Rick Takagi Photography Reviews

128 | Kirkland, WA
See photos, pricing and details

128 Reviews for Rick Takagi Photography

Recommended by 99%

128
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

54 User photos

Rick Takagi Photography 1
Rick Takagi Photography 2
Rick Takagi Photography 3
Rick Takagi Photography 4
Rick Takagi Photography 5
Rick Takagi Photography 6
Rick Takagi Photography 7
+ 48
Sort by:
  • Emily

    Emily Anderson · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience!

    Rick was awesome throughout the entire process. He explained the process and his services clearly, was prompt and professional to communicate with, and was great day-of. We were not very organized with our first look photos and Rick wasn't phased. He directed us on what he thought would make the best shots and took direction from family members (ahem, our parents) all in stride. We LOVE our photos! They were ready well before the 45 day estimate as well. We'll be recommending Rick to any friends who need a professional photographer.

    Sent on 09/28/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 8
    Rick Takagi Photography 9
    Rick Takagi Photography 10
    Rick Takagi Photography 11
  • L

    Lalainya Rawlings · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was wonderful to work with for our special day!

    Rick was on time, professional and flexible. We are very pleased with our photos, and would certainly recommend him to others.

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 08/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun, Friendly, Professional and Creative

    Rick was fantastic to work with from start to finish and we are absolutely pleased that we selected him to capture our special day! We found Rick in part because of his great reviews and knew he was our guy after the initial meeting. Echoing what others have said, he's all around excellent and we would love to work with him again in the future. We love our photos. Thanks, Rick!

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • A

    Ann Whitehall · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing

    We cannot even begin to express how wonderful Rick was as our photographer! He was fun and friendly, professional and organized, and made our engagement and wedding shoot so much fun! The pictures all turned out amazing! We liked every one he took! We will use him again next time we need photos for sure.

    Sent on 08/21/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 12
    Rick Takagi Photography 13
    Rick Takagi Photography 14
    Rick Takagi Photography 15
    Rick Takagi Photography 16
    Rick Takagi Photography 17
    Rick Takagi Photography 18
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars- highly recommend

    Rick did such a great job with our courthouse wedding shoot! He was professional, friendly, easy to work with and had excellent suggestions for us. The photos turned out amazing- both natural and artistic. We could not have chosen a better fit for our wedding. Highly recommend him.

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • Toni

    Toni · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stress-free, fun, and professional photographer! A+++!

    My husband and I found Rick on Wedding Wire and instantly fell in love with his portfolio. After our first meeting and discussing his process, we decided he was the right fit. Rick even encouraged us to interview other photographers (we didn't) in order to ensure we had found the right person (spoiler alert, it was him!)

    Rick is personable, easy to get along with, and is crazy passionate about his work! He was very easy to get a hold of and very responsive to all of our questions leading up to shooting. He was also accommodating to my busy wedding day itinerary, and even let my bridesmaid - who is also a wedding photographer - collaborate with him and take her own photos. Our wedding party and family loved having him with us and could not stop talking about what a cool dude he is and how we could clearly see he knows what he's doing.

    The photos are beautiful and tastefully done. He isn't one of those photographers that makes the wedding party do a lot of basic poses or adds a bunch of different filters to the final product. He's pure talent!

    Rick is also very quick with photo delivery. We were married on June 1st and we received our photos on June 24th - that's just a little over three weeks! I know lots of people who have waited much longer for lesser quality.

    I can't recommend this guy highly enough. Rick is the real deal and is absolutely worth every penny!

    Sent on 06/26/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 19
    Rick Takagi Photography 20
    Rick Takagi Photography 21
  • S

    Sara · Married on 03/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is your wedding photographer!

    We eloped in Seattle and our officiant Elaine Way recommenced Rick. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience!! In addition to his professionalism, he takes amazing photos, he is great to work with and is affordable! We loved every thing about our experience. If you’re looking for an excellent photographer - Rick is your guy!

    Sent on 03/25/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 22
    Rick Takagi Photography 23
    Rick Takagi Photography 24
  • M

    Mia · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great photos, even better price!

    Rick was about half the price as other photographers I was looking at and had just as good quality. He's fast at responding to emails, arrived promptly on time during our wedding, and delivered my photos in 3 weeks! They all look great and I'm going to have a hard time choosing which photos to print out!

    Sent on 01/09/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 25
    Rick Takagi Photography 26
    Rick Takagi Photography 27
    Rick Takagi Photography 28
  • Shuyao

    Shuyao · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome, creative, and super fun

    Rick was an amazing photographer for our wedding. We initially chose him because his photos are just so vibrant, full of color and life, exactly how we wanted our wedding to feel. After we met him, we found he’s also a very fun guy always with a smile on his face, and very professional. He responds very quickly, takes the initiative to provide help wherever he can, and is very organized.

    He's got a very creative mind and it really shows in how his photography tries to paint a picture. He's able to take everyday mundane elements in our surroundings (like mirrors, balconies, etc) and make them into amazing artistic shots. He’s also not afraid to be bold and do whatever it takes for a great shot. One of my most memorable moments was when we were taking shots in downtown and a guy drove by in a classic American convertible car that looked amazing. Rick immediately went up to the guy and asked if he’d let us sit in the driver seat to take some photos. We ended up getting some amazing pictures that was completely out of my expectations. I think this shows that Rick really cares about making the day fun for everyone and doing what it takes to get great pictures and memories.

    Sent on 01/16/2019
    Rick Takagi Photography 29
    Rick Takagi Photography 30
    Rick Takagi Photography 31
    Rick Takagi Photography 32
    Rick Takagi Photography 33
    Rick Takagi Photography 34
    Rick Takagi Photography 35
    Rick Takagi Photography 36
    Rick Takagi Photography 37
    Rick Takagi Photography 38
    Rick Takagi Photography 39
    Rick Takagi Photography 40
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to get married in Seattle 3 weeks before it happened. I am so glad we found Rick! Very speedy with getting back to us and booking, and it was raining the entire ceremony and he managed to get some amazing shots! I don’t know if they would have turned out as good if Rick hadn’t done them! Thanks Rick!!!

    Sent on 12/08/2017
    Rick Takagi Photography 41
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous Photographer

    We were drawn to Rick because of his excellent portfolio and decided to work with him after sitting down for a consult. Rick is an amazing photographer and an even better gentleman to hang out with! You can tell he is excited to create interesting and amazing photos and to work with people. He is a responsive and enthusiastic communicator. We can’t recommend him enough!

    Sent on 12/31/2018
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was great to work with ahead of time and made the day so easy! We could not have asked for better pictures!

    Sent on 08/14/2018
    Rick Takagi Photography 42
    Rick Takagi Photography 43
    Rick Takagi Photography 44
    Rick Takagi Photography 45
  • R

    Rosh · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was incredible and we loved working with him! He was easygoing, super responsive, and his pictures were incredible! We had a general vision of what we wanted, and Rick made our visions come true. He has an incredible eye and made super to capture all of our special moments without being intrusive, which was important for us. Everyone in our family also loved working with him and loved his pictures!

    Sent on 08/03/2018
  • L

    Leah · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first met with Rick, I was blown away! Mostly because of how passionate he is about photography and also the questions he asked us both. He made us both feel that him taking our photos was about capturing the our relationship and our unique personalities. We both knew he was the “one” from the first meet. Then, at our wedding him and Sam were both absolutely amazing and knew when to have us pose just right or to get that special candid moment! We are happy to have had him photograph our wedding. When we saw all of the photos, we knew for sure that Rick was and is the right guy for the job! Hands down! Thank you Rick and Sam from the bottom of our hearts! Much love!

    Sent on 07/23/2018
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first found Rick's portfolio online along with all his wonderful reviews when we were looking for a wedding photographer. To match his reputation, Rick was very kind and was a great listener on the phone. He took the time to ask us many questions about who we are and about our relationship. Being two brides, we loved that he treated us like any other couple with respect, AND he already had a bunch of ideas when we talked to him about our vision. We hired Rick for our engagement shoot in March and we couldn't be happier with how fun and comfortable it was to work with him. Rick has a great sense of humor and was open to ideas. We love that Rick can spot random areas during a shoot and catch an awesome shot on the go.

    We had our wedding the end of this June. Rick was AMAZING. Rick was on time with his assistant, Mikaela (thanks Mikaela!), and they both worked well with the videographer with high energy. We started off in a hotel and had our ceremony and reception outdoors. Our family and friends enjoyed his company and were impressed with how well he was able to work with all 14 ladies, all day (12 in the party + 2 brides) as well our large families. We remember how the sun was blazing at the time we had scheduled to take family photos, but Rick highly recommended to wait 'til later and we're so glad he was there. Sometimes we've seen photographers just go with whatever the client says, but Rick would make sure to explain why and how well something would work better a certain way and at a different time. We recently received all of our photos and WOW. We had asked to have many candid "Kodak moment" photos and we got exactly what we wanted and more. From photos of us exchanging smiles, laughs, and jokes, to hugs, and more, Rick captured each moment of the day with so many beautiful pictures. The angles and placement of each photo was so perfect, fun, memorable, and smart! We are so happy with the quality of work. Thanks Rick!

    Sent on 07/20/2018
  • J

    juliet · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was the BEST photographer EVER and you should hire him for many reasons. First, he was extremely responsive to all emails and phone calls. Second, the price was very reasonable and he worked with us to keep the pricing within our budget. Third and best part was his enthusiasm and passion for photography and flexibility/receptiveness to my ideas. He integrated the props I wanted and even thought of new poses on the fly with the props I brought. His passion showed when we were taking first look photos as you could see his excitement. The outcome was very fun and unique photos including standard wedding photos. We loved this because he was able to capture the emotion and our personalities in the photos. We were amazed at his previous work when we hired him and were blown away (and all of our friends and family also) with the photos that he took of our wedding. All of the photos were amazing and he made me look beautiful (very important for a girl). Fourth, he completed our wedding photos in 2.5 weeks.... over 1000 photos! Not only was his work unique and amazing, he was extremely fun to work with and he finished the work quickly for a good price. What is not to like? You should hire him, we definitely recommend him!!!!!

    Sent on 04/24/2018
    Rick Takagi Photography 46
    Rick Takagi Photography 47
    Rick Takagi Photography 48
    Rick Takagi Photography 49
    Rick Takagi Photography 50
    Rick Takagi Photography 51
    Rick Takagi Photography 52
    Rick Takagi Photography 53
    Rick Takagi Photography 54
    Rick Takagi Photography 55
  • E

    E · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a non traditional wedding and Rick was incredible at getting to know us and understanding our vision. He was extremely flexible about setting up an entirely different day of photo shoot so we could focus on photos one day and the actual ceremony and reception another day. He is a true creative — obsessive (in a good way) about finding cool new ways to tell a story visually. At the same time, he was very open to our collaboration and ideas.

    Sent on 04/14/2018
  • A

    Adrian · Married on 12/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is a super photographer and we couldn't be happier with the results! We eloped on Dec 28th and Rick was able to accommodate us over a holiday week and on short notice for a very reasonable price. He was VERY flexible during our booked time. When our officiant showed up less than prepared and we had to delay about 45 minutes, Rick didn't miss a beat. He was able to keep us relaxed, laughing, and gave us some guidance on posing (but without being overly posed or cheesy). Somehow he managed to actually make us look fantastic (we are the queens of bad selfies!). Three days later, we ended up with an amazing set of photos that we will cherish! Our friends and families can't stop raving about how stunning the photos of us are. We have already recommended him to several other couples we know getting married and would hire him again in a heartbeat should we ever need a photographer for another special occasion.

    Sent on 01/10/2017
  • T

    tea · Married on 11/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Rick through the officiant who was performing the ceremony for a small wedding at Pike’s Place. The ceremony something between eloping and a big wedding; An elopement. The ‘newyweds’ were apprehensive about the need for professional photos... they were just going to go with family shots!! Oh my, what an absolutely smart decision it was to hire a photographer and what an awesome photographer we found in Rick!

    Our first contact was only three days before the wedding. Rick was enthusiastic and full of ideas. Added to the expected *snow* in Seattle, the ceremony was scheduled at 6PM on the day the time rolled by for daylight savings time - so time with any daylight was going to be limited for our two-hour session.

    Rick worked with our couple to get them over their apprehension of heading out in the cool evening. The result was some of the most fabulous photographs of the bride and groom with the market, city lights, big wheel and a beautiful Seattle cloud-filled sky. The photos are so unique and magnificent; Rick was a master at taking what one might see as a challenge and turning out masterpieces!!

    Thank you Rick.

    Sent on 11/11/2017
    Rick Takagi Photography 56
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was great shooting our wedding photos; he was very easy to work with. The photos turned out wonderful, I would definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I booked Rick for our upcoming wedding. Before we met with Rick we were really on the fence about wanting to take engagement photos. However, as we looked further into his portfolio we just fell in love with Ricks vision. He was able to squeeze us in to his super busy schedule. We are so thankful we got the photos done and we cannot stop looking at them, it is like art. Rick is affordable and well worth the price. Highly recommend Rick Takagi Photography and cannot wait for the wedding!

    Sent on 09/17/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was awesome to work with and is so passionate about his work! We love our photos and has fun with rick on the day of! Great work! And he is very reasonably priced

    Sent on 10/14/2017
  • I

    Ivonne · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased to work with Rick on our engagement and wedding sessions. We got so many compliments from both families and guests. Even some guests said they enjoyed Rick's enthusiasm in directing them for photos' poses. We knew that we are in the good hands for our wedding photos from the start. When we met on our initial meeting, we could tell that Rick is very artistic and energetic. He told us where and how he wanted to do the wedding photos before he went to the venue. He only saw the venue photos and it would be his first time to do the photo shoot there. That really sold for me! My fiance at the time was not as excited as I was to discuss about photo shoot. However, after the meeting, my fiance changed his mind. We decided to have Rick takes our engagement photo and my fiance was so excited about it! We highly recommend Rick for any photo shoots.
    We will definitely ask Rick to take our family photo sometimes in the future.

    Sent on 11/28/2017
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a photographer for an important event is never an easy venture - you really do get what you pay for. It took us a while to compile a list of potential photographers, but once we were did, there was never any question about who we wanted. We just kept ending back up on Rick's portfolio, over and over again. It was without a doubt one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning process. From day one, Rick worked with us to customize his packages to fit our actual wedding times, set up phone calls to discuss our vision, and finalize our timeline.

    Even though we underestimated the time needed for some of our wedding events, he helped us keep everything on track. He knew our venue well, so he was extremely efficient with getting us to some of the more photogenic spots, and we had a good balance of time to spend eating and socializing while still being pulled aside for more time-sensitive photos (ex. sunset).

    Within a day or two of the wedding we'd already received five sneak peeks and they are just so gorgeous - he really captured the Vogue/GQ feel we were hoping for. The photos we've received so far are a perfect mix of dramatic and romantic - we're so incredibly excited to get the full album.

    Sent on 09/26/2017
    Rick Takagi Photography 57
    Rick Takagi Photography 58
    Rick Takagi Photography 59
    Rick Takagi Photography 60
    Rick Takagi Photography 61
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Rick to be my wedding photographer back in early September. It was a great pleasure to work with Rick. He was very professional, accommodating and knowledgeable. I knew that there were not many spots for pictures at our venue so I suggested taking some of the photos at Discovery Park. Rick knew all the best spots for great pictures. His assistant, Sarah, was also very helpful and thoughtful throughout the shoot. I particularly liked the picture Rick took at our first dance. He captured the best moment and the best of us without us even knowing. It was a great experience! I will definitely hire Rick again in the future.

    Sent on 10/01/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review