Skip to main content
Weddings

Novella Photography Reviews

Novella Photography

Novella Photography

Brattleboro, VT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 20 Reviews
View more information

20 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 20
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

29 User photos

  • S
    Sean B. Getting married on 11/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Team!!

    Paulette and Matt are the absolute best. We hired them for our wedding this past June, and they were beyond wonderful to work with from start to finish. Obviously their photos speak for themselves - they capture the candid moments that are full of heart, which is what we wanted most. They're also just lovely to work with - kind, fun, and communicative! They sent us a sneak peak days after the wedding, and our full album in just 4 weeks. We can't stop looking at the galleries, and we're SO glad we hired them. Look no further - Novella is the dream team!!
  • Gregory
    Gregory D. Married on 08/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Energy, Great Pictures!

    We were the second couple in our family to choose Novella and we're so glad we did! They brought great energy to our wedding, and took some excellent photos too. They are fun, flexible, and took some awesome shots.
  • B
    Bec L. Married on 10/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute Perfection

    Oh my goodness. If we could give them a hundred stars we would!!! My partner and I could not have dreamed of a better duo to capture our wedding day. Not only are Matt and Paulette incredible photographers, they’re amazing people too. They helped make us feel incredible on our wedding day. My partner and I wanted our wedding photography to feel like captured memories, and that’s exactly what we got from Matt and Paulette. They truly captured our friends and family in such an amazing way, we will cherish these photos for our whole lives. We seriously cannot thank these two enough for how perfect they made our day. If you’re looking for not only gorgeous portraits but amazing candid moments, look no further than Novella Photography.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Kate
    Kate F. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible--we HIGHLY recommend hiring them!

    We were SO happy with Novella Photography! We hired Matt and Paulette for our wedding, they were fantastic. They were so professional, communicative, and easy to work with, and their photos were incredible. They did a great job of capturing everything we wanted to get photos of, and a lot of things we hadn’t thought of but were great to have. Their photos are stunning–they’re lively, really well framed, and genuinely captured the love and excitement of our wedding. They took a great mix of portraits, staged photos (family shots, etc.), and action shots that captured the energy of us and our guests. And they sent us a sneak peak of some of our favorite photos almost immediately after the wedding, so we could share them with family and friends right away while we were waiting for the full album (which we got a few weeks later). We genuinely have only great things to say about Novella Photography–do yourself a favor and hire them!!
  • Brooke
    Brooke S. Married on 09/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Novella Photography is the BEST choice!

    Matt and Paulette were simply the best wedding photographers we could have asked for! It can be so difficult to truly take in all the moments throughout the day, and we are so grateful to both of them for capturing our guests and moments that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. It has been a treat to go back and look through photos, each time we see something new! So many beautiful candids and shots, we don't have a single photo we don't love. Thank you Paulette and Matt!
  • Nicholas
    Nicholas D. Married on 08/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection

    WOW WOW WOW!!!! Absolutely wonderful experience with Matt and Paulette. They made everything so easy and set us up for perfect picture ideas. The pictures are top notch and they were a huge part of making our day great. Outside of the pictures, both Paulette and Matt helped us with so much. ABOVE AND BEYOND. It really felt like we had close friends doing our photography and helping us through the day, and we had never even met them before the wedding. They will undoubtedly make your day scores better! I love them both and get teary eyed thinking of how great they made our day.
  • M
    Michael R. Married on 10/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply blown away!!!

    I'm still overwhelmed by the quality of the work that Novella puts in to each wedding they shoot and that is certainly true of ours as well. They go above and beyond with every single detail. I've been a wedding DJ for almost a decade. I've dealt with every type of photographer, good and bad. In my experience, I have never come close to finding photographers with both talent and personality. They typically don't go hand in hand. Matt and Paulette are not only two of the most incredibly friendly people I've ever met, but also possess talent that most could only dream of having. The ability to capture the definition of what my wife and I have created over the last 6 years with ease boggles my mind. Our photos speak as though Novella has known us our entire lives. I wish I could better put into words the gift they have given us....the gift of precious memories captured more beautifully than I could've ever imagined!
  • Elena
    Elena C. Married on 10/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and Beyond

    Our 2020 wedding plans had to be completely reconfigured - luckily, Novella Photography was our one plan that did not change and one of our best decisions to date. Not only did they beautifully capture our small Halloween wedding ceremony, they went out of their way to accommodate our new covid-influenced needs. Matt & Paulette are knowledgeable, professional, incredibly talented, responsive to all questions / concerns, and just plain fun to be around. (It turns out that is an important quality in people you are asking to be at your wedding!)

    Novella’s ability to make the photo process feel so effortless really speaks to their experience and professionalism. No one was waiting around to take wedding party / family photos - Matt & Paulette found the perfect spots, and we were in and out and onto enjoying the day. Our guests were complimenting our choice in photographers even before they saw our photos.

    While Novella’s portfolio speaks for itself, seeing our day through their eyes was an experience in itself. Our wedding photos (which we received super quickly) are not only absolutely beautiful and fun - they completely capture the spirit of our special day. All our hard work, all the fun we had, all of our cherished guests are preserved in this stunning collection of photos. Our biggest problem is trying to choose which of all the incredible photos we want to display in our home!

    The whole experience was more than we could have hoped for - we have already rebooked Novella for our larger post-Covid celebration (whatever that will be)! We could not recommend them more highly.
  • C
    Collette R. Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    September 2020

    Paulette and Matt were amazing. We couldn't have imagined a better duo to capture our day. Photography was the most important to us, and we wanted to remember the raw moments and smiles. They did just that and more. They not only took photographs of those pesky but beautiful detailed moments and typical wedding party photos (in a great way), but they took a deeper look through what was happening around them. Their eyes found a story behind each interaction. It was also wonderful to see them not just take photos, but interact and really become one with the environment.

    Our guests and wedding party have mentioned since the wedding of how wonderful they were as well, describing how fun and professional they were. You will not go wrong with Paulette and Matt.

    Thank you so much for helping us remember our one and only moment. We'll just have to get married again to do it all over again with you both!
  • D
    Danielle G. Married on 07/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographers and amazing people!

    Matt and Paulette were an absolute pleasure to work with. They did an incredible job capturing our wedding and they are truly a joy to be around. The output of photos are breathtaking and they captured moments we didn't even know happened (or that anyone was watching). We cannot recommend them enough!
  • Matt
    Matt Married on 12/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Paulette and Matt are AWESOME. Definitely book them if you can.

    Paulette and Matt were AWESOME. Definitely book them if you can.

    I've been to a lot of weddings lately and these two are the BEST example of my favorite kind of wedding photographers... a C.P.C.... or Cute Photography Couple. The two of them work really well as a team because they're a couple in real life--and, in addition, it makes them really fun to work with. And they happen to be REALLY talented to boot.

    They honestly seemed so happy and to be having so much fun together shooting our wedding, which put us and everyone else at ease and made our photos way better. This manifested, at its best, with Paulette riding on Matt's shoulders to get cool aerial shots of the dance floor during the reception, which came out amazing.

    Paulette and Matt were great communicators through the entire process. They responded quickly to emails, asked thorough but not annoying questions, offered to have calls or meet in person whenever we wanted, etc. And they were flexible the day of when our timing changed slightly and when we had to make some game-time decisions about locations to shoot photos. After the wedding, before our hangovers had fully passed, they had already sent us a "sneak peak" of photos (which looked amazing) and were a really great bookend to a great weekend.

    These two have a really great way of trying to capture people looking natural, not posed. And trying to capture the event and people in an authentic way, not at all generic or cookie-cutter. They also were geniuses when it came to finding great places to shoot; we did our wedding in December in upstate NY, and so it was too cold to do much outside. But they managed to find great spots to shoot interesting photos within the premises of our venue that many photogs would never have thought of--like some fun shots of us and the wedding party behind the bar. They even took us up into the attic of the building, which was this sort of abandoned industrial space with old-timey windows and exposed brick, and got some amazing shots there. They made the most of what we had and it really was worth it.

    In general, I could not be more happy that we went with these two.
  • J
    Joshua M. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision

    If you want amazing photographs of your wedding day, these are your photographers! The photos are a great blend of unique and offbeat but with a traditional feel, this is important because what the bride and groom want often is different from what their families want - so being able to bridge the two styles is so important and makes life a lot easier. And if you want candid reception pics...I cannot stress how much you want this team! They focused on great memorable details, like the custom made shoes my wife wore while dancing, they were also in the mix doing anything they could to get the best angle, including getting carried around on the others shoulders to get above the crowd - those pics came out great and people still talk about how much fun the photographers were. Apart from their amazing work they are just tremendously great and down to earth people. They make everything about your day so special, including the amazing presentation of your photographs. Hire this team! You'll be so so happy you did!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 07/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Where to even start with these two?! Paulette & Matt did our wedding photography this past weekend. We had not done an engagement shoot or professional photos of any kind before our wedding day, but they are the kind of people who even though you just met, you WANT to be spending time with them on your wedding day! Not only that, but it is hard to wipe the smiles off of your face because you're having so much fun! We did not feel like we were posing at all, and that was something we were nervous about going into it. Our guests have not stopped talking about how much fun they are (they really shine on the dance floor) - and SO talented. We got a "sneak peak" of our photos THE NEXT DAY (!!!), and every single one of them blows my mind. I don't even have to wait to see any more to know that we are extremely lucky to have somehow found these two! Just take a look at their website and see for yourself, you will fall in love! Thank you guys!
  • S
    Sally Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As the Mother of the Bride I can say that Novella Photographers are the BEST! While we have only seen some teaser photographs, those teasers are fantastic - we can't wait to see the final set. From the start the team was unobtrusive yet present. I have no idea what they were photographing but they were constantly snapping pictures - true artists they left us alone and did their work while we were getting ready - our wedding party was more in the way than our photographers! My favorite was at the end of the evening when the DJ was playing the final song ...the final shots were taking while riding on the shoulders of her partner - people are still talking about this a week after the wedding! Hire these two - they are the BEST!
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am still smiling thinking about my experience with Novella Photographers- they are the real deal. Not only was the communication amazing from day one, but they pair worked together seamlessly to capture the tone and emotion of our day. During the wedding, I took a step back and watched in awe as Paulette and Matt communicated with just a look or smile to each other as they captured the wedding from multiple angles. From the crazy moments pre-ceremony to dancing the night away, Paulette and Matt never stopped.
    One of my favorite parts of working with Novella is a series of photos they send within 48 hours- I in tears seeing these pictures and couldn't be more excited to see the rest!!! There aren't words to properly thank you for how easy you made this process for us, you two are incredible and I can't wait to see all the magic you continue to create!


  • J
    Jessica Married on 02/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There aren't enough adjectives to describe how wonderful, creative, and talented Paulette and Matt are. I've been a fan of their work for a long time, and knew that I wanted them to photograph our wedding even before we were engaged. If you are looking for photos that truly capture the mood of your day without missing a moment of fun or any of the details you spent months planning, hire them!! If you want to ensure that your wedding photos look truly unique and unlike every other wedding album, you've come to the right place. We were so thrilled at how willing Paulette and Matt were to jump into shooting our crazy ceremony and embraced our desire to take some cool low-light photos in the snow around our bonfire. We knew this was going to be a challenge, but they never seemed daunted by the absurd ask. Our friends and family all commented on how nice they are and how they really fit right in with our group. As stressful as wedding planning can be, I would do it all over again just to take more photos with them.
  • Brittany
    Brittany D. Married on 11/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect and professional

    We hired Novella for our engagement session. I didnt know what to expect since my now wife and I had never had professional photos done but they really broke it all down for us and captured exactly what we were looking for. They were more than amazing to work for and by the end we had lots of memories and laughs. I highly reccomend them for ALL of your photography needs!
  • User5501835 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Guests with cameras.

    Matt and Paulette were like talented guests. They blended into the party, they captured moments what we now treasure. (Morbid but true we’ve used their photos in obituaries of loved ones.) they captured the tiniest details, that I worked hard to have, but I thought went unnoticed. They were amazing.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 08/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Matt and Paulette were the absolute best! We had a tiny, family only wedding, and they fit in perfectly. I'm so glad I found them!

    I've gotten so many compliments on our photos. They made us look amazing without losing our personalities or the light hearted tone of our event. What made me happiest, though, was that every one of our guests has told me how much they loved Matt and Paulette. I can't even imagine what the day would have been like without them.

    I recommend Novella to everyone!!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 07/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Their creativity knows no bounds!

    We felt like every image from Matt and Paulette could hang on our walls as pieces of art. My husband and I are very detail oriented people, and a lot of thought went into every part of our wedding. Matt and Paulette captured every detail perfectly. They were able to connect with our vision and turn it into something tangible. We are so grateful to have these images for the rest of our lives. The icing on the (wedding) cake is that they are both so easy to work with and were super fun people to have around on our wedding night! They are the best.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message