Skip to main content
Weddings

Salamander Resort & Spa Reviews

Salamander Resort & Spa

Salamander Resort & Spa

Middleburg, VA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 65 Reviews
View more information

65 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

65
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

8 User photos

  • Viviana
    Viviana P. Married on 12/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Beautiful Venue!

    The salamander Resort is a beautiful resort where everything is of exceptional quality. While waiting for the event to start, the venue has amazing areas to sit and relax that are beautiful and exquisite. The staff at the resort are all amazing and helped with whatever they could. They were there to make sure we had a perfect wedding, and they achieved that goal.
  • M
    Morgan M. Married on 10/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding venue

    We absolutely loved everything about our wedding day at Salamander! The venue itself is so beautiful and the professionalism and kindness of the staff is unmatched. Lindsay was so helpful with everything along the way, I didn’t have to worry about a thing and she was always so responsive, especially with our last minute add-ons and questions. All of our guests were amazed by the whole property and did not stop telling us how gorgeous it was. Our wedding was held on one side of the hotel so it felt very private and peaceful. The appetizers, dinners and cake were all AMAZING. We can’t wait to go back to celebrate our one year anniversary!
  • C
    Carley P. Married on 10/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best weekend

    Choosing to host our wedding at the salamander was an incredible decision. We had the best weekend due to the staff and the property, and our guests all fell in love with the resort as well. Thank you!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Erica
    Erica B. Married on 10/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!!

    Our wedding at the Salamander was a dream experience from start to finish. Lindsay was always super responsive and very patient with all of our questions and requests in the months before. We decided to do all of our events on the property and we couldn't have been happier. The entire weekend was executed flawlessly thanks to the Salamander team! We highly recommend having your event here!
  • Lauren
    Lauren E. Married on 09/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous Venue with Five-Star Accommodations, Food and Service

    Salamander Resort and Spa is a magical place to host a wedding. The venue offers more than a half-dozen areas, both indoors and out, to host ceremonies, cocktail hours and receptions of all sizes (we chose the Middleburg Lawn Terrace, Culinary Garden, and Middleburg Ballroom). Plenty of rooms onsite mean your guests can enjoy the getaway, too. Salamander only hosts one wedding per day, so you truly feel as though your wedding is the most important thing happening that day. Lindsay Forseth, the onsite wedding coordinator, was an absolute dream to work with. She is the consummate professional and nothing we threw her way fazed her! Catering and banquet staff was also a dream to work with throughout the weekend. Everything went flawlessly and the food was A++. Thank you, Salamander!
  • C
    Cara B. Married on 02/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Salamander is an amazing venue and team!

    We hosted our wedding weekend at Salamander Resort & Spa in February 2022. Salamander exceeded our already high expectations (we're both in the hospitality & event industry) across all fronts. We worked directly with Lindsay (Director of Weddings) and she was a dream to work with, we were so impressed by her attention to detail, quick replies, and flexibility. The entire banquet team, front of house staff and beyond were incredibly hospitable and amazing across the board. Our guests loved their weekend stay, enjoying their spacious rooms and taking advantage of all that Salamander and Middleburg have to offer. It is the perfect venue for your wedding or conference and if we had to do it all over again, we wouldn't change a thing! The entire weekend truly exceeded our expectations and our wedding was truly the most special night of our lives!
  • Jonathan
    Jonathan F. Married on 11/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rehearsal Dinner (Blue Ridge Cookout) and wedding

    For starters… EVERY email was returned in a more than timely manner on EVERY question I had. The food was wonderful for the rehearsal. Lindsay quarterbacked our rehearsal quite professionally with patients and kindness. I’m the groom so I can’t speak on pricing of the wedding but as far as the rehearsal I am quite satisfied with the value of the services I received. Wedding day went on without a hitch. We were a special lot because we had animals in the wedding ceremony and ALL of our needs were tended to. Lindsay checked with us throughout the evening if we needed anything enough but not to the point of being bothersome. Quite honestly…… even if I wanted to find something to complain about I don’t believe I could if I were to be honest. Salamander, Lindsay, Kingsley and their team of professionals are highly recommended.
  • W
    Wahid H. Married on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue and great staff. Excellent food and amenities.

    Lindsay Forseth, wedding coordinator, did an outstanding job. Everyone was cooperative, professional and friendly.
  • J
    John T. Married on 08/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Daughter's Wedding

    Flawless execution! I was blown away with the planning, attention to detail and professional service. Their recommendations for florist, photographers, car services were all top rated. The entire staff ranging from planners, table servers and bartenders were all courteous, friendly and very accommodating. Special thanks to Lindsay and her team at the Salamander for giving my daughter the wedding of her dreams.
  • N
    Nancy L. Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding

    As parents of the bride we received so many compliments on the venue - the beautiful ceremony & reception location ( Middleburg Foyer, terrace and ballroom), the kindness of all the staff and the wonderful activities available to our guests that stayed at the hotel. For those not familiar with the Salamander before our wedding, they were truly impressed at the gorgeous resort. Our daughter and son-in-law were thrilled with everything and so were we!
  • Mollie
    Mollie Married on 07/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Outstanding

    We had our rehearsal and our wedding at Salamander and they went above and beyond for us and our guests. This was the easiest, most incredible venue that treated us like we and our guests were family. 10/10 recommend, food was fantastic, service was fantastic, grounds were fantastic! Thank you Salamander, can’t wait to come back for more celebrations!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 06/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have been better

    Salamander was truly our dream venue, and it lived up to be well beyond our expectations. The setting is stunning, the activities available work for a huge range of interests, the food is incredible, the staff so lovely and accommodating, and the event team is amazing. Lindsay was our event coordinator and she truly felt like our personal wedding planner - she answered each one of our dozens of emails and questions promptly and clearly, and made herself super available to communicate with. Over our wedding weekend, she checked in with us multiple times and made sure things were running smoothly. Her professional, calm, and thoughtful demeanor made the whole experience fun and positive. We made some last minute requests during the wedding weekend and she was able to not only get back to us promptly, but was able to accommodate all of them. We feel so fortunate that not only were we able to get married at such a stunning place, but that we got to work with such kind people. Everyone at Salamander was incredibly friendly, and our guests remarked on what an incredible experience they had as guests. Could not have been better!
  • C
    Caitlin M. Married on 05/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further than Salamander Resort!

    We originally had our wedding planned during the height of the pandemic requiring a change of date. Salamander could not have been more accommodating. While the venue itself is elegant in the heart of equestrian and wine country, it is also the professionalism and creativity of the staff that makes Salamander the top choice of many couples for their special day. If you want a perfect wedding from start to finish with everything running like clockwork, this is the venue you should select. Lindsay Forseth, Director of Weddings is simply superb. Doug Camp, the Director of Catering is phenomenal, and Jason Reaves, the Executive Pastry Chef creates the most superb of wedding cakes. Look no further than Salamander for your venue.
  • A
    Alan B. Married on 04/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Wedding Weekend at the Salamander Resort

    Our daughter and son-in-law's wedding at the Salamander Resort in April of 2021 was perfect in every way. We were only able to have 28 attend since it was during COVID but it was everything we hoped for and more. Lindsay Forseth and her team at the Salamander could not have been more professional and helpful throughout the planning and wedding weekend. We had a rehearsal dinner in the town, spa and ax throwing activities at the resort during the day and a beautiful ceremony in the ballroom foyer, cocktail hour on the terrace and reception in the middle ballroom. The food and wedding cake were exceptional. The morning after the wedding a delicious brunch was held at the resort. The rooms and suites were spacious and elegant. Evenings around the fire pit added to our fun. We highly recommend the Salamander Resort as a wedding venue. It could not have been more perfect.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunningly perfect!

    From the very beginning Christina Gibson was off the charts wonderful. She helped in getting the dream wedding we and our families imagined (and more!). We arrived to the venue walk through and it was freeeeezing outside. Christina helped paint a picture of the entire event so we really felt comfortable reserving the venue for our date the following summer. Every step after that was just as simple. She was able to answer questions and concerns as they arose- extremely timely as well. She recommended our day of coordinator— etc. coordinators (Sarah Obenour) and that was a terrific decision to hire them. The entire catering staff was warm and professional. There was not a single issue the entire process and our guests are still raving about it!
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding ever!!!

    My husband and I had a terrible experience with another resort when searching for a venue, and the Salamander team reached out the next day (totally by chance)— thank goodness they did! Our initial meeting with Christina was great. She didn’t “sell” us on anything. She made suggestions and worked to help us choose the best option for our wants and needs. Our tasting was amazing. The final venue walk through, with our day of coordinator from Etc. Coordinators was the same weekend as my birthday and they even had a card signed by the whole team with a gift and a champagne toast! Linda, with the group room reservation team, was super helpful in adding rooms to the block and making sure everyone was able to check in with ease. The entire team answered quickly, was completely solution oriented when anything came up (which was rare because everything was so easily laid out). Every one of my guests said it was phenomenal and they couldn’t believe they got to celebrate with us at the Salamander. My dad even said it was the best wedding he’s ever been to- and my husband and I agree(not bias or anything ;) ). The best part about the entire event (rehearsal, wedding, and post day brunch) was the ease of it all. It’s not free, however you get what you pay for and it was 100% worth every penny. If you are questioning anything at all, just meet with them once and you’ll be just as happy as we were. A phenomenal place to say I Do and return for anniversaries as well!
  • DevSet
    Nichole Married on 03/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My Guests Are Still Talking About My Wedding...

    My now husband and I had visited Salamander on a whim a few years ago to take our dog on a walk around the beautiful property. After having done so, we sat in some Adirondack chairs by the fire pit and took in the peacefulness of the country. We looked at each other and agreed that one day, this would be our wedding venue... we weren't even engaged yet.

    Fast forward a year-and-a-half later, and we're still all smiles from the most incredible evening of our lives. From the very beginning of the planning, to checking out of the bridal suite the day after our wedding, we were treated to a five-star experience at Salamander Resort, with now a lifetime full of memories to look back on.

    I could write volumes of how incredible Christina Gibson is, alone, who was my guide throughout the planning process. I could also write volumes on Jason Reaves and him taking our cake vision and turning it into a reality (no one ever goes for a second piece of cake at a wedding and ours was completely gone). Finally, I could also go on and on about the bell staff, the catering staff, the banquet staff, and everyone else that helped to make our night more perfect than we had expected.

    From the venue itself, to the INCREDIBLE food, to the flexibility in layout, to options for our different events, to the bridal suite, and so much more... I highly recommend choosing Salamander for your wedding. I promise you, it will leave you with the same feeling it left us with - a state of total over-the-moon happiness!
  • Brittany
    Brittany S. Married on 10/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional Service - Elegant Setting

    I could NOT have picked a better place to have my wedding. They are pros. Working with Christina Gibson and the whole team was absolutely wonderful. They are responsive and professional and they have thought of EVERY detail. Truly, they made my day perfect.
  • A
    Allison P. Married on 09/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Luxury Wedding!

    Salamander Resort was a remarkable place for our wedding in 2018. We are still pinching ourselves that this was a real experience. Christina was wonderful to work with, remaining professional and positive throughout the entire wedding planning process. Our tasting experience was magical. Salamander staff truly think through every detail and exude luxury. We can not recommend this location enough for a beautiful Virginia countryside wedding.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 09/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Salamander Resort & Spa was my daughter's wedding venue earlier this month; it was an amazing place for her wedding!! The look & feel of this venue is perfect for weddings; it is elegant but at the same time welcoming. When we walk into the lobby/reception we always feel at home, and we feel inspired! The ballroom is gorgeous, there is a culinary garden that is beautiful & special. The in-house wedding organizers are exceptional & great to work with!! Faye Siegert
  • M
    Megan Married on 10/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Christina and Chloe did a wonderful job of wedding planning for us! The entire staff is so accommodating and amazing as is the food and cakes baked by the chefs! Our wedding was a complete dream and the entire thing flew by so quickly and smoothly! The venue runs a tight ship and gives the bride, groom, and family a no-brainer planning experience. If I could rate them 100 stars I would - absolutely recommend this venue and their services to all brides in the search!
  • Srona
    Srona Married on 06/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible venue and wedding experience!

    We got married at the Salamander in June 2019 (this review is wayyy overdue) and it was a dream. We had initially settled on a different wedding venue that fell through, and the planner we were working with suggested the Salamander since it somehow had an opening on our planned wedding date. We visited, met Christina Gibson, and fell in love with the venue. We had our rehearsal dinner, weddings (two, since we did a Hindu-Jewish fusion wedding) and reception all at Salamander and it was incredible. Christina coordinated for us and was so accommodating with all our requests, even last minute guest list/table number changes. She made our busy wedding involving lots of locations, outfit changes, a baraat, and large reception in the ballroom seamless. The resort itself is stunning, the rooms incredibly luxurious, and the food is impeccable. The staff at the resort really went out of their way to help us, whether it was just helping with our luggage or setting up wedding details, distributing favors, and making us and our family feel welcome. Our wedding cake was beyond delicious and beautiful, and we were so excited to dig in to the top slice that we had frozen for our one year anniversary. So many guests have commented that it was the best wedding they've attended, and so much of that is due to this incredible venue and staff. It is really a worthwhile investment and a decision you will be glad you made! While we could not visit for our one year anniversary due to COVID, we are looking forward to visiting for our second! Thanks Christina and the Salamander team for making our wedding weekend so special!
  • Ally
    Ally Married on 05/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married at The Salamander in May and the weekend could not have been more perfect! The grounds are stunning, it is impossible to not fall in love with the beauty of the resort. Every single staff person that we encountered was insanely helpful, accommodating, and made our guests feel very welcome. If you're looking for a luxurious equestrian-themed, countryside resort vacation you can't go wrong with The Salamander. We can't wait to go back!!!!

    Our coordinator Lindsay was a dream to work with and her team over-delivered in every way! They were even able to make us a vegan and gluten-free cake and add in a last minute brunch the day before the wedding with no issues at all! We did not have to worry about a thing the day of the wedding and knew we were in great hands. They did an excellent job managing vendors and shifting things around immediately before our outdoor ceremony with the not-so-perfect weather and it turned out beautifully! Our guests took horse and carriage rides around the grounds during cocktail hour (it is an equestrian themed resort after all)! The reception in the ballroom was GORGEOUS, the mother of the groom was completely speechless the next day and could not put into words how pretty the room was. It was nice logistics-wise to have everything (ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, after-party, hotel, brunch) in one spot. The guest room suites are also a beautiful spot for the bride to get ready. I'd definitely recommend this venue for weddings or other events!!!! Absolutely perfect dream venue!!!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 11/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Salamander hosted our wedding reception and everything was perfect! Lindsay and Chloe went way above and beyond to make sure everything for our wedding day was perfect. They coordinated with all of our vendors and took care of all of the set up for the cocktail hour and reception. Even with a bad weather forecast that required a last minute cocktail hour location change, everything went smoothly and all was taken care of. The food and cake were INCREDIBLE and all of the wait staff were so kind and accommodating. I honestly do not know what I would have done without Lindsay and Chloe being there every step of the way. They thought of every small thing and there is literally nothing I can say that I didn't like about the whole experience. I could go on and on...cant say enough good things about the beautiful resort and the perfect staff at the Salamander Hotel and Spa!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 11/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Salamander was everything we could have ever wanted and more! The grounds and venues are stunning, the staff is polite and responsive, and the accommodations are unmatched! Lindsay Forseth, The Salamander's Director of Catering, was absolutely amazing! I can not say enough about helpful she was with all details of the wedding. She was friendly, responsive, detail-oriented, and made sure the evening went off without a hitch! I would highly recommend this venue to couples looking for a wedding venue. It really was a dream come true!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message