Sheraton Grand Chicago Reviews

4 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Sheraton Grand Chicago

Recommended by 79%

4

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 3.6
  • Average response time 4.0
Sort by:
  • H

    Holly · Married on 09/01/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding coordinator at the Sheraton was amazing. Elisa Weeks made sure every one of my needs were met. The Sheraton in my opinion was also the most beautiful hotel to have a wedding at.

    Sent on 05/12/2008
  • Jenni

    Jenni · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maggie Menozzi was the best coordinator! She made the planning smooth and easy for us and she accommodated our every request! We could not have asked for better service. Everything went as planned and it was perfect.

    As for the catering, the food was excellent as well. We had a tough time at our tasting because we liked everything! Even the finickiest eaters have told me the food was great at our wedding. The ceasar salad in the parmesean cheese bowl is a must have!

    Sent on 12/01/2011
  • B

    Ransella · Married on 06/27/2009

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We knew we had found the venue for us when we walked into the Sheraton lobby. The hotel has an elegant atmosphere and the guest rooms are a good size although somewhat pricey in our room block at $199 a night. But then, that's what is expected downtown in a city like Chicago.

    We had our wedding ceremony in the Missouri room and the reception in the Mayfair room for just over 30 guests. The Mayfair overlooks the Chicago River. (They also have a bigger room available for large weddings.) We also had our cocktail hour on the River Esplanade, which is quite beautiful with a view of the city and a big reason why we chose the Sheraton.

    The quality of service and responsiveness are both under 4 stars because the hotel's wedding coordinator was usually busy with other events and we didn't receive everything on paper, in writing when we were supposed to. We often waited over a week to hear back from her.

    There was also some confusion after the wedding where she had written something down that we didn't agree to and it took a month of discussions until it was finally settled. I think the fact that there was a second wedding in the larger room on the same day affected the service we received. All in all, a beautiful venue, but I'm not sure that it was worth the 22% service charge.

    The waitstaff, however, and the chef were wonderful. The chef even prepared a seasonal menu for us, which was absolutely delicious. The pastry chef is also amazing.

    I would recommend the Sheraton as a venue. The cost is reasonable if you want an elegant event without the price tag of the Drake or the Peninsula. Just be sure to get everything in writing (and signed) to save yourself the hassle later.

    Sent on 02/09/2010
  • M

    Julie · Married on 08/08/1998

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    While the food for the reception was very good, and exactly what we had ordered at the tasting, the presentation of the ballroom was poor (wallpaper was peeling off the wall), the tables had to be moved during the receiving line due to a set up mistake, and the service was slow and not professionally dressed.

    Sent on 07/21/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review