Skip to main content
Weddings

Sarah Mattozzi Photography Reviews

Sarah Mattozzi Photography

Sarah Mattozzi Photography

Richmond, VA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 37 Reviews
View more information

37 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 37
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

49 User photos

  • Joanna
    Joanna Married on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Attentive, customized & lovely

    Hiring Sarah was such a smart decision for us! She captured relationships and emotions and settings with such a careful eye. We love how she composed and framed her photos, the natural style, and how she made everyone feel at ease in front of her camera. She paid attention to what we wanted through phone calls at the time of booking, during the engagement shoot, before the wedding, and then during the event. Her pricing was competitive, and she put together a custom package to fit our timeline. The photos aren't stuffy or cheesy, just dreamy and classy and simple. We would recommend Sarah to anyone in the Richmond, Charlottesville, or northern Virginia area.
  • J
    Jim S. Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is Incredible!

    My partner and I made great choices with all of our vendors, but that we really made the right choice with Sarah. I have such tremendous respect for Sarah and her work! I know that she makes all of your clients feel the way we felt when we first looked at her photos - awed, thankful, and just really happy! We feel really lucky that she shot our wedding.

    It's so evident that Sarah and Ross did exactly what we asked of them. Our two special asks were a photo receiving line during cocktail hour (so we could get a picture with each of our guests) and photos of our guests having fun during the reception. Sarah dutifully stood and took pictures of us interacting with all of our guests (something very important to us but certainly very boring for a photographer!) and we received over 600 pictures from the reception! That's all on top of everything else Sarah captured so well, too. We've both come to appreciate detail pictures a lot more after seeing hers from our wedding! We didn't think those would be very important to us but they were, especially because that whole day was such a blur that it was easy to miss some of those things.

    Your wedding photographer goes a long way to capturing your memories of that day and I'm so glad we trusted Sarah to capture our special day! I'd highly recommend her to anyone in need of a wedding photographer.
  • K
    Kim W. Married on 09/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream photographer!

    Sarah is absolutely amazing at what she does and is also incredibly sweet to boot! She gives clear direction, can handle a crowd, and genuinely loves what she does. Both my partner and I were nervous because we hadn't done any sort of photoshoot before but Sarah is so good at putting us at ease and working with us to get incredible shots. She has such an amazing eye. I honestly can't wait to have another excuse to hire her!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Meghan
    Meghan J. Married on 07/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience from beginning to end!

    Sarah did an unbelievable job capturing our wedding day! The photos are timeless and show the absolute joy and celebration that we experienced on that day. Her style truly captured our personality and will be a beautiful addition to our home for years to come. We can look back on these and relive our day over and over.

    Sarah was wonderful to work with from the first email we sent her. She was timely with her responses and made sure to ask detailed questions about what we wanted in a photographer so nothing was missed. Each time we received a gallery back from her (we had her for an engagement shoot, bridal portraits, and the wedding day) the photos were even more impressive than the last. We have every photo we hoped for and then some! She is a true talent that not only photographs the event, but takes careful consideration to capture special moments. We plan to use her for (future) family photo sessions for many years to come! I would recommend her to anyone looking for a wedding photographer or otherwise. You won't be disappointed!
  • E
    Eleanor Married on 06/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is the best! We love our photos!

    Sarah was the first vendor we booked for our wedding after we set the date and booked the venue. She is such a talented photographer and we appreciate her artistic eye - she really brought out the beauty of our wedding venue and captured everyone's personalities in the photos. Sarah is very easy to work with and was so kind, supportive, and flexible throughout the whole planning process (even through postponing our wedding twice due to Covid). Her caring and calm personality really put us at ease during the portraits! We cannot thank her enough for being there for us for the past 2+ years and we are so unbelievably happy with our engagement, intimate wedding ceremony, and wedding reception photos! She also edits and sends the preview photos within 24 hours of your wedding - this is truly amazing and was so fun as we didn't want the wedding weekend to end! I definitely recommend hiring Sarah as your wedding photographer, you will not be disappointed!
  • P
    Pr Married on 05/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very professional, great pictures

    Sarah was wonderful and we're thrilled with how everything went. She was very professional throughout the entire process from meeting with her initially, the day of the wedding, and ultimately delivering the pictures. She was great at finding moments to take pictures in in-between moments. We love our pictures and are glad to have worked with Sarah.
  • C
    Casey D. Married on 04/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience!

    We are so happy that we chose Sarah as our photographer! She took the time to get to know us and our personal style. Her professional and upbeat attitude made all the difference and we could not have asked for a better photographer. We had to change our original wedding date due to COVID restrictions and she was incredibly flexible and understanding. We highly recommend Sarah Mattozzi Photography to anyone in need of a photographer!
  • A
    Alison N. Married on 02/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is Amazing!!

    Sarah was heavily pregnant when she photographed my wedding. That did not stop her!!! She had great ideas to get creative shots of my bridal party, my husband and me, and our families. She was very flexible with my time constraints and knew exactly how we could maximize the time we had together. After the wedding she got our first draft photos uploaded SO QUICKLY! All of my friends and family were amazed that our first round of photos were up by monday (after a saturday wedding). She is friendly, warm, and talented. Best of all, she was better priced than all of the other photographers I was considering.
  • Leah
    Leah S. Married on 08/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautifully Captured Memories

    Sarah was so wonderful to work with! We got engaged right around the time of the first COVID case and we had to reschedule our engagement shoot several times. She was super accommodating as we all navigated uncharted territory and even gave us a little bonus porch shoot. We had a simple backyard wedding and we were so amazed with how beautiful our pictures turned out. She captured so many small details perfectly and we are so thankful to have the most beautiful memories of our special day.
  • S
    Samantha T. Married on 01/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I can't say enough good things!

    Sarah is amazing! She made everyone feel at ease from start. We did engagement photos, a puppy + me photo shoot, and a full day of the wedding (getting ready through to the end). All of the photos are magical. Everything looks wonderful. Sarah captures the moment in a way that you remember the experience and story behind it. She and husband, Ross, are a great team that were able to capture the guys and the girls getting ready, cover the dance floor, and everyone who is a little dance shy as well. They stay back during the ceremony so you don't feel surrounded but still get plenty of good pics. Sarah is very flexible with when and where to meet and do the various shoots. She had no problem working with our 3 rambunctious pups either. I can not say enough wonderful things! I recommend her to everyone and I would use her again in a heartbeat.
  • A
    Amy Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best experience I could imagine

    Sarah was a complete joy to work with. She helped my husband and I feel comfortable and less stressed during our beautiful engagement session, handled countless emails and questions from me before the wedding, and did an amazing job capturing the essence and joy of our big day. I cannot recommend Sarah enough. Sarah brought a calm, gentle energy to every interaction I had with her. She instantly made me feel heard and supported in our consultation meeting. I am super Type A, and Sarah never missed a beat with all of my hyper specific questions. She was also helpful in finding me a videographer, and she worked seamlessly with to create great coverage, and brought along her husband as a second shooter-who I have to say did a great job managing the mess that was our groomsmen. I will absolutely be working with Sarah in the future for any photography needs our family may need.
  • Haley
    Haley Married on 10/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our favorite wedding vendor!

    We could not have asked for better wedding photographers than Sarah and Ross! Before the wedding, they drove to us for engagement photos and made us feel very comfortable and took beautiful photos. The entire process was super easy, and Sarah was always great about communicating with us! On our wedding day, they got amazing candid shots and were an absolute joy to work with! After the wedding, Sarah sent us a beautiful package with some printed photos and a cute wooden stand and a USB with all the photos. Beyond her skills as a photographer, she is so friendly and easy to talk to and everyone at our wedding loved her. We wish all of our vendors were as wonderful as Sarah and can't recommend her enough! It's truly hard to put into words how much we loved and appreciated her work!
  • Grace
    Grace M. Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the best experience!!

    Sarah was a joy to work with for the ENTIRETY of this journey! She did both of our engagement and wedding photos and we couldn't be happier. The photos are beyond beautiful and truly align with our vision. I can be very picky when it comes to photography but Sarah's photography is just perfect, and she uses such beautiful colors, which was part of what was important to me. She was always kind, always professional, and such a wonderful and pleasant person to have around on your wedding day. My husband I are so pleased with her work that, god willing, we will continue to hire Sarah for all of our future family photography!!
  • J
    Jessica S. Married on 07/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    Sarah was wonderful to work with and our pictures came out amazing!!
  • Christina
    Christina Married on 07/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Filled with Light in Every Way

    I knew I'd struck gold the first time I met Sarah almost a year before our wedding. My husband and I live in San Francisco, so my initial meeting with Sarah was via Skype, but it felt like catching up with a good friend. She definitely took time to give me a thorough description of her photographic style and how she approaches shooting weddings. But she also really made sure she got to know me and my now-husband's story - the things we love, and the things we cared most about at our wedding, which was making it special for our loved ones and planning a great dance party (two Latin families here!). I'd already fallen in love with her warm, subtle textures and intimate portrait aesthetics, but that first meeting made me realize what a truly kind and empathetic artist she is. It really comes across in her work.

    Over the next few months as we were planning from afar, it was so great to know that Sarah was always happy to be a resource for all things Richmond wedding-related. With every follow-up meeting she made sure to check and double-check our timeline, the formal portraits we wanted, and special requests for shots during the ceremony. And even though she'd never shot at our venue (The Mill at Fine Creek) before, it was clear as we corresponded that she definitely did good research on the space.

    The day of the wedding Sarah was such a pleasant, calming presence. It was clear she took very seriously the fact that she was witnessing some of the most important moments of our lives. But when the time was right she was also eager to have some fun, try some creative shots, and dive right into the dance floor to capture all the fun!

    When we finally received our photo gallery, we were definitely misty-eyed and full of joy at all the beautiful interactions she captured throughout the day. We couldn't be happier to have these beautiful photos to share with friends and family for years to come. Thank you so much, Sarah!
  • R
    Ryan C. Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing job!

    Sarah and her husband Ross did an OUTSTANDING job with our wedding. Since my husband and I live on the west coast and were getting married in Virginia, we couldn't meet with Sarah in-person until the day of the wedding, but she was more than willing to answer any and all questions we had throughout the process and even do a Facetime meet! She is extremely responsive, professional and kind, and you can tell from the very beginning how passionate she is about her craft. So far we've only seen the preview photos from our big day, but they look even better than I could have imagined. We can't wait to see the rest!
  • T
    Tricia K. Married on 03/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Sarah!

    From our first meeting with Sarah, we knew she was going to be absolutely wonderful to work with, and we were right. Sarah was so helpful during the months leading up to the wedding. She checked in with us frequently and was genuinely invested in making sure she captured our vision for the wedding.
    On the day of our wedding, Sarah and Ross brought such a calming and upbeat vibe to the day. They were like having old friends there, which was exactly what we wanted for our family centered wedding. Sarah made everyone feel comfortable while capturing our day absolutely perfectly, even my husband who is terribly camera shy! Her attention to detail and ability to photograph the candid moments just as perfectly as her portraits is truly unmatched. We cannot say enough wonderful things about Sarah’s work and her as a person. I would without question highly recommend her to anyone!
  • Claire
    Claire M. Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sarah is amazing!

    Sarah was friendly, attentive to my wants, and captured the real, raw moments in a beautiful way. I look back at my wedding photos and see our story!
  • K
    Kerry Married on 06/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was above and beyond what we expected from a wedding photographer. Her attention to detail and thoughtful consideration of her work was clear from the very first time we talked. She made us feel comfortable having photos taken of us and was incredibly open to all our ideas for photographing the wedding. The day of, Sarah was equal parts soothing and assertive. When it looked like it might thunderstorm, she presented an awesome plan B to take first look photos at the National Portrait Gallery in DC, even scouting out great spots beforehand. Even though it ended up not raining, we still took photos at the museum and it was one of the most special moments of the day. Our wedding photos are gorgeous and captured every moment of the day. I can’t recommend Sarah highly enough.
  • B
    Brandi Married on 06/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I don’t even know where to begin in explaining how amazing Sarah is! She is such a genuine pleasure to work with! We first booked our engagement photos with her where she made us feel so comfortable and our photos turned out beautifully! Right after she did our engagement photos, we immediately decided that we wanted her to photograph our wedding, even though we had already booked a photography service through a studio to save money. We ate our deposit from the studio and booked Sarah for our special day and it was the best decision we made! Sarah took the time to have coffee with us a couple of months before our wedding to talk over details and our vision for our day. She always emailed to check in on us to see how wedding planning was going, she is genuinely the sweetest person ever! She made our wedding day photos go so smoothly (even with hectic family members) and again made us feel so comfortable! She helped make our day so special and it seriously wouldn’t have been the same without her! Her photos are so beautiful and dreamy, she captures all of the small details that you want! I would highly recommend her to anyone - not only does she have a stellar personality, but her photos are absolutely stunning! We love Sarah so much and are definitely going to use her photography for all of our future milestones in life!
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah is a lovely person and fantastic photographer! She was a joy to work with and perfectly captured the best day of my life. Her talents aren't exclusive to wedding photography, but she really has a gift for personalizing wedding photos, listening to what the bride and groom want, creativity, and catching all the sweet moments and fun candids. It was also really nice to have her warmth and calm presence on the actual day.

    While planning the wedding and reading all sorts of reviews and recommendations online, I often came across brides saying they regretted not hiring a videographer. I was on the fence about a wedding video and ultimately decided against it. I am happy to report I have no regrets and am thrilled with that decision because Sarah's photographs told the whole story. The day was rainy and we had to go with a lot of last minute plan Bs, but the day was still so full of love, laughter, and happiness which is all present in the Sarah's pictures.
  • S
    Sean Married on 04/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah is the best choice you can make for your wedding! She (and her husband) was legitimately perfect! She makes you feel comfortable in front of a camera, she is willing to work with you on any photo, and she somehow captures the best candid photos of the night without you even realizing she is there! She ensures she gets to know you before the event, which is so helpful. She meets with you at least once, and will also video call you to ensure she gets everything right for the day. We could not say enough amazing things about her!
  • J
    Jenni Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah is amazing. Not only was she a pleasure to work with - she brought a unique and creative eye to the day. She saw things that I wouldn’t have. She made both of us, as well as our families, extremely comfortable. If you get the opportunity make sure you book her for your wedding. It will be the best thing you do!
  • P
    Peggy Married on 08/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was extremely professional and super easy to work with. She met with us prior to the event to get to know the brides and was willing to work a two day event. Her pictures are great and she and her husband(second shooter) were very unobtrusive. I highly recommend her for your event!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was so incredible! Not only are her photos top-notch, but she is super friendly and professional! She met with me six months before the big day to talk about what I wanted, and we worked together to discuss what would work well.

    Also, she followed up a few weeks before the wedding to make sure she was would be getting all of he shots we wanted, at the designated times. She was very proactive throughout the process.

    Further, the photos cane out perfectly and the turnaround time was quick in getting access to the digital album. All-in-all, our special day wouldn't have been near as special without sweet Sarah and her photography services! Nor would it have looked as beautiful (or would we remember as much of it) - thanks soo much, Sarah!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message