Weddings

Matthew Steed Wilson Photography Reviews

Matthew Steed Wilson Photography

Matthew Steed Wilson Photography

Arvada, CO
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 17
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • O
    Olivia Married on 09/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't be happier with my photos!

    I cannot recommend Matt enough for wedding photos. I can't believe how lucky I got with choosing him. We got SO MUCH back from him. He has the perfect mix of editorial style, and capturing the moment with candids. So many people after my wedding commented on what a good photographer he was, and that he LITERALLY did not stop taking photos. He captured every single moment that I was hoping he would, and more. He was a calming presence in times when it was needed. He gave us even more photos back than what we expected, and his edits to them were beautiful. He was definitely one of my favorite vendors I worked with, and all of our friends have said that when they get married they are going to use him as their photographer too. Thank you so much for your hard work and going above and beyond for my wedding. Hope to see you again!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    If you want stress-free and awesome photos, BOOK MATTHEW

    Matthew was one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding. We did the full package that included an engagement shoot, and he knocked it out of the park IMMEDIATELY. He suggested we drive to Loveland Pass, CO at sunrise, and even though it was fuh-reezing (it was February), it was SO much fun, and he made us feel super comfortable. He was really good at directing us (which we were both concerned about, because neither of us knew what to do in front of the camera), and it was just a fun, awesome experience, and gave us 100% confidence in Matthew for our wedding.

    For our wedding itself, which was in July, Matthew once again completely knocked it out of the park. He was simultaneously everywhere AND not at all distracting. The photos he took really told the story of that day, which is exactly what I wanted. He never missed a beat, and captured some of the sweetest and funniest moments throughout the wedding and reception. He snuck my husband and I out around 9 pm for some night shots, which turned out really unique.

    I expected to REALLY like maybe 10 or 20 photos total, but I honestly LOVE like 50-100. We've had soooo many people tell us our photos belong in a magazine. He's awesome to work with, easy to communicate with, and I promise you won't be disappointed if you book him. DO IT!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Matt for our engagement and wedding day photos. It has only been a few weeks since we had our wedding, but I wanted to write a review to share our experience in working with Matt and his team. From the start, Matt has been professional and responsive. He is extremely talented, you can see this in his portfolios and also we had our engagement pictures done which we loved. We can't wait to see our wedding photos! When working with Matt and his team, it felt so easy and they were all so calm and patient throughout the whole day, it made us feel at ease and allowed us to have fun. We also went out for a night shoot, and we could see the creative juices running through Matt's head as he set up the scene. MSW Photos was awesome to work with, you won't regret booking. Thank you to Matt and his team for helping to make our day perfect and capturing all the special moments for us.
  • P
    Page Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was amazing!!! He was always prompt with his responsive and gave great feedback on what to do! He also was able to capture moments of the day which I didn't even know were happening! All of my guests said they didn't even notice the photographer (which I liked) and that he captured everything! I also love that he stays till the end of the night. My husband did not get out on the dance floor until the third set of our band and there are so many pictures of him dancing! I would highly recommend him to anyone who wants truly unique photos! He also would make space out of anything!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 07/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was a pleasure to work with from the very start. He was responsive, asked the right questions to help us figure out what we were looking for in terms of how to capture our day, he was prompt and delivered everything he said he would in taking pictures of our wedding. The price was fair and his pictures are so beautiful We loved the two staff members he worked with two. You spend a lot of time with your photographers on your wedding day and it was really great to be with people who wanted to be there with you, enjoying the moments and helping you to enjoy them too. We cannot recommend Matthew Steed Wilson more.
  • T
    Tori Married on 12/31/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt photographed my wedding on New Year's Eve 2015. His photos were exactly what I wanted and when you look at them, they tell the story of my wedding that I wanted them to tell! I'm not really into super bright hazy Barbie doll shots; I preferred contrasted, almost dark, and saturated photos for my wedding, and that's what his previous weddings said to me. We had a few requests, budget-wise, and he was happy to oblige! Even as I come across other photographers whose pictures are awesome, I am still 100% convinced they couldn't have done better. I can't tell you enough, Matt, how happy I am with the photos! I'll love them forever! Thank you so much!

    Matthew Steed Wilson Photography's reply:

    Thank you, Tori! We had so much fun with you guys… even when freezing our bums off! Happy upcoming anniversary!
  • B
    Barbara Married on 10/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hiring Matt was the best decision I made throughout my entire wedding planning process. In short: Stop your search here and book him ASAP.

    To elaborate a bit:

    Matt as a Vendor: I found Matt through Wedding Wire and he was very prompt to respond. His response rate never slowed anytime within the time I booked him to even after my wedding day (I think the longest he took to respond to an email was 12 hours). Even though he is based in Washington (outside Peoria), he was able to meet us in Chicago so we could chat - from Day 1 he was accommodating. After brunch, It wasn't hard to make the call to hire him. He was professional, positive, and clearly knew how to match up to our off beat personality as a couple. I had no doubt that he could translate the feel of our wedding into photos.

    Matt as a Photographer: his portfolio speaks for itself, so I don't have much to elaborate on here. I will say that circumstances for our engagement shoot changed the day of and Matt was forced to shoot us in the basement of a bar with little to no natural lighting and he STILL killed it. All of them turned out amazing and I was so impressed. It was also snowy and mucky outside. Regardless of the scenario, Matt makes it work. This made me trust him 110% with my wedding day. This guy can clearly roll with the punches.

    Matt on the day of the wedding: Matt was the absolute best (are you seeing a pattern here?). Something I never considered till the day OF the wedding: Matt is confident, experienced, and a professional, which as a bride, translates to zero stress. I know there was not a moment missed. He even came up with some really great shots in the moment that turned out to be some of my very favorites from the entire day.

    In short, I cannot speak highly enough of Matthew Steed Wilson Photography. He was a perfect vendor from day 1. Zero problems, amazing photographs, and wonderful to work with all around.
  • L
    Lexi Event on: 11/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful, timeless, stunning, comfortable. Working with Matt has been nothing short of everything I wanted. We were on a tight timeline and he made it work. My fiance and I had never taken professional photos before but from looking at our results from the engagement shoot, you would have no idea- they are absolutely perfect. Matt listened to my wishes as I like a soft feel to the photos and he brought along different lenses to accommodate my desires. He also had great ideas and an ease about him that makes you feel comfortable even in sub zero temperatures. Thanks Matt! We love them!

    Matthew Steed Wilson Photography's reply:

    Thanks, Lexi!
    Props to you and Andy for coming out in the cold for your engagement photos!
    Can't wait for your wedding!
  • A
    Amber Married on 10/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matthew Steed Wilson Photography is amazing. We found him through a referral and after reviewing many, many photographers, knew that Matthew was the one for my sister's wedding. He captured the moments to be remembered in pictures that have an artists' touch. He was very personable and fun, but never intrusive. Thanks to Matthew, we have exceptionally creative photos to remember the day, as well as the traditional poses to please the parents! Thank you, Matthew!

    Matthew Steed Wilson Photography's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words, Amber!

    You did a wonderful job as planner/sister! Brittannie and Chase had a beautiful wedding! I glad to have been able to be a part of it!
  • S
    Savannah Married on 09/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt and his team, Abhi and Aida, are absolutely wonderful! They are very professional photographers who captured our special day perfectly! They were creative in taking several amazing shots and were very easy to work with! Our family and friends enjoyed them very much! I have already referred Matt to a fer of my friends who adored our wedding picture.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot explain in words how thankful and grateful my husband and I are to have found Matt as our photographer for our engagement and wedding pictures. We were looking for someone who could capture moments and could do traditional but also photo journalistic photos and he did just that. From the moment we met with Matt and saw the previous work he has done, we knew he was perfect for us. Matt was so easy to work with and always responded quickly to my questions throughout the whole planning process. If we had specific requests, he met them for us and went beyond to make us happy. And he did not let us down! He captured every emotion and event that happened during my big day and I will treasure these pictures for the rest of my life. The photos are so different than what other photographers are offering and we could not get enough praise about them from our family and friends. I would highly recommend Matt as your photographer and are so grateful for all of his hard work!
  • A
    Ann Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I met Matthew at a Vendor show and I can say that getting his card that day was one of the best things I did for my wedding. I have been told by a number of brides that if there is one thing that you want to spend money on, it's the photos. Matthew prices were comparable to most photographers I had reviewed, but his photos are worth so much more. My husband and I are not people who like to pose and standstill for very long, we wanted our photographer to capture the moments that we so quickly forgot about! From the first to the very last photo, I loved them all! Matthew thought of things I would never thought of. He truly saw what Nathan and I were about, what we loved, and he captured that. It's amazing how fast your wedding day goes, but knowing that Matthew and his team captured all those moments means so much to me. It's funny how many people complemented the professionalism and the overall personality of Matthew and his team. Although they were there taking pictures you never felt overwhelmed or that you had to take a photo. I honestly could go on and on about Matthew and his team, but I think his work speaks for itself. AMAZING!!
  • User1883088 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt did an incredible job for our wedding pictures. He stayed in the background so we never felt imposed on, yet he always seemed to get the perfect picture to capture our day. He has another professional photographer to help him throughout the day get pictures/angles he can't get instead of an assistant who is inexperienced to act as another photographer. He also has a personal assistant to help with lighting (which makes a huge difference!!). The pictures he gets are incredible, and the quality of the prints are awesome. His pricing is reasonable, and he is very easy to work with. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer!!

    Matthew Steed Wilson Photography's reply:

    Thanks for the review! You forgot to mention that my clients are always awesome, as well! : )
  • R
    Rahil Married on 03/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matthew and his team did a great job over our 3 day event. He also took some of the best engagement pics for us in downtown Chicago in the freezing cold!

    If you want quality coverage and unique images, go with Matt!
  • B
    Beth Married on 08/03/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Awesome guy who takes awesome photographs. He captures all the important moments and more. He delivers what he promises and the results are worth the investment.
  • J
    Jackie Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt did such an incredible job with our photos!! My husband and I were so impressed with him. He was professional, friendly, and respected our desires.

    The quality of the photos was amazing, and he captured every moment perfectly! I was so happy with all of our pictures, and a year later I still look through them regularly!

    One of the things my husband and I were most impressed with was Matt's generosity! He did an engagement shoot for us in my husband's home town for no extra charge! He provided us with all of the pictures for those via his website. Then for our wedding, he not only gave us online access to all of our pictures that we could download for free (none of that darned "stock photo" stuff across the pic), but he PRINTED off all 600 of our pictures and mailed them to us in a beautiful photo box that he fused one of our pictures onto! And then provided us with a professional-looking flash drive with our names that had all the pictures as well!

    THEN, get this! It turns out, he was leaving for vacation in Boulder, Colorado the same time we would be on our honeymoon in Estes Park, which was about 45 minutes away from him! He drove out early on our last morning there to take 3 hours of pictures of us for FREE!! (Well, in exchange for a meal at Taco Bell! haha). And then he provided us with those pictures. He went so above and beyond what we expected, especially when we only had a 3 month engagement! :)

    Needless to say, we were so happy to meet him and have him capture our big day!! Maybe we can convince him to take pics of our children some day :P
  • K
    Kim Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Matt was amazing. Not only did he captured the day wedding day with wonderful photos but he also did a great job with engagement and honeymoon photos. I would definitely work with Matt again. He was also available the entire day until the very last guests left the reception hall. So thankful for having the day to relive in photos.