Old South Studios Reviews

29 | Charlotte, NC
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Old South Studios

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

29

22 User photos

Order by:
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breathtaking photos!

    Where do begin! I first met Julie and her team in 2014 when she photographed one of my girlfriends weddings. She has since photographed so many of my friends, and I knew immediately Old South Studios would be my photography team one day. My husband and I got married September 29th and we came home to find our entire photo gallery waiting! Every. single. photo is beyond what we could have imagined. Dana photographed my wedding and captured the most tender and loving moments between our family and friends and will be memories I will cherish forever. I used OSS for our engagement photos, bridal portraits, and wedding and simply wouldn't trust anyone else to capture such special moments. Julie even showed up on my wedding day on her way to photograph another wedding just to say hello. She is professional, prompt, and a total boss-woman in managing such a phenomenal studio. Working with Julie and her amazing team has been a pleasure.

    Sent on 10/16/2018

    Old South Studios's reply:

    Oh sweet, Laura! We have loved working with you so much! Your trust in our team means the world to us. You have been a dream bride!
  • C

    Carol · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie Staley with Old South Studios is the BEST Photographer Ever

    I will say right off that Julie Staley with Old South Studios is the BEST photographer you can find! After finalizing our wedding planner and our venue, The Duke Mansion, the first vendor our wedding planner (who has worked as an event planner for over 14 years) said we needed to secure was our photographer, Julie at Old South Studios. Knowing how important it is to have an A+ photographer, my daughter, her fiancé, my husband and I all met with Julie. We knew immediately Julie was the one. She not only does exquisite work, but her eye for picture taking is amazing--she is truly a master at her craft. Her pictures are timeless (not trendy)--something you can look at in 20-30 years and still love.

    As important as that was to us, the real thing that hooked us was Julie's personality. She instantly makes you feel like her best friend--and she will take care of you. As busy as she is photographing weddings, she has the ability to make you feel like you are her only wedding! She is available to help you select your other vendors, answer any wedding related questions, and help you with a timeline to make sure everything goes smoothly. My daughter truly felt like Julie was her best friend and--made a girl who did not really want to be the center of attention--feel totally relaxed and happy because she knew Julie had everything under control.

    Julie took Emily and Nick's engagement pictures--and they could not have been better. Julie has a way of capturing the perfect scenes and facial expressions for both formal photos--as well as informal photos--and she takes the stress out of having your picture taken--making it a fun event. Next, Julie took Emily's bridal portraits at The Duke Mansion--again PERFECT! She is so organized, knows exactly what to capture and exactly where to capture it. Julie was so professional that on-lookers thought it was a photo shoot for a model. She made Emily so at ease--and all the pictures were more than beautiful.

    Next--the wedding day! Emily, and especially Nick, were not too sure whether they wanted a first look or not--and after talking to Julie, she convinced them that they would be glad they had a first look. Wow, was she right!!! As a result, the bride and groom ended up having two first looks--one before the wedding and one at the wedding. Nick said he was so nervous before the first look that he could not have imagined having it at the wedding. It was the best decision ever! Julie also captured special mother and bride photos as well as Emily's first look with her dad--which was ever so special!! All the wedding ceremony and reception pictures were perfect and taken so quickly--no one missed a beat! Julie even made sure to capture great shots of all the children in the wedding, stunning night shots of the couple outside in the courtyard, final dance pictures of the couple, and excellent shots of the couple leaving at the end of the night.

    We will be forever indebted to Julie and Alyssa for capturing everything perfectly. And to top it off, Julie sent out a sneak peek of some of the pictures the day after the wedding--and she had ALL the wedding pictures completed and to us within two weeks of the wedding. I would have given Julie and Alyssa 100 stars if we could have. After seeing them photograph our wedding, it is easy to see why Julie is called upon to capture daughters two and three for some families. Julie runs a great business (Old South Studios) and is truly the BEST of the BEST! I can promise you that you will not be disappointed in any way!!!

    Sent on 10/16/2018

    Old South Studios's reply:

    Oh sweet Carol!!! I adored working with you and Emily! Your family was so gracious and kind and telling your story was MY PLEASURE!!!! Thank you so much for your kind review. It means the world to us!
  • M

    McKenzie · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring an A+ photographer was top on my list when it came to picking vendors for our wedding. As soon as we met Julie at the consultation I knew Old South was a perfect fit. Julie even emailed me a list of other vendors she would recommend. From the beginning Julie made me feel like I was her only bride. She is super responsive, creative, organized and kind! We went with Alisha to photograph our engagement pictures and wedding pictures. She also did my bridal portraits. Alisha IS THE BEST! We loved getting to work with her prior to the wedding. We even did some fall pictures with Alisha. She made us feel beyond comfortable in front of the camera and made sure we looked 100%! We received the link to our wedding photos less than 2 weeks after the wedding! We got to enjoy looking at them on our honeymoon. We were absolutely wowed by how beautiful the photos were! Alisha captured so many beautiful moments without anyone realizing she was even there! Pictures last a lifetime and I am SO HAPPY we went with Old South to capture our big day!

    Sent on 06/14/2018

    Old South Studios's reply:

    We cannot thank you enough for your sweet review!!!! We have SO loved working with you! Alisha raved about you as much as you do about her. Such a dreamy wedding!
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our experience working with Old South Studios! Julie was so organized and responsive to all of our questions. I love how Old South is set up- they have a staff of editors who take over after the photographers come back from the event. This means that you get your photos back so quickly. We got our wedding photos back after just 2 weeks! She recommended the perfect photographer for us- Lindsey. We worked with her on our engagement photos and on our wedding day. The pictures came out better than we ever could have hoped. Lindsey captured our romantic vision perfectly. We will cherish these photos for the rest of our lives. I cannot recommend Julie and her staff enough!

    Sent on 11/07/2017
  • H

    Holly · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When planning my wedding photography was the most important element because this would be the only way to remember my wedding day!

    From the minute I contacted Julie about potentially shooting our wedding she went above and beyond to ease my type-a planner nerves. She had a solution to my every question and always has a back up plan. She even convinced me to do a bridal portrait which ended up saving my entire wedding day because my dress was suddenly 3 sizes too big and I would have never known had I not tried it on before the wedding.

    Alisha is the most calming force that instantly calmed my nerves from the minute we met. My bridal portraits were a nightmare with an ill fitting dress and she went above and beyond to still make me feel comfortable in front of the camera. On the wedding she rangled a huge wedding party and captured every moment on the dance floor. I still cry every time I look at these pictures. Every. Single. Time.

    Book Old South. This is by far the easiest decision I made when planning a wedding and I will forever sing their praises to any and all brides I meet!

    Sent on 01/26/2018
  • J

    Julia · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old South Studios is the wedding photographer of your dreams. They product is second to none and their turnaround time is unbeatable. You will be in the best hands with Julie and her team!

    Sent on 01/02/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Old South Studios on Instagram and thought all of their photos were gorgeous! We went to meet with Julie about booking our day and we absolutely loved Old South! Julie was so easy to work with and recommended so many awesome venders. Alisha and Alyssa were our photographers and we couldn't be happier. All of these ladies know what they are doing and make sure to get even the smallest details captured! They were all so professional and fun! They had a timeline in place that made the day so organized for our photos. We absolutely loved them and would highly recommend them to anyone in need of a photographer!!! Thank you again for letting us relive our day through these perfect pictures!!

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough positive things about Old South Studios! Pleasant experience from start to finish. Julie was always so quick to get back to me about every appointment and question. She went out of her way to text me information including advice on vendors and ideas on engagement sessions. Her pre-wedding preparation and wedding day timeline was a huge help and made the day go smoothly for all involved including vendors and family. Dana did a wonderful job on our engagement session and wedding. The pictures came back beautiful and so fast! Choosing Old South was one of the best wedding decisions we made!!!!

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • E

    Eulalie · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best phone calls of the wedding planning was the one we made to Julie. She gave us a preferred vendor list which was a huge help since the MOB lives out of town. Lindsey and she calculated a wedding day time table that made the day fun and calm, and now we have fabulous pictures to prove it. They became members of our family on May 6, 2017. I cannot say enough good things about their personalities, work ethic, and creativity. Use them, and rest assured that you are in the best hands possible. They do traditional and artistic poses with equal perfection.

    Sent on 06/21/2017
  • M

    Mary Katherine · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spending a rainy day flipping through wedding pictures, and I am still amazed about how perfectly our wedding day was captured more than a year later. I received my bridal portrait images within days of the session, and my husband and I received all of our wedding images while we were still on our honeymoon! Julie and Lindsey were great to work with. Could not recommend these ladies enough!

    Sent on 09/15/2018
  • K

    Kacie · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted the best photographer in Charlotte for my wedding and I got so much more. Julie and Alyssa are truly amazing. They will take care of you every step of the way through planning the wedding and going out of their way to be sure your day is the best day ever. Julie will meet with you personally and discuss all the details. She is always available to answer questions. The pictures from my wedding were nothing short of gorgeous. Every. single. image. was amazing! I will always recommend Old South Studios to every bride I know. You will not be disappointed! Rest assured this is THE BEST wedding photography company!

    Sent on 06/28/2017
  • W

    Whitley · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW is the best word that comes to mind when I think of Old South Studios! If you are looking for a studio that will capture your day as you see it, you NEED to book them!! They are definitely a hot commodity, so book them at least a year in advance!! Julie was the first person I came in contact with when looking for a photographer for our June wedding. She responded within a few hours and made me feel so comfortable and even more excited for my big day! We booked Dana to shoot our engagement pictures and wedding and we were SO impressed! She is so wonderful and talented and made us laugh the entire time! I seriously have nothing but great things to say about this company. I wish I could give them more than just five stars because they are truly a one of a kind group of women! Love you guys! Do yourself a favor and book them now!!!! :)

    Sent on 07/16/2016
  • K

    Kyanna · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old South Studio is amazing! Julie was great to work with right from the beginning! They are so organized and are really looking out to make sure your day is Amazing! Autumn was my photographer and she was amazing also! She was fun to work with and captured amazing moments from our wedding. The photos turned out amazing and there are lots of them! Make sure you book early with them they will go fast!

    Sent on 07/14/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Old South was the best decision I ever made. I have never met anyone who loves her job more than Julie Staley. Her passion radiates and she has a way of making everyone around her feel comfortable and confident. Not only is she highly organized, reliable and professional, she is a genuinely wonderful person. She will also fix your veil when it gets crooked, learn the names of your bridal party and family. climb on tables and chairs, or lay on the ground in the mud to get the best pictures, and she does all of these things because she cares SO much about her brides. Julie and Alyssa photographed my engagement pictures, bridal portraits and wedding. God has blessed them with so much talent. I would recommend Old South to anyone who is searching for the BEST wedding photographer.

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I start!? The way I came upon Julie and her studio was truly kismet. My wedding date had been booked for over year by another bride and when I reached out to Julie (only months before our wedding) that bride had moved her wedding date and ours was now available.. I couldn't believe it! I absolutely adore Julie and her team at Old South Studios! And I wasn't the only one... I received complement after complement on my photographer and even had some bridesmaids wanting to have an event just so they could hire her!! She is fun, professional, and talented! I felt amazing and so comfortable with her. I cannot stop looking at all of the photos. She captured all the moments you never want to forget. Thank you for helping in making our day UNFORGETTABLE!!

    Sent on 07/17/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank Julie and Alisha enough for how amazing they did with our wedding photos!!! They were just stunning in every way and I find myself looking at them a couple times a day :) Julie is such a fun, energetic, bubbly person that knows how to find the most perfect backdrop, lighting or pose to just make it the perfect shot. I love her enthusiasm and how efficient she is with photos, keeping things moving, but not making you feel rushed or worried. She has a way of keeping you calm, cool and collected so you can enjoy your day and know she has everything taken care of. All the little details that she gets are wonderful as well. She captures those special little touches as well as the action dancing shots that totally catch people off guard and are hilarious to see later on. She's also super fast at getting your photos back to you. It literally took her just a couple weeks if that to send the link to us....not a month or two like other photographers, she's quick AND amazing. Totally worth every penny. Love you Julie, thank you and Alisha for everything!!

    Sent on 05/09/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Julie and her team by my personal trainer. The day i was to have my consultation with Julie I realized i had stopped at her office a month before my actual appointment, silly me had written down the wrong month. Julie didn't hesitate and came running to her office and sat down with me that day. I booked Julie for a boudoir shoot and I was so happy i did. Everything turned our beyond amazing. She made me feel super comfortable the entire time we were shooting. Before shooting she provided me a list of ideas of what to bring and also emailed me so i couldn't get her opinion on outfits. She provides the hotel room for the shoot as well as hair/make-up on site. If you thinking of what to get your future husband as a wedding gift, a boudoir album is a great idea! My husband was beyond happy with his gift. You wont be disappointed to book Julie whether its for your boudoir shoot or a wedding.

    Sent on 05/16/2016
  • A

    Anne · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Listen Here Brides-
    There is NO ONE else that even comes close to the quality and professionalism of Old South Studios. With sheer enthusiasm, I whole-heartedly encourage every bride to choose Old South Studios to capture their priceless moments. They were one of the first vendors I selected in my planning process and were nothing short of a blessing. In retrospect I realize I had no idea what I was looking for other than photo quality when searching for a wedding photographer (boy, was I wrong). Once I met the ladies at Old South I realized they were doing far more than taking pictures. They became the my lens to one of life's greatest and most intimate events. I trusted them whole-heartedly and in the aftermath, the pictures spoke for themselves. We got them back 2 weeks after our wedding!! That is unheard of!

    Without question, they provide the most outstanding customer service of any business with which I have ever worked. Period. Their organization and responsiveness is superior. If you have a question or concern, it will be answered instantly. Their payment process is smooth, easy and assists you with your planning and budgeting. Above all, their warmth, fun-loving personality and genuine approach makes them more of a friend at your wedding than a vendor. So, I promise- you won't regret it!

    Sent on 05/01/2016
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give them 10 stars, I would! Between Julie's incredible assistance (and awesome advice!) on the front end to Dana and Allison's finished product, it was a dream working with Old South Studios. Julie was so responsive that not 20 minutes had passed between my completing my inquiry on their website to her calling and reaching out to me! I believe the best part about Old South is they are not just merely photographers in the moment, but they want to help you tell your story in the most all encompassing way. They do this by taking the time to get to know the people on the other side of the lens and I believe this is something that sets them apart from any other photographer I've ever worked with. Our big day FLEW by and the next thing I know, we're on our honeymoon... All I could think about after the gifts were unwrapped and the vacation was over, was that I HAD to see our photos to be able to relive the day in all its glory! And sure enough within two weeks, our album was through editing and the finished product was absolutely stunning! I cannot rave enough about how wonderful our experience was with Old South Studios - I'm so thankful to them for their passion in what they do as well as for them merely being a joy to work with. I 1000% recommend them!!

    Sent on 05/01/2016
  • User5565030 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    - Julie with Old South Studios is a joy and pleasure to work with! After issues with our previous less experienced photographer, we were so blessed to have found Old South Studios at the last minute in our planning season. At our first meeting she made us feel so welcomed and put at ease at her companies abilities and commitment to capturing and producing photographs that her clients are proud of and happy with. Her customer service is above reproach and I honestly felt like she cared about me, my fiancé, and our wedding. She wanted to select the perfect team to capture our special day, and with Autumn and Aleta they did just that! Even though we didn’t have the opportunity to have an engagement or bridal session with Old South, they were very comfortable to work with on our wedding day and we felt like they captured every important memory of the day (including a few bridal and romantic shots). Julie’s teams work to capture the moments between people and that was very important to us. We love their use of light and having the creative and unique pictures, but we wanted to have pictures of our family celebrating our wedding with us, and that is what we got. Their level of professionalism and commitment to their clients is exactly what we were looking for and it was worth the extra money for a good photography company. Take it from me, you will get what you pay for and if photographs are important to you and your family, go with a professional company. And if you go with Old South Studios, you will be extremely happy with the results!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • C

    Cayla · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was an amazing throughout the whole experience! Best vendor I had and she was worth every penny. Not only did she make sure everything was perfect on the big day but her and her team also did an amazing job capturing the most important moments! She was also someone I could turn to for advice on anything needed. I have received so many comments on how beautiful my pictures are ("they look like they are a magazine spread!")!! Book her, you will not regret your decision; she works MAGIC and is the sweetest, most calming person you will meet!!

    Sent on 07/21/2015
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie and her staff are incredible. I can't say enough wonderful things about how they operate as a business and the talent they have. Julie made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and played a huge role in organizing our wedding day timeline. Old South goes above and beyond to capture meaningful moments and does not take this responsibility lightly. I highly recommend Old South Studios to anyone wanting to have great memories of their big day!

    Sent on 06/24/2015
  • User4182014 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The weeks leading up to the wedding, Julie helped create structure around family portraits and was willing to hop on the phone to finalize any last details. Alyssa and Dana were great to work with! My husband and I both had nieces and nephews in photos and both Alyssa & Julie went the extra mile in making sure they were smiling. Old South Studios staff is so personable, easy to talk to, they were willing to be flexible when things didn't go according to plan and we had no control, and they were so incredibly creative with our shots. Julie and her team are incredibly talented photographers and we feel lucky that Old South was able to capture our big day.

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough positive things to say about Old South Studios! They are absolutely amazing to work with and from the minute I stepped into their office for the initial meeting, I knew that they were the right photographer for me. I knew that photography was going to be one of the biggest things I wanted at my wedding and Julie and her team went above and beyond, more than I could have ever expected. Her passion for her work truly shows through her pictures and I would recommend Old South Studios without hesitation to anyone who asked me. She truly cares for her clients and makes you feel like you are her top priority at all times and her turn around time for bridal portraits, engagement photos and your actual wedding is incredible. I can only hope to work with her more in the future and cannot thank Julie and her team enough for giving me wedding memories that I will cherish forever!!!

    Sent on 06/02/2015
  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive things about Julie and her team at Old South. Throughout the whole wedding planning process, Julie was there with us every step of the way. The quality of the photos were absolutely stunning and we have so many memories that will last us a lifetime. At each of our photo shoots (engagement, bridal, and wedding), Julie was completely in control to make sure we got every picture we wanted. We cannot wait to use her again in the future!!!

    Sent on 03/23/2014