Weddings

Quickstep Catering Reviews

Quickstep Catering

Quickstep Catering

Washington, DC
View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 11
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Ari B. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Multicultural summer wedding - NAILED IT

    From the first interaction with QuickStep, we knew they were the ones. Unlike other caterers that responded to our initial request, QuickStep surprisingly LISTENED to us, and their FIRST proposal reflected that. Other caterers sent us what seemed to be a standard first draft to wet the appetite (who wants a heavy braised short rib with polenta for a summer wedding?).
    We are a filipino-american + italian-american couple, with South Florida roots, but did not want to be cheesy and over the top with the cultural touches. We are very well traveled with 40 countries between us, and wanted our menu to reflect our favorite places as well as our roots and add more color to our story. Andy and team caught on quickly, and expressed excitement at the challenge.
    Cocktail hour had filipino, spanish, japanese, mexican, and DC area touches to it. The filipino hors d'oeuvres were my mom's recipe for lumpia and they absolutely nailed it, much to her delight.
    Our salad had a unique calamansi vinaigrette for a tropical vibe, and the entrees were a mango salsa rockfish (DC-FL nod) and a skirt steak with smoky romesco sauce (Latin America).
    Leah, who heads the day-of team, is world class. She had firm control of the entire staff and despite a hectic day, maintained her cool and executed seamlessly. The venue is NOT easy logistically (Josephine Butler Parks Center) but she has plenty of experience there.
    We brought our own alcohol, coffee and cake which QuickStep managed without issue. We did have some opened but unused bottles of booze that we could not return, but nothing to punish them for.
    It was an absolute pleasure working with Andy, Leah and team. Professional, friendly, and very open to modifications/criticisms. They want to get it right all the time, and it shows.
    We wholeheartedly recommend QuickStep, especially for Josephine Butler Parks Center. Go ahead and request your proposals and I'm sure you'll be impressed with the detail with which they listen to you after the initial call.
  • heather k
    Heather Married on 02/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Quickstep MAKES your wedding!

    I cannot say enough good things about Quickstep. Their food is beyond delicious, and Andy, Hannah and team work with you to ensure that your menu/choices/even drinks reflect you as a couple. They even suggest and handle all rentals—linens, dishes, chargers, wine glasses—etc. that create the ambience of your wedding. Quickstep is the best, and most important, decision you can make to create a wedding day that is both delicious and gorgeous. Hire them now!
  • H
    Hillary Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I simply don't have enough words of gratitude for the Quickstep team! We were smitten with them from the outset--from the incredible tasting they arranged with specially tailored menu items, to the camaraderie and mutual enthusiasm for our off-the-beaten-path (Shire-inspired) wedding plans. Andy & Dana truly brought out all of the stops to make sure our menu, the service, and atmosphere were impeccable. They nailed our taste, our vision, and brought together so many extra details for us that were above and beyond our expectations. We were thoroughly impressed and could not have been more pleased--thanks again Dana and Andy! XOXO, Hillary & Peej
  • E
    Evan Married on 03/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The coordinator, Dana, was with us every step of the process to make sure we had everything together for our incredible day. She helped with planning food, setting up a tent, tables and some of the decor, coordinating timing, working with the venue on service, and all around making the day go smoothly. Also, the food from Chef Andy was excellent. We and our foodie friends were very impressed with the food, from salad to steak, gazpacho to an oyster bar. We would definitely use them again, but, since we're not likely to have 130 guests for our one year anniversary, we can hope that we get invited to a wedding where Quickstep is catering.
  • B
    Blessing Married on 03/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef Andy of Quickstep catering is amazing! He created a custom menu for our brunch wedding that was delicious. The french toast bread pudding was wonderful and we had many guests tell us how much they liked it- a lot of people were raving about the food in general! Day of, everything went smoothly, they were attentive to fill water glasses and keep things running nicely. We wanted to provide our own alcohol since my dad does home brewing of beer and they were very accommodating of that. I'd definitely recommend Quickstep to others and my parents were so impressed they are thinking about hiring them for my sister's upcoming wedding.
  • G
    Gregory Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having our wedding at Union Kitchen, a working food incubator, must have been high pressure for any caterer to live up to but Quickstep and Chef Andy did not disappoint. We were so happy with what they created for us and our guests, from the passed hors d'oeuvres during the cocktail reception, to the reception dinner. Our wedding was in October and Chef Andy prepared a unique menu that was full of autumn flavors and local foods. And without prompting, he even added touches that were personal to us like a special Lumpia appetizer since my side of the family is from the Philippines. Everything was so thoughtful and delicious and it was reflected in the quality of the food. Our guests were raving during and after. Thank you Quickstep! I’d definitely recommend them to anyone and hope we can work with them again for any future events.
  • A
    Andrew Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We highly recommend Quickstep

    Quickstep catered our wedding and they were great. They accommodated our different influences and the food was wonderful. Andy and Hannah were terrific. We would highly recommend them.
  • C
    Caroline Married on 12/02/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Andy and the whole Quickstep team was amazing! They were the first vendor we booked after the venue, and were incredibly instrumental in helping us plan our entire day. They took time to understand our vision, enhance it, make suggestions, and help us think through the entirety of the event: menu, flow, service, set-up, decor - all of it! Not only that, Andy and his team were able to overcome a venue challenge of no sternos allowed - serving wonderful, high-quality, hot food the entire evening! Their food was creative, beautiful, and incredibly delicious. Also, we were able to go to them as a one stop shop for rentals & set up, making life that much easier for us. Can't say enough great things about Quickstep!
  • Angela
    Angela Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had one requirement in mind for the food at my wedding: unique. We had quite an international crowd (French, Canadian, Italian, Ukranian, American, etc.) and I wanted the food that was served to be delicious and unique. When I first met Andy and his team he was excited to work with me to build a customized menu that met with my vision. The tasting was so good - I didn't bother to have any other tastings. Not only that but Andy's focus on customer service above everything made me feel like my wedding was unique to him too. Elizabeth, the Director of Events was the consummate professional, patient, responsive, incredibly efficient and knew exactly how to handle a nervous bride. Five days after my wedding people are still talking about my cocktail hour, the epic cheese platter, and how delicious our meal was. If you're looking for a way to break the mold of standard wedding fare - look no further, Quickstep Catering is exactly where to invest. Thank you Andy & Elizabeth!
  • Liz
    Liz F. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our guests are STILL raving about the food!

    Andy, Yumi and the rest of the Quickstep team are fabulous! We used Quickstep for cocktail hour, dinner, dessert and bar and everything was delightful. That night - and still to this day - our guests keep commenting on just how good the food was at our wedding. While a bit more expensive than others, its worth it. Andy took time to figure out what we wanted and who were were as a couple, then presented a proposal that was customized to us, unlike other proposals we had received from other caterers which were fairly generic. The theme we were going for was "fancy dinner party, but with a friendly neighborhood feel" - we ended going with family style settings of turkey and beef, truffle mac & cheese, fall vegetables and fingerling potatoes, with wine bottles placed on the tables for guests to help themselves - it was all delicious.

    Yumi took perfect care of us day-of and was there to make sure that my husband and I had food and drink whenever we needed it, including pre-ceremony and during pictures.

    Our venue was in a neighborhood park/community center so we had to bring everything in and out of the venue. The Quickstep team helped us with rentals, loading in and out and did a FANTASTIC job cleaning up and making sure that the venue was left pristine.

    The only "ding" is the immediate team and operation is small, and because they are so good they are busy! It was clear that the team was working through their events in order, which makes total sense, but my type-A personality would have liked Andy and team to be a tad more responsive earlier on in the process as we were trying to get ahead of things.

    Highly recommend!
  • E
    Erin Married on 06/17/2018
    Rating 3.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I have mixed feelings about Quickstep. On the one hand the service was great. Their wait staff were very good and they left the kitchen clean. The downside was the food wasn't great. This was unfortunate because my wedding was a sit-down brunch so the whole point was the food. One example - my menu said we would have "individual yogurt parfaits" and they brought packaged yogurt cups. For the price (about $100/person) I was expecting out-of-this world food, especially given the small guest count (about 30 people). It wasn't BAD but it wasn't great either.

    Quickstep Catering's reply:

    It was a pleasure being part of your special day, Erin & Jeff. Thank you for both the kind words and the constructive feedback. We are happy to discuss the miscommunication regarding the yogurt, if you'd like, and while we stand by the high quality of our food, we understand it is not a perfect fit for everyone. Best wishes to you both!

    Andy Peters
    Owner, Quickstep Catering