Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel Reviews

7 | Portsmouth, VA
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

7
Order by:
  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our ceremony and reception at the Renaissance. Tiffanie was so helpful throughout the entire process of prepping and planning! Any issue or problem we had, she did everything in her power to come up with a solution that worked for everyone. She also ensured she was there throughout the big day to make sure everything was going smoothly. We definitely got the best value we could have asked for at the Renaissance Hotel! The food was great, the staff was very professional, and they were also able to cater to special dietary needs for some of my family.

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • A

    Anjani · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue, gorgeous. Staff, fantastic. Food, delicious. Views, phenomenal. Bar, amazing. Amenities, excellent. Rooms, impeccable. Facilities, outstanding. Location, unbeatable. Coordination services, absolutely MARVELOUS. I honestly can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

    For our wedding the Renaissance hosted over 100 of our closest friends and family from all over the country for almost an entire week. What started as a weekend wedding quickly turned into a festive week long family reunion. During our stay we enjoyed most evenings out on the patio overlooking the water, afternoons relaxing poolside or in the hot tub, mornings dining in at their fantastic restaurant (with incredible service), and nights laughing and watching movies together in our suits after a round at the bar. Weather we needed directions to downtown, extra towels delivered to the room, recommendations for dinner, or just friendly smile as we walked through the lobby; I have never been in a hotel that has had such an attentive and friendly staff that appears to genuinely be excited to help you in any way that they can. You can really tell that there is a certain culture at work with this team that prioritizes making their guests feel welcome at every turn. I know for us, as well as our friends and family, the fantastic service was really the icing on the cake to the overall wonderful experience we all had staying at the Renaissance.

    From our first time meeting with Tony to our last relative checking out of the hotel, the Renaissance made sure that ever moment we and our guests experienced was absolutely picture perfect. They truly went above and beyond in so many ways to show that they cared about us and our experience at their hotel. The proof was in their attention to details. My husband and I have completely head over heals fallen in love with the Renaissance and it's staff. So much so, that we have already planned to try and spend every anniversary that we can with them.

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • A

    Amber · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding and reception at the Portsmouth Renaissance Hotel. It was a lovely location and Toni made the whole process hassle free. The only hiccup was that the city had put up a fence near where we going to have our ceremony (just a few days before the wedding). Toni worked with us and moved us to another location that was just as beautiful. The decorations were lovely, the food was terrific. We had a wedding with 122 guests. The staff were fantastic and responsive to our needs and requests. I would definitely recommend this venue to others.

    Sent on 06/13/2015
  • Sandi

    Sandi · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toni Reber, Director of Catering, is AWESOME. From her personality to professionalism, we are so glad that she is the main contact for our time at the Renaissance!

    The hotel is beautiful. Whoever was contracted to remodel the interior space of their main entrance, lobby, bar area & lounge as well as the Holley Ballroom did a fantastic job. The ambience is uplifting but not overbearing with extreme bright colors and floor patterns.
    The staff has been great so far. I've seen nothing but smiling faces at the hotel lobby and other public areas. Very happy that we selected the Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront hotel!

    Sent on 02/23/2015
  • M

    Michaux · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy I chose the Renaissance for my wedding venue! We rented out the Portsmouth Ballroom and it was beautiful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Lorreine, the hotel coordinator, was great! She was always there to help or give advice and we couldn't have done it without her! The food was delicious too, we had so many compliments! They worked with us and came up with a menu that pleased everyone, even my vegan friends! The guest rooms were really nice and had great views! Our suite for the wedding night was the coolest hotel room I had ever seen. It looked like a mini apartment! I will definitely be recommending the Renaissance as a venue and a hotel and I hope to have other events there in the future as well, or even just a night getaway!

    Sent on 06/27/2012
  • J

    Jeannie · Married on 05/23/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for more by booking my reception at the Renaissance Hotel in Portsmouth, VA. Everything went perfectly and the reception hall was beautiful overlooking the Elizabeth River. The food was excellent and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Alison, the catering manager, was extremely professional and went beyond her call of duties. 5 stars to the Renaissance Hotel.

    Sent on 05/26/2009
  • G

    Heather · Married on 08/02/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very pleased with our experience with the Renaissance. Overall, we had a great experience. They were flexible, allowing us to do some things that were not traditional, and worked with us even the day of to change things. The setting was fantastic, the staff was wonderful--very helpful for us in doing things quickly as needed. The only complaint we have is that it was often difficult to get in touch with people at the Renaissance. Allison was fantastically helpful, the catering manager, but the people in charge of the room rentals were very difficult to work with. In addition, the front desk did not hand out the welcome bags as we requested. Thus, there are a few folks that were hard to work with and had to be checked-up-on. However, the food was fantastic, as was the service. I would warn you to be careful with the toast...I found out later that they had filled every glass at every table for toasting, rather than passing them out to the adults only...so a lot of our wine ended up being thrown out. However, we were very pleased with the service, which was excellent. His Italian family is still talking about how amazing the food was, which was a home run. Despite those few problems, we were overall extremely pleased with the ceremony and reception, and their staff was very helpful and polite.

    Sent on 08/19/2009