Weddings

Occasionally Cake Reviews

Occasionally Cake View more information

30 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 30
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • J
    Jaime Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Occasionally Cake is outstanding! My wedding cake matched my vision to a tee, it was gorgeous and delicious! PLUS they were able to accommodate some of my guests dietary restrictions with a gluten free cake. I also LOVE the fact that I was able to purchase a smaller show piece cake and an additional kitchen cake with identical flavors to meet my budget.

    I from Alexandria and got married there but I live out of state, I had scheduled a tasting while I was in town and it had to be cancelled due to an illness of the person I was meeting. I called and explained to them I had to meet that weekend as that was the only time I was in town. The owner, Sabrina, rearranged her personal schedule to keep my appointment and was able to meet with me in between church and her nephew's birthday party. I was super impressed with their professionalism and their dedication to their clients.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 06/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Delicious cake! All of our guests loved the taste of the cake. Bride and Groom were pleased with delivery, professionalism, and appearance of cake. It was beautiful & delicious!
  • User1729305 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sabrina and Tracy were a delight to work with. They made the wedding cake process so easy from the very beginning. They were very responsive and answered all of my questions right away. We had a dessert table outfitted by Occasionally Cake. They made our wedding cake, cupcakes and macaroons. All of which were to die for! Sabrina worked with us to customize the flavors and worked with us to accommodate some dietary (gluten-free!) restrictions. Our guests are still raving about how good these desserts were (even a few who don't like cake were very happy with the macaroons)! The cake was moist, the frosting was amazing and the macaroons were perfect! We were very happy with how everything turned out- better then we expected. We will use Occasionally Cake again in the future. We have already stopped by the shop for a cupcake since our wedding! We recommend you check out Occasionally Cake for your wedding or any event!
  • MLinVA
    Monica Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As Old Town residents, we support local business and Occasionally Cake did not disappoint. Our wedding cake was beautiful AND delicious. We even bought mini cupcakes for our dinner event the evening before. Their selection is exhaustive and Marcia was a pleasure to work with.
  • B
    Bonnie Married on 06/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We worked with Marcia from the Richmond Highway location. She was AWESOME! We provided her with some basic guidelines for our cake and she delivered a beautiful and absolutely delicious cake! Occasionally Cake has a huge selection of flavors to chose from...we went with one a bit unique for a wedding- banana fosters, and it was a HUGE hit with the guests. It was so delicious....so good that since our wedding I've gone back just to get cupcakes because it was so amazing! Also, compared to other bakeries, the value for your money here is outstanding. We were expecting to get hit with a huge bill, but it was so reasonably priced. Total win! Definitely consider them! they deliver quality, beautiful, and delicious cakes.
  • J
    J Married on 11/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Awesome cake. It looked and tasted terrific. Everybody loved it. I got lots of complements on the cake. There was a minor blip as I had been coordinating viia email and phone with one person (I was in a foreign country and coming into town only one day before wedding) who had to abruptly depart, but the rest of the team picked up my order, got it locked in and finished it up with no fuss. The design was as I mentally visualized and chocolate chip cake was a big hit!
  • D
    Diane Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Delicious!!! My husband and I did cupcake taste of our own sampling different cupcake places around the DC Metro area. Of the ones we sampled that had what I can only refer to as normal size cupcakes, Occasionally Cake came out on top. I worked primarily with Marcia and Sabrina at the location in Old Town. Both were fantastic. Ultimately we ordered cupcakes and a 6" round cake to cut into. We were so please with the heart designs on our cake. We didn't make any suggestions one way or the other about what we wanted the cake to look like, but it was beautiful. I can't wait for our one-year anniversary and other occasions so I can use them again.
  • Corrinne
    Corrinne Married on 10/07/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved our cake! Holy cow I am still in love with the pistachio cardamom and bananas foster flavors! Sabrina worked with us and it was delicious!
  • C
    Casey Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a cupcake tower for our wedding! Sabrina was so great at helping us pick out our flavors and making everything possible for us! Great service- we still visit every weekend to get our cupcake fix :)
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin Married on 09/02/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough good things about Marcia and her team at Occasionally Cake. My husband (then boyfriend) and I discovered them through an online coupon (groupon or living social) and immediately fell in love with their snickerdoodle cupcakes. Even though we weren't engaged yet, we turned and looked at each other and said "This is what we need to have at our wedding." Once we were engaged a few months later, we set up a tasting with Marcia. She was very responsive and totally willing to customize our cupcakes and cutting cake to be whatever we wanted. She even implemented a custom flavor I created and totally nailed it! We also asked that the cupcakes have much less frosting than they typically do, and they delievered. We were so happy with our cake and cupcakes, and we will definitely do business with them again!
  • J
    Jen Married on 07/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Made a perfect color match to my flowers. Well done!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 07/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved our cake! We did something a bit different. The theme of our wedding was Champagne and Berries. Therefore, we had a cake on every table sitting on a champagne glass. These were our centerpieces. We also had a cake for the cake cutting ceremony. Two of the cakes at the table were written on to wish a Happy Birthday to my niece and a Happy Anniversary to my brother in law. Needless to say we had a lot of cakes. Marcia did a fantastic job helping us figure out how we were going to execute our idea and carry it out. She actually adjusted the delivery time to make sure that the cakes arrived closer to ceremony time so hey were not sitting out for to long since the Country Club did not have space to refrigerate our cake and 16 additional cakes. We also were able to have multple flavors for our cakes. They had a champagne icing which allowed us to have a Pink Champagne, Bellini, Watermelon, and Rasberry Lemonaide cake. Perfect for summer and great match for our theme. Marcia also did a phenominal job on a grooms cake for my husband. She is amazing and we wil be using them in the future for sure. We can not resist their cupcakes:)
  • T
    Tracy Married on 04/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We bought wedding cupcakes from Occasionally Cake. They were priced right and had an incredible list of flavor options. Marcia was enthusiastic and fun to work with. We really enjoyed our wedding cupcakes and our guests did, too. I would also note that while we didn't go with a traditional wedding cake, when we visited the shop we saw beautiful, inventive cake creations on display.
  • JKRuoff
    Kelsie Married on 02/18/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Occasionally Cake twice: Once for the cupcakes at my bridal shower, and again for cupcakes at our rehearsal dinner. We were very pleased with the cupcakes for both events. Not only are the cupcakes delicious, they're beautiful. The women running the shop always got back to me very quickly (most discussions happened over email). I would recommend Occasionally Cake to anyone looking for great cupcakes :)
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey Married on 05/22/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I randomly came across this cute little cake shop off of Rt.1 and it was the best thing that ever happened while planning the wedding. The cake is DELICIOUS and they have so many flavors (if they don't already have it they will create it). The prices are reasonable and you can have as many layers and different types of flavors as you want. Our cake was beautiful and it tasted as good as it looked! We loved this place so much we got a bridal shower cake, grooms cake and cupcakes for the rehearsal dinner from them. Get your cake from here, you will not regret it!
  • T
    Tamara Married on 11/07/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sabrina and Marcia took so good care of our needs that our cake was flawless. They even created a new cake flavor for my wedding cake and it was delicious. You can not go wrong with choosing Occassionally Cake as your vendor.
  • L
    Loren Married on 05/16/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I met Sabrina because my business partner and I planned Sabrina's 30th Birthday. I found out that she is a cake designer and I thought to ask her to design our wedding cake. The cake she provided us was beautiful and delicous. Everyone raved about her cakes. Sabrina was very responsive with our questions and requests and I can't wait to use Occasionally Cake again!!!

  • J
    Jennifer Married on 03/01/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best. Cake. Ever. My husband and I went to Sabrina and Marcia before our wedding without really knowing what we wanted. They were able to find a cake that fit our theme and personalities perfectly, giving us the unique centerpiece for our reception we were looking for. And the taste. The taste of their cakes is absolutely amazing...the perfect balance of moist cake, icing, and flavor. Incredible! Guests had two and three slices until there was none left. We have been back to their shop countless times for cupcakes, cake truffles, and even my husband's 30th birthday cake!
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Occasionally Cake was perfect for our wedding. We didn't want a large wedding cake, instead we wanted a small cutting cake and then cupcakes for our guests to eat, and Occasionally Cake was so easy and enjoyable to work with throughout the process. The flavors they offer are fantastic, and the cake/cupcakes looked great as well! They delivered to our venue in Old Town Alexandria and everything went smoothly. It was so great having cupcakes instead of a large cake and I'm so glad we went with Occasionally Cake!
  • L
    Lydia Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have been happier with our wedding cake from Occasionally Cake. Although our cake design was fairly simple, it was very important to us that our cake tasted great. Occasionally Cake offers tons of traditional and unique flavor options. It was incredibly hard to decide on a flavor since every one we taste tested was delicious; however, we finally chose snickerdoodle, which was huge hit! Every slice was eaten and we had numerous people tell us how much they enjoyed the cake afterwards. In addition to the quality of the cake, Occasionally Cake’s pricing was very reasonable. They allowed us to have a smaller cake on display for the full serving price and two additional cakes they referred to as “kitchen cakes” at a reduced serving price to meet our tight budget. You won’t regret using Occasionally Cake for your wedding cake or cupcakes!
  • E
    Erin Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys were great and the cupcakes we ordered were so yummy! We had many unique flavors and we are so glad we went with them! They even made it easy for us to incorporate our custom cake topper :)
  • R
    Rochelle Married on 09/13/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake was delicious!! So happy we went with occasionally cakes!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 03/26/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    WOW! The cakes at Occasionally Cake are amazing. My husband and I ordered our wedding cake and rehersal cake from Occasionally Cake. We worked with Marcia from the beginning - she was fantastic. I rated her a 4.5 out of 5 for responsivness not because she does not respond but simply because she doesnt have the fastest turn around for your emails and this day in age we send an email and expect a response like a text message - I wanted to express that the response wont be the fastest but in this case - have patience - I emailed Marcia once and it took a couple days for her to contact me back but Marcia called me instead of emailing and discussed every detail I wanted down to where to place the cake at the reception and this was after she had already met with me in person a couple times. I was a paranoid bride and she was able to give me comfort. She really took the time to care about our day and showed me over and over it matterd to her that we were happy. The cake was INCREDIBLE - try their Pink Champagne. We had the Elvis cake for the rehersal and a four tired three different flavored wedding cake. Marcia constructed our dog - exactly how he looks out of frosting - everyone at the reception raved about the cake. I am incredibly critical about cake and food at big events - I have only had one wedding cake I liked and I have been to a lot of weddings - Occasionally Cake was able to not only meet my hopes for our wedding cake but exceeded our expectations! I am just trying to think of another event that I would need a cake so I can order the next cake from Occasionally Cake.
  • User2270155 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Our wedding cake was a hit! My mom said it was the best cake she's ever had. It was a fun process to decide what flavor we wanted our cake to be as we sampled different cupcakes and then they sent us home with more samples to try again later! They were quick to respond to emails and listened to my ideas. We'll be back to get another cake for our one year anniversary as we decided to get a fresh cake and not freeze the top.
  • A
    Emily Married on 09/06/2015
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We knew we wanted to use Occasionally Cake for our wedding cupcakes as we'd always loved visiting their shop and enjoyed all their awesome flavors! We reached out to them a month or two before the wedding and managed to set up a time for my fiance to go in and taste some flavors. They're kind of limited on tasting times, so my guy just brought some cupcakes home for me to try.
    Our guests loved the cupcakes - we got the mini ones so we could have more flavors!
    We didn't get a cake from them for this particular occasion, but I've seen them before at other events and they're awesome!