23 Reviews for Michelle Durpetti Events

4.8
out of 5.0
23 Michelle Durpetti Events Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

I don’t even know where to begin to explain how thankful we are that we hired Michelle and Jill from MDE for our wedding! These girls went above and beyond to help make our wedding the most amazing day of our lives! I interviewed several other planning companies, but knew right away that I wanted to work with Michelle and her team. She was extremely professional, yet very personal and we connected right away. When Michelle first showed me an example of the timeline that they put together for their clients wedding days, I was very impressed but was not aware of how much time and energy it took to put together until we started on ours. These girls had the day planned out, down to every minute. I have great respect for people that pay that much attention to detail and are that organized. Michelle and Jill were always readily available to help me with any and all wedding tasks! Their well-informed opinions on vendors and many other things were extremely valuable in helping to plan our wedding. The experience the girls at MDE have gained over the years planning events in Chicago made me very confident in what they were suggesting to me. They know pretty much every vendor in the city and have worked with them one way or another so they knew exactly who I needed to hire to make our wedding day everything we imagined.

While we had a few issues arise the day of our wedding due to weather, Michelle and her team handled them very professionally and none of our guests even knew that anything happened, and neither did we, until after the reception! These girls put us completely at ease the entire day. This was a gift in itself because we were able to completely enjoy our wedding day from the minute we woke up to the minute we left the reception. They were hands down the best investment we made for our wedding! I wish we could do it all over again every weekend! =) Thank you so much for everything MDE! You girls are rockstars!

Profile Picture Julie, 6/13/15, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

There is seriously no better wedding planner than Michelle and her team. From the second I got engaged, I told my mom we need to work with her! I didn't even think about going to anyone else because Michelle is simply the best! Our wedding day wouldn't have been possible without all the help and ideas from Michelle. Throughout the entire planning process she kept us on track and provided us with the best advice to make our wedding day perfect. Her attention to detail, organization, and experience is what makes her so successful. She came into every meeting with such enthusiasm and excitement while still being extremely organized and professional. Her knowledge and expertise is unparalleled. She gives the best advise and I felt truly had our backs when it came to booking the vendors. In addition to helping us plan an over 500 person wedding, she and her team also made the day run so smoothly. They were there from morning till night making sure everything was getting done/happening when it was supposed to. My mom, my dad, and I could not have done this wedding without Michelle and her team. Thank you for everything you did to make our day run perfectly!!!!! Again, MDE you are the best!!!

Profile Picture User5194026, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
4.9

Michelle and her staff were wonderful to work with. I could not have planned and executed my daughter's wedding without their help and expertise. Their professionalism and knowledge in all aspects of wedding planning put my mind at ease and helped my daughter and I create the wedding of her dreams!! I would gladly recommend MDE to anyone looking for a wedding planner. Thank you, Thank you to Michelle and staff.

Profile Picture Diana, 7/4/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Michelle Durpetti Events is made up of an amazing team of people who are organizing and passionate about wedding planning! From the first meeting, MDE made me feel relaxed about wedding planning, something which extremely overwhelmed me in today’s age of Facebook and Pinterest. Right away, I knew I was in good hands. With many connections and relationships with other vendors in the wedding and entertaining world, they were able to support me through the process to find the best of the best vendors to be there on my special day! Michelle is easy to talk to and is truly looking out for your best interest and creating the exact vision you want for your wedding! She was fully prepared the day of my wedding with her emergency kit filled with anything and everything a bride (bridesmaid, groom, groomsmen or guest!) could ever need in a last minute situation! She made sure we were taken care of and my focus was on marrying the man of my dreams, not if the placecards made it to the reception space ok! Another member of MDE, Emily, is a the sweetest person to work with and her organizational and management skills are impeccable. Since my mom doesn’t live in the city, it was a breeze to get things done via email and telephone. Emails were detailed, but not too wordy where one would get lost. Emily was also extremely flexible when planning meetings to make sure it fit everyone’s schedule comfortably. She was on top of our timeline and constantly sending reminders on what should be done and what we should start thinking about – something easily forgotten in the hustle and bustle of everyday life! Our MDE staff the weekend of our wedding made sure everything went off without a glitch – and it did!! Because of these ladies fabulous talents of organization, decision making, and planning, my groom, my parents, and myself were able to fully enjoy the entire weekend!! I can’t thank them enough for giving me the best present of all, calmness on my wedding day!! Thank you MDE!

Profile Picture Lisa, 7/4/14, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

May 10, 2014
Once you’ve picked the date for your wedding and the planning begins, you realize there are a lot of decisions to be made and the process can easily become very overwhelming. Hiring MDE was hands down the best decision made. They kept us organized and on track not overlooking a single detail. A month before the wedding they contacted all of our vendors and made sure everyone was on the same page; completely taking ALL the worry away. The day of the wedding, everything was executed to perfection. They oversaw all of the vendors, made sure things were perfect at the church and made our visions a reality at the reception. Michelle Durpetti Events came highly recommended to us with a reputation for excellence and now we know why they are regarded as the best in their business. They are true professionals and the greatest group to work with.
Sterling, Emily and Michelle, thank you so very much; you girls are truly the best and we couldn’t have done it without you.
Mother of the bride,
Linda Sanzeri

Profile Picture Linda, 5/10/14, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
0.9

I am glad that everyone else seemed to have a helpful experience with this vendor but I want to make my situation known so that others are aware.
We used them for day of planning. My mom and I worked very hard for months to plan my wedding day. When it was time to hand the reigns over to these people I never felt comfortable. I would have to remind them of email introductions they were to make for me. Multiple times mistakes such as the date of my wedding and the spelling of my grooms last name were made. each time I'd point out the mistake I was given defensive answers rather than an apology.
It seemed as though all they did was make things more difficult and stressful. Simple questions via email were responded with how busy they were and they'd respond when they could.
We were also told that they usually don't run errands when I asked if my second dress could be delivered to the reception two blocks away theday of the wedding.
with three weeks to go we were given an email from Michelle stating that they couldn't do our wedding. We were left in a bad situation. We luckily asked our vendors who they'd recommend and they all said clementine. We went with them and they were AMAZING. So on top of it and instantly helpful. Running errands, great ideas, kindness and responsiveness and professionalism were all instantly shown. my wedding weekend went perfectly.
Again I usually don't take the time to Write reviews or care but wanted to save some a headache/stress and I was extremely disappointed.

Profile Picture User3747248, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

MDE is amazing! They were with us every step of the way making sure that we were on track to have everything completed by our big day. Michelle, Sterling and Emily worked as a team and were included on everything from day one. From recommendations for vendors to emotional support when things were overwhelming, they were there. Our big day was so special and went off exactly as we had imagined it. Everything was absolutely perfect and we couldn't have asked for a better team to make it happen. We highly recommend MDE for your wedding or event planning!

Profile Picture Sam, 11/2/13, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I was initially introduced to MDE through my best friend who had used them for her wedding in May, 2012. I liked Michelle and her team so much that when we started wedding planning I knew exactly who I wanted to work with.
We worked with MDE for over a 1 1/2 years - during that time they always remained available for questions and always made us feel like a priority.
MDE excels at:
-Vendor recommendations. MDE is cool & hip and so are the vendors they work with.
-Customer service
-And most importantly, acting as a buffer for family dynamics (i.e. making your Mom or your future mother-in-law happy)

Their priority is the bride/groom and ensuring your vision becomes a reality.

Profile Picture User3976969, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We hired Michelle Durpetti Events for month-of coordination for our September 2013 wedding and consider it to be the single most important investment we made towards our beautiful wedding day.

While we decided to use MDE for month-of management, they were always available to us via email throughout our 11 month engagement. We worked primarily with Emily Weinstein, but both Michelle Durpetti and Sterling Berry were tremendously helpful as we planned our semi-destination wedding two hours away from Chicago.

Emily's attention to detail, prompt correspondence, expertise, and professionalism is unparalleled. There were also times where I thought I could take on too many DIY projects and Emily gently guided me out of ideas that she knew would take away from my vision for a stress-free, relaxed wedding day.

I was able to truly enjoy the morning and afternoon of my wedding day getting ready with my bridal party and family members, without ever once having to deal with the logistical details of the day (vendor load-ins, set up, etc.) MDE not only executed the creative details I spent the past 11 months planning, but also the entire course of the day which was captured in a precise 10-page timeline.

My husband, our families, and I are so grateful for the ladies of MDE and especially Emily for helping us to have such a beautiful, absolutely perfect wedding day. Hire these ladies now, you will not regret it!

Profile Picture Julianne, 9/13/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I was referred to Michelle Durpetti Events by one of their former clients. I have to say, booking them was one of the best decisions I made for our wedding. My fiance (now husband!) Rob and I decided that the best package for us was the "six weeks out" package. Michelle and Emily were so helpful even before our package started, and never hesitated to once answer any questions, refer any vendors or give me their honest opinion. Emily Weinstein was our main point of contact and our planner on our wedding day.

Fast forwarding to six weeks out from our wedding, Emily fully took over. She was on every email, chiming in, and really became the point of contact for our vendors. She assembled a timeline that almost took my breath away! Emily thought of every single detail, from vendor load in's, to how long the wedding party was at every location, to when our guests get served a welcome drink, all down to the minute. I truly believe that little timeline is a part of how flawless our wedding went.

On the topic of flawless, our wedding was just that. To me, absolutely nothing seemed to go wrong, and that's how it should be! Emily truly made us feel like guests at our own wedding. I never had to worry about something not happening, because it had already been taken care of. I don't think I left the dance floor once!

Bottom line, Emily, Michelle and Sterling truly made our wedding. It was the best money we spent during the whole process. I am so excited to continue such a positive relationship with them and help other brides understand that if they hire MDE, they too will have the wedding of their dreams!

(P.S. - if I could give them TEN out of ten, I would!)

Profile Picture Jenny, 8/31/13, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

My husband and I agree -- MDE was the most important vendor we hired for our wedding.

My husband and I started the wedding planning process without a planner, but soon realized that we were in over our heads. MDE had us hooked after showing us a sample wedding day timeline prepared for one of their former clients. From that timeline alone, it was immediately apparent that MDE was thorough, organized, and possessed a wealth of knowledge about how to execute all of the wedding day details.

After hiring MDE, they exceeded our already-high expectations. MDE quickly responded to every e-mail (usually within minutes), provided amazing vendor recommendations, and kept us on track and up to date with all of the developments throughout the planning process. If we had a wedding related question or issue, all we had to do was send an e-mail to MDE, and we could rest assured that they would find us the answer or solution we needed. Finally, during the month before our wedding, MDE took over all vendor communications. This made the last month of wedding planning much, much easier to handle. We only needed to manage our e-mail exchanges with MDE, instead of with ten different wedding vendors. I can only imagine how much time and stress we saved by hiring MDE.

When the big day arrived, my husband and I truly felt like guests at our own wedding. Throughout the day, MDE demonstrated their amazing talent of being constantly available to us, yet discreet and behind-the-scenes. Every part of the day flowed smoothly, and I felt totally at ease with MDE behind the wheel. The wedding was beautiful and fun and better than we could have ever hoped. Their coordination and execution helped make the money spent on all the other vendors completely worth it.

To summarize, we can't say enough good things about MDE. We are eager to recommend them to anyone needing a planner for any type of event, wedding or otherwise.

Profile Picture Laura, 8/10/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

MDE is exceptionally knowledgeable in planning weddings in the Chicago metro area. Their contacts are numerous and all referrals provided wonderful and personalized service. There is no question they can't answer and they have bilingual services!

Profile Picture Ingrid, 6/8/13, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I am totally the girl who has dreamed about her wedding day since she was young and always hoped it would be magical. Both my husband and I, when asked about our recent marriage in June, have responded with, “we had the perfect day.” The tranquility and loveliness of our day was the direct result of the Michelle Durpettie Events team. During the first year of our engagement, I lived with my fiancé in Italy and with the help of MDE, I was able to accomplish all the typical “milestone markers” such as choosing a venue, a church, a dress, music, flowers etc without stress because they were with me step by step. No request was to extreme, no complaint was unheard, and no question went unanswered. When I would fly home to see family, they made themselves available for me at all hours and organized all the specific vendors to follow in their lead. When I was away, I would get email updates about work they were accomplishing while I was gone.

Besides being coordinators who become your friends and family in the process of planning (which we totally did with brunch, venue choosing and laugher filled meetings with my mom) MDE provided an amazing list of vendors which makes a difference when you are overwhelmed by choices. Their recommended vendors were reliable, experienced, and professional.

Two months later, our guests are still talking about the details, the creative touches, and the uniqueness of our wedding day. I really cannot express how thankful I was to have a wedding planner from day on. I tell every one of my single friends, they would be crazy not to hire MDE because with them, anything they could dream to want, is possible for THEIR day.

Profile Picture Nicole, 6/8/13, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We were very happy with the work that MDE for our wedding. Even though we had a 'day of' package, we were in close communication with Emily for weeks leading up to the wedding and she helped us with last minute details. Emily and the rest of the team at MDE were very responsive and detail oriented. They were essential to have during the wedding, handling a few issues unexpected issues that arose very well. I would highly recommend them to any brides!

Profile Picture User3461406, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I will leave the details to the MDE team but from the father of the bride, these people are ROCK STARS. My daughters wedding was perfect. Not one problem, or if there was they handled it and we never heard about it. Completely stress free for us. CALL THEM

Profile Picture Fred, 12/8/12, 7 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I can not say enough wonderful things about the ladies at MDE. From start to finish they were amazing to work with! From Vendor referrals and suggestions to talking through my wedding vision they were the best. They answer emails quickly and efficiently and understood exactly what I was looking for. They truly were a dream to work with. If there were any issues the day of the wedding I was not aware of them, everything was pulled off flawlessly. These ladies became my second family in the months leading up to the wedding and I'm so thankful we had their services!

Profile Picture Morgan, 12/8/12, 8 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

MDE is the most amazing group of creative individuals you could ever ask for to plan your wedding, or event for that matter. I should preface this review with the fact that my fiance is Michelle Durpetti's cousin - however I can state from first hand experience that Michelle and her staff treated Andrew and I as well as she has treated every other client of hers: with appreciation, thoughtfulness, integrity, and ingenuity. Not only did her and her staff (Rachel, Emily) make me feel like I was the only* bride in the world (despite the fact that they were simultaneously planning other weddings) but they always listened to my thoughts, concerns, wishes and honored every idea I had in addition to contributing their own creative thoughts. They treated Andrew and I with respect especially when they had to provide alternative solutions to issues that arose. We planned our wedding with MDE for 10 months (engaged in September 2011, met with MDE in October, and had our wedding October 2012). During those months they followed a very well organized plan of attack and were able to keep us on schedule. In addition to providing a detailed plan and creative ideas, which also included a list of fabulous and talented vendors (Carasco Photography, Exquisite Designs Chicago, Erickson Design, BB&J Linens) but they also responded to emails and phone calls immediately. They were able to make every thought I had into a reality! And this is not just special treatment for family members, this is their business model which they practice to a T.

The actual wedding day went off without one issue, literally perfect and Andrew and I owe Michelle, Rachel, Emily and Sterling a lot. The way they run their day is like clockwork but flexible as well. I cannot even begin to describe how hard they worked for the entire weekend to make one day be perfect. Every detail was attended to, every moment supported by the team.

Profile Picture Kimberly, 10/20/12, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

In the first meeting with Michelle and her team, I could literally feel the stress lift off my fiance's shoulders. We both have very intense jobs and an extremely busy lifestyle with a lot of family and friends. While we initially began to take on all of the planning ourselves and even selected some of our key vendors and venues prior to meeting with MDE for their day-of coordinator services, we quickly realized we needed them for partial planners to help us finalize plans for our wedding.

We could not have been happier as MDE made our vision come to life and were with us every step of the way. Keeping us on track throughout the process, paying attention to every little detail, and best of all...allowing us to truly enjoy our day. We had full trust and faith the day would go smoothly under their watch, which it absolutely did.

Wonderful job Michelle and team - you are amazing!!!

Profile Picture Scott, 9/22/12, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Choosing Michelle Durpetti and her team was without a doubt the best decision we made while planning our wedding. Not only are they professional, organized and very responsive, they are genuinely excited about your unique day and what makes your wedding special. Their vendor recommendations where spot on and their advice and support throughout the process was indispensable. Night of, I flat out wouldn't have survived without them there. Neither I nor any family member or guest had to think about a single detail - everything was handled seamlessly.

Profile Picture Rachel, 12/30/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We got married last weekend and in looking through the budget aftermath, I have to say that Michelle Durpetti Events is far and away the best thing that we spent our money on… Their service was worth every single penny, which is difficult to find in the wedding industry.
I chose the day-of-coordinator option and three months before our wedding, they took over. They will be as involved or uninvolved as you wish; they worked within my budget and I never felt pressured to spend money on anything I didn’t want or feel was valuable. They came to my vendor appointments, double checked contracts and made sure I got what each vendor had promised. The whole team was so fun to work with, and they take the time to understand what you want and make sure it comes across in your wedding.
The day of the wedding, they took care of EVERYTHING. We were truly able to be guests at our own wedding. It was such a wonderful feeling to know that I didn’t have to worry about anything; we were able to focus on each other and our guests. My husband and I have reminisced about our wedding every day, and in each conversation we mention how it all comes back to Michelle Durpetti Events. I can’t imagine trying to pull it off without them.
Happily married,
Elizabeth and Eric

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 10/22/11, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Michelle and the entire team at MDE are phenomenal. They made planning our wedding so much fun and completely stress free. Michelle was able to introduce us to many of her professional contacts, who we then ended up using. Without her we never would have met them, and without them our day never would have been as magical. We would definitely recommend MDE events to anyone in need of planning help. Whether full or day of, they are the team you need!

Profile Picture Brannon, 10/1/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Michelle Durpetti and her team made all my dreams come to life. I was a girl who always THOUGHT she knew what she wanted her wedding to be like but I never realized that I was missing a ton of details about a wedding I would've never considered had I not had the help from Michelle. She took on a challenge in itself....planning my wedding in 4.5 months and took extreme care and interest in every detail that went into the wedding planning and actual wedding day. Michelle also was so helpful thinking of unique ways of making the day super creative within the budget we had and taught me a lot about where that budget should be dispersed. I can't speak more highly of Michelle and all her staff! Michelle has a professionalism and knowledge of Chicago and the people and hot spots to know. And if you're anything like I was, not knowing any vendors, take Michelle's advice, she knows the best people in the business! I have been married 6 weeks now, and missing all the fun wedding planning was, but I must say, I doubt it would've been as much fun had I not done it with Michelle Durpetti Events!!

Profile Picture Heather, 5/21/11, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Michelle and herteam helped to organize our daughters wedding from start to finish! She has a dedicated team who are passionate about doing the best for their clients. We worked with Michelle and Jill and they were always available to answer questions we had. She has a special knack of matching the right vendor with your taste and personality. Saved us a ton of time searching for vendors. Michelle was also able to tell us what was important to make an impact and what was not. She is up to date on all the latest trends, as well as
traditional things we wanted. All in all, the day was perfectly orchestrated and organized down to the littlest detail. Money well spent for our peace of mind.

Profile Picture lilly, 12/11/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning