Rick Takagi Photography Reviews

121 | Kirkland, WA
See photos, pricing and details

121 Reviews for Rick Takagi Photography

Recommended by 99%

121
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

37 User photos

Rick Takagi Photography 1
Rick Takagi Photography 2
Rick Takagi Photography 3
Rick Takagi Photography 4
Rick Takagi Photography 5
Rick Takagi Photography 6
Rick Takagi Photography 7
+ 31
Sort by:
  • M

    Mia · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great photos, even better price!

    Rick was about half the price as other photographers I was looking at and had just as good quality. He's fast at responding to emails, arrived promptly on time during our wedding, and delivered my photos in 3 weeks! They all look great and I'm going to have a hard time choosing which photos to print out!

    Rick Takagi Photography 18
    Rick Takagi Photography 19
    Rick Takagi Photography 20
    Rick Takagi Photography 21
  • Shuyao

    Shuyao · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome, creative, and super fun

    Rick was an amazing photographer for our wedding. We initially chose him because his photos are just so vibrant, full of color and life, exactly how we wanted our wedding to feel. After we met him, we found he’s also a very fun guy always with a smile on his face, and very professional. He responds very quickly, takes the initiative to provide help wherever he can, and is very organized.

    He's got a very creative mind and it really shows in how his photography tries to paint a picture. He's able to take everyday mundane elements in our surroundings (like mirrors, balconies, etc) and make them into amazing artistic shots. He’s also not afraid to be bold and do whatever it takes for a great shot. One of my most memorable moments was when we were taking shots in downtown and a guy drove by in a classic American convertible car that looked amazing. Rick immediately went up to the guy and asked if he’d let us sit in the driver seat to take some photos. We ended up getting some amazing pictures that was completely out of my expectations. I think this shows that Rick really cares about making the day fun for everyone and doing what it takes to get great pictures and memories.

    Rick Takagi Photography 22
    Rick Takagi Photography 23
    Rick Takagi Photography 24
    Rick Takagi Photography 25
    Rick Takagi Photography 26
    Rick Takagi Photography 27
    Rick Takagi Photography 28
    Rick Takagi Photography 29
    Rick Takagi Photography 30
    Rick Takagi Photography 31
    Rick Takagi Photography 32
    Rick Takagi Photography 33
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to get married in Seattle 3 weeks before it happened. I am so glad we found Rick! Very speedy with getting back to us and booking, and it was raining the entire ceremony and he managed to get some amazing shots! I don’t know if they would have turned out as good if Rick hadn’t done them! Thanks Rick!!!

    Rick Takagi Photography 34
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous Photographer

    We were drawn to Rick because of his excellent portfolio and decided to work with him after sitting down for a consult. Rick is an amazing photographer and an even better gentleman to hang out with! You can tell he is excited to create interesting and amazing photos and to work with people. He is a responsive and enthusiastic communicator. We can’t recommend him enough!

  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was great to work with ahead of time and made the day so easy! We could not have asked for better pictures!

    Rick Takagi Photography 35
    Rick Takagi Photography 36
    Rick Takagi Photography 37
    Rick Takagi Photography 38
  • R

    Rosh · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was incredible and we loved working with him! He was easygoing, super responsive, and his pictures were incredible! We had a general vision of what we wanted, and Rick made our visions come true. He has an incredible eye and made super to capture all of our special moments without being intrusive, which was important for us. Everyone in our family also loved working with him and loved his pictures!

  • L

    Leah · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first met with Rick, I was blown away! Mostly because of how passionate he is about photography and also the questions he asked us both. He made us both feel that him taking our photos was about capturing the our relationship and our unique personalities. We both knew he was the “one” from the first meet. Then, at our wedding him and Sam were both absolutely amazing and knew when to have us pose just right or to get that special candid moment! We are happy to have had him photograph our wedding. When we saw all of the photos, we knew for sure that Rick was and is the right guy for the job! Hands down! Thank you Rick and Sam from the bottom of our hearts! Much love!

  • E

    Elaine · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first found Rick's portfolio online along with all his wonderful reviews when we were looking for a wedding photographer. To match his reputation, Rick was very kind and was a great listener on the phone. He took the time to ask us many questions about who we are and about our relationship. Being two brides, we loved that he treated us like any other couple with respect, AND he already had a bunch of ideas when we talked to him about our vision. We hired Rick for our engagement shoot in March and we couldn't be happier with how fun and comfortable it was to work with him. Rick has a great sense of humor and was open to ideas. We love that Rick can spot random areas during a shoot and catch an awesome shot on the go.

    We had our wedding the end of this June. Rick was AMAZING. Rick was on time with his assistant, Mikaela (thanks Mikaela!), and they both worked well with the videographer with high energy. We started off in a hotel and had our ceremony and reception outdoors. Our family and friends enjoyed his company and were impressed with how well he was able to work with all 14 ladies, all day (12 in the party + 2 brides) as well our large families. We remember how the sun was blazing at the time we had scheduled to take family photos, but Rick highly recommended to wait 'til later and we're so glad he was there. Sometimes we've seen photographers just go with whatever the client says, but Rick would make sure to explain why and how well something would work better a certain way and at a different time. We recently received all of our photos and WOW. We had asked to have many candid "Kodak moment" photos and we got exactly what we wanted and more. From photos of us exchanging smiles, laughs, and jokes, to hugs, and more, Rick captured each moment of the day with so many beautiful pictures. The angles and placement of each photo was so perfect, fun, memorable, and smart! We are so happy with the quality of work. Thanks Rick!

  • E

    E · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a non traditional wedding and Rick was incredible at getting to know us and understanding our vision. He was extremely flexible about setting up an entirely different day of photo shoot so we could focus on photos one day and the actual ceremony and reception another day. He is a true creative — obsessive (in a good way) about finding cool new ways to tell a story visually. At the same time, he was very open to our collaboration and ideas.

  • A

    Adrian · Married on 12/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is a super photographer and we couldn't be happier with the results! We eloped on Dec 28th and Rick was able to accommodate us over a holiday week and on short notice for a very reasonable price. He was VERY flexible during our booked time. When our officiant showed up less than prepared and we had to delay about 45 minutes, Rick didn't miss a beat. He was able to keep us relaxed, laughing, and gave us some guidance on posing (but without being overly posed or cheesy). Somehow he managed to actually make us look fantastic (we are the queens of bad selfies!). Three days later, we ended up with an amazing set of photos that we will cherish! Our friends and families can't stop raving about how stunning the photos of us are. We have already recommended him to several other couples we know getting married and would hire him again in a heartbeat should we ever need a photographer for another special occasion.

  • T

    tea · Married on 11/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Rick through the officiant who was performing the ceremony for a small wedding at Pike’s Place. The ceremony something between eloping and a big wedding; An elopement. The ‘newyweds’ were apprehensive about the need for professional photos... they were just going to go with family shots!! Oh my, what an absolutely smart decision it was to hire a photographer and what an awesome photographer we found in Rick!

    Our first contact was only three days before the wedding. Rick was enthusiastic and full of ideas. Added to the expected *snow* in Seattle, the ceremony was scheduled at 6PM on the day the time rolled by for daylight savings time - so time with any daylight was going to be limited for our two-hour session.

    Rick worked with our couple to get them over their apprehension of heading out in the cool evening. The result was some of the most fabulous photographs of the bride and groom with the market, city lights, big wheel and a beautiful Seattle cloud-filled sky. The photos are so unique and magnificent; Rick was a master at taking what one might see as a challenge and turning out masterpieces!!

    Thank you Rick.

    Rick Takagi Photography 39
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was great shooting our wedding photos; he was very easy to work with. The photos turned out wonderful, I would definitely recommend him!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I booked Rick for our upcoming wedding. Before we met with Rick we were really on the fence about wanting to take engagement photos. However, as we looked further into his portfolio we just fell in love with Ricks vision. He was able to squeeze us in to his super busy schedule. We are so thankful we got the photos done and we cannot stop looking at them, it is like art. Rick is affordable and well worth the price. Highly recommend Rick Takagi Photography and cannot wait for the wedding!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was awesome to work with and is so passionate about his work! We love our photos and has fun with rick on the day of! Great work! And he is very reasonably priced

  • I

    Ivonne · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased to work with Rick on our engagement and wedding sessions. We got so many compliments from both families and guests. Even some guests said they enjoyed Rick's enthusiasm in directing them for photos' poses. We knew that we are in the good hands for our wedding photos from the start. When we met on our initial meeting, we could tell that Rick is very artistic and energetic. He told us where and how he wanted to do the wedding photos before he went to the venue. He only saw the venue photos and it would be his first time to do the photo shoot there. That really sold for me! My fiance at the time was not as excited as I was to discuss about photo shoot. However, after the meeting, my fiance changed his mind. We decided to have Rick takes our engagement photo and my fiance was so excited about it! We highly recommend Rick for any photo shoots.
    We will definitely ask Rick to take our family photo sometimes in the future.

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a photographer for an important event is never an easy venture - you really do get what you pay for. It took us a while to compile a list of potential photographers, but once we were did, there was never any question about who we wanted. We just kept ending back up on Rick's portfolio, over and over again. It was without a doubt one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning process. From day one, Rick worked with us to customize his packages to fit our actual wedding times, set up phone calls to discuss our vision, and finalize our timeline.

    Even though we underestimated the time needed for some of our wedding events, he helped us keep everything on track. He knew our venue well, so he was extremely efficient with getting us to some of the more photogenic spots, and we had a good balance of time to spend eating and socializing while still being pulled aside for more time-sensitive photos (ex. sunset).

    Within a day or two of the wedding we'd already received five sneak peeks and they are just so gorgeous - he really captured the Vogue/GQ feel we were hoping for. The photos we've received so far are a perfect mix of dramatic and romantic - we're so incredibly excited to get the full album.

    Rick Takagi Photography 40
    Rick Takagi Photography 41
    Rick Takagi Photography 42
    Rick Takagi Photography 43
    Rick Takagi Photography 44
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Rick to be my wedding photographer back in early September. It was a great pleasure to work with Rick. He was very professional, accommodating and knowledgeable. I knew that there were not many spots for pictures at our venue so I suggested taking some of the photos at Discovery Park. Rick knew all the best spots for great pictures. His assistant, Sarah, was also very helpful and thoughtful throughout the shoot. I particularly liked the picture Rick took at our first dance. He captured the best moment and the best of us without us even knowing. It was a great experience! I will definitely hire Rick again in the future.

  • K

    Karin · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was amazing! We loved working with him and Sarah for our wedding day. It was absolutely beautiful and he caught every moment. He was easy to communicate with before, during, and after the wedding, and got some pictures to us the following day! We can't say enough great things about Rick.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Here's what I love about Rick and his work: He just doesn't take "pretty photos". His talent, skill, eye and creativity capture the actual emotion in the moment - while doing it in a breathtaking context and turning the moment into art. When selecting him as our wedding photographer, I loved looking at his portfolio - I felt like I was a part of each of those weddings. He didn't disappoint with the photos from our wedding; the shots bring me back to that day and the emotion in each photo. On the business side, he is such a positive, can-do person. He genuinely wanted to know us and make sure he was capturing our story - not just forcing on us what he wanted. Responsive, organized - a bride's dream. The day of the event he was extremely patient with the various family members trying to catch their own shots of the day - whereas I'm sure it would have driven most photographers nuts. He was the perfect mix of making sure to get the shots we needed - but also blending into the background and quietly capturing the moments as they unfolded. I cannot say enough good things about Rick! He's the best!

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were highly impressed with Rick's unique and natural eye for wedding shots. We felt blessed to have Rick there on our wedding day because he made us feel comfortable & confident and he had fun while also working hard to get the job done. He is really impressive & our pictures are PHENOMENAL. We absolutely love how he captured all the special moments of our day. The photos he took will be genuinely treasured by us & our family/friends.

    If you use him for your wedding day, you will not be disappointed!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was our engagement and wedding day photographer. We appreciated how organized he was prior to the wedding as well as working well with other vendors during the wedding. He worked well throughout the event taking charge when needed and staying back as well. He turns around photos quickly and they turned out really well. Would definitely recommend to others for their big day.

  • J

    Jen · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was amazing. His pictures were phenomenal and his presence at our wedding was so perfect. He brought energy, creativity, and kindness to the wedding. He helped guide us through our day more than the resorts wedding coordinators did. Rick was worth every penny, and his photos are true pieces of art. So greatful for his services.

  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick did both our engagement and wedding photos, and words cannot express how pleased we were with the results! Not only is he an incredibly talented photographer, but he's also very friendly and easy to work with. Our entire bridal party raved about how laid back Rick was while also being able to keep us on a tight timeline (which isn't an easy task with our group). I cannot recommend Rick enough- he's truly the best!

  • J

    Jody · Married on 07/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was absolutely amazing to work with and our pictures were just perfect. We eloped to Seattle from Indiana and there was never an issue with communication leading up to our wedding. Rick went above and beyond what we were expecting!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review