not keeping their promises.

    First: 10 months before the wedding, our first block of 10 rooms was already booked, so we asked to block another set of 10 rooms. The hotel ended up completely booked before our block was filled up, which is not their fault - CrossFit was happening at the Alliant Energy Center. But a week before the wedding, when getting the list of people staying in the hotel so we could figure out welcome bags, we found out she had only blocked 5 more rooms, rather than the 10 we had specifically requested. At first, they didn't offer anything to make up for this at all - it could not have been a miscommunication on my part, the e-mail specifically said we wanted 10 more rooms, and the response said "I blocked mroe rooms". It took sending my very angry maid of honor and bridesmaid to talk to them before they offered a free night for me at the hotel.

    Next: My parents booked a room at the Sheraton, as did I. I very specifically requested that these rooms not be right next to each other. It didn't make sense to me that the bride and groom would share a wall with the bride's parents. I was told this was no problem. Guess what happened when we checked in. They did offer a free bottle of champagne to make up for this blunder.

    Finally: the aforementioned free night mistakenly went to my parents' room rather than mine, but the folks at the front desk couldn't figure out why I was paying full price (my parents were checking out the next day, we didn't see their bill). When the manager called me to clarify what was happening and I expressed my frustration, she was extremely unprofessional and confrontational. Not something I wanted to deal with the morning after my wedding.

    Don't block rooms here. It's a nightmare.

    Sent on 09/24/2017

    Sheraton Madison Hotel's reply:

    Dear Ainsley,

    Thank you for taking the time to complete the Wedding Wire review in regards to your recent stay at the Sheraton Madison Hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for your wedding weekend.

    As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the numerous issues you experienced. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel teams to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. I will reach out to you via email to provide adequate compensation.
  • User4625283 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Where do I begin... I would never want another couple to go through what we did at the Sheraton. The issues started when our hotel room wasn't even ready, to the groom receiving the work prime rib, to the chicken entree not being what we ordered and the wrong vegetables were given to all guests. They lost our top tier of our cake but later found it wrapped in napkins. Told guests we were out of cake and failed to serve an ENTIRE sheet cake. I am still waiting on refunds from the hotel a month later. Save your money and go else where!

    Sent on 12/10/2015

    Sheraton Madison Hotel's reply:

    The Sheraton is very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your special day. We understand how important the details are to ensure a flawless event. Please be assured that this is not how we do business and it not reflective of the service we provide. We are glad that we were able resolve these issues and offer the compensation you requested.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review