Skip to main content
Weddings

Mill On The River Reviews

Mill On The River

Mill On The River

South Windsor, CT
4.1 out of 5 rating, 46 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.1 out of 5 rating
4.1 out of 5 rating
46 Reviews
82% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.1 out of 5 rating

Awards

46
Weddingwire
4.1/5 46 reviews
Google
4.5/5 2278 reviews
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 12/12/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mill on the river is beautiful! The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The food was delicious. I absolutely loved it!
  • Kayla
    Kayla C. Sent on 03/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Venue

    I searched online for venues in the area and as soon as I found “The Mill on the River” it was the one. I toured other venues but nothing compared. The day we toured this venue I knew I had to book it. We cannot wait to get married at the venue!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lilyanna
    Lilyanna Sent on 10/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Go with it!!

    I cannot stress enough how amazing The Mill on the River is. The grounds are gorgeous, the food is AMAZING and the staff is unlike any other group of people I’ve ever met. We had our wedding there last Saturday and literally every single aspect was perfect. Laura, Alexis and Shayla helped with all of the planning and day of and were beyond accommodating to all of our requests. We got the premiere package In the “rafter room” which included so much incredible food and was so reasonably priced compared to other venues I researched. I am so glad I found them, I will always have the most beautiful memories of a picture perfect day, not to mention a heck of a party.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Sent on 10/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They made our day perfect.

    We loved our experience with Mill on the River. The space is beautiful, the food was delicious (people can't stop talking about it), and the service was amazing. We had a last-minute delay, and the staff was exceptionally accommodating. Shayla and Laura are lovely to work with, and we are so glad we chose to work with them!

    Mill On The River's reply:

    Kelsey & David,
    It was such a joy to take care of your wedding.
    Wishing you a lifetime of love and happiness.
    Laura
    Event Manager
    Mill on the River
  • V
    Victoria T. Sent on 09/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Romantic restaurant and wonderful wedding venue

    I have had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant on several occasions this year as I prepared for my wedding in August - which was also here - and have always been treated very well with attentive service and the utmost professionalism.
    The food on the restaurant side is amazing. It is worth the price and has shown to be consistent in quality, flavor, and appearance.

    The wedding food, while understandably a tad lower in quality of flavor when compared to attending for the restaurant, was still wonderful and displayed well. Their packages for large parties is very reasonable and their bar service is #1!
    I want to give a special thank you to Laura (the event coordinator), the managers, as well as the staff.

    Laura was very responsive by both email and phone. She also listened and covered every one of our concerns - particularly our fear that we wouldn't get to eat! We always had a drink with her. She bustled me - even though I hadn't gotten a bustle - with safety pins. She saw us out to the end of the night as we were her last wedding that day. The day wouldn't have been so smooth without her!

    The managers, in the times that Laura was unavailable, were also attentive in her stead with the same courtesies she offered. Although I did not have as much contact with them, their professionalism and care for their customers came through in their demeanor.
    To the rest of the staff that helped us make every moment: thank you for being fun but still professional, listening to when we had a special occasion for eating there and the surprise treats, the prompt and attentive service, and keeping the fine dining atmosphere of the location!

    For those who may be considering weddings or special events at this location, I highly recommend the Mill - they have shown me great integrity in my business with them and in my experience, their recommended vendors show the same. Our DJ, Sean Childs, photographers of Paul Nash Photography, and hotel shuttle offered by the Courtyard by Marriott-Hartford/Windsor operated so smoothly and have worked with the Mill for a long time and I just wanted to recommend them as well. The DJ and photographers are so creative and work well with each other and understood how to operate with Laura on a rough timeline. The room block was great and the shuttle knew where to go and was on time. Smoothest wedding ever!

    Mill On The River's reply:

    Victoria & Elvis,
    Congratulations!
    It was my pleasure taking care of all your needs on your wedding day. Wishing you a lifetime of love and happiness!
    Laura Coviello
  • Terra
    Terra L. Sent on 06/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing but wonderful

    As soon as we saw the Mill we knew we wanted to get married here. The setting is so cozy and inviting and it's so beautiful in the summer. There were 60 guests at our wedding and the room was perfect, with beautiful views of the waterfall. Everyone complimented us on the food and it was the best wedding they've ever been to. Laura was very helpful and did everything to make us happy. The wait staff is phenomenal and even the folks who set the room up used everything I brought and it all looked beautiful. The only thing I would change is you can see the parking lot from the gazebo and when we got pics walking to the gazebo there are cars in the background. Other than that, the place was awesome!
  • K
    Krisandra Sent on 12/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mill on the river is our favorite restaurant so it only seemed fitting that we had our wedding there. It was absolutely perfect we had our ceremony under the gazebo and the reception upstairs. Everything was taken care of for us & our guests from start to finish. The food was as delicious as it is in the dining room! We couldn’t have asked for a better wedding venue!

    Mill On The River's reply:

    Wishing you all the love in happiness in the world.
    Mill on the River
  • AlmostMrsA
    Jessica Sent on 08/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married 8/12/17 and had a fabulous ceremony and reception. Before the wedding, during all of the booking/arranging/planning/etc., Laura and Alexa in the office were responsive, helpful, and professional. Laura handled our wedding closely. Whenever my groom and I had questions, they would never fail to answer them (even if during the wedding week, we called maybe a dozen times). Laura made sure that all of the tables, décor, and everything were perfection (nothing less). The ceremony was beautiful and everyone worked together to make it perfectly timed. Food was excellent, brought out promptly after the toasts, and everyone was well fed! Shout out to Cathleen, the bartender. She was a rock star all night. Would highly recommend!
  • T
    Tina Sent on 02/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have always loved Mill on the River and as soon as I got engaged I knew there was no other place I wanted to get married at. Mill was the only place we looked at because there was no competition in our eyes.
    We met with Laura 2 years before our wedding date to start the process and she made every part of the planning process extremely easy.
    In regards to setting up as a Bride all you need to do is bring them all your decorations, favors, etc. the day before the wedding telling them how you want it to look and they take care of the rest. Come wedding day I arrived before the ceremony and was able to see everything before anyone else just to make sure it was how I envisioned.
    The staff at the reception were beyond amazing! They were all attentive and very nice to myself, my husband and my guests.
    To any Bride who is considering this venue I recommend to look at the landscape and the pictures of previous weddings that have taken place there and you will see why so many previous couples have chose the Mill to be the start of a very important journey.

    Mill On The River's reply:

    Tina & Frank,
    It was such a pleasure taking care of your wedding. Wishing both of you a world of love and happiness.
    Laura
  • S
    Sara Sent on 09/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was our 1st choice out of 5 that we looked at and I am so happy we went with The Mill! We originally considered it because we LOVE their food and the atmosphere there. We were concerned that the quality would suffer when doing such a large event but boy were we wrong- the food was superb and everyone is still raving about it. Laura the event manager at The Mill is great and very accommodating. The only things that could potentially be negatives were that the dance floor is situated in a way that's hard to see when people are sitting to eat or trying to watch the 1st dance and there was slightly poor communication day the day of the wedding which led to some confusion but truthfully those things were not enough to detract from us giving them a 5 star review. The Mill on the River is perfect place to start the rest of your lives.
  • K
    Kimberly Sent on 05/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better place. The ambiance was amazing, and our guests could not stop raving about how wonderful the food and the service was! I would highly recommend!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 08/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Laura at the Mill on the River was AMAZING!! She like everyone has a day off during the week & makes it known. She deserves more!! My wedding was perfect ! Absolutely perfect! There was a BIG snow storm on my wedding date & she made sure paths were clear so we could take photos in the snow! Loads of guests couldn't attend due to the snow so she had the staff pack up the extra meals. My day was absolutely amazing !! Food was awesome & venue was great!! I wouldn't change a thing

    Mill On The River's reply:

    Wishing both of you a lifetime of love and happiness
  • User1720681 Sent on 07/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was a very small private wedding party and they were great working with us. The food was excellent everyone commented that it was the best wedding food they had ever. The only downfall was the cake. Seems it might have been made the day before and fresh out of a fridge. That was the single and only issue. Everything else was exceptional!
  • M
    Megan A. Sent on 11/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Mill on the River was recommended to us several years ago when we became engaged. It was always our number spot to get married in. Well, three years later - it was still the perfect venue. My husband and I got married in October and it was absolutely gorgeous. Laura and the staff were tremendous. Although I worried about the details (as any bride would) there was really no need. Everything was taken care of. The gazebo was beautiful and the River Room looked amazing. Our wedding went off without a hitch. It was the most magical and special day of our lives and we could not have done without everyone at the Mill.
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 10/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had an amazing time and couldn't of asked for a better venue to host my wedding!
  • M
    Mike Sent on 09/28/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the moment we saw Mill on The River we knew this would be our wedding venue. We had the ceremony and reception there. The gazebo out back is absolutely stunning for the ceremony and pictures. We had 110 people and we were in the "Rafters Room" upstairs. The service was tremendous and the food was out of this world. The wedding planner Laura was there to help us every step of the way and made everything nice and easy for us. Thank you Mill on The River for a great experience!!
  • M
    Monica Sent on 06/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Have always lover the restaurant so when we found out we could have our wedding there we were thrilled. Fabulous food, beautiful location and the prices were amazing.
  • Y
    Yalina Sent on 02/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a beautiful ceremony and a gorgeous reception. We used the River room and it was absolutely stunning. All our guest loved the intimate setting and the view of the mill. The food was amazing, particularly the Butternut squash soup and the filet mignon! Laura was our event coordinator, she worked with us on every detail, took the time to explain things, and make sure we were happy. We will be celebrating our anniversaries here for many years to come!
  • C
    Christian Sent on 07/02/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mill on the River was absolutely wonderful! Let me give bulleted accolades:

    1) They broke with their stated minimum guest numbers and allowed us to book a small, sunset ceremony on a Friday evening for about 35 guests, but always returned our calls promptly and never made us feel like they were doing us a favor. They don't do traditional 'tastings'...but instead they gave us a 75$ gift card to use in order to sample some app's and entree's, which was great.

    2) We were in the smaller "River Room" (downstairs)...it was beautiful!!! The staff laid our our favors and table centerpieces very nicely, there were candles...everything was spot on!!!!

    3) They were extremely nice and easy to work with. When we messed up one of my friend's meal choices, I was able to correct it by phone. A few fish entree's came out late, but that was because we had made additional, undetected mistakes in our seating charts, which MOTR staff corrected as fast as they could. The banquet manager came down and personally checked on us and apologized for the delays...which were our own fault anyways. The bartender was awesome, and came out from the bar to hand-deliver me a glass of straight whisky...my fav. drink. He was very personable and kept the atmosphere light with some really funny wedding jokes. The buffet captain was on top of everything. Helped us keep our flowers fresh by putting them in a refrigerator, was very flexible with the timing of meals and the ceremony, inasmuch as we were trying to get as close to sunset as possible for the actual ceremony.

    4) The quality of the food cannot be overstated. The antipasto platters and cheese/cracker assortments were stunningly presented and absolutely delicious. The hot, butler passed hors d'ouveres were delicious, and brought out constantly up until we recessed for our ceremony. The appetizer course was a stuffed ravioli...delicous....the entree's were delicious, beef cooked perfectly, fish was very good (i tried my wife's...and i am usually not a fish lover).

    5) The value was amazing. I can't believe what they asked for per head...with all this and open bar.

    I highly reccomend this venue. I can't say enough good things about them.
  • Amanda
    Amanda Sent on 07/26/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I fell in love with the Mill as soon as I visited, and I'm so glad I had my wedding here! I was looking for an affordable, all inclusive venue since I was planning from out of state on a budget, and the Mill beats everyone in the area for the value you get! They handled the ceremony, décor, food, bar, and cake for an extremely reasonable price without sacrificing quality at all.

    Alexis worked with me throughout the planning and she was very responsive to my emails and phone calls. She was great to work with, and when I finally met her the month before my wedding, she treated myself and my mom to lunch!
    I left my décor at the Mill the next before with an instruction list and everything was set up exactly how I wanted it!

    Laura was the venue coordinator on the day of my wedding and she was very accommodating - my officiant was in a car accident and was going to be over an hour later so Laura suggested switching the cocktail hour/pictures and ceremony, which was great for my guests and kept things moving! She also helped bustle my very complicated dress. The only compliant is she was a little short with my husband and some guests but I think with all the commotion she was great with me!

    The grounds are beautiful - the gazebo for the ceremony has a view of the lake and they have tons of flowers around (saves on a florist!). Our reception was in the smaller River Room and was so quaint with a great view of the Kissing Bridge! I loved the little garden area off the room that was great to get fresh air and let the kids run around in. The food and cake were absolutely fantastic and again, a wonderful value for what you get! The staff and bartender were also great!
  • M
    Micaela Sent on 10/21/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy experience, great value

    Overall, I would say this was exactly the experience advertised for at the Mill. The food is absolute incredible, my guests still rave about the quality of the food and the bread especially (although I didn't get to have a piece, because they ran out since my guests loved them so much!). With regard to the actual lead up to the day, I was working with Sierra who was organized and easy to work with leading up to the day. She was very flexible about helping me re-use my decorations/florals from the ceremony to my reception, and I really appreciated her doing so as I was initially told by the wedding coordinators that they would very limitedly assist us with things like this. I felt like they undersold how much they'd help with, and then overdelivered on the day of on how much they ended up helping with (so a positive, but it did weird me out in the beginning). My only true complaints were that they accidentally did not have enough seats at one of the tables for my guests, even though they had a seating chart in advance. I was really upset about this because it took so long for them to provide them a seat at their table, I would say about 45 minutes or so. It felt really embarrassing, although my friends were ok with it. When I expressed my frustration with the lead server, she told me that "I needed to make sure my guests were taken care of", which was a very offputting comment that upset me... because the seating chart was something done in advance to make sure my guests were cared for. I understand people make mistakes but a more appropriate response would have been to just apologize and handle the situation quickly. This was kind of the beginning of the head server's rudeness toward myself and my husband, and the rest of our guests during the evening. A few people complained to me after the wedding about her specifically, which was shocking to me because I thought it was just toward us. We also had our wedding in the River Room, which is advertised to fit up to 80 people and we had 65 people. It was very tight at 65, with space for dancing in the middle. I can't imagine if we had 80 people in there. I think it would sit more comfortably at 50-60 for an intimate wedding celebration. I do recommend the River Room if you are looking for a smaller wedding celebration in a charming space. Again, food is incredible and the grounds were as well. I would recommend.
  • A
    Amy Sent on 11/19/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding ceremony and reception were held at The Mill on The River. We loved working with Laura, the banquet manager, because of her efficiency, responsiveness and flexibility with our requests. She has a very calm demeanor; I doubt anything can shake her, and if it does, you'll never know it.

    Unfortunately, our wedding day weather did not cooperate with our plans for a gazebo ceremony, but Laura was a very calming presence, and made sure that I was as happy as possible with having the ceremony moved inside at the last minute. Although it wasn't what I had envisioned, it still was beautiful and went off without a hitch.

    The food at The Mill on the River is spectacular. Many times at a wedding, you can tell the kitchen is pumping out banquet food, but all of our dishes were handled with care and were absolutely delicious.

    The Mill's pastry chef gets five stars herself! I gave Laura photos of what I envisioned, and a flavor cake/filling they don't normally offer, and we were so pleased that it was EXACTLY how we wanted it to be...and it was DELICIOUS!

    The decor is perfect for a rustic wedding. Ours was in the afternoon/evening and the white mini lights on the wooden beams in "The Rafters" room was romantic and elegant, but not stuffy.

    The grounds at The Mill on The River are meticulously cared for. There are plants and flowers nearly year-round and there are many gorgeous places to have photos taken.

    Even if you're not in the market for a reception location, have dinner there or try Sunday Brunch. Seriously, one of the best in the state.
  • M
    Mark A. Sent on 10/12/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We love Mill on the River! Couldn't wait to have our wedding dream event there..Oct 4, 2014.
    We had a small family wedding and although we couldn't use the gazebo as planned for the ceremony due to the rain, the River Room was just great and it worked out fine. My concerns about everything (bride nerves) were unwarranted since Laura came through with calmness and attention to details that I originally thought would be lacking. Laura, a special Thanks to you! The entire staff was pleasant (I didn't expect less, since we have always found this to be true) and very professional. We had requested a slow service for dinner which was perfectly executed. The food excellent as always. Our guests loved the venue, the food, the staff and the warmth and charm of the Mill's atmosphere. It was a lovely day. A perfect place for a romantic intimate Wedding!
  • User953418 Sent on 09/30/2012
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Laura was wonderful - planning the wedding from out of state, we were able to communicate mostly via email. She was prompt in responding to my emails and always professional. The venue is beautiful and the food was delicious! In addition, the package that we purchased was a great deal - included food, cake, and open bar! It made planning from out of state much easier by eliminating the number of vendors we had to deal with.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message