Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Reviews

38 | Monterey, CA
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Recommended by 95%

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

11 User photos

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 1
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 2
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 3
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 5
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 6
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • Gina

    Gina · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding!

    We met with Caitlin Michaels, coordinator, before booking the Plaza. She was able to walk us through what it would be like to have our wedding there. She worked with us to find the perfect wedding day that would match up with the church where we ended up getting married.

    Caitlin was very responsible through the wedding planning process. We enjoyed experience with the preferred vendors: Mike Danen Photography, Sarah Pink for flowers, Freedom Bakery and Confections, and Belmont Entertainment.

    Caitlin made the food tasting/linen section process very easy. A few months before the wedding, we met and did all the tastings. Everything was delicious! I wanted to switch out a vegetable, and we were able to do that.

    On the wedding day everything was executed perfectly. Caitlin set up all of our decorations, including the guestbook table, guest setting table, and put our favors. We had our cocktail party outside facing the ocean. It was beautiful and our guests enjoyed the hors d'oeuvre. Caitlin helped get everything into the reception room, the Monterey Bay Room.

    The food was delicious!! We went with steak or salmon. Caitlin came to check on us to make sure everything was perfect, which we appreciated.

    Overall, we enjoyed our experience. We had shopped at other reception venue locations in Monterey and we felt the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa had the best value for the money. There were no hidden costs at the end, and we felt that we were treated well.

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful wedding for my daughter here this past June. Everyone at the hotel was very professional and helpful. Special thanks to Caitlin Michaels for all of her help from day one and thru the wedding day!! To Thais who always kept me updated on everyone's reservations and to Victor who was the day of set up person. His ideas and helpfulness was invaluable! Special thanks to the bell hops, they moved lots of flowers and decorations around the hotel for me!

  • D

    Diana · Married on 06/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding experience was PERFECTION! Our planner, Caitlin was so organized, professional, patient and helped ensure that every single little detail was taken care of! And she was so DELIGHTFUL to work with. And the venue, WOW!!!! It is the most picturesque spot in Monterey. The Pacific ocean was the backdrop of our wedding! And the hotel is stunning! We had a small wedding and 6 months later, our guests are still talking about the hotel, the food, etc! We highly recommend this magical local and fabulous staff! And we loved the recommended cake vendor and florist!

    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 10
    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 11
    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 12
    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 13
    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 14
    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 15
  • M

    Mary Lou · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First and formost I want to say how wonderful the Wedding Coordinators were. Thank you too Alexis Davis who first met with us a year in advance, and thank you to Caitlin Michels who took over. This was a destination wedding and Caitlin always responded to any questions or concerns we had in a timely manner. The Monterey Plaza Hotel is Beautiful and HIGHLY recommended. My husband and I got married on the Lower Terrace and our reception was held in the Monterey Bay Room. We went with upgraded chairs, table clothes etc., and the Monterey Bay Room was absolutely beautiful. Now the food, OMG a mouthfull of heaven. It's been said that June is the month of gloom. Our wedding day was truly the most gorgeous day anyone could have asked for. The views were exceptional and our wedding was truly everything we envisioned. Thank you to all of the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa Staff. Everyone we dealt with were truly a God send!!

    Thank you to everyone that assisted in our wedding: Brian Lyke, Pink Petals - Sarah Pink, Freedom Bakery, Robert Conat, Kelly Productions - DJ Jeffty.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa went above and beyond for our wedding. I am still hearing rave reviews from guests of our wedding how they felt like they were walking into a celebrity event when entering the ballroom. Also, every person has not stopped talking about how AMAZING the food was! Wedding food is usually not something to be remembered by guests, but WOW, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa really have great chefs and only bring you the best! Caitlin was amazing the whole process of planning and day of coordination. Thank you so much to everyone who helped make our day absolutely breathtaking!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough amazing things about the Monterey Plaza Hotel and, more importantly, Alexis Davis and her team! My husband and I were originally deciding between the Intercontinental and the Monterey Plaza. I am so happy we picked the Monterey Plaza. From the first email correspondence, Alexis went out of her way to work with my husband, my family and myself to make sure the Monterey Plaza could fit in our budget and accommodate our guest size (~230 on the day of the wedding). Unlike Betty at the Intercontinental, Alexis or her assistant, Chelsea, responded to email correspondence and/or telephone calls in a timely and professional manner and always showed up to appointments on time. The day I went to meet with both hotels, Betty did not show up and sent her assistant to meet with my family and me. Her assistant was not prepared and was unable to answer 95% of our questions. On top of that, Betty did not have the courtesy or professionalism to even send an email or make a call to inform me that she would not attend our scheduled meeting, even while knowing that my family was coming up from Long Beach and I was coming down from Sacramento just to meet with her. On the other hand, Alexis had a notebook with all the information discussed leading up to the meeting, price sheets, and recommended vendors. Alexis professionalism and availability did not change from the time we Put down our deposit (in November 2015) until our wedding (in July 2016). She never tried to upsell us and always provides helpful ideas and brilliant opinions. On the day of the wedding, she made sure everything ran smoothly and that my husband, myself, our wedding party, and our families were well taken care of and everything went to plan. If there were any hiccups, I was unaware of them. Lastly, the food absolutely delicious and the catering managers, servers, bartender, and entire hotel staff made sure our day was unforgettable! I would highly highly highly recommend the Monterey Plaza!

  • User7033511 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This facility was the perfect all in one location. We reviewed various other all in one ceremony/reception venues and venues that were separate for each portion of the wedding day but kept coming back to the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa.

    We did not regret our decision. We were provided excellent service for hotel reservations, guest transportation, wedding planning, ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. The whole wedding day and full extended weekend were flawless. Everything we asked for and more was provided. Our guests were treated like royalty. Many times our wedding day guests stated that nothing was overlooked.....every detail was thought of ahead of time by the excellent staff.

    At the heart of this production is Alexis Davis. As the Director of Catoring and Conference Services, she has the influence to make your wedding experience the best ever. Her assistance in planning, responsiveness to questions and changes, along with lining up excellent vendors made the experience go smoothly for all of us.

    If you want a truly wonderful wedding experience at a reasonable price point then go with the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa for every aspect of your wedding day event.

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend using the beautiful Monterey Plaza as your wedding venue. The location is gorgeous and the staff are all so wonderful. Alexis Davis helped us plan our dream wedding from beginning to end. We were treated like royalty the whole weekend and it made for an amazing experience. Thank you all so much!

  • Elisa

    Elisa · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here on a lovely Saturday evening in April this year. 5 star experience - no question! It was beyond gorgeous and I cannot say enough good things about Alexis, the coordinator who was with us throughout the whole process. We toured many places looking for the right fit and she alone can make booking your wedding here worth the extra penny. From the start she was super organized, and worked with our budget. We used their suggested vendors for cake, makeup, and DJ service and I had to deal with almost zero coordination since Alexis knew everyone. She and her assistant were on top of everything from the moment we checked in to when we checked out. My family and I felt well taken care of and she was always available to answer last minute emails from me and my mom, regarding everything from menu, to invoicing to last song.
    The hotel itself is spectacular, they have a beautiful terrace overlooking the water, friendly for the older guest to still attend a "beach" wedding. You adjourn to a banquet room with ample dance space and windows with a balcony to the ocean view for cooling down. It was a lovely space already so it needed minimal extra décor from us. We went with standard everything except some colored napkins and it still had a gorgeous impact. There are so many lovely spots on property no need to leave for photoshoots either. Just go down to their private beach, or the dolphin fountain, or the trellis by the ocean. Truly it was a fairytale wedding for us.
    I could go on and on about the great organization provided by Alexis, the beauty of this hotel and how easy and stress free it made our wedding planning go once we booked it. No billing surprises at the end either, everything was upfront, itemized and worth every penny. If you are looking for an elegant Californian wedding location this is it!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect venue for our destination wedding! The views, the sounds of sea life, the perfect outdoor location to say our vows, our guests in one place, the impeccable service, the sunsets & sunrises, we could go on & on!
    Bottom line, we took one look at MPH in July & new it was the place for us... 10 weeks later our vision came to reality. It was truly memorable!

  • S

    Stacey · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married at the Plaza this past Saturday. I cannot say enough as to how wonderful Alexis was throughout the whole process and how beautiful our wedding day turned out to be. She was always so responsive to any questions I had throughout the year plus of planning, and I had a lot! She was always willing to help and would go the extra mile to make sure we were taken care of. In fact we are sad we won't be having any more planning trips down to Monterey to work with the staff! My husband and I had originally been looking for a separate ceremony site but decided it would be easier to do both the ceremony and the reception at the Plaza. And we are so happy we did. It was a perfect day and the ceremony set up and view was absolutely perfect. Endless comments from our guests as to how beautiful the whole hotel was and how we had chosen a perfect venue for our wedding. Highly recommend the Plaza to anyone looking for an ocean view on their wedding day.

  • K

    Krystina · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meeting and planning with Alexis, the wedding coordinator, was easy and stress free. She was quick to return my calls and emails about all the questions I had. The outdoor ceremony site was beautiful and the weather was perfect. The reception room was classy and everything was done the way I wanted it. This venue was perfect for me because everything was taken care of and I didn't have to worry about doing anything. My wedding was the third wedding in our family of the summer and we received the most compliments about our venue and accommodations. :-)

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married at the Monterey Plaza in April and our wedding weekend went so smoothly, thanks to all of the work the staff did leading up to, during, and after our big day. Our wedding and cocktail hour were on the lower terrace and our reception was in the Monterey Bay ballroom (gorgeous view of the bay). Alexis promptly replied to my many many questions. She is extremely detail-oriented, which was especially important for us since we were planning from afar (Texas). We also worked with a number of folks to secure a room block, which was a bit difficult since our request was a bit unusual (we covered a portion of each room). But everything with the room block was squared away after a few calls and the charges were all applied correctly in the end. Alexis was on vacation over our wedding weekend but Michelle took over seamlessly. It was so nice working with the hotel’s preferred vendors… especially since Alexis and Michelle then handled a lot of the day-of coordination. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Monterey Plaza for a wedding, especially a destination wedding! Our guests loved Monterey and loved the hotel (it's gorgeous). The hotel staff really went out of their way for us over the course of the weekend too, without us even asking. For example, we walked into Schooner’s without reservations and asked for tables for our large party of ~15 on a Saturday night and upon giving the last name for the reservation, the staff member congratulated us and accommodated our party on the patio with tables adjacent to one another. And then sent out congratulatory strawberries to end our meal! This was just one of many circumstances in which the staff went above and beyond for us and really made us feel special. Our wedding was truly one to remember and one our guests loved being a part of.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Monterey Plaza in October and we are so happy with our decision to have our special day here! I have to give Alexis Davis the most credit for making the wedding planning so smooth. She is absolutely wonderful to work with and truly amazing at what she does. She was extremely responsive from the start, always willing to answer any questions, and was super helpful with assisting us with our decisions. The day of the wedding went without a glitch! (at least nothing I was able to see!) We really were able to just enjoy the entire day and not worry about a thing. It was so nice being able to wholeheartedly trust your coordinator with everything! On top of that, all of the staff at Monterey Plaza were extremely courteous and helpful. When we were getting our photos taken, the valet service offered to drive us to a scenic point, wait for us, and take us back. After we were announced husband and wife and walked off from the ceremony, we were congratulated with champagne. To top it all off, when we went to our room at the end of the night, we walked into champagne, chocolate strawberries, a congratulatory note, and two slices of our wedding cake. Talk about hospitality and making an experience memorable!! Monterey Plaza was not only absolutely beautiful, but their service and hospitality was incredible. Our friends and family had nothing bad to say about it all as well! Truly a 5 star hotel in every sense. We will be back for our first anniversary!! :-)

  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife & I were married at the Monterey Plaza on Sept 6, 2014. It is a beautiful venue and the level of customer service is superior. Our ceremony was held on the lower terrace overlooking the bay and our reception was held in the Carmel Ballroom. We also held our rehearsal dinner here the evening before. Our wedding coordinator suggested we have it in a private room w/balcony overlooking the bay which was perfect for the occasion. The room included a private bar w/bartender & private bathrooms which was nice.
    Our wedding coordinator was Alexis Davis and we could not have been happier. We were unsure if the plaza had held same- sex weddings and was very important for us to feel comfortable throughout the process but after our first meeting with Alexis, we knew it was a good fit. Alexis is professional, polite, and prompt & with a sense of humor. She is attentive with attention to detail and she explained the entire process including pricing & best package for us. We also found the preferred vendor list helped make the process much easier and helpful. Alexis followed-up throughout the entire process making sure we were on pace and promptly answered all questions we had… trust me, we had a lot. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect. From the ceremony to the reception, everything was taken care of. The flowers were beautifully centered on each table and the wedding favors perfectly placed as discussed. The food was served promptly on time & delicious. We have received so many compliments from our guests about how perfect our entire wedding was & won’t stop raving about the food! Needless to say, Alexis exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend the Monterey Plaza.

  • R

    Richelle · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In a heart beat I would trust Alexis and her team with any occasion. She was very attentive to all my needs and my wedding parties needs. Our family were very pleased with the event. I didn't feel stressed or rushed. Everything went smoothly and I attribute that to Alexis.

  • D

    Damon · Married on 03/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alexis and her team did a fantastic job stepping through each phase of the wedding planning and execution! We had a flawless "big day" and we couldn't have asked for better partners. A truly beautiful location to boot.

  • User3694091 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our son was married here in October. The ceremony and cocktails were held on the Lower Terrace, and the reception in the Monterey Bay Ballroom. We worked with the Catering Manager, Alexis Davis from day 1 of our wedding planning. She was the best person to work with due to her diligence and responsiveness throughout the planning process and on the actual wedding day. She was available anytime we needed to speak to her or via email. She was so knowledgeable about wedding planning and gave us excellent advice. She checked-in regularly, making sure the wedding went smoothly and just as we planned it. The food at the wedding was delicious; everyone enjoyed the wedding and the beautiful setting. We received excellent service from all departments within this hotel! The staff was very professional and responded to our every request with speed and creativity. We want to thank Alexis Davis and the entire catering, bell, valet, and reservation staff of the Monterey Plaza Hotel. The wedding and reception were perfect. This is truly a five star hotel.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About 3 years ago, I had seen a picture in the Monterey Travel magazine, of a beautiful lookout point from a hotel. They were advertising a beautiful location for weddings and other venues. I remember saying to Crystal, "maybe someday we will get married there". Never had I imagined that 3 years later, I would have the most beautiful reception at that very place. From the moment we first met Alexis Davis (the wedding coordinator), till the time we checked out of the hotel to go on our honeymoon, the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa did not disappoint. We made sure to book early, as we knew that our month was a busy wedding season. But throughout the year, Alexis made sure to stay in contact with us and keep us up to date on everything that was taking place. She kept to her time lines and made sure that we did as well. Our cocktail hour was out on that Beautiful lookout point, and while we weren't able to be apart of the cocktail hour, the reception made up for it. Our reception was held in the Carmel Room. When we first saw the room (on our original tour), we were a little apprehensive due to the carpet and wall color, and the slightly out dated chairs. But when we walked into that room after being announced to all our guests, we were blown away. I don't know what we expected, but we were not expecting it to be as beautiful as it was. The ambiance in the room from the lighting, the flowers, the set up of the tables, and the smell of the food, blew us away. Now mind you, all we did was give Alexis all our decorations and party favors, and her and her staff did the rest. So we had no idea how the room would turn out. Now the food, OMG!!!! The food was a mouthful of heaven. Our guests had different options so everyone got to try something a little different. But I have only heard amazing reviews regarding ALL the food, since the wedding. Overall, our venue was absolutely perfect and we will never forget all that Alexis and her staff did, to make our day so special.

  • User2902273 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony was held on the Upper Plaza, cocktails in the Lower Plaza, and the reception in the Cypress Ballroom. Everything was perfect!!! We worked with the Catering Manager, Alexis Davis from day 1 of our wedding planning. She was the best person to work with due to her diligence and responsiveness throughout the planning process and on the actual wedding day. She checked-in regularly, making sure our wedding went smoothly, and just as we planned it. The food at the wedding was delicious, and the Filet Mignon was cooked perfectly; everyone enjoyed the food. We enjoyed a King Ocean View w/ Balcony room in the main hotel building. We were able to have a nice view of the ocean, as well as the Upper and Lower Plaza so that my Bridesmaids and I could admire the wedding events from above as we were getting ready. The spa facilities are amazing with great views from the rooftop hot tubs. Excellent service from all departments within this hotel!

  • Scott

    Scott · Married on 01/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We want to give a shout-out to Alexis and the entire catering and bell staff of the Monterey Plaza Hotel. Alexis, the wedding planner, was available anytime we needed to speak to her or via email. The staff was very professional and responded to our every request with speed and creativity. The wedding ceremony went off without a hitch and it was beautiful. Everything about this hotel was five star.

    Scott & Regan Johnson

  • M

    Meg · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our daughter's wedding at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, and it was gorgeous! Sunshine, blue water, sea otters and sailboats added to the atmosphere during the ceremony. The photos are stunning with the blue water and blue skies. Carly was wonderful and made sure everything went smoothly. We and our guests were treated like royalty - from the front desk staff right through the valet and bell captain! The waitstaff at the reception was great, the cake was beautiful, and the food delicious - it tasted like it was prepared for one order - not one of one hundred! Thank you to everyone who made the day so special!

  • J

    Judy · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was so great having our ceremony right out over the Monterey Bay! The staff is so professional, and our reception was perfect. Everything worked out so well!

  • J

    Jill · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very classy and very professional!!!!!! Having a destination wedding and not enough time to plan for it, the crew made our wedding a breeze.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review