Skip to main content
Weddings

Main Event Caterers Reviews

Main Event Caterers View more information

436 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

436
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

37 User photos

  • A
    Anne M. Married on 10/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Food, Outstanding Service

    Main Event Caterers are top-notch! They were one of the first caterers I spoke with when I began planning my October 2020 wedding, and they were so informative on the phone! They answered all of my questions, and then were happy to talk with my parents before we signed a contract. When we did our tasting in December 2019 and March 2020, we had the best time! It was so hard to pick the main courses and hors d'oeuvres because everything tasted so good! When we had to delay our wedding because of Covid, the team helped reschedule everything in our contract for October 2022. When we finally reached out in early 2022 to restart planning, our original coordinator had retired, but we were very lucky to get matched with Jackie. She was so responsive to our emails, answering all of our questions about the menu, table settings, handling allergies, etc. with such detail! Our panicked emails over details were always met with calm, reassuring replies. She had worked with almost all of our other vendors, so she knew how to accommodate their preferences for set up. When we had some last minute guest cancellations, Jackie handled everything so smoothly. During the wedding, the serving team was EXCEPTIONAL. They were so kind and professional, and we heard compliments from our guests during the reception and the day after. AND THE FOOD! Definitely worth a two-year wait (and nothing on our original menu had to change!). You cannot go wrong with Main Event Caterers. They are the absolute best!
  • Estefania
    Estefania C. Married on 09/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious and attentive!

    Main event caterers exceeded all expectations above and beyond. They arranged for everything the meals, the cutlery, the linens, the tables and chairs, the labor, etc. it was amazing that I didn’t have to find multiple vendors because main event did it all. I worked with Ali directly coordinating everything and she is such a sweetheart. I loved how well everyone on the team worked with each other. The food was delicious and beautiful. The staff were so kind. For everything that we got, not just for the event, but also the experience the day of, it was well worth the price.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Katie Married on 09/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Superior service

    The service we received was perfect! They worked together like a well oiled machine! The food was delicious! Our guests raved about the appetizers and dinner! The plating and delivery was picturesque. We felt like royalty the whole day! As the bride and groom, we were checked on through out the whole event! I never had to ask for anything…a drink, food or a snack was always brought over to me! I would highly recommend Main Event!!
  • Kathy
    Kathy H. Married on 08/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible food and service

    Wow! We couldn't be more pleased with our catering from Main Event. They were absolutely incredible and everyone raved about our food. For cocktail hour, we got 3 passed hors d'voures and had 3 cocktail hour stations and it was a lot of food. People said they've never been so well fed at cocktail hour so clearly that went over well! The dinner entrees were also incredible and received rave reviews.

    On a more personal note, it was so great how well the Main Event staff took care of us. Melissa, our event designer, was so responsive to every question we had during the planning process, and was accommodating when we changed our menu a few times. We also had a dedicated butler who was EXCELLENT at making sure I always had a constant stream of food being offered to me at cocktail hour. I was so happy with Main Event and would recommend them to anyone!
  • V
    Valerie M. Married on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Guests RAVED about the food

    Everyone absolutely loved the food (especially the Seared Wild Sea Bass with cured lemon + agave gastrique & guajillo + herb speckled glaze--but it was great across the board). I had so many sincere comments about it amazing and it being the best food they've ever had at a wedding. Elyse was so helpful through the planning process and the day of, Jack (our butler) and Marco (lead) were superb and anticipated the needs of everyone.

    They had traditional and creative menu options. I really liked that at the tasting, they prepared the food using the methods they would use at the venue. Since the venue didn't have a kitchen, they have to parcook (I think that's the term?) things beforehand, and having them prepare it how it would actually be prepared the day of was really helpful. The vegetables were really impressively cooked--it seems small, but a lot of times you go to a wedding and the vegetables are boring and flavorless and overcooked because they're just steamed. Not these.

    I love food so that was my main focus, but the linen & rental options gave us the feel we were looking for the day of.

    Definitely recommend!
  • A
    Ania M. Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Main Event Caterers are the best

    Main Event Caterers provided an excellent catering experience. Melissa was extremely helpful with menu coordination and provided great advice on other aspects of the reception. The MEC catering staff were highly trained and courteous and the reception was enjoyed by all immensely. We strongly recommend Main Event Caterers.
  • Elisa
    Elisa J. Married on 06/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Food, Great Experience

    We loved having Main Event cater our wedding. The food was really really delicious. We had lots of people tell us how much they enjoyed the food. We had the latin braised short rib, grilled salmon, and stuffed poblano peppers as our entrees. All 3 were hits! Would highly recommend.
  • Sarah
    Sarah M. Married on 05/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Five stars!!

    Choosing A Main Event to cater our wedding was one of the best decisions we made!! They were so attentive to every detail, making sure guests with dietary restrictions still had delicious options and customizing our menu to be exactly what we wanted. Ali was a dream to work with and we so appreciated her expertise and guidance in all the planning! She stayed in constant contact with us leading up to the big day. And the tasting was SO much fun - definitely my husband's favorite part of the wedding planning process! Our guests couldn't stop talking about how amazing the food was - the hors d'oeuvres were delicious and creative, and the main courses were out of this world. The beef short ribs are one of the best dishes I've had anywhere! Food is such an important part of a wedding experience, and A Main Event made sure it was tasty and memorable. Greg, as our fabulous supervisor, and all the wonderful serving staff provided exceptional and friendly service to all our guests throughout the cocktail hour and reception making absolutely sure everyone’s needs were met! As the bride and groom, we had our own server the entire evening so that we always had enough to eat and drink while we were talking and taking pictures. We would highly recommend A Main Event for all your catering needs!
  • L
    Lindsey M. Married on 04/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Service & Food!

    We hired Main Event Caterers for our wedding in April 2022 and we're so happy that we chose them! The staff was attentive and professional, and the food was delicious! So many of our guests have commented on how delicious everything was, even weeks after the wedding :) Also, Main Event's sales/account team is fantastic. We worked closely with Ali and she was a dream to work with - so responsive, organized, and immensely helpful!
  • S
    Stefanie R. Married on 01/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing 5 Star Experience!

    I wish I could give Main Event more than 5 stars! Melissa was an absolute pleasure to work with. She must have updated our menu 100 times, but was always very responsive and friendly. The tasting was so wonderful and the food the night of the wedding was just as great! The staff is top notch. They even had a waitress that catered just to my husband and I the entire night, making sure we got to enjoy our appetizers and always had a full glass. If you want excellent quality food and service, look no further!
  • Kayla
    Kayla L. Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Main Event Caterers Weddings

    Our team over at Your Plan A Events had a fabulous wedding weekend this last weekend with Main Event Caterers. Their team was phenomenal and so professional. Their attention to detail was impeccable. Every guest we came in contact with could not stop raving about the food! This team is top of the line!
  • J
    Jenny L. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience with Main Event!

    We loved working with Main Event for our big day. Ali did an amazing job guiding us through the process; she was communicative and very patient with my many questions! They welcomed us for our tasting, and we truly enjoyed everything we tried. I particularly loved that they partner with another vendor for any upgraded rentals you might like – we got gorgeous linens, table settings, and even furniture while keeping Ali as our main point of contact. That was so helpful and convenient for me since I was planning the wedding myself! On the day of, they were ready on time and the servers were very attentive to our guests. The food was delicious and looked so beautiful. They kept our guests happy, and everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Main Event!
  • P
    Paige O. Married on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Received so many compliments!

    We hired Main Event to cater our wedding. The food was DELICIOUS! We had so many people compliment us on our wedding night on how this was some of the best food they've had at a wedding! We would highly recommend.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision Ever! Hire Them!

    There is simply not enough space here to fully explain how awesome Main Event is, but trust me when I say that choosing them to cater our wedding was single-handedly the best choice we made in the entire planning process. From the very first conversation, we were blown away by their professionalism and expertise in the business. When learning we were working with Main Event, every single other vendor immediately said, "They are the absolute best - you are so lucky to be working with them." And they were right! They were organized, handled our event with care from the moment we first spoke with them, and the food was *delicious* to boot! Melissa especially is a dream to work with. She solved problems before they arose, helped us navigate aspects of wedding logistics that even extended beyond her portfolio, and went above and beyond to make herself available in communications for months ahead of the big day. We could just sit back and relax at our wedding knowing that Main Event had everything handled, which was the most priceless gift of all. Their servers made sure I never even had to approach the bar or ask for a glass of water! I cannot advocate harder for their services. Stop looking and hire them now!
  • Kelley
    Kelley Married on 05/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food, management and experience

    I am so glad that we found Main Events during our vendor search - Spencer and Ali were extremely helpful during our whole process. From the initial planning sessions to the tasting and final planning/wedding day, Main Events were so helpful. They helped us think through design items as well as food options/timing. Not to mention the food is amazing and we got a lot of compliments from our guests on the food/drinks. Greg was our event supervisor and made the night absolutely amazing - he went out of his way to ensure that my husband, parents and I always had what we needed - and made us all feel special. Can't recommend them enough!!
  • Carolyn
    Carolyn E. Married on 05/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly Exceptional Experience

    From our very first call with Melissa at Main Event, we were thoroughly impressed. She asked thoughtful questions, including inquiring about restaurants we specifically enjoyed in the area. These organically guided us to a potential theme for our menu. Then came our tasting, where Main Event pulled out all the stops. Our private tasting with the chef was incredible and we fell in love with the customized menu, elevated presentation, and top-notch service. Melissa nailed bringing to life the “Under the Tuscan Sun” ideas we had chatted about on the phone to life (think Aperol Spritz’s, Panzanella salad, Branzino, Chicken Picatta, and more). We opted for a Seafood forward cocktail hour -- don’t skip the mini lobster rolls -- our guests still talk about them!! Truly exceptional on all fronts from the food quality, service, and overall logistics.
  • H
    Hannah S. Married on 04/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire them today!

    Main Event catered our wedding in April 2022 and everything was amazing! The food was delicious (our guests couldn't stop talking about it), the staff went above and beyond, and the rentals added so much to the design of the event. Melissa and Daniella were responsive and went the extra mile to make all of our wedding dreams come true. They walked us through the whole process from helping us develop a menu, to a date and venue change, a great tasting experience, and flawless execution on the day of. While the food was amazing, it's truly the whole staff at Main Event that made the event so perfect. We were taken care of throughout the whole wedding with such friendliness and attention to us and our families. We know picking a caterer is such an important decision but you can't go wrong with Main Event!
  • Elaine
    Elaine Married on 03/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Food, Incredible Service

    We hired Main Event after speaking with Spencer and Ali. They made the whole process extremely easy and enjoyable. Our venue needed everything but tables and chairs, and they provided everything for us. On the day of our wedding, we had no concerns about the day going smoothly. The food was unbelievable - everyone told us it was the best wedding meal they had ever had! The service was also impeccable - there was never a line at the bar and we even had our own attendant (Greg) who made us feel so special and taken care of the whole night.
  • R
    Mother T. Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious Food and Fantastic Service

    Having a wedding in the middle of a global pandemic presents many challenges. Main Event met them all and won. The food was delicious, served beautifully and safely. The service was seamless...the staff was efficient, friendly, polite and unobtrusive. You didn’t have to ask for anything...it’s as though everything magically appeared. Highly recommend!

    Main Event Caterers's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure working with you. We truly appreciate our clients.
  • A
    Alexis L. Married on 10/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional Team and Delicious Food

    Main Events know what they are doing!! They helped guide and execute the most perfect wedding day celebration. There aren't enough great things to say about Main Events. You are in amazing hands with Spencer, Melissa and the whole team.
  • Steve
    Steve A. Married on 10/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service Across the Board

    Truly can't say enough about how great our experience with Main Event was. Spencer and Melissa made the tasting, planning, coordinating, organizing, and everything else incredibly easy in advance of the wedding. They always offered input, ideas, and feedback but were also more than happy to follow our lead. Without a doubt they were the best catering option among the 10 or so that our venue allowed. On the day of the wedding, the service staff was absolutely outstanding in every way. They were quick to set up, did everything perfectly, and transformed a tented terrace into a beautiful dining room. The food was astounding, the service was impeccable, the bar was great (we got countless compliments on our bartender), and breakdown was quick and easy. Main Event was a critical part of our special day, and they executed everything perfectly.
  • Patricia
    Patricia A. Married on 09/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely Professional and Delicious Food

    Main Event Catering is truly a 5 star team in every way! I am a destination event planner who has worked with this team on numerous occasions and can't recommend them enough. Daniela Aroujo was our event's team lead from this past weekend's event in Old Town Alexandria and we could not have been more pleased with the outcome of our experience. She was prompt with communication leading up until the big day and went above and beyond to ensure the success of our couple's day when we were faced with an emergent flooding scenario in the city.

    The team's servers and bartenders always come dressed professionally and are willing to do whatever it takes to ensure our couples have the event of their dreams. The food is delicious and the presentation is stunning. We would recommend this team to any of our couples and look forward to our next opportunity to work together.
  • N
    Nathalie Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had a guest come up to me and say "I always hate wedding food, so I made sure to fill up on appetizers during cocktail hour... but when I tasted my dinner I could have kicked myself!"

    The food was outstanding, throughout the entire evening - cocktail hour to dinner to dessert to late night snacks, I have zero complaints. In addition, they made everything so easy and so classy - the waiters were attentive but not in your face. The bartenders where calm but pour drinks quickly. All just A+

    They were pricey, but well worth the cost
  • O
    Olivia Married on 08/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible catering experience- worth every penny, hire them!

    Main Event catered our wedding in September 2021- at an ourdoor private home venue.
    The food was... INCREDIBLE! All of the guests were raving about the food, from the apps to the main courses to the gelato and everything in between. Not only did it look beautiful in presentation but it was served hot and it was all very delicious. The team worked with us to reschedule 4 times due to the pandemic and each time were so helpful and accommodating. The food options had incredibly variety, they helped us with meal vendors kids menus and food allergies. Again, the food itself was truly outstanding. The servers were amazing, all bartenders and wait staff were kind patient and professional.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message