Michael Rastall Photography Reviews

35 | Vernon Hills, IL
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Michael Rastall Photography

Recommended by 100%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • P

    Prianka · Getting married on 11/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was amazing, not only did he show up early on the day of the wedding, but he unexpectedly brought a second shooter which came in handy for all of our bridal party shots! He was committed to getting the best angle/lighting etc. and we even did some really cool fun shots as well. I can't wait to see his finished product but have no doubt that it will be amazing. HIGHLY RECOMMEND him!

    Sent on 06/01/2012
  • C

    Cory · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are very happy we hired Michael to be our photographer! We did both engagement and wedding day pictures, and Michael always made us feel comfortable. Our families were very impressed with his work ethic and also his patience (especially as we were getting family together for pictures). We ended up getting behind schedule during the reception and Michael stayed a little past his ending time to capture everything! Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • N

    Neil & Binita · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was the best! He was extremely friendly from the beginning and me and my fiance got along with him so easily. Our engagement shoot in the city over exceeded our expectations greatly, he got every single shot that we dreamed of. Our wedding was just a couple months ago and our pictures were spectacular! Michael and his assistant captured all the moments that we wanted at our wedding ceremony as well as at our reception. Throughout all of our five wedding events, Michael was extremely professional, punctual, and knew exactly what we wanted from our numerous discussions. He was easily able to incorporate our wedding theme as well! =)
    We HIGHLY recommend him and have already had some friends book him for their weddings.

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about what a great job Michael did at our wedding! He captures wonderful candid moments and his work is beautiful! I highly recommend him as a photographer and a professional!

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have found someone better than Michael! The pictures from both our engagement session and wedding day came out amazing and were exactly what we wanted. Our pictures are natural looking and really captured our emotions. He was easy going but knew what he wanted to capture and communicated well with our entire wedding party. I relive the day we got married every time I look at our pictures. Michael is very gifted and I would recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 09/08/2012
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 02/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was looking for more journalist type photos for my wedding and Michael was spot on. When we got the pictures back I felt like I was reliving the entire day. He caught the candid moments I was hoping to help me remember and document the day
    He was incredible to work with and knew I was a little panicked about not having enough background choices due to our Feb date and the ceremony and reception being in the same location. He scouted out the area and nailed down some excellent places to take additional shots. He even drove me and my husband offsite after dinner to get some amazing shots outsides.
    He is truly passionate about what he does and it shows in the work he produces. I would recommend him to anyone for their wedding or family pictures, you can't go wrong.

    Sent on 04/15/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was truly amazing and extremely talented, I would recommend Michael to anyone who is look for a reliable and talented photographer. He is very passionate about his work and my husband and I were very happy & luck to have the change to work with him!! Our Engagement & Wedding Photos turned out beautiful and we will charish them forever! Thank you Michael for capturing our special day!!

    Sent on 01/05/2012
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were impressed with Michael from day one. He was very professional and creative. We LOVE our photos, and can't wait to get some prints in our house. He was very good about getting each picture that we wanted, and he got many candid shots which are great. He was also affordable.

    Sent on 02/13/2012
  • T

    Tina · Married on 08/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was our favorite wedding vendor that we worked with. He was attentive and pleasant during the entire planning process, and on the wedding day, we couldn't believe how hard he worked to capture beautiful images. His great attitude, and his ability to be "on" for 10 hours straight was unbelievable. Our photos came quickly after the wedding, and we are so in love with them. It's hard to find our top 200, let alone select a few to frame. I highly recommend Michael - he is truly talented (and so nice to work with).

    Sent on 09/28/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recommended Michael from a friend, and so happy we received his name. Michael was a pleasure to work with from our initial correspondences. We actually felt so comfortable from our friend’s recommendation, reviews of his blog and website, and phone/email correspondence, that we signed our contract with him before meeting him in person. (We were planning a Chicago wedding from Seattle.) We were of course reassured by our choice when we met him in person. We met him at a coffee shop just to meet and discuss some of our wedding ideas. Michael brings a wonderful relaxed, calm, and easy presence, which is wonderful on the wedding day. We had so much fun taking pictures, and the results were beyond our expectations. Michael doesn’t disappoint. Even when we received our DVDs of pictures in the mail he made special covers for the cases featuring some of our photos. Michael made things easy for us on the wedding day. He knows the pictures to get and how to get them, and he has is own special touch and eye for things too. We couldn’t believe the angles he was getting. He was crouching on ledges, down on his knees, and climbing on fences to get the perfect shot for us. We were over the moon with how he captured our wedding day. We only received positive comments back from our family and friends when we shared the photos too. Ladies and gentlemen, you’re lucky if you can get Michael Rastall for your big day.

    Sent on 09/29/2011
  • P

    Pathik · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So many of our friends came up to us at the wedding, reception, and in the days after and made sure to tell us how polite, kind, and personable Michael is. That is not something you can tell by looking at a photographer’s portfolio, and it is important because a vendor’s attitude can either be supportive on the day of or just add to more stress for the bride and groom. Nobody wants a pushy photographer making anyone in the bridal party feeling like they’re in the way of taking pictures, and same goes for the videographer. It is important for the vendor to relate to your guests and politely maneuver his/her way through the crowd while capturing all the great moments. That is exactly what Michael did, and at an Indian wedding of 500+ guests, that is very impressive. Michael is great at capturing expressions and using the colors present in a scene to the best advantage possible. Basically, it’s a perfect technique for Indian weddings that flow with so many different hues of clothing. He also did a great job capturing the essence of our Chicago-themed reception! We not only have memories of the décor of the evening, but also of the experience and ambience that was created.

    Sent on 05/10/2012
  • User2938528 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How the photographer interacts with the guests is almost as important as the photos themselves - and that is why Michael is awesome. Great photos and great service - we're extremely happy with our choice to go with him!

    Sent on 01/04/2013
  • M

    Jennifer · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was absolutely wonderful working with Michael! He was so easy to get along with it was almost like he was more my friend than my photographer. We loved his style and really loved how our Engagement photos turned out. Got a taste some of our wedding photos and they are amazing as well! I will highly reccommend Michael to any friends that may be getting married in the future! I hope to be able to use Michael in the future for other photography needs.

    Sent on 05/31/2011
  • Beth

    Beth · Married on 03/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married a few weeks ago. We talked to so many photographers. As soon as we met with Michael we knew he was it. If we were only allowed to say one word about Michael it would be AMAZING. Not only is he an absolutely fabulous photographer, but he helped in the moments when the nerves were too much to take. He was there with us every step of the way, reassuring us and making sure that all of our needs were met. He really did make the entire process much easier, and a lot of fun. He is a true artist! We cannot wait to see our pictures!

    Sent on 04/12/2011
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was very professional and responsive to our needs. He really listened to what we wanted but also provided really creative ideas and feedback. We absolutely loved our pictures and are so thankful to have picked such a fantastic photographer. We could not have been happier with Michael and would recommend him to everyone!

    Sent on 12/12/2010
  • E

    Erica · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was by far my favorite vendor to work with and produced amazing images that we will cherish for years to come. Photography was the most important decision for us and I must have met with 10+ Chicago-area photographers. I could not have been happier with my decision to use Michael Rastall. He captured our wedding beautifully and was very easy to work with from start to finish. He was everywhere the whole day/night, yet you don’t notice him. Many family members have said to me that they couldn’t believe he captured so many little moments and emotions throughout the entire day. He didn’t miss a thing and documented our day beautifully. He was always responsive during the planning process and seemed to genuinely care about us and our wedding – which is not something you get from most vendors. Michael was the best decision we made for our wedding and he was the one vendor that I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about. I would recommend him 100% to any bride and I agree with a previous post that Michael is so good you almost don’t want to share the secret!

    Sent on 09/27/2010
  • D

    Dana · Married on 07/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure having Michael as our photographer. He could not have been more helpful, professional, responsive, flexible, etc. Not to mention our engagement pictures and wedding photos are awesome!!! We love them and so do our family and friends!

    Sent on 10/17/2010
  • K

    keelin · Married on 06/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was outstanding in every way! From an extra long engagement short (because we came form out of town) to being flexible on the wedding day, Michael was perfect.

    Our engagement and wedding images are to die for. Michael is friendly, creative, and inconspicuous on the wedding day!

    truly a great photographer!! We got a great deal because we booked him so long ago, but even though his rates have increased, he is worth EVERY PENNY!

    Sent on 10/20/2010
  • D

    Daria · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael did our engagement session in March and shot our wedding in May. He was absolutely amazing to work with. He made us both feel very comfortable in front of the camera - which was the top concern for my husband and I. We couldn't believe how much fun we had working with him! He is extremely personable and professional and our guests had nothing but great things to say about him, too. He was up for anything despite the crazy, unexpected heat we had, and amazingly stuck with us for well over 12 hours at multiple locations. The photos turned out amazing, with just the right mix of posed and photojournalistic styles and were delivered in an adorable collection of personalized DVD cases with blazingly fast speed. Having the ability to chronicle the day from beginning to finish with digital copies of all the images taken was priceless. I give Michael the highest recommendation for any photography work you might need - wedding, or otherwise; he never fails to artfully capture the best expressions and emotions of the day. Thank you, Michael!

    Sent on 09/27/2010
  • S

    Felisa · Married on 04/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael Rastall was so easy to work with, anytime I had an idea he helped me take it to the next level. He made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera, but he also made us forget he was there. That made it possible for him to capture some amazing moments and emotions. He stole moments from time that I would not have remembered without him being there, and now I have them to keep forever.

    Sent on 06/15/2010
  • T

    tanya · Married on 12/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael shot our wedding in December at the Newberry Library.

    Most importantly, the photos are amazing! I love, love, love them. I have spent way too much time this past month staring at them. It's so hard to choose favorites. He completely captured the emotions of our wedding day. I relive the day every time I look at them.

    Not only am I so, so happy with the photos, but he is such a great guy. I felt so comfortable with him all day. Sometimes I didn't even notice him around. He got every shot I could have possibly wanted - I don't know how he did it! He did a nice mixture of photojournalistic style and formal/posed style (which is exactly what I requested). He is affordable and just so amazing. I give him the highest possible recommendation.

    The photographer is the most important wedding vendor - and Michael is the best. Absolute best!!

    If you haven't booked your photographer, you must book Michael!!

    Sent on 02/22/2010
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 11/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I almost hate sharing our secret with everyone, but Michael is absolutely deserving of having his name and talent shouted from the rooftops of Chicagoland. My husband and I are so thankful to have found such a talented, professional and personable photographer to work with for our wedding. My mother and I were both struck by Michael's charisma and love of his work when we first met with him, and after a great conversation and review of his work the choice was clear. I was thrilled to have found a local photographer with the style I was looking for at a price point my patents were comfortable with.

    Michael truly exceeded our expectations from the beginning - giving us hundreds of engagement photos from our session; for the wedding, he stayed in touch prior to confirm timing, locations and discuss what we wanted to see. All of our wedding guests commented on his calmness and professionalism; he made us and everyone else feel very comfortable. We couldn't believe that after a full day with us, he still offered to come out to my parents' home to shoot some casual candids of our closest friends and family. The icing on the cake so to speak was the delivery of our photo discs - labeled in cases with custom photo covers using our wedding pictures.

    It goes without saying that the photos themselves were beyond what we had hoped for, and I have received nothing but raving compliments about them. Although part of me wants to keep my awesome photographer a hidden secret, I wholeheartedly recommend Michael Rastall to any bride and groom looking for an experienced professional photographer with a unique style and a lot of creativity.

    Sent on 12/23/2009
  • Q

    Dan · Married on 10/31/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was such a pleasure to work with. He was so relaxing, calming, professional and creative; I felt like we were having an old friend take our photos. He had great ideas of his own and also listened to what we wanted to help create the most spectacular set of photos. Michael is the consummate professional regarding the more formal family shots as well as candid shots throughout the evening. Additionally, he provided online links about a month after our wedding date and full quality digital originals on DVD, and remained in constant contact in the months and weeks up to our wedding. For his time commitment and skills, i feel that he could easily charge so much more. Michael Rastall is an exceptional photographer, and a true professional.

    Sent on 12/21/2009
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 07/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was one of our favorite vendors for so many reasons! He was so professional yet easy-going the first time we met, and I felt like he was really trying to get to know me and my husband. He knew what was important to us and it really shows in his results-we were so excited once we received all of our photos. Our wedding was in July and I still feel like I was there that day whenever I go through all of them-not to mention he didn't bust our budget!

    Bottom line is that you will not be disappointed if you go with Michael-he is extremely talented and a genuine person that does amazing work!

    Sent on 10/17/2009
  • C

    Nina · Married on 05/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were a handful of decisions that were effortless for us: hiring Michael was one of those effortless decisions. Michael is incredibly talented, professional, creative, calm, and easy to work with. I saw his portfolio online and was struck by the beautifully composed photographs. The images are so crisp and emotionally evocative.

    Our meetings were relaxed, productive and all of our emails were answered quickly & thoroughly. We felt confident in his skills and experience. Our engagement photo session was awesome. He was fun to work with and a great director when we needed it. Once we got the photos back, we were floored...they totally exceeded our expectations. We couldn't believe how many funny, beautiful, silly, romantic, fabulous photographs there were...of us! Amazing.

    Michael did a great job at our wedding too. He arrived early, was dressed to the nines, and got right to work. The groom and I took some photos before the ceremony (which I highly recommend) & got some beautiful images together. After the ceremony, Michael managed to wrangle our raucous families with ease into some great family portraits. He handled every wrinkle in the schedule with ease. It was a pleasure to have him there amidst the chaos.

    Choosing the right photographer was really important to us. We feel so lucky to have worked with someone we trusted artistically and professionally. Thank you Michael!

    Sent on 06/29/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review