Weddings

Shades Shutters Photography Reviews

Shades Shutters Photography

Shades Shutters Photography

Milford, CT
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 34 Reviews
View more information

34 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 34
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
Sort by:
  • B
    Brittany F. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Amazing!!!

    We went with this photography group based off of our venues preferred vendors list and believe me I am so beyond impressed and happy we went with them! I met with Wendy and Traci to book their services for my September 2020 wedding and they were great! They were so easy to talk to and made tou feel so comfortable. They kept in touch and helped me find hair and makeup artist for my big day. On my wedding day I was running late and as soon as i hoped out of the car at the venue Wendy was right there to help. She helped me bring my things up to the bridal suite and still managed to get all the pre ceremony pictures i wanted so bad and she was so sweet the whole time, she even helped my bridesmaids with buttoning up my dress because they were scared they were going to rip off a button. After the ceremony she was great and was able to get all the family and bridal party pictures fast and easy so my groom and I could go off and get pictures of just us. I have never done professional photos for anything before and she made us so comfortable and made it alot of fun. During the receptions she gave us a sneak peek of the amazing photographs she had taken up to that point and i couldnt believe how amazing the photos were!! My guest were raving about how great they had came out and how nice it is that she did that for us and everyone to see! My wedding was just a few days ago but I cannot wait till we get all the photos from our very special day. I cant believe how beautiful these pictures are!
  • Andrea
    Andrea R. Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    You will not be disappointed with Shades Shutters Photography!

    I would recommend Shades Shutters Photography a million times over! Since meeting with Wendy and Traci from the beginning, I knew they would be professional and great to work with. Not only did we have them there on the wedding day, Wendy designed our Save the Dates, Invitations/RSVP cards, and thank you cards (with a photo of us). They were cohesive and matched the New England/Mystic vibe that we wanted. On the day of the wedding they were prompt, helpful, and you could tell that they loved what they did! They made taking photos fun and comfortable. One of my favorite things that they offer that I have not seen anywhere else is that during the dinner, they print out photos that they took that day and display them for your guests to see. We got to take those home at the end of the night and it was so great to already have photos from our special day in our hands. You will not be disappointed with hiring them for your special day!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married this month and cannot recommend Shades Shutters Photography enough! We loved that they were local and from Milford where we both grew up and currently live. We did our engagement shoot with Traci who helped (try) to make us more comfortable in front of the camera. Despite feeling really awkward, we loved our engagement pictures and Traci did a great job at capturing those natural moments! Prior to the wedding I spoke to Traci about the flow and timeline of the day and she was so nice and excited to help celebrate our wedding day! By the time the big day rolled around Traci and Krissy felt like part of crew! They did a great job of working around us and going with the flow when we were running off schedule. One of my favorite things about Shades Shutters is the fact that they print a bunch of pictures that night to display for your guest! The next morning my family was laughing that I already had a photo album of professional pictures from the night before. This is definitely something no one has seen before and makes them unique and special. I truly enjoyed having Traci and Krissy a part of our wedding day!
  • D
    Dayna Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were AMAZING! I cannot say enough great things about Traci and Chrissy - they were on point all day and took some of the most beautiful pictures I've ever seen. They really went above and beyond in all their responsibilities and I could not be happier that I hired them to photograph our wedding. Couldn't recommend them more - they were amazing
  • L
    Lisa Married on 10/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were fortunate enough to know friends who worked with the Shades ladies before so we had a leg up on finding great wedding photographers and we were not disappointed! We had Wendy and Kathy with us on the big day and thoroughly enjoyed spending time with them as they took absolutely amazing photos. Our friends and family were in awe over seeing photos taken during the day on display during the reception which we of course loved being able to take home with us to look at while we waited for the rest to come along. Their work was fabulous and they were incredibly professional as well as sweet and patient for those times we got nervous or cracked up laughing.
  • C
    Chrystal Married on 08/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love Tracy and Wendy!! They have far exceeded our expectations on wedding & engagement photos! Professional, fun, attentive, timely, works within a budget, experienced and they're pictures are fantastic. They work to whatever style photos you seek. They have done most of the weddings for people that I work with. They did our engagement session in NYC--all around central park and grand central. Began our wedding day photos at 12pm, were there through the getting ready to the end. They print photos during your reception and suddenly there on the tables...its beautiful, everyone enjoys seeing them and it is so fun! Highly recommend without a doubt!
  • J
    Julia Married on 06/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Not only do Wendy and Traci offer the best value for wonderful photography but they also provide an easy going, fun and attentive service from the first meeting through the planning process and especially on the day of the wedding. I felt completely at ease with them during pre and post wedding pictures and then, during the ceremony and reception, they blended in and captured the moments while barely being noticed by us or our guests.

    They were very flexible with us regarding what was covered in the contract and even traveled to our home city of Boston so we could do engagement photos at Fenway! The day of the wedding, my husband and I were very concerned about having enough time with our guests and they heard that loud and clear. Family and staged photos were incredibly quick and they followed our "must have" list perfectly - making sure we had the pictures we wanted without spending half the reception away from the festivities. Our guests loved that they left prints from earlier in the day out for viewing at the dessert table and it was so nice to have them to take home with us to look back on the next day.

    The pictures we have seen so far are all stunning and really capture the day! We would highly recommend Wendy and Traci for any event!
  • S
    Sandy Married on 06/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just got our wedding pictures back last week from Wendy and Traci and they are AMAZING!! We were looking for photographers that can shoot candid photos instead of having everyone poses for pictures at the wedding and Wendy & Traci did well beyond that. They captured all of the special moments and everyone looked so happy and stunning at our wedding.

    We had a Chinese/American wedding and we were worried that they may miss some of the special moments such as our games with the groom and the parents’ tea ceremony since they are not familiar with traditions and the language. But when we got our pictures back, we can’t stop laughing about how hilarious our bridesmaids/groomsmen were during the games and how beautiful our moms look at the tea ceremony..They captured it all.

    Beside the wonderful pictures that shades shutters took for our wedding, they were also extremely flexible with our budget and our requests. Initially we thought we won’t be able to afford them with our tight budget, but Wendy & Traci were very accommodating and customized a package for us and gave us the price that is within our budget. And best of all, we only paid for two photographers but Wendy & Traci brought along Krissy as our third photographer on the wedding day at absolutely no charge. Also, after the wedding, my husband wanted all of the pictures in raw file so he can do some more editing (it’s his hobby) and they had no problem in doing that and even got us a jump drive big enough to hold more than 50GB of pictures…..

    These ladies are truly professionals in wedding photography and I can’t say enough good things about them. Our guests love our pictures and some of them even took a few of the pictures that Wendy & Traci printed for us at the reception. I would definitely recommend Shades Shutter Photography for weddings or any special occasions for anyone and I can’t wait to have them back when we have our first baby…Wendy/Traci - I’ll be in touch when the time comes~
  • User1183692 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy and Tracy were simply amazing to work with. From my first meeting with Wendy to the day of the event it was smooth sailing. Wendy worked so flexibly with us to design a package that would meet our needs and affordability and the took the time to make sure we were more than comfortable with every detail. Every time we look at our photos we relive the magical moments of our wedding day like it was happening all over again. Their creativity captured every moment with such class and grace-the photos are priceless which is exactly the reaction from people who see them , including ourselves. One of my most common initial responses from people about my wedding photos is "wow, who did your photos!". In all that was stressful in organizing our day-the one thing that was not was using Shades Shutter photography to capture our day. We will most definitely be using Shades for all the important events in our life!
  • Christine
    Christine Married on 04/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy and Traci of Shades and Shutters Photography made our wedding over the top special!! I can't say enough about them. From the moment my husband and I met them they were down to earth yet professional. The pictures were lovely and they even did an awesome photo lounge for us!! Definitely recommend the photo lounge. They went above and beyond throughout the entire process. They were friendly and maintained contact to answer any questions. Love Shades and Shutters!!
  • A
    Adriana Married on 03/23/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy and Traci are great!!! They are professional & fun!! The quality of the pictures and creativity sets them apart from other photographers. They will work within your budget and customize the best plan for you!! I definitely recommend them!!
  • L
    Liz Married on 11/03/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were completely blown away by Wendy and Traci from the moment we met with them to discuss our wedding. Their natural, open and warm personas are reflected in their work, and it was exactly what we were looking for. Our photos came out amazing, and captured the day perfectly. We never felt uncomfortable or awkward taking photos, and so the pictures are a very true reflection of the day versus a posed and more manufactured look. We love all our photos and have had the hardest time choosing which ones to print and use in our album because they are all THAT GOOD.

    Even more than the pictures, their service and prices are unbeatable. They work within your budget to offer high quality without breaking the bank. Our engagement photo session was beyond cold, and windy, but Wendy was a trooper and made the day more enjoyable for us despite us all being frigid! And you'd never know looking at the pictures! And when Hurricane Sandy hit the weekend before our wedding, Wendy and Traci kept us calm and offered to do anything else (even bake!) if we needed them to when our other vendors still didn't have power! They are so personable and we clicked with them right away. I would not recommend anyone else! In fact, one of my friends and my sister are both using them for their weddings too because of how great they are!
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 08/25/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shades Shutters was very responsive and helpful prior to the big day, they confirmed and re-confirmed their arrival time. I felt very confident in how the day would proceed knowing it was in their hands.
    My Wedding day did not go exactly as planned - my groom fell ill at the alter and was rushed to the ER during our ceremony - Shades Shutters remained calm throughout all of the chaos and remained with my family members and provided MAJOR assistance at my parents house where they helped set up and create our very own alter which is where we ended up getting married once he was released from the hosptial and because we were in the ER for 2 hours, everything got pushed back 2 Hours, this did not stop Shades Shutters from capturing the most beautiful shots of the day and most importantly they stayed until the very end.
    Shades Shutter is an all-service provider, they are extremely professional and extraordinarily talented at what they do. They easily blend in with the party. Some people may think having a camera in your face all day is awkward, Shades Shutters does an incredible job with removing that feeling - they make it fun, exciting and the images they capture really capture the emotion you are feeling at that very moment.
  • Rebekah
    Rebekah Married on 06/22/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Without a moment's hesitation, I would recommend Shades' Shutters, and Wendy and Traci, to any bride-to-be. They are an incredible duo who provide the most high quality service. My husband and I knew the moment we met them, that we had found our photographers. Their work speaks for itself. We were looking for someone who could capture all the candid moments as well as make the posed photos look natural-they do this and so much more. Wendy and Traci were more than willing to work with our budget, and the value is incredible! Not to mention, they were so quick to respond to every email we sent.

    The day of the wedding, Wendy and Traci were on time and ready to go. Our makeup and hair stylist were very late but they worked with it and made me feel completely at ease. We all had so much fun taking pictures as we were getting ready and looking at the proofs I had so much fun seeing what they captured in the room. At the ceremony, my husband and I completely forgot they were even there! They moved around the church silently and caught all the beautiful moments. Our guests and the church choir also commented over and over how unobtrusive Wendy and Traci were throughout the ceremony. They worked so well with the wedding coordinator at our vendor and made sure we got all the pictures we wanted. My husband and I just looked through all the proofs-they are stunning!

    I highly, highly recommend Shades' Shutters to all!!! They are amazing in all aspects!

    Thank you!
  • User801039 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shades Shutters Photography came highly recommended from a friend and I could not be any happier with the work they provided for my wedding day. They had such a unique and creative way of capturing our special day. From the moment my husband and I met with Traci and Wendy we fell in love with their work. The are so detail oriented and really care about your needs as far as photography goes. They captured the most intimate and special moments of our day, what was so special was they printed photographs out from our day and displayed them for everyone to see. The best part was they gave them to me at the end of the night and now I have them for our honeymoon. I can't stop looking at them! I would absolutely recommend them to anyone that wants to capture that special day!
  • K
    Kara Married on 05/11/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy and Traci were amazing and so accommodating!! The turnaround time on their work is so fast and all of my guests were stunned that there were already printed photos at my wedding that they could look at!
  • B
    Rebecca Married on 05/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could not be happier with the amazing work provided by both Wendy and Traci. My photos are amazing and they really worked hard to accommodate me and the things my husband and I wanted to capture in our day. Thank you so very much!
  • C
    Christina Married on 02/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great service, i even had a problem with my flowers and Wendy got on the phone and found a bouqet for me literally about an hour before the wedding! Great to work with would recommend to anyone :)
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 01/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shades Shutters Photography made my wedding day everything I wanted and more. Their calm yet determined attitudes toward photography made my husband and I feel so comfortable. We knew that they were capturing every single moment of our special day! Working with them was exciting and enjoyable. I would highly recommend Shades Shutters Photography for anyone looking for a wedding/event photographer!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 07/23/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy & Traci were two of the nicest people to work with. They did not overwhelm me and they tried to please everyone with picture requests. They were attentive to the bride & groom as well as the entire wedding party. Their prices are very reasonable and I feel as though I got a great value. It was so hard to pick which pictures I wanted because so many were wonderful!
  • L
    Laura Married on 04/02/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not be happier with the service provided by Shades Shutters Photograpgy on the day of our Wedding. They knew exactly how to capture our personality in all of our photos. Everyone in our bridal party and at our wedding had not but wonderful things to say about Shades Shutters.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 12/31/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wendy thank you so much! We love our engagement pictures. Our engagement sitting was easy & fun, we were able to just be ourselves! I am so excited for our wedding and to see the pictures you will capture that day!

    Thank you so much during this very stressful time. I will highly recommend you to many of my friends.
  • V
    Victoria Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shades Shutters are amazing photographers! They were so helpful in potentially stressful moments, captured the beauty of our day in their photos with the ability to see things that most people wouldn't notice that will now be remembered. They add their own special unique touches that make things very personal. They are professional and pleasant to be around and made things run smoothly. I would recommend anyone to use their services, they wouldn't be disappointed!
  • M
    Megan Married on 07/09/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very professsional and very friendly You never knew they were around even though they took hundreds of pictures They printed photos for us at the reception so we could see some of them before the night was over. All in all they were absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend them
  • K
    Kendra Married on 09/18/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our expereince with Shades Shutters Photography was excellent! We couldn't have asked for better people to work with for our wedding. There were more than flexible, professional, and quick to respond to our needs. They are extremely creative women and certainly have an eye for the work they do! They are also very passionate about their work and love doing what they do. I highly recommend Shades Shutters for any of yuor photography needs!