Weddings

River Valley Catering Reviews

River Valley Catering

River Valley Catering

River Falls, WI
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 161 Reviews
View more information

161 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 161
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

12 User photos

Sort by:
  • R
    Rebekah R. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very good experience

    We enjoyed working with River Valley Catering! They were always very responsive and easy to work with. The food was very good the day of the wedding - we had several people say it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. We would recommend them!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Rebekah,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We enjoyed working with you as well and loved seeing how your wedding day came together. Thank you for choosing us to be a part of it!
  • Allison
    Allison W. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly Incredible

    The entire process working with RVC was absolutely incredible. Everything from the first emails to the food tasting and planning meetings, down to the day of experience. I cannot count how many guests told us this was the BEST wedding food they have ever had (we did the champagne chicken and tenderloin beef tips)! We used RVC for our butler passed appetizers, plated dinner, all our linens and plate ware, and the late night pizza. Thank you to Karla and Emily for everything! Would absolutely recommend to anyone and everyone. Cannot rave enough!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Allison,
    Thank you so much for your review!
    We had such a wonderful time working with you from start to finish! What a beautiful day it was celebrating you and Nate, thank you for allowing us to be a part of it all :)

    Best wishes to you both as newlyweds!
  • Whitney
    Whitney E. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious food

    River valley has a big variety of options for you to serve at your wedding. We loved that we could do something different and be very comparable in price as the typical chicken entree. We did prime rib and tropical mahi mahi--we are still craving these dishes! All of our guests loved the food as well. You will not have a bad meal with River Valley!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Tanner & Whitney,
    Happy almost 1 week of marriage!! Thank you so much for the kind review. It was so great working with the two of you! :)
  • T
    Theresa E. Married on 05/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything was perfect!

    We threw a bridal shower for my daughter on the patio. The atmosphere was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the service was incredible!!! It was literally perfect and my daughter was elated!! Thank you!!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Theresa,
    Thank you for choosing our sister restaurant, West Wind Supper Club, to host your daughter's bridal shower! It could not have been a more perfect day. So glad you all enjoyed your experience!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Married on 05/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything was executed perfectly!

    9/19/20 wedding
    The food was delicious and we had them serve our drinks too since we wanted an open bar. We were able to rent linens and place settings as well. They did a great job and instead of a wedding cake we also did a cheesecake bar through them too. Everything was executed perfectly! They came out the evening before to get set up. They even let us take the leftovers!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Jessica,

    Thank you so much for your kind review! You two were a pleasure working with from the moment we met and seeing your special day come together was our pleasure! We were so happy to accommodate you during this COVID time by allowing you to sign our leftover food waiver too.
  • Natalie
    Natalie K. Married on 04/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    People are still talking about the food

    River Valley was incredible to work with. We had multiple allergies to work around and they took it in stride. The food was such a hit people are still talking about it and some wanted doggy bags! Don't hesitate for one second to use River Valley.

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Natalie,

    Thank you so much for your review and kind words! It was our pleasure working with you to accommodate for your guests. We had a wonderful time working with you and Nikita for your special day! Thank you for choosing us to be a part of it!
  • C
    Caitlin F. Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100 percent recommend!!

    River Valley Catering was so wonderful to work with. They were so helpful with the requests or changes as well. I loved all the food and have been told by many of my guests that this was the best wedding for they have ever had!!! I you are even considering them, hire them!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words!
    Hope married life is treating you and Dustin well! :)
  • M
    Maira M. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My daughter’s wedding

    The food choices are numerous and the flavors, quality,presentation and portions superb!!!!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Maira,

    Thank you for your review. We had such a wonderful time working with you for your Natalie's wedding day, from beginning to end! Thank you for selecting us to be a part of it all!
  • L
    Lauren V. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great food and great service makes for amazing wedding

    After tastings with several caterers for our August 2019 wedding, we decided upon River Valley Catering. We made that decision based upon the quality of food, recommendation of our venue (Villa Bellezza) and the way we were treated at our tasting. The food was delicious, the portions were good and the presentation was nice. But equally important, Emily and others at RV, gave their opinions when asked, were flexible with options and sincerely wanted to make it the best experience for us! And that is exactly what they did! They came and set up the linens on the tables early so we could start the decorating early. They served bubbles to our guests during the receiving line, set up and passed appetizers, served the meal and bartended all night long. Always quietly and efficiently in the background. Our guests commented on how good the food was and they even served just to me (the bride) mashed sweet potatoes, my favorite. Because as they said repeatedly, the bride gets whatever she wants! Highly recommend them for your next wedding or event!
    Lauren (Bride) and Sharon (MOB)

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Lauren & Sharon,

    Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you both during the wedding planning process and being there for your big day!!

    Emily
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Worth the price!

    I had a great experience with River Valley. They were very responsive when we were putting our estimate together and were very easy to work with as far as changes last minute go. Also one of the employees got married at the same venue I did and had helpful insight!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Emily,
    We had such a great time working with all of you to help be a part of your wedding day. You two are a beautiful couple. The day was breathtaking and we were so happy to be there while it all fell into place! Best wishes and thank you so much for the kind words.
  • A
    Anna Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing partners!

    We were so thrilled with River Valley Catering. They did an amazing job working with our needs throughout the process. The food was incredible on our wedding day. We still have people raving about their meal! Thank you, River Valley!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review! It was a pleasure working with you and Cody for your special day. We wish you both the best!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 06/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would recommend!

    We hired River Valley Catering for our wedding in June 2019. They were one of the recommended vendors from our wedding venue and after considering menus, pricing, and customer service, we decided they were the best fit for us! Our tasting at the restaurant made the choice even more clear; they were so friendly and accommodating - willing to customize for us and honest with their opinions about what is popular or how many people would eat a late night snack, etc.. On the day of the wedding, service was smooth and on-time. Guests commented on how good the food was and people asked us if we had the recipe of the chicken dish we had ordered (champagne chicken). We were very happy with both the service and quality of the food (which had to travel about an hour to our venue). The only small hitch we had was that one of our menu items was incorrectly labeled on the buffet as having chicken, which was unfortunate as that was our vegetarian option so those folks didn't know it was safe to eat. Obviously, this was a small oversight and if we had walked the buffet ourselves (we got table service for head table), we probably could have caught this and quickly resolved. Overall, we were very happy with our selection of River Valley Catering and would definitely recommend them to others looking to cater their wedding!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, your recommendation, and insight to how we can improve. We loved working with you both from start to finish for your special day.
  • Emily
    Emily K. Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and staff

    We knew right from the tasting that we set up that this catering company was going to be a HUGE hit at our wedding!! Through the whole process, Emily responded quickly and worked with us to make sure it was everything we wanted. The day before they came to the venue and set everything up. The day of, the food was absolutely amazing!! Our guest all said it was the best food they've had at a wedding!! We had the mushroom risotto, champagne chicken, pork Marsala, and broccoli. The servers were incredibly nice and stayed until the very end of the night. I can't say enough about this company, the service, and food!!!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Thank you for the review, Emily! You are so sweet! You and Kevin were so easy to work with through the entire process! :) We wish you both a lifetime of love and happiness!
  • A
    Angela Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would 100% recommend River Valley Catering to anyone.

    Working with River Valley Catering for our wedding was the right choice. Their staff were quick to respond to questions, they have such a wide selection of choices, and everyone raved about the food! Emily was on time, professional, full of energy, and made sure everything ran smoothly. Would 100% recommend River Valley Catering to anyone.

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Angela,
    Thank you so much for your kind review! It was such a pleasure working with you and Michael on your big day! :)
  • E
    Erin Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Food

    I have heard nothing but good things about the food and services River Valley Catering provided for my wedding. Would definitely recommend them.

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Erin,
    Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear your guests loved the food. The day was perfect and we were so honored to be able to be a part of it!
  • E
    Elle Married on 04/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful food and people!

    Loved working with River Valley Catering. They were very professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and seemed to truly care about their couples. The food for our wedding was so wonderful and we received many compliments from guests! Emily and staff were amazing at making sure our reception ran smoothly. I would not hesitate to recommend RVC for any of your catering needs. My husband and I love food and this was one of the main things we wanted to impress with at our wedding and they were the perfect company for realizing our food dreams! Thank you to everyone at RVC for a simply amazing planning and event experience.

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Elle, Thank you so much for your kind review! It was a pleasure catering yours & Aaron's wedding! :)

  • J
    Jill Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely LOVE Sue & the team at River Valley Catering!

    From our very first meeting, to tasting, and all the way through the wedding day, Sue and the team at River Valley Catering were our biggest advocates and cheerleaders! They were very knowledgeable, honest, and truly had our best interests at heart which made working with them very easy. Highly recommend them!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Jill (and Tom)!! We fell in love with you after our first meeting, too!! We loved being a part of your beautiful day!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough good things about River Valley! First off, Sue is AMAZING!!!!! She was great with details and was fun! I expressed earlier in a conversation how I never get any of the late night pizza because I'm dancing on the dance floor. Right around 10 Pm she delivered me my own plate of late night pizza! So great!!!! I can honestly say we had the best wedding food I've ever had. the filet with blue cheese was to die for!!!! Someone compared it to Manny's! Everything was perfect! Thank you so so much!
  • B
    Brinn Married on 09/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue and her team were awesome to work with! Table set ups were amazing, food was delicious- some guests said best wedding food they’ve ever had! They were truly great to work with an made us feel comfortable and excited about all of our choices! Prices were very reasonable compared to other options as well. Photo by breeannakayphotography
  • D
    Dana Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great food, great service

    Everyone we worked with at River Valley Catering was great! Sue, Emily and Betty were wonderful from our tasting to all the small details.Everything went smoothly day of and they were very accommodating. We got a lot of compliments about how great the food was!
  • K
    Karly Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Valley Catering does an excellent job and helped us with the planning of our wedding dinner. We got so many compliments on how amazing and yummy the food was. We loved everything! The servers were very nice and helped with anything that our guests needed. It went very smoothly. We couldn't be happier! Thank you!!

    River Valley Catering's reply:

    Karly, thank you for the kind words!
    Your great planning was they key to everything going so smoothly!
    That great menu you picked didn’t hurt, either!
    Thank you!
  • E
    Erin S. Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Emily at River Valley was amazing and so accommodating! She was so helpful with the planning and even the day of! She went above and beyond and really stood out to make our day special. Highly recommend
  • M
    Melissa Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Valley Catering did an amazing job for our wedding! They were very friendly and responsive when we had questions. We were able to go in for a tasting before we picked them as our catering service and they did a great job explaining the food and cost. At the wedding, the food was delicious and fresh. I highly recommend their services!
  • M
    Maggie C. Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They were definitely the right choice!

    I am so, so glad I went with River Valley Catering for my wedding. Wonderful staff and incredible food. I was planning an outdoor wedding in River Falls, WI from TX. Sue and Betty were absolutely wonderful and made my experience as a (somewhat frazzled...) bride really seamless. They were experienced, professional, warm, flexible and patient. They truly went above and beyond to make my wedding a success. The service the day of was lovely - their staff were super sweet and professional. As far as the food, it was very high quality, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. I had many, many guests (including both sets of parents) say that it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. Personally, that is one of the greatest compliments I could have received as a bride, eager to ensure my guests are well cared for.
  • C
    Candy Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Valley Catering was absolutely perfect for our wedding at Hidden Meadow and Barn. The food was so amazing and the crew was so easy to work with. EVERYONE commented on the food and couldn't believe how great it was. Many said it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding reception. They were very flexible with our menu options as well as our seating arrangement! THANK YOU!!!