Michael + Anna Costa Photography Reviews

28 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Michael + Anna Costa Photography

Recommended by 98%

28
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

7 User photos

Michael + Anna Costa Photography 1
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 2
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 3
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 4
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 5
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 6
Michael + Anna Costa Photography 7
Sort by:
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Experience

    From my first conversation with Anna all the way through my wedding day the whole experience was amazing. I was fortunate enough to have both Anna and Michael work on my wedding and they're great individual and as a team. Anna really helped to organize my family and did lots of pre-planning to make sure day of she knew what photos were important to me and took so much stress off of the actual day. I planned my wedding in Santa Barbara from out of state and having them walk me through it really made things so much easier. Couldn't recommend them enough!

    Sent on 08/21/2019
  • L

    Liz · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Anna were an absolute delight to work on our wedding day -- and leading up to it! Anna helped coordinate everything prior to the wedding. She was so easy to talk to and made wonderful suggestions on things we would have never considered (make sure you go for the sunset shots -- these were our favorite pictures)! My husband and I had so much fun all day with Michael as our lead photographer. He was calm and efficient -- it helped put us both at ease. He is also super silly and played along with our ridiculous wedding party and their jokes; everyone said they had the best time! I cannot thank Michael and Anna enough for the wonderful pictures we will cherish forever!

    Sent on 10/01/2018
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 8
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 9
  • L

    Laura · Married on 12/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I eloped to Santa Barbara. We didn’t want a full wedding, but definitely needed a great photographer to capture our day. We could not have been more pleased with everything. Michael and Anna truly have an ability to create art with their portraits. We could not have chosen a better photographer. We felt very comfortable the entire day, and we will have beautiful memories for the rest of our lives. So very happy! I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 02/21/2018
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 10
  • D

    daniel · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, talented and experienced! Consummate professionals begining to end!

    Sent on 02/21/2018
  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 08/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have Michael Costa capture our wedding at Sunstone Winery. Since we were getting married at such a naturally gorgeous place, we wanted our wedding to highlight the natural scenery - especially in the pictures. Leading up to the wedding, Anna - his wife - was very organized and talked us through the entire process to make sure we were all on the same page. Michael did a fantastic job capturing lighting, the beauty in the landscape - especially contrasting colors which turned out beautifully in the photos, candid moments, and the vibe of the party. He was also surprisingly hilarious, and a pleasure to work with, making our entire wedding party feel at ease even though we were taking photos under 95 degree heat. The final products were just what we were looking for, and our family has fallen in love with our photos as much as we have. My only suggestion would be to extend the hours as much as financially possible, since I wish I would have gotten more getting-ready photos. Thanks Michael, for capturing our wedding so beautifully!

    Sent on 02/21/2018
  • B

    ben · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So very much can go wrong at the wedding. Put any large group of people you hoped would never meet in a room together, and a leaning wedding cake is the least of problems. But when it is done all that is left is love...and photographs. Anna Costa was kind and professional and we didn't notice her at all..literally...where did these come from? How did she see that? What a beautiful photo! You want to hire a shooter who doesn't need to be managed and you can have complete faith in to reflect your vision. Hire the Costas.

    Sent on 02/24/2018
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 11
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 12
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 13
    Michael + Anna Costa Photography 14
  • A

    Annie · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Michael and Anna! Our engagement and wedding photos are so beautiful! Michael made my husband and I feel very comfortable behind the camera and was a pleasure to be around on our special day! Highly recommend them!

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Anna are incredible!! SO talented and so easy to work with.

    Sent on 01/01/2018
  • C

    christine · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anna of Michael + Anna photographed our engagement pictures as well as wedding pictures. She is so incredibly talented, made us feel completely comfortable, knew exactly which parts of the wedding venue to photograph us and was an overall joy to work with. She was incredible with organizing the large numbers of people for the family pictures as well as so patient with our flowergirls. Highly recommend her for any photos!

    Sent on 06/21/2017
  • C

    C · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anna Costa did an incredible job photographing our wedding! Cannot recommend her enough. Pictures turned out great! Our families are so happy with them as well.

    Sent on 02/22/2018
  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Anna are quintessential professionals. They were inconspicuous yet found a way to capture every magical moment of our wedding. We highly recommend them!

    Sent on 02/27/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Anna and Michael for our wedding. From the first day I spoke with Anna she was really attentive and extremely helpful with planning our timeline and determining the right package for our big day.

    We were initially drawn to how candid, original and honest of all Michael and Anna's photos are. We had Michael as our photographer, plus his amazing assistant, for our wedding day. Although my husband and I aren't super comfortable in front of the camera, Michael and his assistant discreetly took our photos without ever being overbearing (like photo-ninjas). They made all of our shoots feel special and beautiful without forcing anything and kept both of us feeling totally relaxed and like ourselves throughout the day. This completely shows in the gorgeous and artistic photographs we got back. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 03/06/2018
  • K

    Kanani · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOULD GIVE THEM A MILLION STARS IF I COULD! We cannot say enough about Michael and Anna Costa, they were a dream to work with. When faced with the daunting task of planning a wedding, one thing we were absolutely sure about was how much we wanted to have them as our photographers. Anna came the night before to our rehearsal/welcome party really capturing the excitement of the weekend from scenery pics, to precious moments of friends/family seeing each other for the first time in a long time, etc. On our wedding day we had the talents of Anna and her associate Robert. Anna was with me (the bride) and Robert was with my husband, both shooting all of the special moments. I was particularly nervous about taking solo pictures on top of having wedding day jitters and Anna was able to calm my nerves. She seriously got me! Robert captured great candids of my husband and his groomsmen-making it easy and fun for the guys! I could literally go on and on about them, from the preparation leading up to our wedding, to the day of, and finally to the AMAZING pictures they captured. The process of receiving our photos was seamless and I couldn't stop crying (tears of joy) after seeing our pictures. Anna and Michael just got us and if you are planning an event you HAVE TO BOOK THEM!!!!

    Sent on 02/22/2018
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 05/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved having Anna Costa take our photos the day of our wedding.

    My husband and i had a small ceremony at the Santa Barbara courthouse and Anna was so amazing at keeping our somewhat unruly family in line. We had thought that the family photos were going to take up most of the 2 hours that we had booked Anna for, but she made sure that didn't happen so that there was plenty of time to take lots of amazing photos of just my husband and myself. She took us to several different amazing little spots and made us feel totally at ease throughout our photo session.

    My family also adored Anna and I really feel like she was able to capture all of their personalities. I also loved that she took the time to understand the family dynamics on my side since I have a lot of step parents and siblings.

    Overall, I just could not recommend working with her more!

    Sent on 05/10/2016
  • S

    Sam · Married on 01/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Its been 6 months since our wedding and my wife and I still can't get over the spectacular job Michael and Anna did with both our proposal and wedding!!
    They are hands down a superstar team!! I used Anna to photograph my wedding proposal in Santa Barbara and we were absolutely blown away by the quality and creativity of the pictures we received. It was a busy day on a private winery and she took advantage of all the different views and sceneries!! On top of that she's an absolute sweetheart and makes you feel completely at ease!!

    Months later, even though we were getting married in southern california I asked Michael and Anna to shoot our wedding since no one else would do it justice. Again they exceeded my expectations!! They really make you feel like royalty and the pictures they produce are top notch!! Complete professionals from start to finish!! Its been 6 months since our wedding and we literally show our wedding and engagement photo's at just about every dinner party we host!! Love these two, just an absolute honor to work with them!! Thanks again!!

    Sent on 02/24/2018
  • C

    Christian · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Anna are top notch! My wife and I have used them for our engagement photos, professional work photos, wedding at the Bacara and now baby/family photos at home. We will continue to use them for all of our photography needs! They are VERY talented and professional photographers and I am consistently amazed at the photos we get back and now get to cherish. Worth every penny. Available, flexible, communicative, make you feel comfortable, will work with you to achieve your vision, and they know people or are experienced with most venues. Once I got the pictures back I realized how important it was to have them capture our once-in-a-lifetime moments.

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • User3908972 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was our wedding photographer and he was absolutely fantastic to work with! Anna led the planning with such attentiveness to detail, timeliness, and organization. Super responsive, accommodating of our requests and she did it all with a smile on her face. At least that is what I imagine over our phone calls and email conversations. You could feel her sweetness though email!

    Michael was so easy-going, cheerful, thoughtful but decisive in how he worked. It was like watching a brilliant artist do his thing. When he arrived in the bridal suite, I was a bundle of nerves, but his calm and warm demeanor melted the nerves, which I'm guessing translates to better photos of me! Michael and his assistant were like ninjas during the wedding. Invisible but everywhere. His assistant was fantastic too. Both of them were on top of it all.

    We haven't received our photos yet, but I'm confident they will be beautiful. After scouring all their photos, both on their website and on wedding blogs, I have no doubt the photos will be beautiful and bring tears to my eyes.

    I am so thankful to have been able to work with them for our wedding. If you are looking for a photographer, please consider Michael and Anna! PS: Our wedding was at Carondelet House in LA. So if your wedding will be there, go with someone who has photographed it before and knows the space and its beautiful details, like Michael!

    Sent on 11/07/2014
  • B

    Brian · Married on 05/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I lost out on the argument with my daughter about having a professional photographer versus photos by semi-professional friends... And I am so glad I did! Anna was the lead photographer for my daughters wedding in Santa Barbara in March and it was evident that she and her assistant really knew what they were doing. The formal family pictures at the Santa Barbara Courthouse were perfectly organized but, what has really blown me away was the slide show preview that Anna has now provided. I am amazed at the number of beautiful, but candid photos that she took capturing tender, pensive, funny, anticipatory, joyous moments. I (we) are so happy I lost the argument. I cannot say enough good things about Anna's work.

    Sent on 05/08/2014
  • User3754634 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We both agree that having Michael shoot our wedding was our favorite vendor selection. We had so much fun with them and his crew throughout the day. He took charge of our photos and had us do a good combo of formal shots and creatives with unique and fun set ups. I am soooo excited to see the finished product.

    In addition, it was great working with Anna to confirm the booking. She was very responsive and super easy to work with.

    1000% SOOO thrilled with Michael and Anna Costa photography. We hope to include them in all of our photography worthy moments going forward.

    Sent on 03/04/2014
  • User3179073 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Anna Costa for our October wedding in Montecito, CA, and we were very happy with the photography services she provided. Anna met with us at the venue before the wedding to identify photo locations and run through the event timing. On the wedding day she and her assistant arrived on time and followed our requested schedule of photos. We received a "preview" slideshow with wedding highlights about 10 weeks after the wedding, and we received all of our wedding photos about 5 days later. The photos really capture the look and feel of the day, and we love some of the shots that she took of us on an excursion to the beach during cocktail hour. We haven't ordered our pictures yet, but I'm sure they will be great! Anna was really easy to work with and made us feel very comfortable on our big day.

    Sent on 01/04/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Anna Costa did a wonderful job capturing our wedding, and we will cherish our photos till death do us part.

    Michael took our engagement photos, and we got both Anna and Michael to shoot our wedding. The engagement photos were nice and awkward, but they turned out well, and they helped us get comfortable with Michael and his cameras. Michael and Anna are great people, very friendly and professional. They knew how to corral everyone for portraits, and to help me and Matt relax in front of the camera. I was advised before selecting wedding photographers that personality matters a lot--you probably spend more time with your photographers than with your closest friends and family on your wedding day. We felt at ease with the Costas.

    We took a million pictures on the wedding day, with Michael and Anna working hard from morning until well into the night. They captured everything, and our pictures came out beautifully. Our package came with full sets of both digital images and 4 x 6 prints in a custom box, as well as an album, two parent albums, and credit for larger prints of our choosing. It took us a while to get some of these things, but most of that was on our end. It's hard to pick your favorite pictures from an event as big and well covered as your own wedding. There were some problems with the website, but the Costas actually comped us extra prints to make up for them. All in all, great to work with.

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • E

    Erica · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Anna for our wedding photographer. She was absolutely FANTASTIC. My dad is a professional photog, so I gave him the responsibility of narrowing down choices for the wedding. He chose Anna and one other. After conversations with both, it was clear that Anna was our gal. She was SO easy to talk to, totally understood what we wanted/needed and made me feel comfortable immediately. Her pricing is TOTALLY appropriate (if anything, I'd say she's underpriced!) She shot half film, half digital on the day. The photos are truly wonderful. I'm the kind of gal who prefers candids to anything posed, and she certainly delivered. Looking through the pictures brings us back and makes us all gooey... exactly what they're supposed to do. Took awhile to get the photos back (she's upfront about that when you sign a contract though!) but they were WELL worth the wait. Nothing looks over-processed (if she did photoshopping, it's incredibly subtle,) and the number of images we got back was astounding. I truly cannot recommend her highly enough!

    Sent on 10/03/2013
  • E

    Erika · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed working with Michael and he was that great mix of being everywhere on our wedding day without ever being intrusive. He directed us when we needed it and then just let us be outselves. He was awesome!! Highly recommend him.

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael + Anna are your dream wedding photographers! Michael not only photographed our wedding but also our engagement pictures, as well as our rehearsal dinner. We booked them before we even set the wedding date because I knew instantly after talking to them they were the ones I wanted to capture the day. Their photography style was exactly what I wanted and they are two incredible nice people. The wedding day is hectic enough and having a photographer that you are comfortable with the so important. I just know the pictures are going to be gorgeous (our engagement pics were perfect!). If you are searching for your wedding photographer, BOOK THEM! it will be the best thing you do!

    Sent on 07/27/2012
  • S

    Seth · Married on 05/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Anna Costa, and she was better than we could have ever expected. We met her a few months before the wedding for engagement photos, and we immediately felt like we knew her. She was a driving force on our wedding day! She made sure everyone was where they should be and getting their photos taken. She even drove us down to the beach for a few candids. Needless to say, we would hire her again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 06/27/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review