Skip to main content
Weddings

Makeup Artist Kay Kremer Reviews

Makeup Artist Kay Kremer

Makeup Artist Kay Kremer

Cedar Rapids, IA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 33 Reviews
View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 33
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • E
    Emily S. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Reception Makeup

    Kay did an amazing job with my wedding reception makeup. She came and did a trial run with me a few months before the big day, making sure everything was how I envisioned. On the reception day she applied my makeup exactly how I wanted and more!! I enjoyed my time with Kay and would definitely recommend her to anyone!
  • K
    Kim H. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Makeup application is an art. Kay is an incredible artist.

    I was the mother of the groom and not feeling pretty. I debated for a very long time, “do I spend the money, time, and energy” just to be disappointed and feel even worse. On this particular day though, my son was getting married and I really should at least “try”.
    Right away when I walked in I knew this was the REAL DEAL. A display of makeup and tools to make a department store makeup counter look inadequate.
    Meet the artist Kay; intelligent, confident, warm and genuine. She worked quickly, yet took all those tedious steps that matter. I was SO nervous when she handed me the mirror. Tears immediately started to swell in my eyes (ha not to worry, she even taught me how to dab not to wipe it all away!). SHE DID IT. Somehow, she was able to bring about a look that made me look “authentically pretty”!
    Kay is an ARTIST. She is much more than an applicator of makeup. It’s different. It’ worth it! Do not think another moment about whether to do this. Make an appointment. You won’t be disappointed.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay is amazing! She is definitely experienced in what she does. Myself as well as my bridesmaids were all very happy with our make up. She really takes the time to understand the style, shape, and color of each girls face and everyone was gleaming with beauty by the end of it :). She is also super sweet and easy to talk to. I HIGHLY recommend her, she brings a ton of makeup and is very attentive to do whatever you want as a bride. I will also add that she is one of the more affordable people in the area and has just as good if not better quality that others.
  • L
    Lyndsey Married on 05/07/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was amazing! I wear very minimal makeup and had asked her to keep my look more natural. She did a great job of doing this! Also, during our makeup trial, Kay trialed different foundations to see what would work best with my skin type. Although it took about two hours due to trial and error, it was well worth it on the wedding day!
  • User2559773 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay made me feel extremely special on my big day...without making me feel 'fake'. I couldn't have asked for anything else...she over delivered!!
  • Melanie
    Melanie Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved working with Kay! She did great makeup-- fresh and natural but enough to make me and my bridal party amazing. I would definitely recommend her!
  • W
    Whitney Married on 05/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was great to work with! If you want someone who knows the latest trends and can make you look amazing without YOU having to think about it, Kay is perfect! I didn't need anything else to stress about so I let her run with what she thought would look best on me and my girl's skin tones. Everyone's makeup was soft but glamorous! I couldn't of been happier and would recommend her to anyone!!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay did the make-up for my wedding day in May 2016 and she was a pleasure to work with. I LOVED the way she did my make-up and I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a make-up artist.
  • User2064780 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was professional from the first emails we exchanged to the day of the wedding. It was such a great experience working with her. She arrived for our trial completely ready, took a great amount of time talking with me and discussing how I wanted to look on my wedding day. The day of the wedding was perfect and I got so many compliments on how my make up looked and I felt beautiful. The make up lasted the entire night without a problem. I would recommend her to anyone looking!
  • L
    Linda Event on: 11/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was a very pleasant experience having my make-up done by Kay. Made my day special. Husband said how beautiful. Kay was professional and fun to work with. Will call on her again.
  • L
    Lacey Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was fantastic to work with. She was one of the most responsive and organized "vendors" I had worked with during my whole wedding, which is very important in organizing wedding.

    Her work though, was the best part. She did makeup for 6 total people including myself and everyone looked natural and a more glamourized version of themselves. She was also very reasonable compared to everyone i had talked with and you are getting a steal for the quality of work she does.

    I felt so great for my wedding day and I know that Kay was a huge part of that. Thank you for everything! :)
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay is the best Make-up artist! She was fantastic....I cannot describe how beautiful she did both mine and my bridal party's makeup. It was so wonderful not having to stress over my make-up, I knew that Kay would do the best job...and she did! She captured my look and I felt like the most beautiful bride! Kay took the time to meet with me before my big day to figure out how I would like my make-up. She is so talented and knew how to highlight my best features. The day of my wedding she was super organized and arrived early to get everything set up. She kept everyone on schedule and was flexible when a few more girls wanted to get theirs done too. You will truly love Kay and her make-up skills!
  • A
    Alice Married on 09/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was wonderful to work with! We did a trial at her house a month or two before the wedding so she could get an idea of what I was looking for. I don't wear a lot of makeup normally so wanted a very natural look. On the day of the wedding she came to the venue and I was actually running a little late but she didn't seem to mind. She even did a little makeup for my adorable flower girl while she waited. I thought that was very sweet. When doing my makeup she remembered what I had said I did/didn't like in the past and the results were great! Overall, Kay was very professional, got her work done quickly, and I looked amazing for my wedding.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 09/13/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kate was so great to work with! She set my mind at ease at my trial and was so knowledgable and fun to be around. I felt like I knew her for years! So when the big day arrived I knew I had nothing to worry about! She made me look exactly how I wanted on my big day and all of my girls and family loved their makeup as well!! I will recommend her any day!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Disclaimer: Kay is one of my favorite people in the world, but that makes no difference in the service she provided to myself, my mother, aunt, and bridesmaid for my recent wedding. I have been fortunate to have my make up done by Kay a few times, each time it is flawless and does what make is supposed to, make you a better version of your self. Everyone was truly amazed at how natural but polished I looked on the big day. (Even my Husband, who is not a fan of makeup, was blown away!) And with Kay's flexibility, I was able to treat my mom and aunt to the same pampering that I received. I know it helped make the day even more special for them. Knowing Kay, I was knew that she was not only talented but she used only the highest quality products. It was a long day (almost 12 hours!) and my makeup still looked as fresh and perfect as it did when I first got out of her chair! Thank you Kay so much for everything that you have done and for being part of such a special day!
  • B
    Bridget Married on 08/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was excellent to work with for our wedding. She made herself available and flexible with location. She was also patient considering there were two brides and bridesmaids. She also has an amazing personality and kept calm while providing her flawless, artistic skills.
  • M
    Meaghan Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay did an amazing job!! She was very easy to work with and her work was incredible. Everyone in my bridal party looked gorgeous- enhanced beauty without looking too "made-up." My bridal makeup was stunning and I have never felt more beautiful! I highly, highly recommend Kay!
  • A
    Amy Event on: 07/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My experience with Kay was wonderful. I often have trouble finding the right foundation color to match my skin tone, but she was able to make my skin look flawless. I am also on the conservative side of make up, but she introduced me to some new color combinations/techniques, and never pushed me past my comfort zone. In the end my make up looked great and I got a lot of compliments that night. I learned a few techniques from her during my experience that I continue to use when applying my everyday make up. Thank you Kay! I look forward to working with you again!
  • Dana
    Dana Married on 06/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was SUCH a joy to work with! She was super responsive with all e-mails which was HUGE for me since I was planning my wedding from out-of-state. I had done a trial with another make-up artist who CLAIMED to understand what I wanted but didn't do a good job AT ALL so I was already weary. Kay was awesome from the get-go. She looked over my Pinterest pages, gave suggestions and really put my mind at ease at the make-up trial. On the wedding day, she did my make-up and the whole bridal party's... she was funny, relaxed and above all she did a GREAT job (getting each person's requests down pat!). My outdoor wedding had to be moved indoors so I was not exactly relaxed, but she was so sweet and talked me down from a potential freak out :) Best part?! I looked my best thanks to her and the make-up stayed put all evening! I would 100% recommend her to anyone looking for talent, professionalism and an easy personality.

    Makeup Artist Kay Kremer's reply:

    Thank you so much Dana! It was such a huge pleasure! You made my job so easy!!!
  • User1691057 Event on: 04/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay did a FANTASTIC job with my daughter! My daughter was a little nervous about her appointment because she does not usually wear make up. Kay was so sweet and genuine that it immediately relaxed relaxed my daughter. Kay created a completely age appropriate look for the photos and my daughter was thrilled. Kay also gave wonderful make up tips and was also an incredible photography assistant. She is definitely a "jack of all trades"
  • User1600741 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can I say about Kay.....Thank you for making me feel like a beautiful bride. My make up was exactly what I had envisioned. All of my bridesmaids, looked amazing. Very natural, which is what they all wanted. None of them felt that they were "over made up" . Kay is extremely easy and fun to work with.
  • S
    Sheena Event on: 04/05/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay was wonderful! She has such a sweet and positive personality! She was very skilled and detailed. She asked to see pictures of ideas of what I wanted for my makeup and made suggestions based off of my skin color and even the color of my outfits. I would definitely recommend her as she is very professional and will do a great job. After hiring her to do my make up for this event, I hired her to do make up for our wedding. I will note that I'm Asian and have had a difficult time finding a good make up artist in the past and she was amazing.
  • E
    Ellen Event on: 12/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kay has done the make-up for my granddaughter and her friends on four occasions. She always makes them look so beautiful while at the same time very natural and fresh. She always keeps everything on schedule and is very professional. And a very important component is she's just fun to be around! I have and would recommend her to a friend. My niece is getting married next December and I hope Kay will be available with her expertise.
  • J
    Judi Event on: 10/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I challenged Kay to do artistic makeup making my face and neck into a fountain. The shading, details, and design were truly artful. She incorporated my features beautifully and ensured the shading techniques played with various lighting.
  • A
    Ashlee Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    She was wonderful. She is such a great person and not only great at doing make up...you can tell she loves her job. Very talented.