Skip to main content
Weddings

Petunia's Pies & Pastries Reviews

Petunia's Pies & Pastries

Petunia's Pies & Pastries

Portland, OR
4.8 out of 5 rating, 15 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
15 Reviews
96% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

15
  • J
    Jennifer H. Sent on 01/16/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful options!

    I purchased one dozen Chocolate Babycakes for our kid's wedding this weekend, so as to have an allergy-friendly option for our guests. They were such a hit!! I love that their allergies didn't prevent them from having a fantastic tasting dessert. You have a customer for life!

    Petunia's Pies & Pastries's reply:

    Hi Jennifer! Oh, this is so sweet to hear! Thank you for your kind words and support. I am so glad they were a hit. Yes, please come visit us for treats soon! :)
  • Simone
    Simone G. Sent on 07/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious for all diets!

    We were so grateful to work with the team at Petunia's on our wedding cake. My wife was recently diagnosed with celiac, and we had multiple vegans attending the wedding, so we weren't sure how we were going to make it possible for everyone to enjoy the cake. Enter Petunia's! We did a tasting beforehand to get a good sense of the flavors - you cannot go wrong with any of them! We especially loved the lemon poppyseed and the confetti options. The team worked with us on design and cost to make sure it worked on all fronts. What a gift to be able to allow everyone to enjoy dessert, free from worry! If you have allergies, sensitivities or just plain enjoy good flavor - try Petunia's! xx

    Petunia's Pies & Pastries's reply:

    Oh, thank you so much, Simone! I am so happy to hear this. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It means a lot to us, and we are so overjoyed to hear such great feedback and that we got to be a part of such a special day for you. Everything looked so beautiful when I did the delivery, and knew it was going to be a magical day! Congratulations to you both!!! :) -Lisa
  • Eappel1491
    Emily Sent on 09/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Vegan and gluten free AND pumpkin?? Yes!

    We were so excited to find a baker that not only makes delicious cake that all our guests could eat, but they had pumpkin! The cake looked beautiful and we have leftovers for days.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Katie B. Sent on 08/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious Wedding Cake!

    We asked Petunia's to make our wedding cake and it was phenomenal! It looked gorgeous and was just as delicious. The team that delivered the cake to our venue was fast and professional. Heather was great to work with. The entire process was easy and fun and our cake turned out to be exactly like I envisioned it. All of our guests loved the cake, even the picky people that don't typically like gluten/dairy free foods. We even brought the leftover cake to brunch the morning after our wedding and everyone wanted to eat it as a pre-brunch appetizer!
  • Heidi
    Heidi M. Sent on 11/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and delicious!

    From the first tasting to our reception, Lisa and her staff were a joy to work with. Lisa is professional and her bakery is fantastic! She took notes through the entire tasting and came prepared. The cake was beautiful and absolutely delicious. Our families were blown away that it was vegan! The only problem was that I didn't get to eat more of it! Ha! Looking forward to our next trip to Portland so we can stop by Petunia's. Yum!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca S. Sent on 08/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect

    Petunia's Pies & Pastries was the perfect choice. When you have food allergies you need to cater to, wedding food can get even more complicated. But Petunia's made it so easy! The owner/founder, Lisa, met with us personally for our cake tasting. She was so attentive, sweet, and professional. Each flavor was delicious! We ended up going with a sweetheart cake and three flavors of cupcakes. Our wedding was in July south of Portland; Petunia's delivered outside the city and was very flexible on timing due to the weather (i.e., heat) and lack of refrigeration. We absolutely loved the cake and cupcakes, and so did all our guests! This delicious, allergen-friendly dessert was tasty, beautiful, and provided the perfect icing on top of our perfect day! Highly, highly recommend!
  • C
    Cameron Sent on 08/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    So, so wonderful! Especially when you have food allergies in your family. Everyone was able to eat our wedding cake--and it was demolished! The cake design itself was stunning, they put it together at the venue, and were willing to drive out of Portland to deliver. Truly a delight to work with, and top notch gluten/vegan baking!
  • S
    Sandy Sent on 01/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Petunia's provided a beautiful cake and cupcakes for our September 2, 2015 wedding. Lisa was very helpful in providing a cake tasting to narrow down our options and was very flexible on doing several different flavors of cupcakes. She even provided place cards to label the different cupcakes and an extra tub of frosting to do any needed touch up on the cake since we chose to pick it up and drive it to our venue that was over an hour away. The flowers on the cake matched our colors perfectly- the whole cake table was a stunning centerpiece at dinner. We would highly recommend Petunia's for any cake and cupcake needs!
  • User2048857 Sent on 02/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We've booked Petunia's to do our cake, and they have been amazing! We are doing a non-traditional cheesecake version, and they are working with us on creating EIGHT different flavors. Their prices are reasonable, and they are willing to deliver as well. We went in to try out their cheesecake before booking and it is phenomenal. We are so excited to have Petunia's cheesecake for our wedding!
  • M
    Mari Sent on 05/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    LOVE! I am gluten free and I didn't want all the dessert to be gluten free just our personal cake, but once we tried everything IT DIDN'T TASTE GLUTEN FREE!! Seriously, the owner is amazing she was very efficient at getting back to me and setting up a cake tasting! We were able to try whatever we wanted for just a small fee that was added on to our contract! Seriously, best gluten free in Portland! She is so flexible on decorating the cake and any ideas I have!
  • A
    Annie Sent on 07/19/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lisa at Petunia's Pies and Pastries is a beautiful person inside and out and a FABULOUS pastry chef. She is easy to get ahold of and very lovely to work with. She worked with my budget and my taste! She made the most amazing 6 inch cake and cupcakes for my wedding! They were all vegan and gluten free and none of my guests even noticed! Every last cupcake was gone by the end of the night and everyone was raving about them! They were beautifully presented with flowers in my wedding colors and wrapped in delicate white pastry cups that blossomed around the cupcakes making them even more delightful! I highly recommend using Lisa for all your baking needs even if you don't need to eat vegan or gluten free!
  • A
    Alexis Sent on 02/26/2015
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My (now) husband and I used Petunia's for our wedding cakes this past weekend. Lisa and I communicated via email only (that's a huge plus for me as I travel and phone calls can be tough) and she got everything perfect! The 3 cakes were lovely, and tasted amazing. We also ordered 150 mini cookies that went like hot-cakes!

    I am gluten intolerant so picking a cake vendor was really important but also not the easiest in terms of quantity of choice.. That said, my friends and I eat at Petunia's regularly for treats and their quality and taste for "bulk" orders is just as impressive as in the store. In terms of value, it is not the least expensive option - but all of our guests absolutely loved the cake, and I was thrilled to have a few left over pieces ;-)

    The morning of the wedding, some of the bridesmaids and I went there for breakfast as well - the entire staff was warm, friendly, and went out of their way to make the day even more spectacular.
  • R
    Rebekah Sent on 07/30/2012
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lisa is amazing! On top of making scrumptious cakes, cupcakes, cookies, etc in traditional flavors on a regular basis, I asked her to do some serious customization for my wedding. And she was all up for it. Gluten-free and vegan is hard enough (I know, I try to bake at home and it just doesn't work right), yet I asked for the groom's cake to also be nut-free. The best part of all was the wedding cake: I had my heart set on a lavender cake with rose frosting decorated in flowers, so, even though she had never done it before, Lisa experimented and made the most amazing cake I've ever tasted.
    I think the cake itself was priced normally for wedding cakes, however, my mom did comment that the tasting fee was a little high.
  • Michele
    Michele Sent on 08/30/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We decided to have a dessert buffet for our wedding and Petunia's knocked it out of the park. Our guests were so impressed with the variety of desserts and the presentation of the buffet. My family are big dessert eaters and Lisa at Petunia's felt we had ordered too much, but I wanted to make sure we had enough and was fine with leftovers since we planned to have folks over to our house the next day. We did have leftovers, but not nearly as much as you might have imagined based on how much we started with. I'd say that's the best recommendation out there - to have the guests eating themselves sick!

    The special, surprise groom's cake they did for us was also wonderful and my (now) husband was thrilled!

    Vegan, gluten-free and oh so delicious! The entire process was easy and fun, everyone loved the desserts and we could not have been happier. Thank you!!!
  • S
    Shannon Sent on 10/22/2015
    2.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Order a gluten free cake to be used as our wedding cake in addition to our other cakes. I asked for mint and got green flowers instead. The taste of the cake was not good and we had a lot left over. I like many of the cakes they make it may have been what I had selected but many people did not enjoy this cake. The flowers that I had asked for also did not look like the ones in the picture that was sent to me and when the cake arrived some of the frosting flowers had already fallen off. Again I have enjoyed other things at this place but for a wedding cake I would suggest trying it first : ) ! With that said my other friend used them for her wedding cake and it came out good , so again go for a taste testing first.