Prince Conference Center at Calvin University Reviews

8 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Prince Conference Center at Calvin University

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

8
Order by:
  • User3898275 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone and everything was done exactly as promised, professionally and with style and grace. Many guests commented on the delicious food and generous portions (we had a luncheon reception). Waitstaff was adequate and always available. Gifts were loaded onto luggage carts and ready to place in cars. At least one staff member stayed until the very end of the reception when everything was packed up and ready to go. Very enjoyable experience and good value for the money.

    Sent on 02/11/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Prince Conference center was a FANTASTIC venue to work with and I could not have asked for a better place to hold my wedding reception. From the very beginning, I was given a contact at the Prince who helped me out with planning my wedding details and day-of schedule and keeping me on track. The Prince Conference Center strives for excellence and good service, and it was evident through the cleanliness of the venue, the friendly and organized staff, the delicious food/variety of meal options, and the amount of work put into setting up the reception hall in order to make it as beautiful as possible. This venue is also a good choice because it is a hotel so wedding guests can have convenient lodging at a discounted event rate. Another perk is that the Prince offers a wide variety of table linens, napkins, and centerpieces that come at no additional charge. My wedding went SO smoothly and I received many compliments (both from guests and vendors) about how great and professional the service was and how beautifully the room was decorated. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue to anyone looking to hold a beautiful reception or event!

    Sent on 07/13/2012
  • G

    Genelle · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Prince staff was incredible. They really went out of their way to accommodate us, both in the hotel and for the reception. Amanda was so great to work with, and she continued to impress me with her professionalism, advice, and organization. During the reception, Kerrie was so helpful and kept things running smoothly. The hotel is very nice, and certainly convenient. Our guests were very impressed with the Fireside Room during the pre-reception hour, and the fireplaces are a nice touch. This was definitely the best choice for a reception venue!

    Sent on 04/29/2011
  • M

    Sarah · Married on 07/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went off without a problem! Everything was as we needed it to be! We go to church there so we knew what to expect. They worked with us and our own organist. It was great!

    Sent on 08/07/2009
  • B

    Betsy · Married on 01/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    AWESOME! So easy to work with! They had everything handled for my reception, that I forgot I needed to tell our MC details, because I just wrote then entire reception off as being handled. They made great suggestions for timing, placement of gift table, guest book, cake, etc., seating arrangements were clear and set up exactly as I expected, and the FOOD! SO many compliments! Beautiful rooms to use and great for mingling with guests and enjoying our big day!

    Sent on 01/21/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/02/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very easy to work with, we loved how much they were able to do and not having to find additional vendors. The ideal solution for a bride planning from afar. Also, it's hard to beat their catering prices.

    Sent on 10/11/2010
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/14/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception (not ceremony) at the Prince Conference Center and overall, we were very pleased. They also provided the catering, and the food was delicious. We did our dinner buffet-style and all of our nearly 200 guests were served and eating within 20 minutes! Their catering staff is excellent at streamlining the process as well as keeping everyone's glasses full and clearing tables quickly. The venue is pretty, especially the fireside room, where we served our appetizers. The staff was easy to work with and met with us as many times as we requested during the time leading up to the wedding. Best of all, they do all of the set-up and clean-up for you! (Really, who wants to clean up a reception hall after their family member's wedding???) They provide several center-piece options for you to use, which is included in the cost of room rental, making centerpieces more affordable. Linens, dance floor, risers for head table, A/V equipment, etc. are also all included in the room rental price. (No hidden costs!) Book early, because 14 months in advance they were already starting to fill up!

    The only complaints that we had had to do with the set-up of the room. There are no windows in the main banquet room making it quite dark, and the dance floor is a bit small. Other than those two things, however, we enjoyed our experience at the Prince Conference Center, and we would reccommend it to anyone!

    Sent on 12/12/2008
  • R

    Rivka · Married on 09/22/2006

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Calvin provides multiple chapels for weddings and ceremonies and also can offer the Prince Conference Center for receptions. We just had our ceremony in the main chapel and it was beautiful. For Calvin students or Alum there is a discount available for the space, which can help in finding an affordable space. There are some limitations on decorations and time slots available just by the nature of the space and its other uses, but it worked out great for us. Lovely location for a ceremony, and great spots outside for pics too.

    Sent on 04/29/2009