Oakleaf Cakes Reviews

63 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

63 Reviews for Oakleaf Cakes

Recommended by 97%

63
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9
63 Oakleaf Cakes Reviews
Sort by:
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Helpful, Attentive, and Amazing Tasty Designs

    My husband and I hired Oakleaf after a year search for the perfect bakery to make our wedding cake. We fell in love with Oakleaf for many reasons, their cakes/frostings are delicious, they were able to accommodate for dietary and allergy restrictions, and they were very easy to work with. They made a beautiful two tier wedding cake and 150 cupcakes for our big day and worked with me to create a surprise pokemon grooms cake for my husband. They were helpful and patient when I contacted them for the 3rd time to change cupcake flavors and put together a beautiful display table for the wedding day featuring the cupcakes and cake. Everyone at the wedding loved the cupcakes and asked who our baker was! Cannot recommend Oakleaf highly enough!

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Oakleaf Cakes for our wedding and were incredibly impressed! The team was very responsive and professional, and the cake and cupcakes were DELICIOUS and absolutely beautiful. The initial "cake tasting" experience was a bit underwhelming, but overall I would highly recommend anyone in the Boston area to work with them. The price was extremely reasonable, and we had so much flexibility with our cake/cupcake flavor combinations, designs, etc. Our guests loved the variety and my husband and I sneak back to Oakleaf's brick & mortar location once in awhile to try new flavors that we didn't have at our wedding. Thank you, Oakleaf!

    Oakleaf Cakes 1
    Oakleaf Cakes 2
    Oakleaf Cakes 3
  • G

    Gina · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience with Oakleaf. They followed my ideas perfectly and created something I couldn't even imagine myself. Not only was our cake beautiful it tasted incredible. Everyone still talks about how delicious the cake was. My favorite part was that I was able to have each tier a different flavor combination. I was so shocked when I saw it because it was better than I dreamed! I'm so happy that we choose Oakleaf.

  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we had Oakleaf make our wedding cake! As with every part of our wedding, we were initially worried about the cost, but after doing some research they turned out to be priced similarly to other bakeries and more than happy to work within our budget on the design. We went in for a consultation and tasting several months before our wedding and were so impressed that we put a deposit down on the spot! We showed them some pictures of what we wanted and they came up with a gorgeous design for an optical-illusion-inspired cake.

    Our cake turned out to be the single most-photographed thing at our reception (aside from maybe the bride and groom!). Not only was it beautiful, it was also delicious, and we got many compliments on how good everything tasted! I think many people assume that wedding cakes are usually pretty flavorless, but we knew we made the right choice when we heard our guests say "wow, this tastes like something!” The bakery gives you lots of different options for cake and buttercream flavors (which you get to try beforehand), and they make their own fondant! I am only sad that I got just a few mouthfuls in while people kept coming to talk to me at the end of our reception. I’ll definitely be coming back to the bakery to enjoy some more in cupcake form!

    Another plus is that they were very organized, professional, and responsive. Once we had our contract and payment sorted out, it was all in their hands, and they dealt with everything. It makes a huge difference in wedding planning when you have one less thing to worry about!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was SO good. The tasting was amazing and incredibly helpful, and they were great about customizing to exactly what we wanted. We got so many compliments on how delicious and beautiful our cake was.

  • G

    Gizem · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oakleaf made an incredible vegan cake and cupcakes for our wedding for ~65 guests. We had their red velvet cake with coconut frosting and an assortment of their three vegan flavors (chocolate, vanilla, red velvet) for the cupcakes. Everyone really enjoyed them, and many were in disbelief about how good vegan cupcakes could be! Oakleaf delivered and very nicely set up the cake and cupcakes on our cupcake stand and even set up our (homemade) cake toppers for us. We opted for a fairly simple but elegant frosting design for the cupcakes, which worked quite well, especially when set up on the 3-dimensional stand. We also really appreciated their patience answering many questions related to food allergies!

  • User4666799 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ordered a simple 7" grab-and-go gourmet red velvet cake over the phone for our wedding (we just needed a small cake to cut and had other desserts out for the guests), it was delicious and not to mention picture perfect! I briefly described what I was looking for (gold to light pink ombré frosting) and wasn't sure how it would look prior to the wedding (since I was planning from out of state) but it's like they read my mind! The cake was simple, elegant and exactly how I had imagined it would look! If you're looking for a beautiful, tastey and budget friendly place for a cake I would definitely recommend this shop!

  • User4323883 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Instead of a wedding cake we had cupcakes from Oakleaf Cakes. Oakleaf Cakes did an amazing job! Guests couldn't stop raving about the cupcakes at the reception and days after. The flavors available allow you to create some great flavor combinations that are exciting, not just your typical vanilla cake and vanilla frosting. We had three different flavors. Guests kept coming back for more, I'm glad we followed their recommendation and ordered about 20% more cupcakes than guests. It was the perfect amount.

  • J

    Julia · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wedding at Four Seasons, Boston on June 6, 2015. Oakleaf did the best work ever on this cake that we had requested them to make from a picture. It was 5 tiers with cascading purple flowers. Absolutely gorgeous and they exceeded our expectations.

  • Meghan

    Meghan · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first came across Oakleaf Cakes when we were living in the area and strolled by one day on our way over to Fenway. We stopped in for some lemonade and a treat, and both were delicious! So, when we started wedding planning, I thought this may be a good place to consider for our cake.

    One of my husband’s favorite parts of wedding planning was the tastings, and Oakleaf did not disappoint. They prepared 6 cupcakes for us with different cake and frosting flavors. And we got to try the fondant as well, which was a yummy marshmallow flavor. All of the flavors were delicious, but we settled on a lemon cake with raspberry buttercream frosting. Since we wanted a yellow cake, we also had a layer of lemon buttercream frosting as the outer layer. I had found a picture of a beautiful tiered buttercream ruffle cake online that I presented for inspiration. We were quoted a reasonable price that was within budget. Also, Oakleaf had vegan options, so we ordered 6 cupcakes as well for our vegetarian guests.

    We weren’t looking to spend a lot on the cake but we wanted something tasty, and Oakleaf did not disappoint. The cake was beautiful and so yummy. We got so many compliments from our guests. We even enjoyed our top tier on our one month anniversary! Thank you Oakleaf!

  • J

    Jacquie · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was super easy. I was able to do everything online. The cake was both beautiful and delicious! It's the first time I've had fondant worth eating too. I wish I could have gotten a small topsy-turvy cake, but what I got was still beautiful.

  • User4358194 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oakleaf cakes was great. So many different flavors to choose from. We did not want to spend a lot of money on our cake, and we didn't have to with them. They made a very simple but elegant cake for us that was delicious. People loved it.

  • L

    Leigh-Anne · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were introduced to Amanda Oakleaf when given a sample cupcake to taste at a wedding vendor showroom in Boston. After looking at her designs online, I contacted the shop to schedule a tasting. The staff was friendly and professional from the moment of contact, all the way through the day of our wedding. Our tasting was DELICIOUS, truly that sealed the deal, cake should taste amazing and hers DOES! But we also really enjoyed the collaboration with Amanda to create the design of the cake, which was really important to me. We both felt that she listened to what we wanted and offered a lot of suggestions to make us feel that our cake would be one of a kind. The finished product was beautiful and as delicious as we knew it would be!

  • S

    Seung-Jin · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our cakes! We decided to go with cupcakes in four different flavors and a small cake to cut. The cakes were beautiful and delicious. We received so many compliments from our guests! I would highly recommend Amanda Oakleaf!!

  • P

    Portia · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Oakleaf made a completely custom surprise groom's cake for our rehearsal dinner- it was absolutely spectacular! I brought them a pile of pictures, images, and ideas that represented 28 years of my fiance's life. They were able to create the most amazing and delicious 4 tiered representation- it was beyond anything I could have imagined. Our guests were so impressed and my fiance was blown away. They have such a creative and fun team, they were a pleasure to work with, and they did an incredible job!

  • User3626289 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was AMAZING! Not only was everyone floored by the design and look of the cake - it was really incredibly delicious as well! I still have a few slices in my freezer that we hope to break out during our 1st year anniversary!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Amanda Oakleaf cakes was the perfect choice. The team there was very responsive and flexible. They helped me design a cake to my exact liking while working within a budget. The end result was a very beautiful cake that I was extremely happy with. The taste of the cake was excellent! My guests loved it. I'm so happy to have just a few left overs to enjoy it just a little more !

  • K

    Ken · Married on 03/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things about the whole experience, and give the highest possible recommendation for anyone who is looking for something memorable, both creative and delicious, NOT the typical tower of bland white fluff. Amanda understood what we were hoping for, and her team created an amazing cake that got a lot of "wows", comments like "best ever", and was even featured in the NY Times' Wedding section on 3/31/13.

  • User2883743 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There wasn't a spec of cake left. People could not stop talking about the best, moist, delicious cake/cupcake that they ever had at a wedding. We did a carrot cake for our top tier and I cannot stop eating it. It blows any other cake out there. Thank you Amanda!!!!!!

  • J

    Judy · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Oakleaf Cakes made us the best cake ever for our wedding!! We had a roller coaster cake, complete with a wedding topper of my husband and I in a coaster car. Amazing! Plus the cake was delicious and all everyone was talking about at our wedding!

  • S

    Steven · Married on 02/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake you created for our daughter's wedding surpassed our expectactions. Not only was it a work of art, it was absolutely delicious as well. It looked just like the photo on your website. Many pictures were taken before the cake quickly disappeared. Everyone oohed and aahed over the elegance and wonderful flavor. You delivered it to the restaurant well in advance of the arrival of the guests and it was displayed beautifully. We had to make wedding plans on very short notice and your staff was so helpful. This was no small feat, as you had to work with us long-distance. Thank you for adding so much to such a joyous occasion. Your creativity and attention to detail are unparalleled in our opinion. You are quite simply the best in Boston.

    Steve and Susie Tunning
    Middletown, OH

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda makes truly delicious cake. Our consultation with her was professional and pleasant, and she understood our needs and ideas perfectly. If you want a cake that looks good AND tastes good, I highly recommend her. Our cake was a three tiered apple and pumpkin cake. It was so moist and yummy that my husband got me a small apple cake from Amanda three months later for my birthday.

  • C

    Carlene · Married on 10/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda and her team created a stunning, creative and tasty wedding cake for our wedding at the artists for humanity epicenter. She created a visually arresting design based off our invitations that was just out of this world. Some of our guests initially thought it was not a real cake- it looked that unbelievable! It was a very collaborative design process and I appreciated that Amanda had a background in art- it definitely showed when it came to the cake. I also am continuing to get compliments on both the look and taste of the cake. I never thought I'd hear someone say "that fondant was so tasty!" but her homemade marshmallow fondant is pretty awesome and the cake and fillings were delicious. Payment and delivery was seamless- there was a whole team there making sure everything was just right and it was. I am not sure I can wait until our 1 year anniversary to eat the cake we froze....

  • H

    Heath · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's the day after my wedding and before I even finish opening my gifts or start writing the thank you cards, I want to post this review -- I am that impressed!

    I chose Amanda Oakleaf Cakes on a complete whim. My husband Ryan is really into cake shows, so I thought it might be kind of cool to leave my comfort zone of the vanilla cake + white icing three-tiered deal and get something a bit different. Ryan and I were getting married at a friend's beach house in Nahant, so we wanted something beach-themed. Amanda had some great ideas. What we ended up with was a massive cake (at least by regular standards) that matched the scenery, our invitations and captured our style. In fact, the sugar replica of Graves Light was completely on point and the figurines of the two grooms (these folks are very same-sex marriage friendly, we were well-treated) were really cute.

    Everyone at the wedding raved at how the cake looked and then raved again when they tasted it. The buttercream frosting was so creamy and even better with our graham cracker crumb "beach sand." Both the red velvet cake and the lemon cake (yes, I had two pieces) layers tasted wonderful.

    Amanda Oakleaf and team are a very talented bunch. If you want something special to make your occasion even more memorable, I think you should give them a call.

  • J

    Justin · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda and her staff made an amazing daisy cake for out wedding. People kept asking me if the cake was real, as it looked just that perfect. I would not hesitate to recommend Amanda as she and her staff are friendly, outgoing and do beautiful work.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review