Skip to main content
Weddings

Putting on the Ritz ,Catering Reviews

Putting on the Ritz ,Catering

Putting on the Ritz ,Catering

Laurel, MD
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 424 Reviews
View more information

424 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 424
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

13 User photos

  • Ron
    Ron F. Married on 06/18/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect in Every Way!

    We began talking to the Puttin' on the Ritz folks last October knowing that our planned 50th anniversary party would be at a busy time of year. They were helpful throughout the process and worked with us on the many details. The food selections were wonderful, and we changed them several times, never was there a problem. When the day came for our event, the staff arrived early and began setting up. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, the staff helpful and friendly and the entire day was everything we could have asked for. Event Manager Denise was a joy to work with and covered every detail to perfection. When they finished, everything was cleaned up, leftovers packed for us, and they left us with perfectly clean and neat areas everywhere they worked.
    We will without a doubt use them the next time we have a need for a catering service - and highly recommend that you do so as well.
    Nothing but the highest ratings for Puttin' on the Ritz!!
  • K
    Kathleen L. Married on 05/21/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best party ever!

    From start to finish, Bobby was incredible to work with. Having never planned a wedding before, I had no idea where to begin when it came to feeding 130 people. Bobby helped us plan the perfect menu for our wedding and he knocked it out of the park on the wedding day itself! Everyone raved about the food and the bar- holy cow, the bartender was the star of the show! The food was SO delicious and everyone raved about it! We loved working with Putting On The Ritz and we are so thankful for everything they did to make our wedding so incredible!
  • L
    Lilly M. Married on 04/16/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and service!

    Putting on the Ritz was fantastic for our spring 2022 DC wedding! Starting from the tasting, I could tell they were very accommodating and customer-service oriented. I really wanted to taste their mac n cheese (being from Wisconsin I'm very picky about it!) and they let me come back for a second tasting just for the mac n cheese alone; needless to say it tasted amazing! They worked so well with our venue and were easy to communicate with. Neil was our point person at first (wonderful guy), but he ended up leaving for another job a few months before our wedding. We were nervous about having another catering manager who was new, but Debra pulled it off 100% and everything was wonderful! My biggest selling points for this caterer were (1) very reasonable price for what you get and (2) amazing taste of the food, especially the apps!! Beyond that they were friendly, easy to work with and professional! Would recommend to anyone getting married in the area!
  • Addy
    Addy V. Married on 12/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Delicious

    The food was absolutely delicious!! We had the discounted winter special buffet and loved everything on my plate (which is saying something because I am incredibly picky). Every person we spoke with loved the food!! Putting on the Ritz was even able to cater to our large portion of vegan guests which was hard for a lot of other caterers to do. Would definitely recommend!
  • J
    Jeannine Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tastefully Done!

    We went for a "tasing" before we chose this vendor. They had the room set as if we were attending a wedding based on possible ideas. We chose from an extensive menu and had so many options!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Can't recommend Putting on the Ritz enough!

    Putting on the Ritz was one of the highlights of our wedding! They came highly recommended by our venue and they did not disappoint. Every part of the experience was wonderful. Neil is a true delight to work with and was communicative the entire time of the planning process and was an integral part of our wedding day. We got a ton of compliments about the food and it was just as good on our wedding day as it was at the tasting. They are a must have if you're getting married in the DMV area!
  • R
    Roger Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a wonderful experience!

    First of all, the food was absolutely delicious. POTR did such an excellent job at making each dish extra special. Cassie was wonderful as well. She was super attentive to our needs and was always quick to respond with friendly communication which was done mostly by email. The serving staff was fantastic as well. Everyone was great and I highly recommend POTR to anyone with catering needs and especially a wedding event. Well done Putting on the Ritz! You made our wedding even more special! Thank you.
  • PINYAO
    Pinyao R. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    We’re very happy we chose Putting on the ritz for our wedding. Cassie was so responsive to our emails and calls and went above and beyond to make sure all the details were exactly as we wanted. The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal. We will definitely be using them again for other events!
  • E
    Erin Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Yum .

    We used Putting on the Ritz for our wedding reception at one of their proprietary locations (the Great Room at Savage Mill), and it was a delicious decision. Several guests commented on how much they liked the food and we have to agree. Make sure to consider their fun custom ice cream float bar for summer events! Our favorite appetizers were the Cape Cod (lobster on a pretzel roll) and Date with a Pig. The short rib was delicious and the crab cakes full of crab meat. Make sure you bring a good appetite when doing a tasting to choose a menu! One note in figuring out cost--gratuity wasn't part of our contract, so make sure to add that into our budget (and the staff do deserve it).
  • Jamasonmd
    Jackie Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Putting on the Ritz

    The food was excellent and my guest loved it!!
  • M
    Monica Married on 07/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Putting on the Ritz lives up to its name!

    My husband and I chose POTR to cater our wedding reception. From the beginning, Neil was highly responsive. Our tasting was wonderful -- it was a pleasure to meet with Neil and try the awesome selections. As we continued on in this process, Neil worked hard to help us with our ideal reception. His guidance and patience while we figured all the details out together was much appreciated. On the day of the reception, Denise was amazing and on top of everything. She really helped pull our vision together and kept everything on track. The rest of the staff were wonderful too -- we noticed their attentiveness and everyone was so friendly and made our reception a success. We were also lucky enough to meet the owner, Bobby!! He was lovely to talk to and funny. We truly are grateful for everyone involved that helped make that night that much more spectacular. We are still getting comments about how great the food was (especially the cupcakes!) and how everything looked. You all ROCK!!!!

    Thanks again!

    Monica and Dorian
  • Jenny
    Jenny H. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The food was delicious

    We had a wonderful experience with Putting on the Ritz. Our wedding was postponed multiple times due to COVID and they stuck with us through it all. We had a Zoom meeting with Neil to go over the menu and layout and then met in person to finalize details as the wedding got closer. On the actual wedding day, we were so impressed with the whole crew that arrived, from those setting up, passing the appetizers, the bartenders, to the servers. All were very professional and a pleasure to work with. The setup of the room looked beautiful. The food was delicious, and they even packed up the leftovers for us to take home and enjoy for days after.
  • J
    Jennifer Y. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Service AND Food

    Working with Putting on the Ritz (POTR) was a FANTASTIC experience! Shortly after signing our contract with our wedding reception venue (St. Francis Hall), we reached out to a few caterers on their recommended vendor list. POTR/Neil was the first to respond! Working with Neil was a delight - he responded quickly/promptly, answered ALL our questions (there were a lot), organized a wonderful tasting, and worked with us to put together our cocktail hour/dinner menu. As we approached our April 2020 wedding, Neil helped us navigate pandemic related questions and assured us everything would be great...and it was! The food was excellent (we received many positive comments) and the service was fantastic. The POTR team were friendly, attentive and professional. Neil made sure there was a tray of appetizers set aside for me and my husband after we took our photos, his team checked if we needed any drinks, and they also boxed two dinners for us when they noticed we were up greeting our guests and didn't have the chance to finish our meal. I highly recommend working with POTR and Neil!
  • Kayia
    Kayia J. Married on 03/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Top Notch Service and Food

    Putting on the Ritz is an AMAZING catering team in the DMV area. The level of professionalism is unmatched. Neil is wonderful and a pleasure to work with. The owner was also so very nice as we worked with him getting into a new venue space after an abrupt change of plans due to COVID. The food is also spectacular and the presentation is top notch. Hire them now, you won't regret it!
  • R
    Rachel T. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Caterer

    We couldn’t have asked for a better person to work with. Cassie was beyond helpful. She was everything I needed for my wedding and helped me out together a wonderful wedding during COVID. If you’re a bride looking for someone who is amazing look no further. Cassie truly was wonderful. I’d give Cassie alone 10stars if I could.
  • Lena
    Lena H. Married on 08/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So great to work with!

    Great experience! At the tasting, I voiced concern over the chicken being a bit dry and Angie reassured us it would be perfect the day of. We also decided we wanted the chicken prepared in a different way (breaded and fried instead of baked) and it turned out delicious the day of the wedding, not dry at all! All the sides and other dishes were amazing as well!
  • S
    Sonya Married on 07/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    Amazing, high quality food for wedding reception! Very special!
  • Jill
    Jill P. Married on 06/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Always excellent!

    I am a DJ with Bialek's Music Agency and have worked with this catering company many times. They are beyond knowledgeable and efficient, as well as able to work with all budgets and styles! I love them!
  • Nikita
    Nikita B. Married on 03/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    wedding caterers

    i was very happy with the taste and presentation of food.
  • E
    Emma T. Married on 03/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Food ever! YUMMY!! Mouth watering!

    I want to extend my sincere thanks to Neil and the entire crew of Putting on the Ritz. We had so many choices from food to linens. Neil helped us with the layout of the wedding and reception at the Newton White Mansion. The design that he came up with was perfect. They have worked at the venue numerous times and it showed!
    From the setup of the chairs to the set up of the tables and buffet stations, everything was just wonderful. The food was prepared fresh!! Nothing frozen. From the time they started cooking the food, my guest were anxiously awaiting the meal. The smell was delightful! I received so many complements from the guest! Everyone said that they had never had food like that at a wedding. YUMMY!!
    The food for the cocktail hour was just a warm up for the meal. I have to say that the one food everyone raved about was the spinach dip at the cocktail hour. OMG!!
    When you hire them not if, you have to have that dip for your wedding or event.
    I have numerous food allergies and they did a great job at keeping all of those off the menu.
    Again I just can not say how great they were! Putting on the Ritz is a local business ( we actually live right down the street from them). Please help support your local businesses! Without you they can not continue to do the great work and make that special event even more special.
  • M
    Molly Married on 12/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Happy Bride

    I could not have asked for a better catering team to cater my wedding. Their staff was all so friendly and attentive. They took care of everything. And the food was delicious!!
  • N
    Stephanie Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great service

    The food was amazing. All the guest raved about it. They were prompt and courteous. Loved their service. Highly recommended.
  • A
    Angela Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book potr!

    Really loved working with Claudia as a partner during our wedding planning and wedding day experience. From the beginning, Claudia helped answer all of our questions (no matter how detailed or abstract) extremely quickly and efficiently. She and her team helped make our wedding venue so beautiful and accommodated custom décor and requests with a smile. Don't hesitate to book POTR for your wedding, I'm so happy we did and would recommend to any bride or groom looking for a reliable and expert catering company and coordinator. Thank you Claudia!
  • Nicole
    Nicole H. Married on 09/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and service

    Putting on the Ritz was clearly the caterer we wanted for our wedding. I emailed 5 caterers when trying to decide on who to have cater our wedding reception, and they were the best about working with our budget. We gave them a little input on some must-have foods (like crab) and they whipped up a delicious-sounding menu under the budget that we requested—and they could make everything gluten-free so the groom and his mother would be able to eat everything offered at the wedding! Claudia was easy to work with and very responsive to emails, even when there were a few bumps in the road with the guest list. Everyone enjoyed the food at the wedding, and the service at the wedding was great. We had a very short ceremony but the staff kept things moving quickly so everyone had their food and time to eat in the hour between being seated and the champagne toast. We also appreciated Claudia working with is on the open bar—we really wanted a coffee liquor that was available with their top-tier liquor package, but we couldn’t pay the top-tier price. Putting on the Ritz allowed us to pay for the medium-tier package and bring them a couple of unopened bottles of the liquor we requested for the wedding. They were accommodating to all our requests and we couldn’t have asked for more from our food!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience

    Their quality of service is amazing and its worth your money. Bobby is a wonderful person though busy but is kind to respond to emails and calls and keeps up with everything you need. They draw the seating plan for you, make the adjustment, set up for your big day and tear down after, makinf your day stress free