Skip to main content
Weddings

Purple Onion Catering Company Reviews

Purple Onion Catering Company

Purple Onion Catering Company

Vienna, VA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 228 Reviews
View more information

228 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 228
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

45 User photos

  • S
    Sara D. Married on 04/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent service and great food!

    Purple onion catered our wedding at Shadow Creek, and we couldn’t have been more pleased. Both the food and the service were excellent. They made sure we were happy with our menu and even didn’t a second tasting tweak some of the dishes. Highly recommend.
  • Josh
    Josh R. Married on 01/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful catering experience!

    We used Purple Onion for our wedding at the National Museum of Women in the Arts, and it couldn't have gone better! Paige and her team were so kind and attentive to our needs (including the dietary restrictions of our guests), and everyone thought the food was delicious. Purple Onion really goes above and beyond on the quality of their food and their attention to detail; definitely hire them!
  • M
    Maddie M. Married on 11/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    This is going to be a bit of a weird review! I started planning for a brunch wedding scheduled for fall of 2020. I roughly knew what I wanted served but was lacking ideas. In comes Paige and the Purple Onion. They created an amazing menu, with biscuit baskets and fresh fruit plates, make to order waffle and omelette stations and a mimosa bar. A coffee bar for guests before the service! They came up with so many amazing ideas! And when we sampled the menu, it solidified our decision to work with them because it was all so delicious. Then covid happened and put the brakes on everything. They made it so easy to postpone the service. As if planning a wedding isn’t stressful enough, postponing one is even harder. But with Paige, they made it the easiest thing in the world. Then we started planning for our postponed wedding celebration, and then the delta variant has come roaring up. My husband and I made the difficult decision to cancel the postponed wedding celebration, as we want a wedding where we wouldn’t be worried for the health and safety of our loved ones. If Paige made postponing the catering service for our wedding easy, she made canceling it even easier! She told us they would honor our deposit for a future event!! That was such a weight off my shoulders. So, it’s a weird review in that we never hosted our wedding, but the customer service we have received during the 2 years we have been working with them has been absolutely phenomenal. Thank you so much Paige! We look forward to working with you in the future!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth B. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious & Professional!!

    Our experience with purple onion was amazing from start to finish! Margaret was our event designer and she was always on top of everything. She quickly responds to emails and was very flexible even with last minute guest changes! She even brought us some drinks on our wedding day to say hi and see how we were doing! The food was delicious and we got several compliments on the appetizers and entrees. The purple onion's food choices are so unique and they have so many options too! If you are looking for a full service caterer, they do an amazing job of letting you pick each and every detail down to the type of silver wear. Highly recommend Purple Onion if you are looking for great food and a professional helpful event designer!
  • C
    Caitlin H. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Catering

    Purple Onion is the best catering company! The food is so good and they are so helpful. They pulled our day together beautifully and the staff was attentive and kept the day flowing. Alison Von Brendow was our event planner through Purple Onion, she went above and beyond for me. Taking our calls and making sure everything went smoothly. I would definitely recommend them for any of your events.
  • G
    Geoff P. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Food and Perfect Service!

    We absolutely loved all aspects of Purple Onion's involvement in our wedding. The food was 10/10, absolutely delicious and we got numerous comments about how good the food was….and not just the main entree but the side dishes as well.

    We worked with Margaret during the planning process and she was beyond perfect. She was incredibly responsive and could tell she is very passionate about her job and ensuring all aspects of our wedding were perfect. It is a lot of work to pull everything together but not once during the planning process did I have any issue with Purple Onion. They made everything so easy!

    Right after the wedding ceremony the Purple Onion staff were quick to offer us a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres and kept our drinks filled throughout the night.

    Everyone was so happy all night. We have literally no complaints.
  • Maria
    Maria S. Married on 08/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!

    Purple Onion is an awesome team to work with and serves up delicious food! The appetizers and main entrees were such a hit with our guests -- several guests told us the prosciutto fig flatbread appetizer was the best thing they've ever tasted. The team is so kind and very attentive. Highly recommend!
  • Nia
    Nia H. Married on 08/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Food, Beautiful Table Service and Amazing Service

    I found purple onion through my venue's preferred list. They were the first catering company to contact me back with detailed information of the process. We visited for a tasting and they had a personalized sign for us with champagne and so much food! It was delicious. We later came back because we wanted to try the food one more time before we made our decision. The contract and payment was easy going. I recommend this vendor to anyone.
  • Kyle
    Kyle E. Married on 07/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A True Culinary Experience

    Exquisite food was a focal part of our wedding vision and Purple Onion delivered a true culinary experience! During the menu preparation and tasting process, Purple Onion was very flexible in meeting our many requests, while also providing tasteful recommendations for our final menu. Our cocktail hour menu was very diversified, featuring international flavors and fresh seafood. Everything was extremely well prepared and flavorful, our guests have been raving for months afterwards! The dinner service was also like we were out at a restaurant. Not only was each dish vibrant and well portioned, but the service of the wait staff and bartenders helped create a great experience for our guests.

    I would not hesitate to hire Purple Onion again, and would highly recommend to all of our family and friends.
  • Michaela
    Michaela M. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100% Recommend!

    I used Purple Onion to cater my wedding and would recommend them whole heartedly! We worked with Margaret Zagrodniczek, who is incredible. We were nervous to plan a wedding, but she made us feel so comfortable and relaxed about the whole process. She thought of every detail we needed for our big day and was extremely accommodating when we had to move our wedding due to the pandemic. Truly the best in the business! The food and catering staff were AMAZING. All of our guests commented on how yummy and seamless everything went because of them. Thank you again Purple Onion!
  • D
    Deirdre P. Married on 06/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding Caterer

    My daughter's wedding was at The Barns at Wolftrap in late March 2019. We worked with Margaret Zagrodniczek who was professional and responsive. The food was absolutely delicious especially the mango salsa on the beef and chicken. The appetizers and desserts were equally delicious! Everyone commented on the food.

    We had wanted long rectangular tables instead of rounds so it would be easier for people to talk. Margaret created a suggested layout for the reception but I had my own ideas. She re-created, again and again, different table arrangements until ultimately, we decided on her original layout. Lesson learned: this woman knows her stuff so go with the professional.

    I was amazed at the efficiency of the staff as they broke down the ceremony space and turned it into the reception space. Everything was switched over like magic. The wait staff was excellent including accommodating a last minute allergy, getting another plate for a guest. Margaret and the staff were aware of other allergies so those guests didn't feel singled out for their requests.

    Margaret's attention to detail, her flexibility and the wonderfully delicious food that she represents made my daughter's wedding a day to remember.

  • C
    Cat P. Married on 06/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Company

    Our experience working with Purple Onion was excellent. Food was terrific and service was superb.
  • Bethany
    Bethany L. Married on 12/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful team to work with!

    Purple Onion was a a joy to work with, they are very receptive and get back to you quickly. Rental options are so plentiful and the ladies we worked with are friendly and knowledgeable. And above all the food was FANTASTIC, and that is literally the main thing my guests talked about!
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    True professionals

    The Purple Onion team is excellent. I’d highly recommend them for a gathering of any size.

    Paige, our main point-of-contact, was helpful, kind and professional at every stage, from inquiry through to execution. We had already planned a full menu for a 120-person wedding when COVID-19 struck, and Paige helped us pivot to a safer plan: a backyard microwedding. She and her team were extremely supportive, helping us develop a new menu that was appropriate for the season and a service plan that accommodated the reduced guest count.

    Everyone in attendance agreed that the Purple Onion team made the day feel special, safe and seamless. They worked closely with our day-of planner to make sure service followed strict COVID-19 protocols and CDC guidance. Every course — from the fall salad to the braised short rib — was delicious, especially dessert. We asked them to create a couple different flavors of small, one-tier drip cakes in lieu of the traditional wedding cake and dessert bar we’d originally planned. The result was stunning. Even guests who don’t typically love cake went out of their way to tell us how much they enjoyed these particular cakes.

    We’re so thankful for this team. They went above and beyond for us, navigating a totally unprecedented set of circumstances at a time when the concept of "business as usual" did not exist. Hire them!
  • Lauren
    Lauren R. Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    YUM! Such great food and service!

    Kristen was amazing! She was with my now husband and I through every food decision. Our guests would stop by our table and remark how delicious the food was! Kristen and her staff made sure to let people listed with allergies know about what items to avoid. They also were so kind to modify one of our entrees to leave a few without cheese for our lactose intolerant guests. We had a brownie bar and hot chocolate for dessert- just amazing! It was such good food and service. I definitely recommend!
  • A
    Anne S. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding planning and catering!!

    Purple Onion Catering did an amazing job catering and planning our wedding details. Working with Margaret was a blessing as she was the calm voice that I needed while planning an altered covid wedding and she had an exceptional handle on the whole show, beginning to end. Even on the day of and while I was about to walk down the aisle, she came to me and asked if everything was ok, and made any changes that I thought were needed. Due to covid, we had some last minute changes to our wedding count and knowing it is a big no-no to change after the final count date, I had to and Margaret was so nice and accommodating. She was so sweet and I appreciated that she understood this was a crazy time for all of us.

    Everyone complimented our wedding dinner and we loved it as well. The food came out hot and cooked perfectly and perfectly seasoned also!

    Margaret worked with us for table scapes and made sure everything we needed the day of was included. Purple Onion and Margaret definitely know what they're doing!

  • Sarah
    Sarah L. Married on 09/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious food, and so easy to work with

    Paige and all the staff at Purple Onion were so wonderful with whom to work! I had a very busy schedule as a surgical resident when planning my wedding out of state, and they did everything they could to accommodate me! Our guests said that the food was the best wedding food they'd ever had as well! Paige takes all your preferences in food very seriously, and when we said no cilantro there wasn't a speck anywhere ;) They were also so flexible with the changes to our wedding date as we had to reschedule it THREE times due to COVID-19- and there were no extra or hidden fees due! Would absolutely recommend them and use Purple Onion all over again! Thank you SO much, Paige!!!
  • E
    Emily P. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delish and cost effective!

    Kristen and team at Purple Onion were so great to work with. We had to make many changes to our original plan due to COVID and they were super flexible and wonderful to work with throughout the whole process. The food was delicious - truly the best catering food I've ever had! Our guests raved about the food. And the cake was both beautiful and delicious. i would definitely recommend Purple Onion to anyone looking for a cost effective yet delicious caterer!
  • L
    Lori R. Married on 06/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exactly what we wanted

    The Purple Onion was the only caterer that was willing to do food only when our other plans fell through due to COVID. Kristin was responsive and more than willing to make suggestions as to what and how much to serve. She made changes in numbers and food up until a week before. We just had appetizers and fingers and the food was FABULOUS!!
  • M
    Megan Married on 11/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding food!

    We were provided Purple Onion as a potential wedding caterer by our wedding planner (Pollyanna Events). The selection process was daunting, there was so many details to compare among vendors. We chose Purple Onion based on their food choices, preliminary quote, and our tasting. We had a tasting with two other caterers and Purple Onion was by far the best. We worked with Margaret. She had worked many events at our venue (Top of the Town) and put us at ease. We met with Margaret again for a tabletop decor selection meeting at their warehouse and again for a venue walk through. The contract process was the most detailed out of all of our wedding vendors, that was to be expected. I am very detail-oriented and tried to track too many details before finally accepting that Margaret knew what she was doing and trying to figure out a $50 change in pricing (for example) as we finalized things wasn’t worth my time or energy. It was tricky to understand who was in charge as we got closer to the wedding date and were trying to finalize the timing and floor plan of the reception, Purple Onion, the venue coordinator, or our wedding planner. That was just something I noticed, nothing bad happened. The food at the reception was great, we received many compliments on it. Margaret was right there and I felt confident that she had everything under control. Her staff was friendly and efficient. They kept things moving. Margaret was friendly, efficient, and excited for us. The food was great, we were happy with the service and the amount we paid. We highly recommend Purple Onion.
  • Anatasia
    Anatasia R. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flawless Service!

    Purple Onion was amazing! From the tasting to the service at the actual wedding - the service was absolutely flawless and seamless. Margaret is the best! She took all the stress away and went above and beyond to make sure the wedding and service flowed perfectly. She made our dreams come true. I was truly stunned when I saw our venue set up. Margaret made sure to account for all our needs and helped tailor the wedding to exactly what we wanted. She really cares about her clients and on a personal note, it was a blast working with her and a blessing to have her! I highly recommend Purple Onion. The food is great - we had vegans and allergies to look out for and Purple Onion offered a great selection and variety to account for everyone. The staff was pleasant, organized, and the service was impeccable. Thank you Purple Onion & Margaret for making our wedding UNFORGETTABLE! :)
  • Ashleigh
    Ashleigh Married on 11/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience!

    We are so happy with our experience with Purple Onion. Our wedding was at the Winery at Bull Run and we planned our wedding in less than 3 months! We really had no idea what to expect and were nervous about the short timeline but Margaret made us feel taken care of every step of the way. We ended up going with a buffet option and the food was fantastic! Our guests are still talking it!! Don’t even get me started on the cupcakes (amazing!) the peanut butter and jelly cupcake was our favorite.

    The only sad thing that happened was our small cake somehow got lost and never made it back home with us. When spoke with Margaret after the wedding to let her know what happened she said they would make us a brand new cake so we would still be able to celebrate our anniversary with a slice!

    Thank you so much Purple Onion for helping to make our special day so special!

  • Jillian
    Jillian L. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Worth It

    I'm not going to lie, this wasn't an inexpensive option. The most important thing for us to provide to our wedding guests was great food. Purple Onion delivered, ten fold. The team is so professional and the food is so delicious, to me it was worth every cent. I got to customize everything down to the Mac and Cheese bar, which people still mention to me to this day. The servers were so high quality, fast and responsive, you can tell they have this down to a science. If you want to sleep well at night knowing your guests will be blown away by your food and everything will be handled for you on your big day, hire Purple Onion, you won't regret it.
  • Whitney
    Whitney F. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pick Purple Onion!

    Hiring Purple Onion was one of the best decisions we could have made for our big day. Paige and Anna were amazing and made our vision come to life better than we ever could have imagined. The food was delicious and everyone loved the signature cocktails. Highly recommend!
  • P
    Patti A. Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Patti Hall

    My husband and I got married at the The Winery at Bull Run on September 29, 2019.
    The Purple Onion catered our wedding and wow,
    Margaret and her team blew us out of the water. Margaret, is so well organized and anticipates your needs....before you even realize it. She and her team were amazing to work with, the food was excellent. My guests raved about the Mac & Cheese and the cider donut bar. I truly felt relaxed because I know my wedding was in great hands thanks to Margaret.
    We can’t thank this team enough for making our wedding so wonderful and for paying close attention to details. The reception room and cocktail hour were gorgeous.
    Thank you! We can’t thank you enough.

    Patti Allison