Mad Art Gallery Reviews

23 | Saint Louis, MO
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Mad Art Gallery

Recommended by 89% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

23

2 User photos

Mad Art Gallery 1
Mad Art Gallery 2
Order by:
  • K

    Kelly Roper · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    We had our ceremony and reception at Mad Art at the end of June. Taylor, the event coordinator, was so helpful and prompt through the whole planning process, and the day of the wedding she was on top of everything! She made sure that everything was taken care of (even things we hadn't thought about). We felt completely at ease about the logistics of everything thanks to Taylor and the other staff. When the DJ and officiant arrived Taylor had a little chat with them and got on the same page about everything which really helped the evening flow smoothly. The only thing we had to worry about was getting ourselves ready! They have a really nice "green room" for the bridal party (or whoever else) to get ready in. Originally, we had planned to have our ceremony outside, but because of extremely hot temps and rain we decided the day before to move the ceremony inside and it went beautifully. The gallery space where the ceremony & reception were held was spacious, cool even with the hot, muggy weather outside, and plenty big for our 95 guests. We went very simple on the table decor because the space is already so nice with the lighting and art on the walls. The food was delicious and definitely not typical boring "wedding food". We chose the smoked turkey and brisket as the protein choices, and Ron the owner/chef added burnt ends at the last minute and they were awesome! Our friends and family loved the food, the space, and the old cell blocks. The bar staff was very quick and friendly. The outdoor courtyard made for beautiful pictures. Mad Art is a unique, all in one venue with a helpful staff that takes care of everything so you can enjoy your wedding celebration without worry.

    Mad Art Gallery 3
    Mad Art Gallery 4
    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • K

    Kelsie · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food, and a beautiful gallery. Wonderful for pictures, eating, and fun! Carrie was an amazing coordinator and very helpful through everything. The staff was kind, helpful, and always smiling! Great to have both the ceremony and reception in the same place. The only thing I would change is that (since we had almost 150 people) would have been to have set up a satellite bar to help keep the line short. It was also great to have the green room to put things in. Everybody raved about the food all night! Best venue in Soulard!

    Sent on 06/12/2017
  • P

    patsy · Married on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really couldn't rate the Mad Art Gallery any lower then perfect. We had just our reception here and it was amazing! Carrie was so easy to work with and made the day run so smoothly. She always answered emails and phone calls within 24 hours and was always willing to help.

    I have received non-stop compliments about how delicious the food was, how prompt and polite the staff was and how unique the location was! Many of my family members are smokers and could go into the courtyard and still feel connected with the rest of the party. They even opened the garage so that the outside and inside were one. I had to force people out at closing time because they were having so much fun!

    Not a single thing went wrong with the food, set-up or party. How many brides can say that? The pricing was really reasonable and even though we only had 60 guests, Carrie made sure the room felt full. It's right by the highway so it is really easy for guests to find and there is a secure lot available which was very reassuring. I would 100% recommend this location.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • K

    Katy · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mad Art Gallery provided myself and husband a wedding we dreamed of. During the planning stage of my wedding, the coordinator there always very promptly answered any questions that arose as well as offering useful suggestions. I cannot express how important this was to me during the most stressful moments of planning. We chose to do our ceremony, cocktail hour, then reception all in this location which worked our perfectly. I was worried the lobby wouldn't hold all of the guests for cocktail hour however, the venue had the reception area ready to go in less than 10 min. and along with the courtyard, there was plenty of room. The owner/chef and coordinator worked directly with us to build us a food menu that we exactly wanted along with the bar menu as well. My husband: being a foodie and craft beer fanatic was happy beyond belief. We chose a stuffed chicken breast and beef brisket which was a huge hit with all of our guests. My husband to this day will randomly say he is craving our wedding dinner again. Our bar consisted of beer (which consisted of an awesome selection), wine, and a signature cocktail (which I advise). We had 191 guests that fit nicely in the reception area which was set up with a large wedding party table and round tables of 10. The coordinator was actively helping everyone through the whole event. The dance floor was plenty big and the stage provided an awesome space for the DJ. The venue provided lighting and of course had artwork on the walls which makes the whole space look even better. A large amount of decor from us wasn't necessary to make the venue look nice. The marble floors, old jail cells, and other vintage decor wowed people for it wasn't "like any wedding they have been to before". Another aspect of my wedding that was very important to me was photography. Along with the venue having wonderful spots for pictures, there were more than enough perfect areas within walking distance. Overall-Excellent venue and excellent people.

    Sent on 12/22/2014
  • M

    Mimi · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our first experience with Mad Art Gallery was a "tasting" several months before our daughter's wedding. Owner and chef Ron served a lovely dinner to the four of us at a dining table in an old jail cell. The food was good, but not exactly what we wanted. We asked him to switch the whipped potatoes for mashed potatoes, and leave garlic out of the potatoes as there was garlic in the chicken. I mention this because we got exactly what we asked for, and people raved about the food at the reception.
    So many details come up when you're planning a reception, I've learned, and you have to be working with people who are receptive and available. That was our experience working with Carrie at Mad Art. I personally found the planning about as stress-free as one could hope for. Carrie always returned my calls quickly, and somehow never seemed overwhelmed by her job.
    The venue is just plain fun. Two things I would do differently:
    We held the ceremony in the courtyard at 5:30 in late August. ALMOST The whole courtyard was in shadow, but the people in the way back had to deal with sun in their eyes. 6 o'clock would have been perfect.
    Secondly, with the reception immediately following inside, I would have opted for a satellite bar in the courtyard. This option was on our contract but we never noticed it. When everybody goes to the bar at once, there's quite a bottleneck.
    That's not much in the way of complaints, but it's all I have.

    Sent on 09/09/2014
  • User2574461 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mad Art Gallery was a wonderful place to have our wedding ceremony and reception! We couldn't have asked for anything better! Samantha and Lesley were so helpful and there for us every step of the way. Many guests said it was the most fun wedding they had ever been to, especially with the delicious food, the jail cell as our photo booth, and the huge outdoor patio to enjoy the beautiful evening! Definitely a day to remember!

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • Carrie

    Carrie · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was September 24, 2011! Everything about the day was perfect, thanks to this venue! We had our wedding ceremony in the courtyard, which was beautiful and charming. Our reception took place later in the day at Mad Art. Samantha P. is the absolute best wedding coordinator! She helped with all the wedding decorations and the flow of the ceremony and reception! The reception was so unique on its own that minimal decoration is needed! We used the in house catering, and the food exceeded our highest expectations! I have had so many people tell me the food was the best they've ever had at a wedding! If you are looking for a unique and exciting place for a wedding, then this is the place!

    Sent on 10/18/2011
  • L

    Linda · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel very lucky that we chose to have our wedding reception at the Mad Art Gallery in June, 2011. Everything was absolutely wonderful. We used their catering service and the food was fantastic. We knew we had made the right choice after the tasting prior to the event. The food served at the reception was actually better than the tasting! Samantha, the event coordinator, made us feel like we had hired a wedding planner. She responded to all calls and emails promptly and was very professional when we met with her. She helped come up with ideas and was very receptive to our ideas. The place looked beautiful once they set everything up! The night of the reception, she went above and beyond by taking photos for us when our photographer left a little earlier than we had anticipated. This venue is very unique and the service went so far beyond our expectations. It felt like the entire staff was enjoying the event. They were genuine and kind in every way and definitely not just going through the motions to make money. I recommend this location wholeheartedly!

    Sent on 08/05/2011
  • J

    Julia · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was perfect! Heather did an amazing job.

    Sent on 01/21/2010
  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 05/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at Mad Art, and Heather was the main person who we worked with. It was such a great experience working with her, she was always responsive to questions, got back with me quickly, and really made me feel comfortable with everything. I did not have a wedding planner and we did all of the reception decorations ourselves; Heather and staff set up all of the decorations for us and did everything perfectly, it looked so beautiful. We had so many compliments on how unique the space was and how it was so refreshing to be somewhere other than a hotel conference room for a reception. We did our own music (using our computer) as they have a built in sound system...it worked perfectly and they provided all the necessities to set it up which was so helpful. The bartenders were also great, they were very friendly and quick at getting everyone their drinks, there was never a long line. It really is a great space and worked out perfectly for us.

    Sent on 05/25/2009
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a quirky yet lovely venue, this is the place for you! We had our ceremony in the courtyard and our reception in the large event space. The natural light in the courtyard was beautiful. Carrie (the events coordinator) was a superstar - very attentive and flexible with our requests. She made sure every detail was perfect, and even reminded us of things to consider when we were overwhelmed. Ron (the chef and owner) made us a delicious meal and even made accommodations for a few of our guests that had dietary restrictions.

    Sent on 01/14/2017
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 08/27/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mad Art Gallery in the Soulard neighborhood of St. Louis, Missouri was an absolutetly outstanding place for our wedding reception. I initially chose the venue because it is a unique and stylish venue with reasonable pricing. But, I was very surprised and delighted by the services, food, and overall experience.

    We loved the Mad Art Gallery because it is an art gallery with with a hip, artsy vibe. With the decorations we chose it was a very chic urban affair. Several of our guests remarked at how stylish the event was. We also liked Mad Art because it has an courtyard that is decorated by romantic white lighting, all of which is viewable from the gallery/dining floor, by a wall of windows. Additionally, it is really fun. As a former police precint, there are some fun relics from it's former life.

    Finally, I cannot say enough about Samantha, the gallery manager. She was very professional, thorough, easy-going, and a delight to work with. The entire staff on the day of the event also did fantastic work.

    I highly recommend Mad Art Gallery for your wedding reception or other event.

    Sent on 09/13/2011
  • M

    Peggy · Married on 07/16/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will highly recojmmand your venue. Samantha did an outstanding job! Our only issue is the leftover wedding cake. Our family was disappointed there was no left overs to take home, eapecailly the groom's cake which came from Time's small town in southern Ill. I don't know it all the cake was cut or not. I suspect that all the cake was cut. My suggestion would be to cut the cake as needed per tier and the bottom tier half, if guest needed more then cut it. My other suggestions is at closing , closing seems to be a bit choatic. Our other daughter's wedding they had a flatbed on wheels(like the type at Home depot) and have everything ready. Or give a pick up date to collect table decoration/flowers etc. Overall it was outstanding!
    We had some many compliments from our guest about the food, the unquiness of the venue and what a great time they had. Thank you so much for making timn's and Anna's day so wonderful!! with much appreciation, Peggy Bippen

    Sent on 08/08/2011
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 05/29/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our reception at the Mad Art May of 2010. We were so pleased with the gallery and received many compliments. We did heavy hors d'œuvres for our meal and it turned our wonderful. I am 34 and my husband is 40 so we did not want the traditional buffet or sit-down dinner. We went for more of a causal reception and it turned out amazing!! I would definitely recommend the Mad Art......just make sure if you change things last minute that they get changed.

    Sent on 07/22/2010
  • C

    Tina · Married on 10/18/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This reception venue was exactly what we were looking for! We are still young so we wanted someplace hip and fun and the Art Gallery was just that. We were able to cut costs on decorating because the gallery was decoration in its own. Heather was wonderful to work with and was extremly accomodating to all our needs. She even helped avoid some major future mother in law disasters! We couldn't not be any happier than we were with the Mad Art Gallery

    Sent on 11/08/2008
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 03/24/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Samantha was wonderful to work with. She responded within 24 hours to each of my many questions. She was open to our unique wedding ceremony and reception plan, and had some great ideas to contribute. I would recommend Mad Art for any bride that loves the Art Deco building and wants a creative wedding.

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • A

    Anita · Married on 10/15/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Mad Art Gallery for our wedding reception. After we booked with them, the main contact person changed to Sam, and we were very happy with that switch. Sam was incredibly helpful before and during the event. Our only real complaint is that they lack some flexibility with their catering services, and if we could do it again, we would have hired an outside caterer. The food was good but pricey. Our guests enjoyed utilizing the patio and hanging out by the fire place, and the old jail cell is a fun place to take some posed pictures.

    Sent on 02/18/2012
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/11/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I want to stress right away that the low rating is due to their coordinator who is no longer there. I wish I could give Mad Art Galley a 5. It is such a unique and fun venue, and overall things went well during our wedding and reception. However, we were disappointed by a few things:

    1. We ordered a champagne toast for our head table, but there was no champagne and the staff had no idea what we were talking about.
    2. The coordinator, Lesley, assured us that the traffic flow would be controlled - people would enter the courtyard from outside, then be ushered through the back entrance to the bar area. Nope. I arrived to the gallery before the ceremony and immediately bumped into several guests hanging out inside, so I had to hide in the back. No one signed our guest book because people didn't pass it the way they should have. After the ceremony, people went directly into the hall, so there was a lot of confusion there, too. I would recommend having extra ushers or greeters on hand to help control the traffic, and have the officiant explain which way people should go after the ceremony.
    3. Our leftover wedding favors were boxed up and I still have no idea if I can ever get them back. (We were hoping so save some of the custom-made bottles and would have grabbed them at the end of the night if we weren't promised they would be collected.) I called and wrote to Lesley for 3 weeks with no response before finally learning that she no longer works there. I've been told they have changed their pick-up policy to prevent things like this from happening again.

    With a different coordinator on staff, it's hard to give an accurate recommendation. I would still recommend it, but make sure you have a few friends or family members who can help make sure things fall into place - don't rely on just the reassurances of the coordinator (although the new one seems great).

    Sent on 06/12/2013
  • N

    Maggie · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We did our reception only at Mad Art -- a fun, funky, cool-vibe, laid-back art gallery with a good use of space. It used to be an old St. Louis police precinct and still has the original sergeant's desk (used as a bar) and a jail cell (super fun photos!). Our initial contact with Mad Art was anything but stellar, BUT, they've since brought in a new manager who is very helpful and very on the ball. She had a load of headaches to fix from the previous manager and handled it with grace and ease. I was unsatisfied that we had to pay extra for bringing in an off-site caterer that wasn't on their "approved" list because the previous manager had told me that it wasn't a problem. There were a few similar instances through the process; otherwise, the score would be higher. That said, moving forward, I would have no qualms about recommending Mad Art to anyone. I think the owner has put the problems behind him by bringing in a new manager, who again, should be commended! Also noteworthy, our caterer pretty much handled everything -- set up, tear down, centerpiece placements and the like. The gallery does the bar -- BUT, your glassware is not included in the price. Your caterer brings it in and washes it too. Overall, we loved our day and all went well!

    Sent on 10/13/2011
  • B

    Barb · Married on 11/10/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    For the most part, a great place. Unique setting--got lots of comments on how cool the venue was. Coordinators Samantha and Lesley answered e-mails, but sometimes took a few days. The day of he wedding was similar--things got done, but we had to stay on top of them. The bar package was our biggest complaint--we got the 'top shelf' package at $28pp, but there was only one bar tender and service was slow, especially when the bar first opened. Overall a great experience, but be prepared to have someone in continual communication with the coordinator during the event.

    Sent on 11/14/2012
  • B

    Rebecca · Married on 10/08/2011

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This review is tough for me, as I should really review the venue separately from the catering services. While our venue was everything we wanted, we were incredibly disappointed in Mad Art's catering services.

    We had our October wedding in the coutyard and the reception in the gallery. The venue itself was great. Samantha (the coordinator we worked with there) was very responsive and they were very accomodating. There were a couple of minor hicups (the gate to the ceremony was opened very late, the fireplace was not tended to, there weren't enough tables set) but overall, we were very happy and our guests complimented our venue.

    However, the catering services were a huge disappointment. Even though I had read mixed reviews, we were thrilled at the taste and menu options Mad Art had so we booked their in house caterer. We ordered appetizers for cocktail hour, and dinner was supposed to be served at 7:30 (according to our coordinator). Appetizers were never served and dinner did not come out until 8:15. On top of that, most everything was cold when my husband and I ate...and we ate first. Around 20 of my guests left without eating because they couldn't wait anymore and my diabetic uncle had to ask for some fruit because of his blood sugar. They also failed to serve our leftover cake in cake boxes as we requested until about 15 minutes before the end of the reception (after most guests left), leaving tons and tons of abandoned cake. (My mom literally went into the kitchen to find out what was taking so long).

    We would definitely recommend the venue, but I am still pretty bitter about the catering services. Mad Art did refund the money for the forgotten appetizers, but I never spoke to Samantha about the other concerns (she was not present the day of my wedding due to a personal conflict). We played phone tag a little and then for my own sanity I dropped the issue for awhile. I feel like 45 minutes of my reception was wasted sitting waiting for food.

    Sent on 02/07/2012
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/05/2010

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    The venue itself was perfect for us. But I dont have much positive to say other than that. I wouldn't recommend anyone book here unless you have a coordinator who is willing to stay on top of all the details. We had CONSTANT issues with communication. Heather assured us she would be there during the whole event. But she left immediately after the ceremony. She told us she was going to set up the centerpieces, the caterer did it. At least one other review I had read had similar issues but on the day of Mad Art came through. I did not have that experience at all. That day was as haphazard as the year of planning with them had been.

    If you want to book here because you love the location then do it, if you want a location you can work with effortlessly, look elsewhere

    Sent on 10/07/2010
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/11/2011

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    To start out positive, Mad Art is a very cool location! It is an art gallery housed inside of a former police station, so the bar is located at the sergeant's desk and there is a jail cell for gifts/pictures/kids room/whatever you want! Unfortunately, we had a severe problem with a member of the bar staff. There is a strict no outside alcohol policy. The coordinator allowed us to store a case of beer left over from the party bus in her office, and when the bar closed, someone in the wedding party must have grabbed the beer and handed one to the father of the groom (who assumed it came from the bar). If the member of the bar staff had said something along the lines of, "There is no outside alcohol, please remove it from the premises," everything would have been okay. Instead, the member of the bar staff was incredibly rude to the parents of the groom, and wouldn't even tell them what they were doing wrong. And then he pushed them outside, and locked the door. When a guest let them back in, the mother of the groom asked him for his name, and he said, "I do not have to give you that information." And when she asked for his supervisor, he just ran off. We received no apologies from the manager. I am in shock at the amount of disrespect given to my family, and despite Mad Art being a neat location for a wedding reception, I could never recommend it to anyone. I would hate for someone else to be treated in this way.

    Sent on 08/05/2011

    Mad Art Gallery's reply:

    It is true that we have a very strict no outside liquor policy at Mad Art, which is to protect our liquor license from being revoked. We have signs at all doors in bold red type stating this. However, we do understand that there are times that bridal parties might bring a cooler of alcohol from a party bus and have nowhere else, off premises, to put the cooler. Therefore, we will put the cooler in a safe place until after the event. This is what occurred the night of this event. Although neither I nor the bride saw first-hand what took place, it seems that a family member brought beer from the cooler back into the Gallery after the event was over with. My staff member came to me, the Coordinator/Manager, and told me that he escorted someone with outside alcohol out the front doors and that the mother of the groom would like to speak with me. She was very upset and felt that my staff member was not courteous enough. I apologized if he was a bit over-zealous and told her that I would speak with him. I also reiterated the need for enforcing the rules of our liquor license. She seemed appeased after speaking to me. Two weeks later, the bride called me and said that her mother-in-law told her about the incident. I apologized to the bride and told her that I spoke with my staff member and asked him to next time explain the rules and politely ask them to remove the outside alcohol from the premises. He understood what I said and took it to heart. She then asked to speak the Owner regarding the situation. The Owner told her the same that I did and apologized for any hard feelings. I am truly sorry that this bride will unfortunately have bad feelings toward us for this isolated incident. There are times, as with any business, that rules need to be enforced for the good of the business and this was one of them. I can assure you that all guests, no matter if they are family of the bride & groom or not, are always treated with respect.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review