Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa Reviews

20 | Groton, CT
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa

Recommended by 97%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

12 User photos

Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 1
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 2
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 3
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 4
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 5
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 6
Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 7
+ 6
Sort by:
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough good things!

    My husband and I were considering getting married in the Boston area, where we currently live, or in my hometown area of Stonington / Mystic. We met with Amanda and quickly knew this was the venue for us. She made us feel special from the start and her expertise in event planning came through right away. She was full of knowledge, gave us plenty of time and attention, and most importantly, was so much fun to spend time with. I’m so sad I won’t get to spend time planning with Amanda anymore. I miss her already!


    We had a fairly large wedding of over 200 guests so the Mystic ballroom was a perfect space for the reception. Our vision for the wedding was to have everyone fit comfortably in a beautiful room with a big dance floor and a live band. We couldn’t have been happier with how things turned out; the dance floor was packed all night and everyone had a blast. We used the lobby space just outside the ballroom for the bar space, cocktail tables, photo tables, a dessert table, etc. It was great to have this overflow space so guest could move in and out easily between the spaces.


    The bar was an important element to us. We had several “favorite cocktails” featured on signs we had made and we loved that Amanda accommodated various types of glassware for each drink, from martini glasses to copper mugs. She even incorporated our favorite blue cheese stuffed olives for martinis without batting an eye. It made everything feel extra special.


    We lucked out with good weather and held our cocktail hour outside on the patio off the side of the Marriott. The patio was transformed into such a beautiful space, between the bars, signage, and a huge cheese, bruschetta, and antipasto display. There were string lights overhead across the patio which was a nice touch as it got darker in the evening.


    Amanda and the staff at the Marriott exceeded our expectations and alleviated the stress associated wedding planning. My husband and I both have busy schedules and we often travel for work, so juggling our schedules with planning a wedding should have been harder than it was. Amanda was extremely helpful, from helping us customize a timeline, pick the food, decide on the layout, accommodate drink preferences (we had many!), coordinate with vendors, set the lighting, and so much more. She made the experience feel so special and tailored to us. I truly don’t think we would have had the same experience at many of the other venues we looked at.


    Also, our tasting appointment was amazing and completely exceeded our expectations. The chef is so talented. We had such a fun time trying everything while enjoying a bottle of champagne. Our friends and family have been raving about the food ever since! Favorite dish: pan seared Stonington scallops over mushroom risotto, brussels sprouts, apples, and bacon crumble. Many guests weren’t from New England so it was nice to incorporate local ingredients.


    We highly recommend the Mystic Marriott for a wedding – we wouldn’t change a thing. It was such a memorable year leading up to the wedding and we made great memories during our meetings at the Marriott with Amanda. The day itself was worth all of the time and effort and we will never forget it!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 8
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 9
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 10
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 11
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 12
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 13
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 14
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 15
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 16
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 17
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 18
    Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa 19
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at The Lace Factory and when we booked the venue, we quickly found that all the inns in the immediate area were booked because of some big event that same weekend. We decided to book the Mystic Marriott and I'm so glad we did. Kelsey was SO great to work with and was such a huge help during the planning process. By the time our wedding arrived, the hotel had been completely renovated (it's GORGEOUS) and it was the perfect place to welcome all of our out of town guests. The service was impeccable and we cannot recommend them enough.

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 12/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so excited to have booked our upcoming wedding at the Mystic Marriott this New Years Eve! Amanda and the team have been great and such a huge help. The venue is gorgeous and the only place we knew would be perfect for our special day, we cant wait! Love Diego and Rachel

    Sent on 11/08/2016
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We organized a room block at the Mystic Marriott for the weekend of our wedding. They were awesome to work with and very accommodating. Great service! Everyone ended up at the hotel bar at the end of the night and we all had a blast. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • L

    Sandy · Married on 09/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding party and guests had a wonderful weekend at the Mystic Marriott!

    Darcey Eck, Certified Wedding Planner at the Marriott, guided us through every detail of planning the room block and hosting events at the hotel around our Sunday afternoon wedding at Eolia Mansion in Harkness State Park. Her expertise, patience and attention to detail made it so easy on us! Thank you, Darcey!

    The highlight of our welcome reception on the Octagon Patio Saturday night was the mashed potato martini bar. Guests are still remarking how great that was, together with the lobster and crab cakes.

    On Sunday night we gathered in the hotel bar for after-wedding drinks. On Monday morning we were in the Octagon Restaurant for a buffet breakfast and to say goodbye after a truly dazzling weekend.

    Everyone in the bridal party had our hair and makeup done at the Red Door Spa. The stylists (there were two, but I only remember Sarah's name) and makeup artist (Lauren) were all good at what they do, worked well within our time constraints, and we were sparkling when we walked out!

    We were very happy with the cleanliness and décor of the rooms. I asked guests for feedback as well and they all gave enthusiastic thumbs up!

    The Mystic Marriott was the perfect setting for our guests' comfort and for the celebration around our wedding. It is right off the highway so it's convenient to whatever you want to do, yet it is in a beautiful park-like location.

    Sent on 11/09/2013
  • sarah r

    Sarah · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did not have my wedding at the Mystic Marriott, but I did set up my room block and farewell breakfast with them. I found the service absolutely fabulous. Darcey, who is in charge of weddings, is professional, responsive, and extremely organized. We left guest boxes at the front desk that were distributed to all the guests as they arrived. Everyone was pleased with how clean, up-to-date, and nice the hotel was. The farewell breakfast was held in a private room at no additional cost and you get 15% off with a room block. All of the guests were also offered a discount at the spa during their stay. Many of our guests utilized this for pre wedding manicures, hair, and makeup. The food, as always, was great!

    Sent on 06/14/2013
  • User2132733 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    FANTASTIC!! Since our winter wedding was off-season, we lucked out on great deals. Darcey, was helpful every step of the way, making sure everything went smoothly. All of our guests were impressed with the service and can't stop raving about the food. =)

    Sent on 03/11/2013
  • User2629037 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience :) thank you very much!!

    Sent on 08/30/2012
  • S

    Seana · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darcey was attentive, organized and accomodating. She had great attention to detail and I knew that I could trust her to take care of every aspect of our wedding day and our guests, with as much care and quality as if it were her own wedding. Darcey and our head waitress Melissa took care of everything perfectly and were our very own wedding dream team!!
    The Marriott looked beautiful, was prepared for our guests, took great care of them throughout the weekend. It was a perfect setting for our reception and perfect place for our guests to stay to enjoy the weekend.

    From the bellman, to bartenders, waitstaff, receptionists, and especially Darcey - everyone exceeded our expectations by providing a perfect day. They all anticipated our needs before we knew what they were and took care of each and everyone us.
    The planning process was even made easier with the wonderful recommendations of vendors who completed the day and provided us with our dream wedding.
    Darcey and the team at the Marriott were phenomenal. I would trust them or recommend them for any type of event - I know they would do a fantastic job!

    Sent on 09/07/2012
  • P

    pt · Married on 12/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was perfect for group reservations! excellent service and care!

    Sent on 01/22/2012
  • M

    Marianne · Married on 04/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with the Mystic Marriott was absolutely wonderful! Thanks to the courteous staff, it was truly a day we will never forget. Our wedding coordinator, Darcey, was helpful, friendly, and willing to go the extra mile for us. The waiters and catering crew were there if we needed anything. They made sure our drinks were always full and ensured our guests and us did not go without anything! I highly reccommend the Mystic Marriott and its highly trained staff for any quality occassion. They were truly proffessionals.

    Sent on 06/01/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was so happy with the day, Katie is the wedding planner there and she was fantastic, she helped me to get exactly what i wanted and every thing ran so smothly

    Sent on 02/05/2009
  • User1613695 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The spa was wonderful and all of the services were outstanding! A little expensive but absolutely worth it! :)

    Sent on 07/30/2012
  • D

    Dawn & Gervonde · Married on 12/31/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Toner was wonderful...she did a fabulous job and our wedding was more than expected. They were very professional, friendly, and very, very accomodating...It was a wonderful evening and again Amanda was awesome...

    Sent on 01/30/2015
  • J

    Jody · Married on 05/20/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding planner, Darcey Eck was the key to the absolute success of my daughter's wedding reception. She was ever available from the onset of the planning right through the night of the event. Darcey was very professional and included me in ever detail that needed attention. Beyond my satisfaction with Darcey, the food was delicious and my guests all had a wonderful time! I could not have been more pleased with the way it all went. Also the banquet manager was extremely helpful the night of the event. She attended to everything including assisting with bustling my daughter's gown and providing necessary bobbi pins and safety pins!

    Sent on 06/16/2011
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/28/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mystic Marriott was an absolute beautiful place to get married. It was such a perfect wedding and loved everything. Darcy was very helpful and was very responsIve. She did an excellent job with putting out flowers on the table and making the reception set up perfect. I had the perfect wedding!!

    Sent on 08/23/2012
  • A

    Amber · Married on 12/23/2006

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This facility was up to parr for our reception, and the spa treatments were perfect! Thanks so much!

    Sent on 01/21/2007
  • M

    Michael · Married on 09/15/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Mystic Marriott for our rehearsal dinner (at their Octagon restaurant) as well as our wedding hotel room block. Everything was excellent. While there were at least 4-5 other wedding blocks booked at the hotel the same weekend as us, we truly felt like we were the only ones there from how we were treated by the staff. Everyone was warm and inviting - from the front desk to valets to housekeeping to the restaurant staff. Nice, new hotel, and the unexpected extras they provided that weekend were thoughtful and much appreciated.

    Our coordinator Darcey was great to work with in organizing all of the pertinent details and ensuring it was executed according to plan. Schedules conflicted a bit with some summer vacations in the middle, so it was sometimes difficult to connect with one another. But that being said, everything got very buttoned up. No issues that I'm aware of that anyone had with their rooms or checking in, despite having the typical guests needing rooms after the prescribed cut-off date.

    The rehearsal dinner was great. Setup was just as we had envisioned, and the food was even better than expected. Service, as it was throughout the hotel, was impeccable.

    We got a litany of positive comments from our guests on the accommodations and the rehearsal dinner - that combined with our satisfaction is the truest barometer that this was top notch. Would not hesitate to recommend them.

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/12/2013

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Overall our wedding was beautiful but there were a few things that should have been done but weren't. A few discouraging moments but honestly it turned out to be a beautiful day.

    Sent on 10/18/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review