Weddings

Rick Takagi Photography Reviews

Rick Takagi Photography

Rick Takagi Photography

Kirkland, WA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 137 Reviews
View more information

137 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 137
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

73 User photos

Sort by:
  • K
    Katie P. Getting married on 01/03/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rick Rocks!

    We booked a session with Rick for our elopement at Golden Gardens. He was so fun to work with day of and we absolutely love all the photos he took. They really capture the happiness of the day, our personalities, and love for one another. We can't wait to find some other excuse to have Rick take photos of us, thanks again for being such a fun part of our day!

    Rick Takagi Photography's reply:

    Thank you Katie and Davis! I really enjoyed being a part of your special day. I'm looking forward to meeting up again someday!
  • Karlyn
    Karlyn S. Getting married on 12/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Timeless Wedding Photos at Deception Falls

    We can't thank Rick enough for perfectly capturing our wedding day. When COVID-19 altered our plans, Rick was very flexible but also helpful in keeping us on a track that would still make our day just as special with a private picture session after our ceremony. He was creative and spontaneous in our last minute location change and it shows in our pictures how much fun we had.
  • R
    R Gonzalez Married on 08/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We couldn't be happier

    Rick is both super professional and yet also a genuinely nice guy who is relatable and fun.

    Looking at his portfolio it's easy to see how good Rick's work is. But it's the things outside of the technical aspects of taking a good photo that make Rick so good.

    We booked Rick to shoot photos before and at a pre-wedding dinner for family and then before and during our wedding the next day. Rick was always on time, and although we didn't have a definitive idea of what we wanted to do over the entire time, Rick had no problem guiding us and coming up with great suggestions and ideas to take some amazing and unique shots. Even when we did have some idea of what we wanted to do, regardless of how odd or boring, Rick went along and made it the best it could be. He made us comfortable, feel good while we were taking the photos, and we had a lot of fun.

    As busy as Rick is, he still got us our pictures within a couple of weeks of our wedding in an easy to access and share format. Most importantly, we have a ton of beautiful, high quality pictures to remind of our special day.

    We would definitely work with Rick again and without question would recommend him to anyone looking a great photographer.

    Rick Takagi Photography's reply:

    Thanks Rey and Joe! I love that you enjoyed our little adventure. I look forward to meeting up again, bring the green jacket!
  • Rachit
    Rachit M. Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rick gave us memories we’ll cherish for our life.

    What started as a potential backyard covid wedding, eventually turned into a wedding at Willows Lodge in Woodinville. Rick was amazingly flexible and was helpful through the whole process. He suggested timelines and was really helpful with the venue selection as well what would look good in pictures. He event saved us a lot of time by literally driving us to the hotspots nearby the venue where he took great pictures of us. The wedding pictures came out great, and everyone who’s seen them have loved the final edits. We were expecting to see the final pictures after few weeks of the weeding, but little did we know, Rick got us all the final edits 2-3 days after the wedding itself. Rick was the best photographer we could’ve chosen for our special day. I’m looking forward to working with Rick again in the future to capture other special moments.

    Rick Takagi Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much Rachit and Annie! You two were awesome to work with and I look forward to seeing you again.
  • C
    Cassandra L. Married on 12/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pleasure to work with

    Rick was great, and went above and beyond to get us the shots we wanted. The pictures turned out beautifully. The experience was a lot of fun and we couldn't be happier with the end result.
  • S
    Samantha Married on 08/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best photographer even during Covid

    You should grab Rick before he is snagged by someone else. Rick was absolutely amazing and his pictures were superb. He has an amazing eye and way with colors that makes the most cloudy day of Seattle seem to pop into a luscious forest or wondrous sea. His prompt professionalism, easy going attitude, and humbleness are easy reasons to turn to him. His patience, confidence, determination, and eye are the things you need in whatever reason you’re hiring him. For my wedding, I can’t imagine another person to have been there, let alone given me back all of these little memories in pictures. Rick was incredible to have be there and helped capture these memories. If you’re still reading this, you’re not moving fast for someone like him. Just know that he was ready to move and adjust for you in every way possible to make your day as easy going as possible. We recommended him to all of our friends and would hire him again in a heartbeat.
  • S
    Shana Married on 09/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Photographer!

    Working was Rick was very fun! From the first meeting, to the engagement session to the wedding! The pictures turned out beautifully. The only thing I would suggest is have your day of coordinator more involved in organizing photos; who needs to be when and where, I had to do a lot of that myself and was constantly telling people where to go. But I would absolutely recommend Rick for your wedding!
  • Emily
    Emily A. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience!

    Rick was awesome throughout the entire process. He explained the process and his services clearly, was prompt and professional to communicate with, and was great day-of. We were not very organized with our first look photos and Rick wasn't phased. He directed us on what he thought would make the best shots and took direction from family members (ahem, our parents) all in stride. We LOVE our photos! They were ready well before the 45 day estimate as well. We'll be recommending Rick to any friends who need a professional photographer.
  • L
    Lalainya R. Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rick was wonderful to work with for our special day!

    Rick was on time, professional and flexible. We are very pleased with our photos, and would certainly recommend him to others.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 08/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun, Friendly, Professional and Creative

    Rick was fantastic to work with from start to finish and we are absolutely pleased that we selected him to capture our special day! We found Rick in part because of his great reviews and knew he was our guy after the initial meeting. Echoing what others have said, he's all around excellent and we would love to work with him again in the future. We love our photos. Thanks, Rick!
  • A
    Ann W. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing

    We cannot even begin to express how wonderful Rick was as our photographer! He was fun and friendly, professional and organized, and made our engagement and wedding shoot so much fun! The pictures all turned out amazing! We liked every one he took! We will use him again next time we need photos for sure.
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 06/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    5 stars- highly recommend

    Rick did such a great job with our courthouse wedding shoot! He was professional, friendly, easy to work with and had excellent suggestions for us. The photos turned out amazing- both natural and artistic. We could not have chosen a better fit for our wedding. Highly recommend him.
  • Toni
    Toni Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stress-free, fun, and professional photographer! A+++!

    My husband and I found Rick on Wedding Wire and instantly fell in love with his portfolio. After our first meeting and discussing his process, we decided he was the right fit. Rick even encouraged us to interview other photographers (we didn't) in order to ensure we had found the right person (spoiler alert, it was him!)

    Rick is personable, easy to get along with, and is crazy passionate about his work! He was very easy to get a hold of and very responsive to all of our questions leading up to shooting. He was also accommodating to my busy wedding day itinerary, and even let my bridesmaid - who is also a wedding photographer - collaborate with him and take her own photos. Our wedding party and family loved having him with us and could not stop talking about what a cool dude he is and how we could clearly see he knows what he's doing.

    The photos are beautiful and tastefully done. He isn't one of those photographers that makes the wedding party do a lot of basic poses or adds a bunch of different filters to the final product. He's pure talent!

    Rick is also very quick with photo delivery. We were married on June 1st and we received our photos on June 24th - that's just a little over three weeks! I know lots of people who have waited much longer for lesser quality.

    I can't recommend this guy highly enough. Rick is the real deal and is absolutely worth every penny!
  • S
    Sara Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    This is your wedding photographer!

    We eloped in Seattle and our officiant Elaine Way recommenced Rick. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience!! In addition to his professionalism, he takes amazing photos, he is great to work with and is affordable! We loved every thing about our experience. If you’re looking for an excellent photographer - Rick is your guy!
  • M
    Mia Married on 12/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great photos, even better price!

    Rick was about half the price as other photographers I was looking at and had just as good quality. He's fast at responding to emails, arrived promptly on time during our wedding, and delivered my photos in 3 weeks! They all look great and I'm going to have a hard time choosing which photos to print out!
  • Shuyao
    Shuyao Married on 10/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome, creative, and super fun

    Rick was an amazing photographer for our wedding. We initially chose him because his photos are just so vibrant, full of color and life, exactly how we wanted our wedding to feel. After we met him, we found he’s also a very fun guy always with a smile on his face, and very professional. He responds very quickly, takes the initiative to provide help wherever he can, and is very organized.

    He's got a very creative mind and it really shows in how his photography tries to paint a picture. He's able to take everyday mundane elements in our surroundings (like mirrors, balconies, etc) and make them into amazing artistic shots. He’s also not afraid to be bold and do whatever it takes for a great shot. One of my most memorable moments was when we were taking shots in downtown and a guy drove by in a classic American convertible car that looked amazing. Rick immediately went up to the guy and asked if he’d let us sit in the driver seat to take some photos. We ended up getting some amazing pictures that was completely out of my expectations. I think this shows that Rick really cares about making the day fun for everyone and doing what it takes to get great pictures and memories.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We decided to get married in Seattle 3 weeks before it happened. I am so glad we found Rick! Very speedy with getting back to us and booking, and it was raining the entire ceremony and he managed to get some amazing shots! I don’t know if they would have turned out as good if Rick hadn’t done them! Thanks Rick!!!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 08/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous Photographer

    We were drawn to Rick because of his excellent portfolio and decided to work with him after sitting down for a consult. Rick is an amazing photographer and an even better gentleman to hang out with! You can tell he is excited to create interesting and amazing photos and to work with people. He is a responsive and enthusiastic communicator. We can’t recommend him enough!
  • M
    Maggie Married on 07/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He was great to work with ahead of time and made the day so easy! We could not have asked for better pictures!
  • R
    Rosh Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rick was incredible and we loved working with him! He was easygoing, super responsive, and his pictures were incredible! We had a general vision of what we wanted, and Rick made our visions come true. He has an incredible eye and made super to capture all of our special moments without being intrusive, which was important for us. Everyone in our family also loved working with him and loved his pictures!
  • L
    Leah Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When we first met with Rick, I was blown away! Mostly because of how passionate he is about photography and also the questions he asked us both. He made us both feel that him taking our photos was about capturing the our relationship and our unique personalities. We both knew he was the “one” from the first meet. Then, at our wedding him and Sam were both absolutely amazing and knew when to have us pose just right or to get that special candid moment! We are happy to have had him photograph our wedding. When we saw all of the photos, we knew for sure that Rick was and is the right guy for the job! Hands down! Thank you Rick and Sam from the bottom of our hearts! Much love!
  • E
    Elaine Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We first found Rick's portfolio online along with all his wonderful reviews when we were looking for a wedding photographer. To match his reputation, Rick was very kind and was a great listener on the phone. He took the time to ask us many questions about who we are and about our relationship. Being two brides, we loved that he treated us like any other couple with respect, AND he already had a bunch of ideas when we talked to him about our vision. We hired Rick for our engagement shoot in March and we couldn't be happier with how fun and comfortable it was to work with him. Rick has a great sense of humor and was open to ideas. We love that Rick can spot random areas during a shoot and catch an awesome shot on the go.

    We had our wedding the end of this June. Rick was AMAZING. Rick was on time with his assistant, Mikaela (thanks Mikaela!), and they both worked well with the videographer with high energy. We started off in a hotel and had our ceremony and reception outdoors. Our family and friends enjoyed his company and were impressed with how well he was able to work with all 14 ladies, all day (12 in the party + 2 brides) as well our large families. We remember how the sun was blazing at the time we had scheduled to take family photos, but Rick highly recommended to wait 'til later and we're so glad he was there. Sometimes we've seen photographers just go with whatever the client says, but Rick would make sure to explain why and how well something would work better a certain way and at a different time. We recently received all of our photos and WOW. We had asked to have many candid "Kodak moment" photos and we got exactly what we wanted and more. From photos of us exchanging smiles, laughs, and jokes, to hugs, and more, Rick captured each moment of the day with so many beautiful pictures. The angles and placement of each photo was so perfect, fun, memorable, and smart! We are so happy with the quality of work. Thanks Rick!
  • J
    Juliet Married on 03/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rick was the BEST photographer EVER and you should hire him for many reasons. First, he was extremely responsive to all emails and phone calls. Second, the price was very reasonable and he worked with us to keep the pricing within our budget. Third and best part was his enthusiasm and passion for photography and flexibility/receptiveness to my ideas. He integrated the props I wanted and even thought of new poses on the fly with the props I brought. His passion showed when we were taking first look photos as you could see his excitement. The outcome was very fun and unique photos including standard wedding photos. We loved this because he was able to capture the emotion and our personalities in the photos. We were amazed at his previous work when we hired him and were blown away (and all of our friends and family also) with the photos that he took of our wedding. All of the photos were amazing and he made me look beautiful (very important for a girl). Fourth, he completed our wedding photos in 2.5 weeks.... over 1000 photos! Not only was his work unique and amazing, he was extremely fun to work with and he finished the work quickly for a good price. What is not to like? You should hire him, we definitely recommend him!!!!!
  • E
    E Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a non traditional wedding and Rick was incredible at getting to know us and understanding our vision. He was extremely flexible about setting up an entirely different day of photo shoot so we could focus on photos one day and the actual ceremony and reception another day. He is a true creative — obsessive (in a good way) about finding cool new ways to tell a story visually. At the same time, he was very open to our collaboration and ideas.