Opal Sands Resort Reviews

16 | Clearwater Beach, FL
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Opal Sands Resort

Recommended by 95%

16

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

26 User photos

Opal Sands Resort 1
Opal Sands Resort 2
Opal Sands Resort 3
Opal Sands Resort 4
Opal Sands Resort 5
Opal Sands Resort 6
Opal Sands Resort 7
+ 20
Sort by:
  • Jasmine

    Jasmine Branch · Getting married on 07/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue!

    Opal Sands Resort is absolutely amazing! Beautiful venue, great food, and friendly staff! I could not have asked for a better place to have my wedding!

    Sent on 04/27/2019
  • Rachel

    Rachel Chartier · Getting married on 02/16/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue was perfect

    Jenna was amazing! She was so helpful through everything

    Sent on 02/22/2019
  • Terry

    Terry Pepin Brown · Married on 06/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    excellent attentive There was never an email that went by or question that went by wasn't answered by Jenna

    From the beginning meeting with Jenna Amal and the entire staff Karen the chef there was not one negative comment made our wedding dinner was excellent the service was excellent the lovely lady that waited on the head table was excellent we are part of the Opal family now.!!! Most people said they have never been to a wedding like ours thank you for everything you've done for us! Can't wait to get all the pictures

    Sent on 07/12/2019
    Opal Sands Resort 8
    Opal Sands Resort 9
    Opal Sands Resort 10
    Opal Sands Resort 11
    Opal Sands Resort 12
    Opal Sands Resort 13
    Opal Sands Resort 14
    Opal Sands Resort 15
  • T

    Teresa Fields · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Jenna Arnal and Opal Sands for your Wedding!

    Jenna Arnal and the Opal Sands team were such a pleasure to work with. Their attention to detail was magnificent. My daughters wedding was supposed to take place on the lawn, however it rained so therefore it had to be moved inside. It was absolutely beautiful. The guests raved about how delicious the food was, which is always a big deal at weddings. I would highly recommend Opal Sands for your wedding or event.

    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • J

    Jennifer Murphy · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The absolute best!

    Top notch service, experience, professionalism, everything! Opal Sands and Jenna Arnal (wedding coordinator) exceeded every expectation we ever had! Would recommend them time and time again!

    Sent on 06/20/2019
  • Y

    Yonghong Liu · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rehearsal Dinner

    We had a rehearsal dinner at the hotel. The food was delicious and the table decoration was awesome. Jenna Arnal did a great job. She is very nice and helpful. Thank you so much Jenna.

    Sent on 04/30/2019
  • J

    Jasmine Branch · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Dream Wedding!

    Five Star Resort! Friendly staff! Beautiful venue! Delicious food! I had an amazing experience with Opal!

    Sent on 05/10/2019
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Opal Sands on 9/2/17 we had a fantastic experience from the minute we met with Diana. Since this was a 2nd marriage we didn't want all of the traditional things. Diana was able to accommodate the exact feel of what we wanted for our ceremony and reception. Unfortunately, it rained the day of the wedding so we had to move the ceremony inside. Actually, I believe that worked out for the best. We wanted a "party" feel versus a reception and a "party" it was. We could not have asked for a better experience with the venue and staff. I would highly recommend this location and I already have! (smile) Thank you! Lisa & Chris Choate

    Sent on 04/20/2018
    Opal Sands Resort 16
    Opal Sands Resort 17
    Opal Sands Resort 18
    Opal Sands Resort 19
    Opal Sands Resort 20
    Opal Sands Resort 21
    Opal Sands Resort 22
    Opal Sands Resort 23
  • D

    Diane · Married on 05/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that our wedding planner encouraged us to visit and consider the Opal Sands Resort as a potential wedding venue. It does not disappoint and the other venues we viewed simply could not compare. The majority of them were dated and tired looking so it was very refreshing to view such a beautiful, stylish and contemporary resort. After our first meeting with Diana Cardenas we booked Opal Sands and have not regretted our decision for a second.
    Our wedding day at Opal Sands truly surpassed our expectations. The ceremony and cocktail hour took place on the pool lawn with its stunning water outlook and we then moved inside for the dinner and dancing. It was particularly wonderful that the banqueting room had a full length balcony and water view so our guests were still able to enjoy the sunset even during the dinner service and get some fresh air without straying too far from the party. The service and attention to detail throughout the event was exceptional and our guests are still raving about the quality of the food. We have frequently been told that it was by far the best meal our guests have ever had at a wedding and some guests even stated that it was the best meal they had during their two week stay in Florida; and they are five star all the way!
    As a destination wedding, our priority was making sure our guests had the best experience possible so we are thrilled that Opal Sands made this a reality. There is truly nothing better than hearing your guests say how much they enjoyed the day and how impressed they were by the venue. A lot of the credit for the success of our day goes to Diana and her team. She was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the planning process and was always warm, professional and approachable. Diana was quick to respond to any queries and I thought she was very flexible and went above and beyond to make sure our vision came to life.
    We cannot wait to go back and visit this gorgeous place again soon!

    Sent on 06/15/2017
  • A

    Allison · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had the most amazing wedding at Opal Sands Resort. My husband and I are overwhelmed with how perfect everything was. This is a brand new hotel and we were one of their early events so it is even more impressive how everything was so spot on.
    First, the hotel itself is just beautiful. From the moment we walked into the hotel we knew we had to book it for our wedding. It is a modern, clean, sophisticated hotel with incredible service. The hotel is full of beautiful places to take the most perfect wedding photos.
    Next you should know that by using Opal Sands you will get to work with Diana Cardenas who is the catering and event manager and she is EXCELLENT. We met with so many venues and she is truly a cut above the rest. She is professional, organized, detail oriented and a complete pleasure to work with. From day one she helped us all the way through after the wedding. We are so thankful for Diana!
    Next, our ceremony was on their pool lawn and it was so amazing and beautiful just like the pictures. The background of our photos was so beautiful that it almost looks fake! We had the stress of having rain on our wedding day, but Diana allowed us to make the ceremony location call as late as possible and it paid off. I am forever thankful for her, as an outside ceremony was very important to us. One of the main reasons we booked Opal Sands was because of the MANY rain back-up options that were beautiful as well. So many competing venues have amazing ceremony spaces, but being native Floridians, my husband and I knew rain was a possibility at any time in FL, so a great back-up location was so important to us. Thankfully, we did not need to use it but it was a relief to know I would not have hated the backup options if we had to use one.
    The reception was perfection. The food was just as delicious as it was during our menu tasting. The service was exceptional and everyone loved it.
    Trust me, go check out Opal Sands Resort! You will not regret it!! :)

    Sent on 03/05/2017
  • S

    Steven · Married on 01/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding last week and it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING...the resort is gorgeous, staff from valet to room service all exceptional. And who doesn't like a little fun on the beach mid-January when you're living in Maryland. But a large part of this success was due to Diana Cardenas, the resort's wedding coordinator. She's a dedicated hard-working individual that goes above and beyond her role with the hotel. Since our first visit in April of last year she has been there every step of the way for us providing information and advice in a timely manner. This was especially helpful to us as we did not have a wedding planner and had moved to Maryland in July. Her attention to detail (i.e- lavender sendoff roses for our lavender themed wedding) was second to none throughout the planning process.

    Perhaps what we enjoyed most about Diana was her personality. The day of a wedding can definitely be stressful but she always found a way to reassure us with her calm warm demeanor. She was never flustered, angry, or frustrated in any of our interactions with her. Employees can go through the motions but genuine charisma is an x-factor and something very difficulty to find.

    All in all, my wife and I highly recommend Opal Sands Resort for any wedding party. We couldn't have asked for anything more =)

    Ps- The food is also tremendous here...ask for the lobster, sea-bass, coconut shrimp, and/or PINA COLADAS.

    Sent on 01/19/2017
  • R

    Raquel · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hosted a bridal shower at Opal Sands this past weekend and it was amazing! The venue is gorgeous to begin with. The food was fantastic and all of the servers were great. Diana Cardenas was so helpful and attentive during this whole process including the day of the event. Diana helped me choose vendors and is truly talented in this field. She helped so much and was a pleasure to work with. I definitely would recommend this venue. All of my guests were very impressed with the venue and food. You won't be disappointed if you choose Opal Sands to host an event.

    Sent on 02/26/2018
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cant say enough about Opal Sands for our October wedding, Diana and her team were absolutely amazing to work with! The hotel is absolutely stunning and our wedding of 60 guests was treated to a 5-star event. Our sunset wedding on the pool lawn was to die for along with our reception in the seashore salons.

    We spent the weekend at the hotel and treated many of our guests to stay there as well, every whim was catered to, the food, drinks and service was top notch. The rehearsal dinner luau was amazing, ending with an OSU football cake for my husband, the chef and pastry chef there are so very talented!

    I cannot say enough about this hotel and their staff, thank you for being a part of our day!

    Sent on 01/07/2017
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 12/29/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a beautiful beach setting for a wedding, Opal Sands Resort is the place! The views of the ocean and setting sun in the background of an evening ceremony can’t be beat. Diana Cardenas was kind, professional, and there to help with anything we needed the day of the wedding. Our ceremony took place on the pool lawn, then the guests moved inside for cocktail hour. The views of the ocean from both the cocktail hour and reception space were unobstructed with floor to ceiling windows. The food was delicious and many guests commented it was the best wedding food they had ever had! Thank you all again for an unforgettable experience!

    Sent on 08/26/2018
    Opal Sands Resort 24
    Opal Sands Resort 25
    Opal Sands Resort 26
    Opal Sands Resort 27
    Opal Sands Resort 28
    Opal Sands Resort 29
    Opal Sands Resort 30
    Opal Sands Resort 31
    Opal Sands Resort 32
    Opal Sands Resort 33
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/10/2019

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Disappointing, Frustrating, Stressful

    My fiancé and I planned a destination wedding from Michigan. We decided on the Opal because of their breathtaking views especially the sea salon we chose for our reception. The staff (coordinators) were difficult, rigid and unprofessional. From the start it was quite difficult to get responses back with emails. I would take weeks to hear back and I would need to follow up with a phone call only to hear “we are very busy.” Beware that the Opal offers only 3 hour receptions and you will need to pay for additional hours at a hefty price. We initially asked for wine to be served during dinner and were told “no we don’t do that.” The room rates are quite high and about 90% of our guests stayed next door at the holiday inn which was much more accommodating and flexible. We were bounced around from coordinator to coordinator. So beware again the person you start out working with will change several times throughout the whole process. For $200 per person. We expected more then we got. We had to fight over a room for the guests to get their hair done in and were told they would offer complimentary muffins and coffee only to be told one day before that they would not be doing that. A simple request of asking them to plate our desserts for our dessert table was met with hesitation. Again for the prices you are paying the service should be impeccable. If you want great service and people who appreciate your business go somewhere else.

    Sent on 05/20/2019

    Opal Sands Resort's reply:

    A wedding is a significant event for not only the bride and groom but family members and friends alike. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the way your wedding was handled. At the Opal Sands we always strive to exceed expectations starting from the time you sign the contract to the last dance at your wedding. We pride ourselves in providing exemplary service and enduring hospitality with all of our weddings. The process of event planning is key so that communication is clear and concise having everyone on the same page. We as a resort can only get better from knowing what our shortcomings are and do all that is necessary to improve the process.
    -Opal Sands Management

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review