31 Reviews for Malcolm Smith Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
High-Res Images (2)
Slideshow (2)
Digital Files (2)
Prints (2)
31 Malcolm Smith Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Malcolm was an absolute joy to work with, and my wife and I were so delighted with his pictures. He captured the spirit of our wedding, and managed to get shots of all our favorite moments. We had a lot of fun working with him during all our "portrait" shots, and many of our wedding guests commented on how our photographer was "everywhere" but also totally unobtrusive. He really listened to what we wanted, and we couldn't be more pleased with our wedding pictures!

Profile Picture Sarah, 7/3/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Like any couple planning a wedding, we received many suggestions as to the best vendors for many services, but by far the best recommendation we received was the one pointing us to Malcolm Smith as photographer for our event.

Malcolm began by introducing us to his extensive portfolio. After listening carefully to our vision, he pointed us to various vignettes drawn from his previous work as examples of approaches we might consider. Since we were fortunate to have secured Seattle’s Mayor Ed Murray as the officiant for our smaller “friends and family” type ceremony, it was critical that our plans mesh efficiently with the schedule of a busy executive. Malcolm handled all of these arrangements deftly and with an unimposing confidence that immediately put everyone at ease. City Hall’s green design and reliance on natural light presented challenges, but Malcolm handled these deftly and in a way that accentuated the striking architecture of this newer structure, all while never losing sight of the faces and emotions of the people involved. Malcolm captured the “classy urban” look-and-feel that we sought. There were no awkward poses; rather, Malcolm quickly made us comfortable expressing and reveling in the love that brought us together. He artfully used light and shadow to accentuate many of our images—not only those within the Mayor’s office and surrounding modern interior spaces, but also immediately prior through a carefully planned stroll through the surrounding downtown neighborhood where he uncovered a number of park-like spaces that would escape the attention of the casual passer-by.

Malcolm’s expertly framed images captured the beauty of our friends, family and city on this day in ways we never thought possible. The set of photographs he delivered (and all at a very competitive price) exceeded our highest expectations. We heartily recommend Malcolm to any couple seeking an artful yet intimate way to capture their most important memories. -Brad & Ken

Profile Picture Brad, 10/16/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Prints, High-Res Images, Slideshow
5.0

We were lucky enough to find Malcolm through a referral from another photographer (proof that he's well-respected in professional circles, too)! We were looking for someone who could offer us great value while still capturing wonderful memories for us. Malcolm went above and beyond, and delivered amazing photographs of our very small and intimate event. He got really great and heartfelt candid shots of everyone (including tons of adorable photos of all of the kids at the wedding), and did an amazing job of capturing everyone's emotions and personalities. The more staged photos (portraits of bride and groom, and bigger group photos were also really well done - he has an amazing eye for light and composition. We could not be happier with our wedding photos. Thanks Malcolm!

Profile Picture Sashya, 10/3/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We chose Malcolm because we wanted someone who could capture moments in an authentic, meaningful way. He did just that and we are very happy with our photos. And the guy has stamina - we had a full day of events and a full evening of reception and dancing - 11 hours - and Malcolm covered it the whole time. Now we have some truly iconic photos of that day and all that it meant to us and our loved ones. 100% would recommend Malcolm.

Profile Picture Michael, 8/15/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Me and My partner were thrilled with the creativeness and quality of Malcolm's portraits. His photographs of our wedding, and those for our engagement book captured so much of the joy, love, and laughter of those moments. Aside from the many remarkable backdrops, even the most 'ordinary' scenes and settings (a door, a wall, a floor) evolved into extraordinary portraits because of his eye. He was the consummate professional--punctual, responsive, thoughtful, and creative. More than that, his sense of humor, patience, and style of directing made him easy to work with. We were simply blown away by his portraits, and

Profile Picture Bryan, 6/26/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Wow what can I say about Malcolm?! He was a bad ass photographer! He came while I was getting dressed and I didn't feel uncomfortable with him in the room. He took such amazing shots of all of my girls and the ring bearers. I didn't feel rushed with him whatsoever. I loved that he had a bunch of his own ideas so I didn't have to worry about "did he get that shot?" He worked with all the various groups of people at the event really well--even my two 3 year old nephews! His photos turned out to be so magical and I couldn't have asked for a better experience or photographer!

Profile Picture Nicole, 5/23/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Prints, High-Res Images, Slideshow
5.0

Malcolm did a great job with our wedding! He was able to read our vibe and get great outdoor shots, along with spectacular photos at our venue. (The venue even used some of his shots in their advertising!)

Really friendly, down to earth, and great value. Would definitely recommend him if you are looking for a photographer in the Seattle area!

Profile Picture User4470055, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm did an amazing job! He did both our engagement photos and our wedding photos and was a joy to work with. We couldn't be happier. Not only did he have a fun sense of humor but his photography work is incredible. He also helped me relax as I had sprained my ankle before the wedding and was a bit harried as I tried to walk in the park in my wedding gown. He remained very calm the entire time. He came early to our venue and picked out so many amazing spots to take photos and the lighting was perfect. Also, was good with the kids and getting them to all look at the camera at the same time. I highly recommend him.

Profile Picture Desiree, 8/9/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I'd strongly recommend Malcolm to anyone needing a wedding photographer. He was easy to work with, made the whole process of our wedding pictures fun and very promptly delivered the finished results.

He did a great job of listening to us about the kinds of photos we were looking for and delivered what we had in mind! The results were beautiful and we've had lots of wonderful feedback from friends and family about his work.

Profile Picture Jeff, 8/2/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm is a 5 star photographer that did a perfect job at capturing the best and fun moments from the wedding. His end product is super, his personality is that of a good friend, and we the couple felt our time with Malcolm has always been pleasant and real. Go with him, and be surprised!

Profile Picture Kenneth, 7/20/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.8

We had a fantastic experience with Malcolm. He took us around the city to a few places for some photos and then made all of the bridal party and family photos happen prior to the ceremony so we could enjoy our cocktail hour afterwards.

We have seen a few of the finished photos and they are phenomenal. We are so happy with our decision to use Malcolm for our wedding photography and can't wait to see the full results!

Profile Picture Ashley, 7/19/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

It's such a pleasure to work with Malcolm. My husband was not feeling well and was toughing it out to get through the wedding, and from the photos you would never know. We had a small wedding, and every one of our guests fell in love with him. We had one baby that tried to steal the show, and Malcolm got the best picture ever of that kid! I love his compositions, and he has a unique color palette that I find very pleasing. He turned around the photos very quickly, and provided beautiful prints in addition to the DVD.

Profile Picture Mark, 7/6/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm is not only a talented photographer, but also professional and a pleasure to work with. He met with us weeks before the Wedding to answer any questions we had, discuss our event and get to know us. A week before the event he confirmed time and place, then on the day of the event he arrived early to scout out additional locations for portraits. You can tell from Malcolm’s portfolio that he doesn’t just document events but brings a thoughtful and artistic eye that produces thrilling photographs. We highly recommend Malcolm!

Profile Picture User4205779, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm was an amazing photographer! He is an artist! He was so easy to work with a the pictures turned out amazing!

Profile Picture Thomas, 3/22/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We were extremely pleased with Malcolm! The entire process was easy and relaxed, which we liked. He listened to what we wanted and had great creative suggestions of his own. He was a joy to work with, had reasonable rates and the photos turned out beautifully! Some of our favorite photos were candid shots taken in Lincoln Park. He was able to transition easily from outdoor to indoor. Even though we had low lighting during our wedding ceremony his pictures were stellar! He was able to process our photos faster than expected - we didn't have to wait months to see them. We would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

Ryan & Ryan

Profile Picture Ryan, 10/6/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm did a superb job of our Fall wedding last September. After reviewing his work on-line and the portfolio of photographs he showed to us on our initial meeting, we decided he was the photographer we were looking for -- his touch of artistry and the quality of his photographs and the originality of his work set him above the other candidates. The day of the wedding he was there early, so as to capture the preparations as well as the ceremony. The final product was quite beautiful, and included three sets of each photograph: one set in vibrant color, one set in sepia, and one set in black and white.

Profile Picture Alan , 9/21/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

From our first meeting, to the wedding day, to the day I collected our prints and digital images, Malcolm was incredibly professional and super fun to work with. His prices were by far the most reasonable I found while researching Seattle photographers, and he was really flexible in working with me to come up with a custom package to suit our kooky little wedding. To be honest, I am one of those people who runs and hides when the cameras come out, and I'm never eager to look at photos of myself. Malcolm made me feel totally comfortable all day, and even managed to made posing for photos pretty fun. When I got the images back, I was blown away by how much I loved them, and by how perfectly he'd captured the atmosphere of our wedding. And, let's face it, most importantly: he made me look great.
I'd recommend Malcolm to anyone looking for a fantastic photographer, and, as a bonus, just a fun guy to have at your wedding. He's got some killer dance moves to go along with his photo skillz.

Profile Picture Abby, 9/14/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm is FANTASTIC. Hands down the best wedding photos I've ever seen- and not just our wedding, two of our friends used him too and their pics were just as good! He really just gets who you are as a couple and personalizes the experience. He's professional, fun, and really good at what he does. No one noticed him in the way or capturing some really unique candid shots. We had an absolute blast with him and our pics are perfect. No better choice you could make for your big day! We've already referred him to two people having weddings coming up!

Profile Picture Sarah, 9/7/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm is top notch and highly recommended by us. He has a great personality and professionalism that make him easy to work with. He's creative in his photo selection, and he's able to focus large groups for portraits. Most importantly for us, the final product, the photos are outstanding!

Profile Picture Randy, 9/6/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

From initially reviewing Malcolm's website to meeting him in person, we knew Malcolm was the photographer we wanted involved with our wedding. Not only was he flexible in terms of hours on the job and traveling between various photo sites, but he has a photographic eye that is quick and very photojournalist. For people who don't particularly enjoy posing Malcolm made it easy, quick and relaxed while still obtaining a ton of really amazing photos.

Also appreciated was his method to getting group photos. Normally, those can feel canned, fake and awkward, but Malcolm was able to capture the fun factor of the gathering. Best of all, he was a really nice guy who blended in with our friends and family. He wasn't obtrusive at all. In fact we were asked afterwards which of our friends had the really nice cameras.

Thanks so much for all the great photos that preserve our memories the way we wanted! If we could do it all over again, we'd rehire Malcolm without a doubt.

-R & S

Profile Picture User3958516, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

For me the most important part of the whole wedding planning experience was selecting a good photographer. Upon meeting Malcolm he was warm, friendly and positive.

He made the trek from Seattle to Orcas Island during August when traffic to the island is just insane. I was worried about the timing but he was there early enough to even scout backdrops for photos. The time we spent getting our pictures done was maybe the best highlight of the whole day as it was relaxed, fun and personal.

The pictures were stunning....not necessarily due to the subjects but mostly to do with Malcolm's skills :)

Profile Picture Nicole, 8/10/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We read reviews on this site before hiring Malcolm. He more than met our expectations. He was fun, was easy to work with and did great work. We waited a long time to get legally married, and the photos that Malcolm took are a very fitting reminder of our special day.

Profile Picture Mark, 8/9/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm's awesome. He was super easy to work with, a ton of fun, gave a great value, and took gorgeous photos. Made us and our guests feel really comfortable.

Profile Picture taryn, 8/8/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Malcolm did a fantastic job of using his skill and meeting the needs we had for the event. Not being a traditional wedding he used his creativity and was able to capture posed pictures along with real time pictures of people. This forever captured emotions and people in their true form vs. pose smile and move on.

Profile Picture Devin, 8/4/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I knew Malcolm's work from previous shoots he had done for an organization I worked with. I always liked his photojournalist style. The pictures are more interesting and fun that way. And there are some excellent candid shots that always make us smile when we see them.

Profile Picture Terry, 7/28/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography