Skip to main content
Weddings

Purslane Reviews

Purslane View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
92% Recommended by couples

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
  • Emily
    Emily A. Sent on 08/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    We had an amazing experience with Purslane! Planning a wedding can be overwhelming, but Purslane was responsive, professional, and organized throughout our entire planning process. Kendra and the whole Purslane team did an incredible job helping us plan and prepare for our dream wedding. Also, the food was incredible! Our guests were complimenting the food even days after our wedding! Furthermore, their staff were amazing. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, we were never in need of anything throughout the night. We would highly recommend Purslane for your wedding/event!
  • Christina
    Christina L. Sent on 08/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food and service

    We had a wonderful experience with Purslane. We worked with Kendall on organizing our wedding, and she was super communicative, answered all our questions and was willing to accommodate special requests. All our guests mentioned how wonderful the food was and how beautiful the venue looked (Boathouse at Prospect Park). Staff on the day were really friendly and had to quickly pivot the cocktail hour inside when there was a very stray thunderstorm that blew through. We would highly recommend Purslane for the coordination and catering of any wedding.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rebecca D. Sent on 10/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Good mission, great food!

    Would highly recommend Purslane!

    The food was DELICIOUS and honestly for catered food was way better than it needed to be. We had a lot of guests with various dietary restrictions and they made it so easy to tweak the menu and come up with something that everyone could enjoy. For wine snobs out there, they had sourced wines that are actually really cool and legit good. (No Yellowtail :)  The fact that they're zero-waste was a great perk, too.

    We also really appreciated how helpful they were when it came to coming up with something that worked with our budget. They never tried to upsell us on adding more; in fact, they were really honest about what things we could drop to keep costs low.

    Because we had such a long engagement, we did end up having a few different point-people over the span of a year--which also meant that some details had to be explained a few times to a few different people (mostly related to rentals) but ultimately we were taken care of and our wedding went off without a hitch.

    We'd absolutely work with Purslane again, and highly recommend them to anyone getting married in the area.
  • D
    Dillon D. Sent on 08/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Catering in a Dream Venue!

    Purslane was the perfect catering company an vendor for our wedding at The Prospect Park Boathouse. They were quick to respond to all questions and created a private tasting session due to the schedule of my partner and I. We enjoyed every step of working with them. We had an idea to have a certain "event/catering activation" added to the day and they were willing to work with the vendor that we picked and figure out the logistics to make sure we had the two elements added and it was seamless. The day-of was seamless from the serving, to the bar setups and to the food that was incredible! We could not have gotten a more perfect catering company and venue to have our wedding!
  • Aileen
    Aileen Sent on 12/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Low stress wedding caterer

    We loved working with Purslane. We got married at The Boathouse at Prospect Park, where Purslane is the default caterer. We went with Purslane because we wanted a stress free wedding that the majority of things were included since we weren't hiring a wedding planner, and that's what Purslane delivered. The team was very communicative and even helped us get our timeline in order. If you are looking for a low stress wedding, definitely consider getting married at The Boathouse. Purslane handled all of the rentals - we just had to make decisions about food, linens, plateware, chairs, etc. The venue itself is incredible and speak for itself - you really don't need that many decorations because the Boathouse photographs beautifully without them. We had a hiccup with the final bill, but everything was eventually sorted out and they were responsive and easy to work with.
  • J
    Jake Z. Sent on 02/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect catering experience and incredible venue

    Working with Purslane, and especially with Machaela and Justin, was a highlight of our wedding planning, and we feel incredibly lucky to have had such excellent partners in producing our event. The staff, especially Machaela and Justin, are responsive, friendly, accommodating, and professional; the space is gorgeous and beautifully maintained and operated; the food and drink were bountiful and delicious, and the service rivaled any of New York’s fine restaurants. Best of all, the process of collaborating to make our wedding happen was easy and fun, and Machaela and Justin made us, the nervous engaged couple with a million things to manage, very confident that our day would not just go as planned, but would be a beautiful success. And indeed it was!

    Of all the people we worked with. Machaela and Justin deserve special mention. They are excellent communicators, responsive to the million questions and people that wedding planning entails. They are proactive collaborators, laying out a clear process and schedule not just for the day, but for the process of working to plan it. They provided useful, detailed documentation at every step of the way, including a very helpful list of recommended vendors. Every meeting with them was fun and friendly, but also productive, punctual and a good use of time. And of course, the food and wine tastings were delicious.

    Machaela and Justin were so helpful in giving us a sense of how the venue would perform in a situation we wouldn’t get to experience until the day itself. They guided us expertly, making shrewd suggestions we might not have considered (“Since you have an open bar, we recommend choosing a heavier vegetarian entree.”) My wife and I had a unique vision for our event, and these two not only assured us that it was possible, they worked with the park to accommodate myriad details, even down to the selection of lightbulbs. It’s no exaggeration to say that without their help, the event would not have had the specific atmosphere we imagined, nor would it have been the roaring success that it was.

    All the confidence they inspired along the way paid off on the day, when Machaela, Justin, and their staff were a machine. The service was prompt, helpful, and invisible; the food was great, not losing too much in the translation from tasting to event; the wedding ran perfectly smoothly, with Purslane on top of the schedule, keeping the momentum of the night alive as they moved tables, served each course, operated the bars, and so on with perfect cadence.

    We are so, so grateful to Purslane for making our wedding a true dream come to life. Our only regret is not responding sooner to their lovely post-wedding thank you note, and for taking so long to write this review! To you recently-engageds with so many decisions to make, let me help you with this one: your search is over; just hire Purslane.

    Photos by Sarah Kuszelewicz, flowers by Grace + Grit.
  • Heather
    Heather Sent on 08/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stellar caterers for people who love food.

    From start to finish, working with Purslane for our wedding was an absolute dream. My fiance was set on having a vegetarian reception, and I was concerned about finding a caterer who could make an all vegetarian feast that would please even the most ardent meat-lovers in our extended families. Boy, did they deliver!

    Even better than the food (if that's possible!) was interacting with the company. Isabel was our event manager and she was amaaaaaazing. From the very first meeting I knew we were in extremely capable and organized hands. It was also great that they managed logistics for all our rentals and I didn't have to worry about how many napkins or plates, etc.

    I would recommend them to anyone hosting an event of any size in the greater NYC area. Purslane truly took our wedding reception dinner from being a just great meal to being a legendary meal for all our family and friends. We consider ourselves to lucky to have found them, and are so happy they came on board for our wedding!
  • K
    Karen J. Sent on 12/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Only a dream!

    Gosh, where to start? We had such a magical wedding made possible by a team of incredible vendors - but people STILL talk about how amazing the food was.

    We loved the tasting menu we had, but were blown away by the magic Chef Arden and Isabel were able to create for us after deciding we wanted to incorporate some Korean flavors into the meal, flawlessly executing a marinated skirt steak and farro bibimbap. They didn't bat an eye at our other asks, like a bountiful charcuterie table after the ceremony and late-night watermelon and popsicles (we got married on the hottest day of the year!).

    The whole evening felt very much like were really hosting our friends and family to a personal meal, which was such a gift. Big shouts and hugs to Isabel, who really made it happen for us.
  • A
    Ashlea Sent on 01/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So much more than just a caterer

    You know when you just get that feeling in your gut and you just know something is right for you? That was the feeling we got when researching caterers and we found Purslane. Not only is their food stunning to look at but they give back to the community and are really involved in recycling and cutting down on waste. (As a former cater waiter, I can tell you that there is a lot of waste at weddings/functions.)

    After initially speaking with them, I had a chance to go and taste their food- it was even more delicious than it looked. They use local, fresh ingredients and you can taste the difference. Well, we pretty much booked them on the spot for our wedding. Every experience we had with them was professional, kind, and knowledgable.

    Once we had everything signed, we were given Isabel as our main point of contact. Isabel is a dream! We seriously can't say enough amazing things about her not only as someone to work with, but most importantly as a person. She was always there for us to ask questions or put our minds at ease. She made our tasting before the wedding the highlight of our planning process. She's just an all around incredibly hard worker and kick ass person. (Honestly, my husband and I miss seeing her all the time!)

    The day of our wedding everything ran so smoothly, we were able to eat- they set up a plate of all of our cocktail hour bites and champagne for us to enjoy right after the ceremony (before we went out to greet the guests). It was such a special treat for us to enjoy our first married moment together. The food was delicious, our guests are still talking about it- (the cauliflower soup with fried cumin seeds and chorizo oil. Yum!) We knew that we didn't want standard catering food, and Purslane delivered delicious NYC restaurant quality food and so much more. It was delicious, beautifully plated, and the staff was kind and courteous.

    Thank you Purslane and Isabel for being such rockstars! You made our day complete. (Seriously, people would have been really hungry and cranky without you guys.) If you're looking for a company that's a joy to work with, makes delicious food, and cares about giving back then this is the caterer for you!
  • Lysee
    Lysee W. Sent on 10/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    Michael and I loved the experience of working with the Purslane team. The food + service + experience was incredible. I would highly recommend Purslane for anyone looking for delicious, local, farm-to-table food!
  • L
    L Sent on 09/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Do you think that you have to settle for less with wedding food? This was what we were told as we began planning our wedding, and it seemed to be a truism. It simply seemed unrealistic to expect wedding food to be of the same quality as something you would choose to eat in a quality restaurant. And this truism seemed to hold up as we tried several very well reviewed and respected caterers…until Purslane.

    From the minute we sat down to do the tasting with them, we could tell this food was different. It was delicious! I would have happily gone to any restaurant that served the meal we had at our tasting.

    We decided to go with Purslane for our wedding and were completely happy with the result. Chef Arden and Isabel were warm and professional throughout the whole process, they were helpful and flexible as we planned our final menu, they were even able to accommodate an additional cocktail tasting and complicated deliveries to our venue in the Catskills, and the food at the wedding was absolutely delicious and so fresh and beautifully presented. It truly was of the quality one would expect from a top notch restaurant, and it was just as good when they made it for 130 people as when we had it at the tasting. Several guests independently said to us that in the many weddings they had been to, this was absolutely the best food they had ever had. Purslane really helped us to have a genuinely special night, and I could not recommend them more highly.
  • M
    Meridith Sent on 08/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Purslane exceeded expectations in every way. From our initial interactions with Amanda, through our more rigorous coordination with Air, we were so impressed. Purslane was incredibly easy to work with, flexible, and understood our vision. Working with a caterer who could entirely conform their services to your event particulars and aesthetic was invaluable and added to the personal touches we wanted to bring to our wedding. Ari was amazing. Aside from being a lovely person, she was so organized and always calm. She was an asset during the venue walkthrough, with helpful suggestions and meticulous note taking. We loved chatting with her during our (super fun) tasting at their Greenpoint restaurant and couldn't get over the tight ship she ran on our wedding day. She was also an amazing help at the decor rental meeting -- she patiently advised and set up samples of table settings so I could picture how things would look. Arden, the chef, is such a talent -- creative and charming, his work is like art on a plate. We felt so lucky to have been able to discuss our hopes for the menu on the phone and then meet him at the tasting. He explained each dish and was very collaborative (though we mostly marveled at the meal and asked fan-girl (/guy) questions about his career). The day of our wedding, the Purslane team was exceptional. They had a very tight window to work within, in terms of getting everything in and out of our venue, and did it will seeming ease. The waitstaff were so kind, gracious, polished, and professional -- without being pretentious. They made sure we ate and everyone felt so well attended to. To us, food was such an important component of our celebration and we wanted something special and unique. Purslane transcended anything we could have imagined with the quality of their food and exceptional service. This is a fabulous company and wonderful group of people who run it -- you won't regret hiring them.
  • R
    Rick Sent on 08/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For our “leaner” wedding of thirty-five people, my then-fiance Stephanie and I had dreamt of a wedding that was centered around our family, friends, plentiful drinks, unique food, and dancing through the night. Purslane exceeded all of our hopes and the space of Fitzcarraldo not only brought home the atmosphere of a classic Brooklyn night, but the outdoor patio and distinctive interior allowed for the intimacy, mingling, and dancing that we wanted for all our friends. However, before we even got to the big night, I have to recognize the hard work and effort, especially of Chef Arden and the organization, support, and joy of Nicolette, in helping us to put it altogether.

    Although we had no official wedding planner, Nicolette immediately dove in to help us, listened to us, let us know all of our options, made wonderful recommendations, and - most importantly - communicated with us promptly, warmly, and consistently through the whole process. Further, both my wife and I are food-lovers and Chef Arden’s “crew” hit it out of the park. A first course of heirloom tomatoes with peaches, feta, and honey in a vinaigrette; a second course of strozzapreti in roasted tomato sauce with taggiasca olives, mozzarella, and basil; three different entrees, one of grilled seas bass in banana leaf with kung pao sauce, achiote, citrus, herb salad, and cashews, a second entree of “lomo al trapo,” a Colombian-style beef tenderloin that is wrapped in a towel and cooked directly in the coals (absolutely wonderful) served with salsa criolla, and a third entree of ratatouille a la plancha that consisted of beautifully grilled vegetables. As many have already said, and I couldn’t agree more, this wasn’t your standard “get-by” wedding dinner - rather, this was a meal I continue to have conversations about with friends and family that were there.

    Thank you again to Nicolette, Chef Arden, and the whole Purslane group. Highly recommended and we will see you soon!
  • M
    M Sent on 06/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Purslane catered our June Brunch wedding at Brooklyn Grange Rooftop farm and the team was an absolute joy to work with. They are professional, communicative - and importantly, serve delicious food customized to fit our family style vision. Raving reviews all around on the kale & gruyere quiche, maple - black pepper bacon, and friend chicken and biscuits, and baby buttermilk pancakes. Highly recommended!
  • M
    Michelle Sent on 10/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Purslane catered our 9/24 wedding upstate in Kingston, NY and I cannot say enough how much we love them! The food is incredible and many people came up to me the day of (and continue to do so after the wedding) to compliment the food saying it was like eating at an awesome restaurant. And it really was that! New Yorkers bar for food is preeeetty high and they exceeded all of our expectations. Setting aside the food, they were delightful to work with leading up to the wedding (shout out Isabel and Chef Arden! The best!) and the entire staff the day of were amazing. We had requested a plate of apps to ourselves before joining cocktail party and they had them waiting for us, along with champagne and our his and her cocktails. It was a sweet moment to share with my husband to reflect on what just happened. If you want seriously delicious food, served by the sweetest crew on top of their game, book Purslane!
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 01/29/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Purslane for our wedding at 501 Union 1/16/16, and everything was absolutely delicious. We worked very closely with Amanda to pick out all of our rentals (from tables to linens to glassware) and secure all of the details for our food and desserts, and we also worked very close with the Head Chef, Arden. Being able to customize everything about our menu meant a lot to us. Our hors d'oeuvres were fantastic (people were raving about the winter squash soup shooter) and the plated dinner was beyond delicious, everybody loved what their meal. Because we chose not to have a cake, we went with custom puddings and creme brulee which were huge hits. I very highly recommend hiring Purslane (with Amanda and Arden)--their responsiveness was quick, they were very accommodating, and just a pleasure to work with.
  • Olivia
    Olivia Sent on 10/29/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved our experience with Purslane!

    My husband and I had a wonderful experience working with Purslane! They were totally willing to work with us on customizations and made sure we were comfortable with all of our selections. On the day of our wedding their team was totally professional and helped our whole event run smoothly, even when there were some issues with the rentals. Even after our wedding they were advocates for us with the rental company, which allowed us to go off on our honeymoon with peace of mind. Thank you Purslane team!
  • J
    Jo-Ann A. Sent on 11/26/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food! Amazing people!

    We had a great experience using Purslane as our caterer and event manager for our wedding at the Prospect Park Boathouse. The staff they provided for our event were professional, and the food they served our guests met a high culinary standard. My wife’s father works in the restaurant business and he was impressed by what Purslane was able to do for our 100 guests. My wife was also very impressed by their sustainability ethos. Everything went like clockwork and we didn’t have to worry about a thing! Procedurally, Purslane will host you at a tasting event prior to your wedding where you will sample their menu and decide on that basis what you will like to serve at your own event. One piece of advice: enjoy yourself at the tasting event. You may find yourself so busy at your own wedding that you have little time to eat, but Purslane’s food is so great, so make sure to eat heartily at the tasting!
  • A
    Andie Sent on 09/26/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Purslane is pricy but worth it if food is the focal point of your wedding. What we loved is that we were able to work together to create a totally customized menu that reflects our taste + preferences as a couple, as well as local and in season ingredients. Chef Arden was a total pro, and everything he prepared for us at the tasting was absolutely delicious. We ended up opting for a floating style dinner for our guests, so there were constant waves of food all night long -- and it was all fantastic! I would definitely recommend Purslane to my family and friends.
  • C
    Charles Sent on 06/27/2018
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the tasting menu to the execution of our wedding, we were fully satisfied with the food and the service.
  • J
    Jamie C. Sent on 07/10/2023
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience from A-Z!

    The team at Purslane were amazing and the food came out fantastic (we did family style). There were plenty of choices when selecting our final menu, but we really enjoyed the couples dinner that they hosted so we could test a few of the items out. Everything was on-time and still warm, which doesn't always happen, so we were very pleased to work with Purslane and would 100% recommend them to anyone considering them.
  • E
    Elizabeth J. Sent on 09/25/2022
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious food!

    Purslane was great to work with! The food was absolutely delicious and they easily met our guests' dietary restrictions without compromising on taste. All of the staff were great and everything ran so smoothly on the day of our event! Their focus on sustainability is industry-leading and we cannot recommend them enough.
  • N
    Nitya Sent on 04/04/2022
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    We loved having our wedding at Prospect Park Boathouse. The venue was gorgeous and the people we worked with at Purslane were great, especially Kendra. It was a little challenging at points with a lot of turnover so we worked with many different people but they did their best to make it as seamless as possible.
  • Jenny
    Jenny O. Sent on 09/23/2021
    2.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Challenging to work with and unprofessional

    We got married at the Picnic House in Prospect Park, where Purslane is one of a handful of preferred vendors. We hired them for our July 2020 wedding because they gave us a good price and their food was better than other vendors. We ended up having to postpone twice, finally getting married on Sep. 11, 2021. We had very little communication with Purslane until the final 6 months leading up to the wedding. But those 6 months were full of miscommunication, multiple coordinator contacts, missed meetings and details, and overall a huge amount of undue stress and hand-holding.

    During those months, we were bounced us from contact to contact, and each time we felt like we needed to re-explain our wedding from scratch because their team did not do a good job communicating about clients internally. At one point, one of the coordinators we spoke to didn't know where our wedding was, or what date it was on. At another point, a coordinator didn't show up for a call, but on an email thread later claimed she was. It's no surprise, then, that every time we spoke with them and they repeated back decisions we had discussed, something had fallen through the cracks. In short, Purslane require a ton of hand holding.

    And in a really egregious show of poor communication, one of their event coordinators told us in August 2021 (a month before our wedding) that the amount of food we had ordered in our contract actually wasn't enough to feed all of our guests. This happened despite the fact that we had renewed our contract with them not once, but twice, meaning that several people on their team saw this error and simply ignored it. I will say that after all of this went down, they did try to make it right by offering a private tasting, but even that became complicated and had to be rescheduled because of weak communication.

    Purslane will probably respond to this review and argue that this all happened under extenuating pandemic circumstances. We're sympathetic to that, and do not fault Purslane for their staff shortages or turnover. But we worked with many vendors for our wedding who made far less money and were also operating under these same conditions, and none of them were nearly as challenging to communicate with, or as insincere as Purslane.

    The bottom line is that Purslane ate up a lot of our mental and emotional energy in the final weeks leading up to our wedding, creating undue stress during an already-stressful time. But at the end of the day, nobody remembers the food at the wedding anyway.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message