118 Reviews for Rick Takagi Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+19
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Digital Files (10)
One Event/Day (5)
Additional Hours (4)
High-Res Images (4)
Wedding Portraits (4)
Engagement Shoot (3)
Multi. Locations (3)
Proofs (2)
Second Shooter (1)
Destination / Travel (1)
112 Rick Takagi Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We decided to get married in Seattle 3 weeks before it happened. I am so glad we found Rick! Very speedy with getting back to us and booking, and it was raining the entire ceremony and he managed to get some amazing shots! I don’t know if they would have turned out as good if Rick hadn’t done them! Thanks Rick!!!

Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Profile Picture Alexis, 9/15/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

He was great to work with ahead of time and made the day so easy! We could not have asked for better pictures!

Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Profile Picture Maggie, 7/18/18, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick was incredible and we loved working with him! He was easygoing, super responsive, and his pictures were incredible! We had a general vision of what we wanted, and Rick made our visions come true. He has an incredible eye and made super to capture all of our special moments without being intrusive, which was important for us. Everyone in our family also loved working with him and loved his pictures!

Profile Picture Rosh, 7/7/18, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

When we first met with Rick, I was blown away! Mostly because of how passionate he is about photography and also the questions he asked us both. He made us both feel that him taking our photos was about capturing the our relationship and our unique personalities. We both knew he was the “one” from the first meet. Then, at our wedding him and Sam were both absolutely amazing and knew when to have us pose just right or to get that special candid moment! We are happy to have had him photograph our wedding. When we saw all of the photos, we knew for sure that Rick was and is the right guy for the job! Hands down! Thank you Rick and Sam from the bottom of our hearts! Much love!

Profile Picture Leah, 6/30/18, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We first found Rick's portfolio online along with all his wonderful reviews when we were looking for a wedding photographer. To match his reputation, Rick was very kind and was a great listener on the phone. He took the time to ask us many questions about who we are and about our relationship. Being two brides, we loved that he treated us like any other couple with respect, AND he already had a bunch of ideas when we talked to him about our vision. We hired Rick for our engagement shoot in March and we couldn't be happier with how fun and comfortable it was to work with him. Rick has a great sense of humor and was open to ideas. We love that Rick can spot random areas during a shoot and catch an awesome shot on the go.

We had our wedding the end of this June. Rick was AMAZING. Rick was on time with his assistant, Mikaela (thanks Mikaela!), and they both worked well with the videographer with high energy. We started off in a hotel and had our ceremony and reception outdoors. Our family and friends enjoyed his company and were impressed with how well he was able to work with all 14 ladies, all day (12 in the party + 2 brides) as well our large families. We remember how the sun was blazing at the time we had scheduled to take family photos, but Rick highly recommended to wait 'til later and we're so glad he was there. Sometimes we've seen photographers just go with whatever the client says, but Rick would make sure to explain why and how well something would work better a certain way and at a different time. We recently received all of our photos and WOW. We had asked to have many candid "Kodak moment" photos and we got exactly what we wanted and more. From photos of us exchanging smiles, laughs, and jokes, to hugs, and more, Rick captured each moment of the day with so many beautiful pictures. The angles and placement of each photo was so perfect, fun, memorable, and smart! We are so happy with the quality of work. Thanks Rick!

Profile Picture Elaine, 6/23/18, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We had a non traditional wedding and Rick was incredible at getting to know us and understanding our vision. He was extremely flexible about setting up an entirely different day of photo shoot so we could focus on photos one day and the actual ceremony and reception another day. He is a true creative — obsessive (in a good way) about finding cool new ways to tell a story visually. At the same time, he was very open to our collaboration and ideas.

Profile Picture E, 3/17/18, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick is a super photographer and we couldn't be happier with the results! We eloped on Dec 28th and Rick was able to accommodate us over a holiday week and on short notice for a very reasonable price. He was VERY flexible during our booked time. When our officiant showed up less than prepared and we had to delay about 45 minutes, Rick didn't miss a beat. He was able to keep us relaxed, laughing, and gave us some guidance on posing (but without being overly posed or cheesy). Somehow he managed to actually make us look fantastic (we are the queens of bad selfies!). Three days later, we ended up with an amazing set of photos that we will cherish! Our friends and families can't stop raving about how stunning the photos of us are. We have already recommended him to several other couples we know getting married and would hire him again in a heartbeat should we ever need a photographer for another special occasion.

Profile Picture User7625420, Recently Married, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We found Rick through the officiant who was performing the ceremony for a small wedding at Pike’s Place. The ceremony something between eloping and a big wedding; An elopement. The ‘newyweds’ were apprehensive about the need for professional photos... they were just going to go with family shots!! Oh my, what an absolutely smart decision it was to hire a photographer and what an awesome photographer we found in Rick!

Our first contact was only three days before the wedding. Rick was enthusiastic and full of ideas. Added to the expected *snow* in Seattle, the ceremony was scheduled at 6PM on the day the time rolled by for daylight savings time - so time with any daylight was going to be limited for our two-hour session.

Rick worked with our couple to get them over their apprehension of heading out in the cool evening. The result was some of the most fabulous photographs of the bride and groom with the market, city lights, big wheel and a beautiful Seattle cloud-filled sky. The photos are so unique and magnificent; Rick was a master at taking what one might see as a challenge and turning out masterpieces!!

Thank you Rick.

Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Profile Picture tea, 11/5/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick was great shooting our wedding photos; he was very easy to work with. The photos turned out wonderful, I would definitely recommend him!

Profile Picture Taylor, 10/20/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My fiancé and I booked Rick for our upcoming wedding. Before we met with Rick we were really on the fence about wanting to take engagement photos. However, as we looked further into his portfolio we just fell in love with Ricks vision. He was able to squeeze us in to his super busy schedule. We are so thankful we got the photos done and we cannot stop looking at them, it is like art. Rick is affordable and well worth the price. Highly recommend Rick Takagi Photography and cannot wait for the wedding!

Profile Picture User7106087, Recently Married, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Engagement Shoot, Multi. Locations
5.0

Rick was awesome to work with and is so passionate about his work! We love our photos and has fun with rick on the day of! Great work! And he is very reasonably priced

Profile Picture Emily, 9/30/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We were very pleased to work with Rick on our engagement and wedding sessions. We got so many compliments from both families and guests. Even some guests said they enjoyed Rick's enthusiasm in directing them for photos' poses. We knew that we are in the good hands for our wedding photos from the start. When we met on our initial meeting, we could tell that Rick is very artistic and energetic. He told us where and how he wanted to do the wedding photos before he went to the venue. He only saw the venue photos and it would be his first time to do the photo shoot there. That really sold for me! My fiance at the time was not as excited as I was to discuss about photo shoot. However, after the meeting, my fiance changed his mind. We decided to have Rick takes our engagement photo and my fiance was so excited about it! We highly recommend Rick for any photo shoots.
We will definitely ask Rick to take our family photo sometimes in the future.

Profile Picture Ivonne, 9/23/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Choosing a photographer for an important event is never an easy venture - you really do get what you pay for. It took us a while to compile a list of potential photographers, but once we were did, there was never any question about who we wanted. We just kept ending back up on Rick's portfolio, over and over again. It was without a doubt one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning process. From day one, Rick worked with us to customize his packages to fit our actual wedding times, set up phone calls to discuss our vision, and finalize our timeline.

Even though we underestimated the time needed for some of our wedding events, he helped us keep everything on track. He knew our venue well, so he was extremely efficient with getting us to some of the more photogenic spots, and we had a good balance of time to spend eating and socializing while still being pulled aside for more time-sensitive photos (ex. sunset).

Within a day or two of the wedding we'd already received five sneak peeks and they are just so gorgeous - he really captured the Vogue/GQ feel we were hoping for. The photos we've received so far are a perfect mix of dramatic and romantic - we're so incredibly excited to get the full album.

Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Photo for Rick Takagi Photography Review
Profile Picture Danielle, 9/16/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: One Event/Day, Additional Hours, High-Res Images, Wedding Portraits, Digital Files, Proofs
5.0

I hired Rick to be my wedding photographer back in early September. It was a great pleasure to work with Rick. He was very professional, accommodating and knowledgeable. I knew that there were not many spots for pictures at our venue so I suggested taking some of the photos at Discovery Park. Rick knew all the best spots for great pictures. His assistant, Sarah, was also very helpful and thoughtful throughout the shoot. I particularly liked the picture Rick took at our first dance. He captured the best moment and the best of us without us even knowing. It was a great experience! I will definitely hire Rick again in the future.

Profile Picture Emily, 9/3/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, One Event/Day, Wedding Portraits
5.0

Rick was amazing! We loved working with him and Sarah for our wedding day. It was absolutely beautiful and he caught every moment. He was easy to communicate with before, during, and after the wedding, and got some pictures to us the following day! We can't say enough great things about Rick.

Profile Picture Karin, 8/19/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Here's what I love about Rick and his work: He just doesn't take "pretty photos". His talent, skill, eye and creativity capture the actual emotion in the moment - while doing it in a breathtaking context and turning the moment into art. When selecting him as our wedding photographer, I loved looking at his portfolio - I felt like I was a part of each of those weddings. He didn't disappoint with the photos from our wedding; the shots bring me back to that day and the emotion in each photo. On the business side, he is such a positive, can-do person. He genuinely wanted to know us and make sure he was capturing our story - not just forcing on us what he wanted. Responsive, organized - a bride's dream. The day of the event he was extremely patient with the various family members trying to catch their own shots of the day - whereas I'm sure it would have driven most photographers nuts. He was the perfect mix of making sure to get the shots we needed - but also blending into the background and quietly capturing the moments as they unfolded. I cannot say enough good things about Rick! He's the best!

Profile Picture Amy, 8/11/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We were highly impressed with Rick's unique and natural eye for wedding shots. We felt blessed to have Rick there on our wedding day because he made us feel comfortable & confident and he had fun while also working hard to get the job done. He is really impressive & our pictures are PHENOMENAL. We absolutely love how he captured all the special moments of our day. The photos he took will be genuinely treasured by us & our family/friends.

If you use him for your wedding day, you will not be disappointed!

Profile Picture Jamie, 8/5/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick was our engagement and wedding day photographer. We appreciated how organized he was prior to the wedding as well as working well with other vendors during the wedding. He worked well throughout the event taking charge when needed and staying back as well. He turns around photos quickly and they turned out really well. Would definitely recommend to others for their big day.

Profile Picture Amanda, 7/29/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Engagement Shoot
5.0

Rick was amazing. His pictures were phenomenal and his presence at our wedding was so perfect. He brought energy, creativity, and kindness to the wedding. He helped guide us through our day more than the resorts wedding coordinators did. Rick was worth every penny, and his photos are true pieces of art. So greatful for his services.

Profile Picture Jen, 7/22/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: One Event/Day, Destination / Travel, High-Res Images, Wedding Portraits, Digital Files, Proofs
5.0

Rick did both our engagement and wedding photos, and words cannot express how pleased we were with the results! Not only is he an incredibly talented photographer, but he's also very friendly and easy to work with. Our entire bridal party raved about how laid back Rick was while also being able to keep us on a tight timeline (which isn't an easy task with our group). I cannot recommend Rick enough- he's truly the best!

Profile Picture Molly, 7/20/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick was absolutely amazing to work with and our pictures were just perfect. We eloped to Seattle from Indiana and there was never an issue with communication leading up to our wedding. Rick went above and beyond what we were expecting!

Profile Picture Jody, 7/18/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick gets my absolute recommendation. My husband and I really enjoyed having Rick photograph our special day. We considered him initially because we like his very candid, photojournalistic photographic style; but ultimately chose him because he was approachable, collaborative, and creative. Day of the event, he managed to get some great shots of all of our guests, our venue, and of all the key moments. Overall, a delight to work with and he delivered photos that we will adore viewing for many years to come.

Profile Picture Robert, 7/2/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Rick is a super nice person to work with. Very professional ,responsive and passionate. All my friends are impressed by Rick's passion and professionalism. What impressed us the most is Rick can always come up with great picture ideas. no matter where you are, Rick can always come up with great ideas. We loved so many of the pictures!

Rick is also very quick delivering pictures, it only took him 5 days to finish all the photos and he even sent around some photos on the same day!

Definitely recommend to anyone!

Profile Picture Vic, 6/11/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We had great time with this photographer! He was very charming, kind and professional. He did his best, in spite of limited time schedule due to our wedding plan, and actually, his work is awesome and cool. The photo session with him itself was one of our precious memories on our special day. If we had our wedding again, we definitely would ask him to take pictures .

Profile Picture Nobumichi, 5/25/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography