Main Street Bakery & Catering Reviews

70 | Luray, VA
See photos, pricing and details

70 Reviews for Main Street Bakery & Catering

Recommended by 98%

70
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

1 User photo

Main Street Bakery & Catering 1
Sort by:
  • User5635886 ·

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about this business! My only regret is not using them for all of my wedding catering. They did our rehearsal dinner, dessert, and breakfast the morning after. Everyone was so impressed with it all. The food is fresh, delicious, and beautifully prepared. Danielle was also super proactive in communicating with us and making sure things went smoothly/ everything was exactly as we wanted. Couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • Sarah

    Sarah Fletcher · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food, affordable price, great to work with!

    We got married on 9/14/19 and had the pleasure of enjoying Mainstreet Catering & Bakery as our caterer. I cannot say enough good things about them! Chief Chuck, Mandie, and Natane were always quick to respond to questions and adjust our proposal as needed. Throughout the preparation process, they proved they were willing to go the extra mile and do whatever it took to ensure our wedding day would go off without a hitch. Their staff did an amazing job setting up, serving, and bartending our wedding. And, most importantly, their food is AMAZING!!! So much so that we went and did two food tastings before the wedding haha. So many of our guests are STILL coming up to us and saying how good the food was. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 10/03/2019
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 05/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delightful planning experience!

    My daughter was married on May 19, 2019. Several caterers were researched, and many reviews were read. After the tasting with Main Street, it was unanimous that they should be the caterers for the big day! (My grandaughter still talks about the Smoked Gouda Mac n Cheese!)
    During the months following, up to and including the wedding day, everyone at Main Street was wonderful to work with! I spent alot of time talking with and emailing with Mandie Foster. Mandie was a dream to work with! I felt like she was as invested in the menu and the day's service as we were. She painstakingly went over the details, and helped me work out different options. We were having a family style dinner, so made sure we had everything exactly how we wanted it. Chef Chuck was equally as helpful in the planning, making suggestions on the menu, on service, etc. In the end, the food was amazing, the service top notch, and all of the staff were wonderful and helpful! I highly recommend Main Street Bakery and Catering for any event!

    Sent on 06/07/2019
  • Emma

    Emma Benton · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Catering!!

    I used Main Street for catering for our wedding at Hotel Laurance and was SO impressed from the very beginning! I worked with Mandie throughout the few months leading up to the event. She was so awesome!! We did a tasting with her and Chef Chuck that was fabulous - we ended up not only using them for the dinner the night of our wedding, but also for our rehearsal dinner & breakfast for 2 mornings! They also were able to accommodate me by making pretty much everything gluten free.

    Mandie made the entire process so easy. She was great at keeping me in the loop on anything that needed to be done on my end, updating paperwork, and following up with me. I literally never had a single worry!

    The service for the weekend that we received from Main Street was exceptional - the same goes for the food for all 4 meals! Everyone was beyond happy and I appreciate their help so much. From helping set up tables & being there for both dinners to dropping off breakfast 2 mornings in a row, they went above & beyond!

    If you're looking for a caterer, this is the one!

    Sent on 04/19/2019
    Main Street Bakery & Catering 2
  • A

    Anthony Brown · Married on 11/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Service and Food!

    Main Street Bakery and Catering was perfect for our wedding! They were polite, professional, and incredibly easy to work with! And of course, the food was delicious and everyone loved at the wedding loved it!

    We got in contact with Main Street during a wedding fair that was being hosted by our wedding venue. After trying the samples they had there, my wife and I decided that they would be a good bet to have them cater our wedding.

    We were worried that by being four hours away from them (we live in Virginia Beach), communicating and setting up a tasting with Main Street would be difficult. This proved to be the opposite, and they made the planning process incredibly easy! We managed to get everything done through email and over the phone, including arranging a tasting. They were awesome in that regard due to the fact we both had busy schedules (we are both in the United States Navy). Their flexibility and their willing to work with us took out a lot of the stress for planning the wedding.

    The options at the tasting were tasty and well themed to our wedding. My wife wanted a fall wedding with a bit of a rustic theme, and Main Street did an awesome job of preparing many food options that adhered to that theme. They presented several dishes, and they were all great. I knew they were the ones to go with when they convinced me to use their Chicken Florentine and Roasted Pork main courses as I was dead set on having a steak/roast beef option. The side dishes, especially the Savory Bread Pudding, were all amazing as well. And of course, our guests loved the food, too! They said the food was perfectly cooked and delicious. They couldn't wait to have more.

    Their service was on point during the reception as well! The crew that was there did everything on their own, including the bartender. This was great as it allowed my wife and I to really enjoy our day. They made sure guests were happy and had everything they needed.

    Main Street Bakery and Catering were instrumental in making our wedding perfect! They are polite, flexible, and great cooks! They will definitely make your wedding memorable as ours were!

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • Jenna

    Jenna · Married on 09/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best caterer

    Guys, definitely hire these guys. The value is fantastic. They will advise you, they will stay in your budget, they can make a vast array of foods and they can do it well. My wedding food was BOSS and a huge hit, and I spent way, way less than people do when they get married at a typical hotel or catering hall.

    Sent on 01/02/2019
  • E

    Elga · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One week before my wedding, the food truck we'd booked months in advance to provide a post-wedding brunch for 130+ people broke down.
    As soon as I found out, I called Main Street Bakery, where Chef Chuck answered.
    "Hi, I have a tiny pickup order with you guys for next Saturday for a couple quiches and a small salad... any chance we can expand that to a full-service full brunch for 130 guests on Sunday?"
    I think Chef Chuck's initial reaction was "Holy mackerel!" which was immediately followed up by "Let's see what we can do for you." I didn't even have time to panic because right away Chef Chuck and I got to work coming up with a solid plan and had it in place within an hour, which I especially appreciate because I'd called at 5pm on a Friday and so this conversation was all happening after business hours.
    It's tough to admit because I was so excited about the food truck, but the result was probably 800x better than my original food truck plan would have been. They were perfect!!! EVERYONE was talking about how delicious the quiches were. The muffins were smashing. The staff were all professional and friendly. And there was plenty of food for everyone to stuff their post-wedding faces.
    I wish that all things wedding-related were as wonderful as working with Chef Chuck! He took what could have been a meltdown moment and turned it into one of the highlights of our entire wedding. And he was soooo patient, friendly, and comforting! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • C

    Claire · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Main Street Bakery to cater our rehearsal dinner and farewell brunch. Both included absolutely incredible food that was complimented extensively by our guests. Furthermore, they were kind, helpful and a pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 07/26/2018
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Main Street Bakery & Catering catered a 'Welcome Dinner' for 90 people at Shenandoah Woods the night before our son's wedding. They exceeded expectations at all levels - planning, flexibility, quality of food, and experienced and attentive staff. Chef Chuck, Jimmy, Chris, Carey, and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant to work with - what a phenomenal team! Guests couldn't say enough about how delicious everything was, even the cheese selection. I was able to relax within minutes of observing the team knowing that all was in good hands. I highly recommend engaging them for your event - you won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 07/03/2018
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 10/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the Flourless Chocolate Torte, the Pumpkin Pie, and the Maple Chocolate Pecan Pie from Main Street Catering at our Fall wedding. The pies were amazing. The line was longest for the Chocolate Torte, though in my opinion the Maple Chocolate Pecan Pie was to die for and folks also mentioned that the Pumpkin was very good.
    We made an appointment for a tasting in April and everyone was professional and accommodating. Our order went smoothly with good communication through the entire process. We thought the value was great for the excellent quality pies. We definitely recommend Main Street Catering and Bakery for Pies!

    Sent on 12/21/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used MSB for our rehearsal dinner on August 4th at the Manor House behind the Mimslyn Inn, for our wedding on August 5th at Khimaira Farm, for a farewell breakfast on August 6th also at the Manor House, and we purchased cookies from them for our welcome bags! Words can't express how happy I am that I chose MSB for all these events. The food is AMAZING, and our guests were complimenting every meal they tasted. We did heavy app service and cocktails with a bartender they provided for our rehearsal and everything went so smoothly. For the wedding we did a fancier take on BBQ with all the sides and all 130 of our guests were full and raving about the food! They even were able to make special accommodations for guests with allergies and special diets. For the breakfast They brought in these unbelievable fresh pastries, bagels, lox and so on. It was a lovely end to our weekend. Based on what Iv heard from other friends getting married, their prices are extremely reasonable. They were so easy to work with and knew all the ins and outs of Khimaira and the Manor House which made eveything so much easier for us. I would without a doubt use MSB for events in the future!

    Sent on 08/18/2017
  • S

    Sally · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Coming from out of town, I found Main Street Bakery/Catering very professional and welcoming. We personally met the chef & the planner, so began to develop a relationship immediately. The menu was diverse, the planner/manager explained what they offered and gave the pricing upfront, plus later she was very attentive & prompt in answering questions. Once we secured a venue, they visited the site to be sure of table size. #, & configuration. When options became available to set up earlier than planned, MSBC switched to accommodate us. The service at our rehearsal dinner was awesome, and servers went above & beyond what we requested. They were efficient, courteous, prompt, and organized. In my book, they earned an A+ rating.

    Sent on 06/21/2017
  • J

    Joan · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish we really are happy that we picked Main Street Bakery. The recipes the chef used were delicious. Stephanie, their coordinator, is very easy to work with and very knowledgeable about the catering business. We had a couple of tastings to identify the choices. I thought the prices were very reasonable. They did supply two bartenders, but we purchased all of the alcohol, mixers and garnish on our own.

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • A

    Alex · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Main Street was the perfect caterer. The food was amazing, we had a great tasting with them and their incredibly extensive menu options, and they were incredibly responsive throughout the process. And the food was AMAZING!!! Plus, their prices are very reasonable. If you're getting married anywhere near Luray, we'd highly recommend them.

    Sent on 06/03/2017
  • L

    Lori · Married on 04/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would not hesitate to recommend Main Street Bakery & Catering to anyone seeking a caterer for their wedding or event. They were always on top of the schedule, making appropriate suggestions and accommodated all our requests. Our main contact, Danielle Painter, was a delight to work with. Her email correspondence was always professional, and at the same time, very personal and warm.

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle was awesome! She was helpful when we needed it and accommodating of our ideas! She was great about being available at times that worked for us! Chuck's food was awesome, especially the apps (crab cakes and stuffed mushrooms). The day of our wedding they were excellent! Everything was on time and executed how we had discussed! The staff (bartenders and servers) were great! They even saved us apps from the cocktail hour, which were obviously my favorite! We also had our cake and cupcakes from Main Street and those were raved about by so many guests! Thank you!!

    Sent on 04/11/2017
  • A

    Arthur · Married on 03/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an event at the Westcott House in Luray. Main Street Bakery and Catering was very easy to work with! Absolutely helpful staff! They customize catering orders from a very large selection so everyone's happy, not to mention that the foods amazing and the portion sizes are LARGE! The party LOVED their accortrd bars and cookies! 10/10 would recommend to a friend or anyone looking for caterers who know their stuff!

    Sent on 03/15/2017
  • B

    Brennan · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before the event, the bakery always answered my many emailed questions with courtesy and promptness. At the event, the food was plentiful and excellent (we had three vegetarian appetizers, lemonade, and cake for about 100 people.) The staff were incredibly professional, kind, and helpful, and everything tasted wonderful. Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 03/11/2017
  • User5443386 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy to use Main Street for my wedding! The food was absolutely fantastic. We wanted dishes that would fit the season and our Christmas theme. We also specifically wanted a hot cocoa and coffee bar, a plated meal, and a bar service as well. They were extremely flexible and worked with our own existing ideas to create something that was truly unique and exceptional! Service and price was fantastic! I would recommend them to everyone!

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • K

    Karoline · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So I may have had a Harry Potter theme to my wedding, and any good Hogwarts feast needs tasty, rich, fall, cozy food. Our wedding meal was the brainchild of Chef Chuck at Main Street Bakery and Catering (MSBC) in downtown Luray, VA. I supplied MSBC with a list of ideas prior to the tasting to narrow down what we were after. Danielle worked with me over the coming weeks to help me tweek servings, pricing, and deal with the needs of many guests. She was a gem who understood we were pulling off an event, and that it was never finalized until it was served. Working with them was easy and fluid, we all were in this together, and we could make changes and ask questions up until the near end.
    The staff were hilarious and friendly, yet extremely professional. Chuck was exceptionally thoughtful in listening to what we thought we wanted, and helping us learn how pairings work, what we should aim for, and help shape our ideas so that they still retained our original ideas.
    Finally, their prices were GREAT. Seriously. This is a major part of why we looked to hold our wedding someplace like Luray instead of DC. ~$3500 for 160 servings:
    Appetizer: butternut squash soup that was circulated in small espresso sized mugs
    Main: pork tenderloin in a cider reduction
    Sides: 3-colored potatoes, Asparagus/Mushroom ragu, and 3 Sisters Vegan bean medley.

    They also were spectacular in making dishes vegan instead of just vegetarian, so it could be enjoyed more widely.

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • K

    Kara · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle was a super responsive and worked with us as our guest count fluctuated =). All of our guests loved the food and we had just about the perfect amount...(it's Tuesday night and we are just about to finish up the last of the leftovers from our Sunday wedding). Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/15/2016
  • T

    Tara · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone we worked with from Main Street was awesome. Chuck helped us put together a great menu and held a tasting with us which was wonderful and assured us we made the right choice - we were wishing we could eat more! Danielle helped with the coordination of the event and she did such a fantastic job. Every little question I had she helped explain in a timely manner and really made me feel like the event was in good hands. She put personal touches on everything and I really felt like she cared about how things would go just as much as I did.

    The pricing was very reasonable and since they allow you to cover certain items on your own if you want to (like bringing your own beverages, cake, cups, plates, etc.) you can feel good knowing you're in control of your budget.

    On top of every other reason this business is great, I feel like they care about the community. They do things like using local produce and donating leftovers to the women's shelter.

    Definitely recommend using this for your catering - you wil be making the right choice. Thanks Main St. for making our event so fantastic!!

    Sent on 01/27/2017
  • User5337845 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle and Chuck did a wonderful job throughout the entire process! They were very accommodating and understanding throughout. We are receiving so many compliments from our guests regarding how wonderful the food tasted and was presented. There were many different ideas that we gave Danielle and Chuck and they were able to translate and capture our overall theme. They were very flexible and provided different options to save money to make sure we did not go over our planned budget. Super helpful! Payment and reminders were very helpful along with the monthly check-ins to make sure we were all good to go! We had a wonderful experience and we would love to work with them again!

    Wedding 11/6/16
    Reception Dinner, Ceremony Heavy Hors D'oeuvres & Cake

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • A

    Ann · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the first wedding I have ever been to that everyone LOVED the food!! Short ribs, chicken, KILLER mac and cheese and KILLER corn and basil pudding!!! All fabulous. Wait staff, bartenders, chef and event coordinator, Danielle all so easy to work with. This staff truly went above and beyond to take care of every detail.

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • M

    Matt · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Main Street Bakery was an absolute joy. We received so many compliments from our guests on the food at our reception throughout the evening. I don't think we could be any happier with how everything turned out.

    Sent on 10/21/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review