Roof Top Cafe Reviews

47 | Key West, FL
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Roof Top Cafe

Recommended by 99%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

9 User photos

Roof Top Cafe 1
Roof Top Cafe 2
Roof Top Cafe 3
Roof Top Cafe 4
Roof Top Cafe 5
Roof Top Cafe 6
Roof Top Cafe 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Andrew

    Andrew Harmon · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MUST-SEE Charming, Rooftop Venue

    After touring several of the more "formal" venues in Key West for our upcoming wedding, we headed to Roof Top Cafe for dinner - we walked in, and instantly knew we had just *unexpectedly* stumbled into the absolute perfect venue for us. We were blown away by the charm of this elevated restaurant right in the middle of the Key West action. The space is intimate, but still airy and filled with beautiful hanging greenery; and the "dance floor area" has big sliding glass doors that open up to an incredible, expansive deck wrapping the bar with intertwined trees, and a view that is the epitome of a Key West evening - overlooking the Mallory Square action while showing off the gorgeous trademarked KW sunsets! Oh, and also, our dinner was absolutely top-notch...food and service...we were sold!

    Fast-forward, post wedding, we 100% know we could not have picked a better venue on the island! As far as the space went, it truly was perfect for our 90 guests. Everyone fit at 10 tables (slightly intimately, which we liked) in the "dining side", the "dance floor side" felt extremely energetic all night long, and we were even able to perform our ceremony (pre-dinner) out on the deck (we had a short 15min ceremony, so while we seated about 40-50, no guests minded the standing room at back). It was nice, for us, not to hassle with a separate ceremony space and potential transportation. We did a "complete buyout" at a very reasonable price, especially compared to some of the other in-town ballrooms and outdoor spaces in KW that didn't seem to compare to the Roof Top charm - highlighted at night by beautiful pink and blue uplighting on the white beams, wicker fans, and hanging greenery. We stuck with pure greenery and white florals on the tables - and it was absolutely ethereal!

    The dinner (we did "Hibiscus" menu option) was seated (guests ordered table-side) and was raved about by everyone! The seafood & corn chowder is out of this world, caesar salad is spot-on, and we gave our guests the choice of the Bacon-Bourbon Filet Mignon w/ Garlic Mash, Fresh Catch w/ Citrus Beurre Blanc & Garlic Mash, or a Fresh Pasta Basilico (plain, or with Chicken or Shrimp) - all were fresh, served hot, and absolutely delicious. Dessert was a crazy-rich "Flourless" Chocolate Cake (or) Key Lime Pie. As you can probably tell, the food was one of our highest priorities in our venue selection...and I'm quite certain nowhere else in Key West can deliver above what you get with Roof Top Cafe. It's probably unnecessary at this point to note, but along with the dinner, our "welcome" Rum Punch drinks, and open bar drinks, were all provided at the highest level of service - the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating to every guest all night!

    For all this, I urge anyone "venue shopping" in Key West, to do yourself a favor and go have dinner at Roof Top Cafe to taste their amazing food, meet the hospitable staff, and see this incredible space for yourself! I can't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else on the island - the guest compliments were ENDLESS...and everyone felt the charm and intimacy we knew Roof Top would provide that felt so "Key West". *Also, a "bonus perk" was that we didn't have to stress about the weather, since it's indoors and yet opens up to the gorgeous outdoor setting, and equivalently, air conditioned - it was 90 degrees out at the beginning of June and I can't imagine having been sweating outdoors all night long with our guests.

    Maria Johnston was our venue coordinator at Roof Top, and just like the perfect experience our wedding was, she helped us coordinate every detail down to a T with such ease. After the night was over, we looked at each other and both said..."wow, not even the *slightest* little thing went wrong, haha!" No detail was missed - Maria was amazing...be sure to ask for her!

    So, major kudos and THANK YOU, to Roof Top Cafe for the most magnificent night that exceeded every expectation we had! We cannot wait to come back and visit!

    Few other vendor details that just made a perfect night that much better:
    *Our OUTSTANDING Wedding Planner: Kayla Cross, "Say Yes in Key West"
    *Entertainment: Rusty Lemmon & DJ Buggy (incredible duo, performed so many personalized favorite song requests, even acoustically; hit the nail on the head "vibe-wise" of us as a couple, and our entire crowd...all night long!)
    *Photographer and Florals: Lena Perkins Photography / Table 7 (Lena's Floral company)
    *Cigar Roller (we had out on the deck at sunset until end of night): Rodriguez Cigars Key West
    *Light-up, White Hawaiian Leis (for the dance floor): www.flashingblinkylights.com
    *Cocktail Napkins of our Dogs: Etsy, Alicia from TheEmeraldHound/ONE PET Cocktail Napkins
    *Life-size Cardboard Cutout of our dogs: home-made
    *Temporary Tattoo Station (out near the dance floor): our Bridesmaid squad

    Sent on 07/06/2019
    Roof Top Cafe 8
    Roof Top Cafe 9
    Roof Top Cafe 10
    Roof Top Cafe 11
    Roof Top Cafe 12
    Roof Top Cafe 13
    Roof Top Cafe 14
    Roof Top Cafe 15
    Roof Top Cafe 16
  • M

    Margaret · Married on 02/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our destination wedding for 120 people

    We had our rehearsal dinner and a cocktail party after for all our wedding guests. Maria Johnston did such an awesome job and it was a seamless transition from dinner to cocktail party. Marathon Floral outdid themselves too with our florals.. Fantastic experience all the way around.

    Sent on 03/03/2019

    Roof Top Cafe's reply:

    Thank You, Margaret! The pleasure was ours.

    Best,
    Maria.
  • M

    Mother Of The Groom · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Night

    Had my son's wedding Welcome Reception. The food was outstanding. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very "Key West." Highly recommend

    Sent on 03/07/2019
  • A

    Amelia · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Day

    Rooftop Cafe made our day stress-free and filled with love!

    Sent on 12/06/2018

    Roof Top Cafe's reply:

    Thank you Amelia! It was a pleasure working with you! Hope to see you guys at the Roof Top when you visiting in town next :)


    Best Regards,
    Maria & The Team.
  • Mike

    Mike Georgen-Wester · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Upscale Island Wedding

    My partner and I were going to elope. We looked at having a NYC wedding (where we live) and it wasn’t at all feasible with the scope of how we wanted our event to look and feel. We were discouraged and done with any semblance of what a wedding would be for us.

    As a last ditch effort, I looked into some of our favorite vacation spots to see if we could at least have our immediate friends and family out for a ceremony.

    That’s when I came across The Rooftop Café. My Partner and I had been to Key West twice before (loved it both times) but didn’t consider it a suitable location for our wedding based on how commercial and kitschy the island can be. Then after watching the promotional video for this restaurant, our minds were changed completely. The GORGEOUS white washed venue is covered in beautiful greenery and accented perfectly with rich wood, and wicker. This venue was for us. As well as 65 of our closest friends and family who made the journey.

    Jason (General Manager) and Maria (event Coordinator) were our contacts. Both of which were wonderful at understanding our needs and customizing our wedding day as well as providing insight and experience on what they do best. We took over the whole restaurant. We had our cocktail hour and brief ceremony outside under a gorgeous mahogany tree and by their fountain. We moved into the main dining room for dinner. The Dining room has gorgeous vaulted ceilings (had we the budget – we thought of a major hanging flower installation for some wedding drama, but it’s certainly gorgeous on it’s own), and then moved into the cocktail area for dessert and dancing.

    The whole planning process was VERY easy right down to specific wine varietals (we were VERY particular on the red, white, and rosé to be served) and customized food options. We strayed from the catering menu on almost all our food choices of it – NOT ONE FLINCH from the Rooftop team. They serve most signature dishes with an edible purple flower. What happens when that purple flower doesn’t work with your décor? No problem, Maria sourced white ones that will fit perfectly. She was happy to do it.

    They created two special cocktails, one representing each of the grooms that were served through out the night, but everyone ordered whatever they wanted form the Premium Bar package.

    Maria was in charge of the service for our table during dinner. She was phenomenal. We decided on passed family style appetizers since we were seated at three long tables. Passing the appetizers was a fun way to bring the group together. Then everyone had a plated entrée. All three choices were raved about and the food kicked the typical “beef” “chicken” or “fish” entrees that you see at basic weddings, to the curb!

    All of our servers and bartenders were exceptionally friendly through the whole event. I only needed to look in the direction of the bar before my Cotes de Provence glass was filled up again. Our guests still continue to rave about how much fun and how delightful the venue was. This venue is an unexpected slice of beauty on the island.

    When your guests come to a destination wedding in Key West, I am not sure if they know what to expect. But I am sure if you involve the rooftop café, it will be memorable for them as well as for you!

    Sent on 12/02/2018
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 11/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Rehearsal Dinner Location

    Holding our Rehearsal Dinner ar the Roof Top Cafe was a great decision! Maria and her team were exceptional from the moment we connected them up through the night of the dinner itself. The service, attention to detail and the food were all perfect. And the ambiance? What more can you ask for than a private spot on the deck, with palm trees and twinkle lights?
    If you’re looking for a spot for your rehearsal dinner, look no further.

    Sent on 12/19/2018

    Roof Top Cafe's reply:

    Thank you Michelle! Congratulations once again!!!


    Best Regards,
    Maria & The Team.
  • J

    J Vice · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience with Maria and the Roof Top Cafe

    I should have already sent you a follow up “thank you.” You did a great job coordinating the event. When we started looking for a venue for the rehearsal dinner for our son and his bride’s destination wedding in Key West, I was apprehensive about finding just the right place.

    The rehearsal dinner at the Roof Top Café was, in our son’s words, “perfect in every detail.” All the guests were impressed with the venue, the food, and the service--and were still talking the next day about how much they enjoyed the evening.

    Your personal service was very professional and timely. Finalizing all the details, including the payment, was seamless and consistent with the contract, which was especially appreciated.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • N

    Nadine · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic service and food. Flexible service.

    Sent on 08/01/2018
  • Kristina

    Kristina · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is absolutely breath taking! Not only is it beautiful but the food and service is fantastic as well! Maria was so great to work with and the rest of the staff was amazing as well!

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • P

    Patty · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot thank the Roof Top Cafe enough for the wonderful wedding we had for our daughter there. Hurricane Irma hit 3 weeks before the wedding and we were not sure it would even take place. Luckily the lower Keys were up and running within a couple of weeks. The management at the Roof Top Cafe were more than accommodating with our fluxuating guest list and moving the reception inside, due to the weather. Maria did a wonderful job attending to all the details and the dining room setup and the atmosphere was absolutely spot on. Drinks were well poured, the food was amazing and the service was impecable. Every guest said it was the best "Wedding" dinner they had ever had. Thanks for making this day so memorable for the brides, their families and their guests. We chose this venue after reading the reviews on Wedding Wire and were so glad we did. Thanks Maria, Wednesday and Norman for everything.

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception in the cocktail lounge of the Roof Top Cafe and I would highly recommend them! The restaurant itself is beautiful! The cocktail lounge has several floor-to-ceiling windows as well as plants and greenery that photograph beautifully! It was a perfect setting for our reception of 32 guests. The food was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious and service was impeccable. They were really easy to work with and replied to my emails promptly. Such a nice venue! We loved it and so did all of our guests. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 01/10/2017

    Roof Top Cafe's reply:

    Thanks so much for giving us the opportunity to host such a special day! We wish you and Dan the best!
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 12/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Roof Top Cafe on 12/4/2016. It was the perfect location for our small wedding. The atmosphere was beautiful and very "Key West". Our guests keep saying it's the best food they've ever had at a wedding. Jessica and Sarah made sure that everything was perfect and that we didn't have to worry about a thing on our big day.
    Highly recommend for anyone getting married in Key West.

    Sent on 01/22/2017
  • Kristin

    Kristin · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, love, love! We reserved a section of the rooftop for about 25 people for our rehearsal dinner and it was so amazing. We had a mini cocktail hour with the upstairs bar to ourselves with appetizers (key lime Mojitos were awesome!) and then tables set up outside on the roof for a three course meal. The food was EXCELLENT. I mean everything I tried was so delicious. And what a perfect setting for a magical and intimate rehearsal dinner with your closest friends and family. While I didn't not have a hand in setting up the event, the staff I met onsite were so friendly and catered to our every need, they were fantastic. I can't wait to go back to Key West to return to Rooftop Cafe for another dinner!

    Sent on 11/18/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with the Roof Top Café for my destination wedding. We had only 15 guests, but they treated us as royalty from the beginning. The best part, hands down, is the service - the wait staff was on top of everything from the second we walked in until we left. The food presentation is beautiful (not to mention delicious!). They were table to answer our questions throughout the planning process but were able to accommodate all of our special requests and (last-minute!) changes. I would definitely recommend this place for a wedding-related dinner - no matter how big or small your group may be.

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 07/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception dinner at the Roof Top Cafe following our beach ceremony and it was absolutely over the top incredible! If you are looking for a venue for your reception, look no further. We were all treated like royalty! The food, atmosphere and service were completely outstanding!! They were very responsive and accommodating during the menu and event planning which was all done remotely. We had a cocktail hour, dinner and dessert and every single selection was fabulous looking in presentation and super delicious tasting. We got so many compliments from our guests. Thank you Roof Top Cafe for The PERFECT Wedding reception!!!

    Sent on 09/02/2016
  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 07/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Roof Top Cafe was the perfect venue for our rehearsal dinner. The service and food were outstanding! The portions are very filling and the restaurant itself has a unique charm that makes you feel like you are in the treetops. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • J

    Jon · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had our wedding cocktail-hour and reception here at the Roof Top Café along with the Key Lime Pirates Band during this event I cannot say enough good things about the staff here, they went above and beyond to make sure we had a special night as well as our 50 other guests. I would definitely recommend this place for a wedding rehearsal dinner, cocktail hour, reception, private and or corporate event.

    Luckily we had Sarah on the day of our event, whom made sure all the decor and flowers were set up perfectly, our glasses were always full and guests were attended to. If you are planning an event here, I would definitely recommend that you specifically ask for Sarah to run your event as she is a natural at pulling everything together and making sure service is top notch. She is very pleasant, makes everyone feel special while she is in charge of the event, and there was not one accommodation she was not able to meet. Thanks Again Sarah at Roof Top Cafe A+++

    Sent on 04/27/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was great to work with at the Rooftop Cafe. We had a destination wedding and reserved the lounge area. It was beautiful. The coordination of the florist and cake delivery was flawless. The food was unanimously declared to be absolutely delicious. She was flexible with us due to changes in number of guests that were able to attend. At the end of the night when we were ready to go out on the town she arranged for cab services for us. We plan to go back to the Rooftop Cafe next time we are in Key West!

    Sent on 03/23/2016
  • J

    John and Jeanne · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an afternoon Meet & Greet on the Terrace before my daughters wedding. I had not seen the Venue. It was beautiful just the atmosphere to start our celebration.

    We had 7 passed appetizers and two stations there was plenty of food which was all delicious. The stations were large even though we downsized them.

    We had two very attentive bartenders sometimes three for about 65 people.

    Jessica was helpful planning and at the affair and the many times I called with questions. It was a pleasure working with her.



    The Venue was so pretty just what I envisioned for Key West. I hadn't ordered flowers for the tables but it wasn't necessary for our party because there was so much natural foliage around the terrace..



    Sent on 03/31/2016
  • C

    Christy · Married on 02/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hey Jessica!

    We just wanted to send you a huge thank you for making our wedding reception absolutely PERFECT! The food was delicious, the service was outstanding, and the atmosphere was amazing! We were so pleased and incredibly thankful with everything you and your staff did for us.

    Thank you again and we will definitely be back to visit!

    Justin & Christy Rozinek
    Married 02.12.16

    Sent on 03/18/2016
  • S

    Stephen · Married on 11/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a destination wedding in Key West. After checking several venues, we chose the Roof Top Cafe for our wedding reception and luncheon. We came to Key West on a cruise ship, chartered a trolley to take us to the church for our ceremony and then on to the Roof Top Cafe for our reception. Manager Jessica Gross is a pleasure to work with. Dining menu, bar menu, decorating, wedding cake cutting, etc. was all flawless. There were no issues at all. We had over 50 guests and everyone had a wonderful experience. The Roof Top Cafe provided the best "bang for the buck" in Key West, PERIOD! They provided true value for our money. If we ever do another event in Key West, rest assured that it will be at the Roof Top Cafe!

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • C

    Clayton · Married on 11/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The combination of Rooftop Cafe's location (adjacent to Mallory Square), ambience (garden style, combination of indoor/outdoor, open air), food/service quality (top notch) made it a perfect location to entertain our close friends and family for our rehearsal dinner.

    Jessica was a delight to work with throughout the entire process, and was very flexible/responsive to our special requests the night of the event (food allergies, bar tab, seating, etc.).

    I would highly recommend Rooftop Cafe to anyone considering the venue for their wedding celebration, and am happy to discuss our experience in more detail with those who are in the process of making a decision.

    Thank you Jessica and Rooftop Cafe for an incredible and memorable evening prior to our wedding day!

    Sent on 11/13/2015
  • S

    Steve · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything and we mean everything was perfect. The food, drinks, and service was outstanding...We will be back for Lunch or diner next time we are in Key West.

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • User4327700 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a destination wedding in Key West on 7/20/15, and held our cocktail hour and reception at the Roof Top Cafe. We had gone to Key West a year before our wedding to check out several reception venues including the Roof Top Cafe, and we totally fell in love with it. The restaurant itself is beautiful, and the food is delicious!

    The staff at the Roof Top Cafe was friendly, helpful and easy to work with. I e-mailed the event coordinator, Jessica, many times throughout the past year to ask questions or change little details about the reception, and she was always very helpful and flexible, and always responded quickly.

    Our guests absolutely loved the Roof Top Cafe. The rooftop deck at the restaurant is beautiful, and it was even more beautiful during our night time reception with the sunset in the background. The food at the Roof Top Cafe was the best that we've had in Key West. Our guests are still talking about what a great time they had at the reception and how amazing the food was!

    I would highly recommend the Roof Top Cafe as a reception venue for anyone that is looking for a beautiful atmosphere and incredible food at a reasonable price.

    Sent on 08/06/2015
  • A

    Allison · Married on 01/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We rented out the entire Roof Top Cafe for our wedding on 1/11/15. We had a pre-wedding cocktail party and an after-wedding reception at the restaurant. Everyone raved about the atmosphere of the restaurant and the rooftop decks as well as the quality of the food and service.
    The managers were extremely easy to deal with and were able to accommodate many of our specific requests.

    Sent on 02/22/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review