Portofino Island Resort Reviews

18 | Gulf Breeze, FL
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Portofino Island Resort

Recommended by 93%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.4

4 User photos

Portofino Island Resort 1
Portofino Island Resort 2
Portofino Island Resort 3
Portofino Island Resort 4
Sort by:
  • T

    Tayler · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Venue!

    If you are looking to have the most perfect wedding experience possible... book Portofino. Our experience was wonderful. Jessica is as good as it gets. She was on top of everything and thought of things that no one else did. Our wedding could not have been any more perfect. I would recommend this place to anyone! This was the best decision we could have made.

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had the pleasure of working with Jessica Jensen for our daughter’s wedding a few weeks ago. Jessica and her team were not only personable, but outstanding and did a stellar job making sure the wedding and reception were perfect. Her attention to detail is superb. If your looking for a perfect destination place to have your wedding, STOP here, you don't need to look any further. This beautiful picturesque resort coupled with Jessica and her team equals perfection. She makes sure brides dreams do come true.

    Sent on 07/10/2018
    Portofino Island Resort 5
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica Jensen at Portofino will do all she can to make your wedding dreams come true! We had the best experience and one that will never be forgotten. Ask for her by name....

    Sent on 05/15/2018
    Portofino Island Resort 6
    Portofino Island Resort 7
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica at Portofino was amazing!! She knew the best of the best of who to work with and made any concerns quickly go away. Our weather was interesting. My home, that I got dressed in, was struck by lightning that morning and we lost tv and internet connection. Jessica came over with print outs of the weather radar to discuss options for adjustments of the setting. In the end I was able to marry the love of my life on the beach, just as I wanted. Even the surprise fireworks were out of this world. I will forever treasure Jessica and all that she did to make my wedding dreams come true. You are the Very BEST!!!!

    Sent on 08/07/2018
  • M

    Mackenzie · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot even begin to explain how wonderful Portofino island resort made this day for us. Jessica, the coordinator, made this planning process a breeze. She was extremely professional, accommodating and creative. We never had to worry about anything! If anything did not work a way we planned on it to she immediately had a back up plan or way to solve the situation. The staff at Portofino were extremely nice and always had a smile all there faces! They all made us feel so special and treated our guests with great respect! Portofino is hands down the most beautiful location in Pensacola! You can not beat the beautiful atmosphere and amazing staff! They made our day better than we could have ever inagained!! THANK YOU JESSICA AND ALL OF THE STAFF!!

    Sent on 11/14/2016
  • S

    Scott · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Jessica and our rehearsal event was amazing! We strongly recommend having your even here at portofino!

    Sent on 11/08/2016
  • Christina & Eric

    Christina · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best days of my life was made more memorable and special because of Portofino Island Resort! The staff members (especially Jessica) were 'on top of things' at all times, easy to contact, polite, and showed exceptional service and poise. The Resort went above and beyond my expectations. This was a dream come true for me to have my reception at this resort, and I would highly recommend it to anyone not only looking for a memorable, enjoyable time, but also for someone who, like me imagined nothing short of a fairy tale, that Portofino was able to deliver.

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • F

    Betty · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is awesome in its self but to have Jessica and Laura to assist in your wedding plans is a dream for a Bride. They are so helpful and accommodating , they make for a stress free experience for any gathering. The food is excellent and the service superb. Its first class all the way!

    Sent on 12/28/2014
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica helped us to plan the most beautiful and intimate wedding. The venue was gorgeous! We got married on the beach and had our reception in the terraza grill and around the pool area. The food is also amazing from the nicer restaurant inside and also at the grill by the pool. My wedding could not have gone any better. Jessica and all the staff at Portofino are simply amazing. They were super accommodating to all of my out of own guests (about 100) and very welcoming. It was easier planning my destination wedding than it would have been to plan one at home! Communication is key when planning a wedding, and Portofino was very clear on the details. I was never stressed and has a smooth planning! YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG! It is absolutely perfect and gorgeous! All my guests still rave about how gorgeous the venue was.

    Sent on 04/04/2016
  • Rowena

    Rowena · Married on 06/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome venue, It was a dream come true. Everybody was so friendly and accomodating

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • E

    E · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Portofino Island Resort was just perfect. Jessica Jensen and all of the staff at Portofino were truly invested in making our big day the success that it was.

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • T

    Tori · Married on 06/02/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an all around amazing experience with having my wedding at Portofino Island Resort. They me calm & took care of everything. We had some rain the came & they rearranged everything for the reception without a doubt. Jessica, the wedding planner, is without a doubt the best!!! She made the whole experience so worry & stress free. I highly recommend anyone to have their dream wedding here!

    Sent on 06/19/2018
    Portofino Island Resort 8
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica Jensen is wonderful at her job.! She made everything come together even more beautifully than we had envisioned. She is very accomadating. We met with Jessica several times before the wedding and she made lots of special arrangements for us. Golf tee times,a tasting for food beforehand, transportation to the church and more. She also collected special items and took care of them after the reception such as the veil, special champagne flutes and the cake topper! The entire staff ,especially Josh the banquet manager, were so attentive and warm. They made us feel so special. We had no worries on our wedding day and that's worth every penny spent!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • User6744800 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at Portofino, and it was as close to perfect as a wedding can be. The staff is extremely accommodating and will take great care of you. They helped with everything from menu selection to picking out other vendors. They keep an eye on the bride and groom to make sure you always have a drink in hand and to make sure you are taken care of. They even boxed up some of the food from the reception and took it to our room so we didn't miss out on anything. Our guests also felt very well taken care of and loved the venue. The food is absolutely AMAZING!! I would definitely recommend Portofino for your wedding! You won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 05/22/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/23/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Portofino was the perfect venue for my wedding. The site is absolutely beautiful and the 5 towers were perfect for hosting my out of town guests. Jessica was incredible in ensuring everything ran smoothly the day of my wedding, I never had to worry! If I had to do this all over again, I would definitely have my wedding at Portofino again.

    Sent on 07/09/2018
  • User2720917 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The views from the pool area are absolutely breathtaking at sunset. The food was good, especially the coconut shrimp. They were willing to work with us to provide food we enjoyed that wasn't on the set menu. The only reason I don't rate Portofino higher is the difficulties we had in communication - the menu prices weren't given to us until long after we had already signed a contract, we weren't informed right away when the stage that we were told would come with the venue could no longer be used, we weren't informed when the local tax was increased, and we had asked and paid for a kid's menu but to our knowledge that wasn't offered to any children on the day of the wedding. Though I understand the wedding menu has since then has been update so it shouldn't be a problem for future brides. I would recommend outside planning services. Overall, Portofino was slightly more expensive than other venues we looked at, but well worth the view.

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • C

    Cody · Married on 08/27/2016

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I'll start this review of our wedding day at Portofino Island Resort on a positive note. The venue itself is beautiful, and the food is good. Our biggest complaint was in the responsiveness and communication department. The location has a central coordinator, Jessica who handles all of these events. Typical response time was a staggering week and a half to two weeks regardless of the medium of communication (Email, phone call, text message, etc.) When you're paying an exuberant amount for "Coordination Services" you expect some coordination to be done for you. Not one single vendor was coordinated for us. We had to arrange our own DJ service, flower service, make up artists, cake services, and photography/videography. She did book our officiant though, albeit without our approval. Now let's cover the ceremony, the ceremony coordination assistants misdirected all of our guests in the opposite direction of our venue so when the groom and officiant arrived on site, there were no guests present. The rest of the ceremony went off without a hitch. The reception was very well put together. The buffet style plating option was very good. The best service we received throughout our wedding day was by far the wait staff and kitchen staff, they delivered a great meal and bar services. Upon checkout we also found that they had charged us for items we were told previously that would be compensated for the bridal party. I have called the venue and coordinator multiple times per week since August 30th and left messages with numerous different employees who ensure me a supervisor will return my call. We have not heard so much as an email. We provided the exact time, date, and extension for which the compensation conversation took place (we were told that all calls are recorded and they would have to review the records) yet the venue refuses to refund us the money or even give us the courtesy of a return call. Maximum number of characters reached.

    Sent on 09/15/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review