Omni Charlottesville Hotel Reviews

20 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Omni Charlottesville Hotel

Recommended by 94%

20

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The elevator makes an awesome entrance.

    Sent on 05/05/2018

    Omni Charlottesville Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Lisa! The elevator makes the perfect entrance in the lush Atrium. We would love to see a photo of your special moment!
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Omni was great to work with for our wedding reception! They were very responsive to emails and were super organized with all of our requests and timelines. We worked with both Sara and Deana and they were great. They made the ballroom look so beautiful and put our tables together exactly as we requested. They were willing to meet with us whenever we needed and discuss any ideas/issues/questions we may have. They made our wedding day so stress-free!

    Sent on 01/16/2018
  • A

    a · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding reception was wonderful. The entire staff, from sales, bell desk, front desk, food service and house keeping provided top service. Nothing was overlooked. Perfect place for any happy celebration .

    Sent on 06/10/2017
  • A

    Ariel · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot find the words to describe how absolutely wonderful our experience with the Omni Hotel Charlottesville was. Sara Wanderlingh is an absolute dream to work with. After our first email communication with Sara, we knew we wanted to book the Omni immediately. My husband and I were planning everything ourselves, and often had a small idea that we would bring up to Sara, and she would immediately have a great solution to our problem. Sara always responded to my emails within a day, even times when I would receive an out-of-office notification. The planning process was a breeze working with the Omni.

    The weekend of our wedding, the Omni really blew us away. Our families were greeted with wine and cheese plates in each of their rooms, along with a lovely hand-written note from Sara. The day of our wedding was incredible. Everything was executed flawlessly, and the Omni staff went WELL above and beyond anything we expected with our décor and the service. Our guests could not compliment the cocktail hour hors-d'oeuvres enough (they were delicious! Thank you to the Omni for saving my husband and me a plate!).

    We did not specify an exact setup for the cake table or favors table, and expected those items to just be laid out as they were. When we saw the display that Sara and the Omni staff had created, we were speechless; it was gorgeous. Our guests were very impressed with the food, which was fantastic! Sara thought of everything, and our wedding reception was breathtakingly beautiful.

    I could go on for hours about how wonderful Sara and the Omni were. There were so many small things that Sara thought of and did that we are so appreciative of! THANK YOU so very much to Sara and the Omni staff for helping us to celebrate our special day and for all of their hard work in making our wedding so wonderful!!!

    Sent on 03/29/2016
  • User3210137 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I stayed elsewhere when in town for our wedding, but we blocked rooms here for our guests and also had a post wedding brunch. All communication with the staff was efficient and friendly. The hotel is at a wonderful location for anyone out of town and there are plenty of places to walk to. I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Sent on 09/25/2015

    Omni Charlottesville Hotel's reply:

    We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni! We enjoyed celebrating with you and thank you so much for choosing the Omni Charlottesville Hotel! Congratulations!!
  • A

    Abbey · Married on 01/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara Wanderlingh and the Omni Hotel out did themselves for our wedding. Everyone of our guests said our wedding was the most beautiful wedding and that we easily had the best food. The food was outstanding, and the staff did a great job of organizing our room block with welcome bags and gifts and changing over decor from the ceremony to the reception. I don't know how you would plan a wedding without Sara Wanderlingh. She is a dream to work with. She is a great problem solver, very proactive, and incredibly reliable. She is fun to work with, and our wedding went off without a hitch because of her.

    Sent on 03/12/2015
  • R

    Rosanne · Married on 11/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the fabulous Sales and Catering Team at the Omni. Working with Sara Wanderlingh made everything about our wedding a breeze. From the rehearsal, to the ceremony in 1/3 of the ballroom, to the cocktail hour in the atrium, to the reception in the 2/3 of the ballroom, everything about our experience with the Omni was a solid 10. Sara responded to my frantic e-mails throughout the year I was engaged, instantaneously! She took great care placing all of my personal items throughout the wedding and making sure everything was rounded up for us to pack up later. I really appreciated the complimentary bottles of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, buffet take out boxes, and leftover cupcakes placed in our suite. They even went to far as to clean and reorganize everything for when my husband and I returned to the suite that night. We had one snafu with my mother-in-law's reservation being cut by a day, but that was easily fixed and Sara responded to the situation personally. The food prepared by Chef Josh was excellent and my groom and family kept saying how delicious everything was. Sara even took the time to assign wait staff to my grandmothers who were seated in the reception early and saw that they were waited on and taken care of. The Omni made my wedding day a dream come true and made for fabulous photos on the Downtown Mall. I highly recommend them to anyone looking to get married in Charlottesville!

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our November wedding (ceremony, cocktail hour, & reception) at the Omni Charlottesville and cannot say enough good things about the Omni. From the start, the Sales and Catering teams were amazing - they were very responsive, had great suggestions, and played a huge part in the success of planning our wedding. We had our ceremony in one-third of the ballroom and it was transformed into our reception area during the cocktail hour. This transformation was absolutely stunning! The Omni staff followed our decoration wishes perfectly, and everything looked beautiful. And the Atrium was a beautiful place for cocktail hour! Our guests raved about the floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Downtown Mall. Additionally, the food and drink service was wonderful at the reception. The food was delicious (all of our guests said it was the best wedding food they've had!) and the service staff made sure it was replenished. The staff also made sure our wine and champage glasses were never empty. Their prompt service helped to make our reception very enjoyable! Beautiful venue for a wedding and great package options for food/beverage/facilities!

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have been happier with our experience at the Omni! We mainly interacted with Sara and Chef Josh, both of whom went above and beyond to make us feel like their only clients.

    We wanted a multi-course wine-paired dinner, focusing on local wines and ingredients--definitely not standard wedding fare. Chef Josh came up with an AMAZING menu that gave us that while also catering to several food allergies. Dinner was beyond amazing, and the desserts were even better. I still dream about the caramelized fennel and goat cheese crostini appetizer. People loved the variety of food and how unique and delicious it was. It was a wonderful touch to come back up to the room after the wedding and find that the Omni had left some chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne for us--such a sweet surprise!

    Sara priced out special ordering the local wines and beers that we wanted to feature, and she was very helpful when we decided to purchase it ourselves to save on costs. She helped us coordinate delivering it to the Omni, making sure it stayed safe before the wedding, etc.

    Another way that the Omni went above and beyond is that they would let us use their ballroom to practice our first dance when it was not in use. It was wonderful to be able to practice in the actual space (we're dancers). The dance floor was a good size, and everyone was always helpful and prompt in their interactions with us, especially Sara! She was a godsend in helping to coordinate everything...we never worried about anything because we knew that she had it covered!

    The atrium is one of my favorite spaces in Charlottesville, and it made the perfect setting for our ceremony. The Omni closed off the area to outsiders, so we didn't have people walking through our ceremony. And I loved coming down the glass elevator for my grand entrance. The ballroom is a pretty standard hotel ballroom, so we had some uplighting to change the mood a bit, and it was perfect.

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • User2731863 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about the Omni! Every single staff member was beyond amazing. Edward Labranche makes you feel like you're the only bride he's working with and he was so flexible and professional. The cocktail hour, Reception space, decor, and food were amazing! 2 weeks later and guests are still talking about how great the food was. Every single guest that had the steak said it was one of the best, if not THE best steak they had ever had and the bacon wrapped scallop appetizer was unbelievable! They are also still talking about how beautiful the hotel and reception were. The Omni worked with our budget, made us feel like celebrities, really. Top notch team, beautiful hotel, phenomenal staff. Highest recommendations!

    Sent on 05/12/2013
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our cocktail hour and reception at the Omni and it was just amazing! The food was outstanding! The events coordinator Sara is just wonderful in every way. I had a ton of personalized items and decorations that I wanted to use and all I had to do was put it all in one of the Omnis storage rooms and just tell Sara what I was thinking. The day of my wedding I didn't have to worry about where the vendors were, if the decorations were up or anything. Sara and her team at the Omni took care of everything. I couldn't ask for things to go smoother. On top of Sara's dedication the Omni staff was also just fantastic. The people at the front desk were very attentive and bent over backwards for anything I needed. I felt like royalty being there. Besides everything turning out beautifully, at the end of the night Sara and the staff went up our suite (which was free) and cleaned, organized everything. Sara had the gifts put into our room, she also set-up some flowers on our bed, left champagne and a beer for my husband (not a champagne drinker). She also had them put chocolate covered strawberries and the top of our wedding cake. Everything was just absolutely amazing and I couldn't pick a better place to have my wedding. She also had the staff put chocolate cake in my parents suite :) Thank you Omni and especially Sara, you guys were more then anything I could of asked for!

    Sent on 04/25/2013
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 08/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more happy with the Charlottesville Omni Hotel. The staff there is incredibly warm, responsive and professional. (Much less snooty than some of the other vendors we considered - Omni has great down-to-earth people). The staff helped us pick our menus, design our floor plan and was incredibly helpful and gracious with our copious hand-made decorations and favors. Their entrees are far more delicious than one would suspect from (even a quite nice) hotel. The cupcakes they provides as a supplement to our wedding cake were to-die-for; we are still receiving comments on the delicious cupcakes. In addition to their top-notch staff, the location is really great for out-of-town guests who want to explore Charlottesville on foot, or by utilizing the free CAT trolley. I would definitely host another party or convention at the Omni if the opportunity arises, they are easy to deal with, and they deliver what they promise.

    Sent on 08/31/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more impressed with the professional and helpful staff at The Omni. They helped us from day 1 to pick out our menu, floor layout, photography locations, and select our other vendors. Nicole Marinchick was absolutely wonderful to work with during the planning process and she helped run a flawless wedding on the day of the event. They were flexible and more than accommodating, they went the extra mile to show us a good time and we definitely noticed, as did our guests! Everyone had a wonderful time and the hotel was extremely helpful the day after event as well making sure we got all our loose ends tied up! I would highly recommend The Omni for a wedding ceremony and reception!!!

    Sent on 08/22/2009
  • User3378291 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Omni and Sara at the Omni did a wonderful job assisting us with almost every detail of the reception. Sara had a great attention to detail and help make the little details pop. The timing of the meal was so seamless and smooth that it made the night so much more enjoyable because we weren't waiting for food. I couldn't say enough good things about the Omni. It is a great location for a very Charlottesville wedding that captures the aspects of local Charlottesville. The downtown mall is at the doorstep.

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/24/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    very nice staff, thought the events cordanator changed many times through out my wedding planning they were easy to work with. food was wonderfull I got many compliments (breakfeast buffett) the tropical atrium makes an exelent location for a reception

    Sent on 06/20/2008
  • M

    Midori · Married on 10/06/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Since 90% of our vendors were from out of town the Omni was the perfect place to host the reception. Not only was the location great, the service we received from Kico and Chris was first rate. The entire staff was accommodating throughout the weekend and helped ensure that every last detail was taken care of before we even had to ask.

    Sent on 10/18/2007
  • Britt

    Brittany · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    An easy hotel to access in downtown Charlottesville, and probably the nicest one in the mall area.

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • R

    Rae · Married on 05/05/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    All of our guests stayed here the night of our wedding. We had to book over a year in advance to get enought rooms (only 10). They did however give us a treat of champagne and chocolates in our room!

    Sent on 10/28/2008
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/03/2015

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We used the Omni Charlottesville for guest rooms over our wedding weekend because I associate Omni's brand with professionalism & quality service. That is NOT the case at the C-ville location. My fiance & I checked in the Wednesday before the wedding at midnight (that is when the Omni required us to have welcome bags delivered to them). When we arrived at the hotel after a long day of packing & organizing to get there, the front desk staff watched me make 3 trips back & forth to the car bringing in welcome bags while my fiance loaded everything onto a cart. Only when we struggled to get through the door with the overloaded cart did one of the employees come over to help hold the door.

    When we arrived at our room, there was no recognition that we were getting married or had brought so many guests to the hotel for our wedding. A note of welcome or a "thank you" for our business would have been a nice gesture, but it was as if they simply did not appreciate our business or care that we had chosen them.

    Beyond that, the shower in the Executive Suite did not drain (I was standing in 5 inches of water after a 10 minute shower). When I mentioned this to the front desk, they sent someone to address the issue, but it was never actually fixed. The most upsetting thing about our stay was that I left my rehearsal bouquet on a shelf in the closet when we left. The Omni threw it out. It had silver bells on it from my mother's bridal shower 45 years ago & wooden ornaments that I wanted to keep. When I called to ask about it, the manager confirmed that the person cleaning our room did not follow protocol in throwing it away, but that it was gone forever. You would think a hotel that hosts so many wedding couples would be more careful not to discard potentially sentimental/meaningful items. When I mentioned all of our frustrations to the manager she apologized & thanked me for my feedback, but clearly didn't care. I would caution wedding couples against this hotel.

    Sent on 10/06/2015

    Omni Charlottesville Hotel's reply:

    Dear Kimberly,
    Thank you very much for posting your comments on WeddingWire. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Getting married and coordinating a wedding is a very big undertaking, and the last thing our staff intended to do was to make you feel unwelcome during this busy time. We pride ourselves on creating a sense of hospitality, and clearly we failed to create this experience for you. Regarding your specific concerns, we have spoken with the overnight staff regarding your late night arrival, and the fact that their assistance is critical to our guests after a long day of travel. As for your rehearsal bouquet, we have addressed this also with the Housekeeping staff. We carefully clean and appropriately log items in our lost and found (if they are left behind after a guest departure). Your bouquet should have been logged as such, and you should have been contacted that we have the item you left behind. We are deeply sorry that this did not happen. Additionally, your interaction with the Housekeeping Manager clearly left you with an impression that there was no sense of “caring” on our behalf. Please know that this is not the type of typical service or sense of caring that our staff is recognized for. We pride ourselves on our high quality service and product. Our associates do genuinely have a sense of responsibility and caring for each and every guest. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies to you and your new husband. Thank you for allowing us to contact you directly to further discuss these issues. We want to do everything in our power to welcome you back to the hotel and provide the excellent service that the Omni is known for in Charlottesville.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review