Monterey Tides Reviews

9 | Monterey, CA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Monterey Tides

Recommended by 89%

9

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.2
Sort by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience at the Tides! Kelly Frasier was a dream to work with, and just the sweetest ever. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and provided exceptional service, the location is beautiful, the food was AMAZING, and everything was perfect. Literally the best day ever!

    Sent on 11/27/2017

    Monterey Tides's reply:

    Jennifer, thank you for your kind words and for choosing Monterey Tides Hotel to host such a memorable day. It was truly an honor to help make your dream day a reality. We look forward to having you back for many years of Anniversaries!
    Cheers,
    Kelly Frasier
  • A

    Annabel · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience with the Tides was phenomenal. Sherry, who was in charge of the ceremony on the beach, was so excited to help with the details and provide insight in to some ideas to help with planning. She did a wonderful job coordinating the whole thing and being flexible with timing and our large party!

    Sent on 08/20/2016

    Monterey Tides's reply:

    Thank you for your lovely comments and for hosting your beautiful ceremony with us at Monterey Tides. It was my sincere pleasure working with you and we look forward to your return to the beach! Congratulations!

    Warm regards,
    Sherry Michelson
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monterey beach hotel was a beautiful place to have my wedding and the staff was so helpful and organized!

    Sent on 01/23/2014
  • J

    Jeri · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was wonderful. It was the perfect location for a destination wedding. All of our friends and family were able to book rooms, so it was an excellent wedding and vacation. Everyone was able to relax and have a great time at the reception without having to drive home. They just had to walk back to their rooms. I would highly recommend Monterey Beach Resort.

    Sent on 11/14/2009
  • B

    Breanne · Married on 09/10/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We absolutely loved having our wedding here last September! It was my dream to get married on the beach, and we loved having a place where our family could all hang out for the weekend! Sherry Michelson was our wedding coordinator, and she was amazing!! We connected really easily from the beginning, and she helped make our experience unforgettable. The food was incredible, and the staff there was really awesome. Thank you for hosting the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • T

    Tiana · Married on 10/23/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The staff was wonderful and accomodating our wedding weekend. We ran into a lot of "hidden" costs...such as the candy buffet bowls @ $10 per vase +service of 18% and tax. Other than that debaucle in planning how to justify these seemingly free vases (the saying "free to use" meant free to me!) everything was great. The staff went over and above in helping us get ready for the ceremony and reception. It rained on my wedding day and they prepared a room with a wonderful view of the ocean for my ceremony. They even opened the doors so that I would be able to hear the ocean. I can not be more appreciative toward what they did for my husband and I on our wedding day. I didn't have to worry about a thing the entire weekend. My day was perfect despite the weather. The Monterey Beach Resort was a great choice for my wedding!!!

    Sent on 11/03/2010
  • User2345208 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We are from Az, looking to get Married in Monterey, so it made hard to find a place but once we found Monterey Beach Resort, Best Western, we knew it was it! Once we received information on the place and got details from the wedding coordinators we fell in love with it. They were all very great and accommodating, can't wait to return for our anniversary.

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/13/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had a fabulous wedding. We had great service with the event coordinators at the hotel. We had originally planned on getting married on the beach in front of the hotel and then they decided to reconstruct the sea wall, which threw us in a tail spin for a bit. We decided to get married on the terrace, which they converted into a beach and it was beautiful. More personal and private than the beach. And looked like we were on the beach too. The food was fantastic at the reception. A little pricey for the kegs of beer but we had a wonderful time. We had over 100 people travel from out of town to attend our wedding. We had a bonfire after our rehearsal dinner. It was a wonderful experience and the best wedding ever.

    Sent on 02/19/2009
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 07/01/2017

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We blocked Monterey Tides as our wedding hotel for our guests, but we had the service and reception elsewhere. We chose MT for their beautiful view-- and they did not disappoint in this regard. The lobby is a great place to hang out, and the view is to die for. However, working with them was very difficult. From the beginning, their website did not work for the wedding block. It only displayed Ocean View (and not the cheaper Garden View), plus there were many issues with our guests booking the rooms, so my husband ended up being the middle man for everything (very frustrating!). We also decided to use the bonfire package to have a pre-wedding event. We had the event for around 30 people and it cost $250 for them to set up a small fire and some chairs. It would have cost another $250 to have alcohol there (with a $1000 minimum on top of that!) They refused to offer any other compromises (e.g., we bring alcohol, we buy wine/beer from them but serve it ourselves...). Also, my bridesmaids and I got ready in the Captain's room, which was a nice space. But in order to have a light breakfast (some cereal, granola, seasonal fruit, coffee and tea) it cost $22 per person! (this was after they waived the $6 fee for having less than 20 people at the event). There were other hidden fees as well-- 1. there is a $25 "resort fee" for each night, 2. if we wanted to give our guests welcome bags it would cost $2 per bag to pass out at the desk and we weren't able to leave them outside the rooms... Also, it would take a long time for them to get back to us. Many times we had to wait a week or more, and they kept switching who we were in contact with. At one point, a month or so before the wedding, I realized the most recent point of contact didn't even know I was getting ready there with the bridesmaids! They don't communicate between themselves well. Overall, this was one of the decisions I regretted. It took too much time.

    Sent on 07/24/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review