Locust Grove Estate Reviews

64 | Poughkeepsie, NY
See photos, pricing and details

64 Reviews for Locust Grove Estate

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

64

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey L. · Married on 04/17/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful for Spring!

    My husband and I both met at Marist College, so getting married at Locust Grove had always been a dream of mine. From the beginning, Ken, was so great to work with! Covid hit us mid wedding planning, and Ken was always available to answer any questions we had. In the end we ended up going forth with a 50 person wedding and I would not change a single thing. The space was perfect- people had plenty of place to roam around and although we only had 6 tables at dinner, the space felt full and lively the entire night. The grounds are absolutely stunning and we were able to get some really amazing photos. For the brides- I also highly recommend renting Greystone House for your "getting ready photos," you will NOT be disappointed. Locust Grove is perfect for the couple who doesn't want a traditional banquet/hotel wedding, still wants that "outdoors" feel, but wants something a bit more sophisticated than a barn.

    Sent on 04/28/2021
  • Kathleen

    Kathleen · Married on 08/15/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 star venue!!

    Ken was so helpful and gave great recommendations for caterers. He was so kind and great to work with. The facilities are. Beautiful and clean.

    Sent on 08/19/2020
  • Julia

    Julia · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue!

    We loved having our wedding here! It met all our needs - outdoor garden ceremony space (with indoor space as a backup if it rains), beautiful terrace for cocktail hour, and air conditioned reception space with tables/chairs provided. It was super convenient since the catering staff had access to the kitchen and there was ample parking and nice bathrooms for guests. We got a hotel block at the courtyard Marriott next door and our guests were able to walk from the reception back to the hotel, eliminating the need for shuttles/Uber/designated drivers. Ken was extremely responsive and helpful as we planned our wedding.

    Sent on 08/18/2019
  • E

    Eric L. · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful grounds

    We had our wedding at The Locust Grove in late May, and couldn't be happier with our decision. Ken was a pleasure to work with, and was great with communication. The gardens were a bit delayed due to the winter, but still were gorgeous and provided ample background to our ceremony. We fell in love with the outdoor patio where we had our cocktail hour, and the backyard area overlooking the hudson river where the ceremony was held. Absolutely loved it!

    Sent on 06/02/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Locust Grove was the perfect wedding venue!

    Locust Grove was the perfect wedding venue! Similar to other reviewers, we didn't look anywhere else. We had our wedding ceremony and reception here October 20, 2018 and absolutely loved it. Everything about the space is beautiful. Ken was a pleasure to work with and answered all of our questions quickly. The venue fee goes towards maintaining the grounds and educational programs. The best part was being able to decide whether we wanted an indoor or outdoor ceremony the day of, weather dependent. Would definitely recommend for future weddings any time of year!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • A

    Austin · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very simply, Locust Grove was the absolute perfect place to get married. My wife and I literally didn't look anywhere else, and decided we wanted to have our wedding there about 30 seconds into seeing the space. They have multiple spots to choose from for the ceremony; we got lucky with the weather and did ours outdoors, but would have been fine holding it in either of the beautiful galleries if we had to. The cocktail hour spot was perfect - we had a live jazz trio and it worked so well in the covered outdoor space, and the reception room was absolutely beautiful. There are beautiful gardens all over the property, and the entire place is just gorgeous. Our guests were blown away. Ken, Jay and Sean were all great to work with. We really hope to do another event there one day. HIGHLY recommend!!

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful site! I knew this was the venue when we first walked in. The price is affordable compared to other "barn" or "garden" type weddings because Locust Grove provides all of the tables and chairs that we needed! We didn't need to rent them! Ken was so helpful from start to finish. We had our ceremony on site as well. We are so happy with our decision to be married at Locust Grove! It was perfect!

    Sent on 07/16/2018
  • Molly

    Molly · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    Had our wedding at Locust Grove in April of 2018 and it was perfect. The process was very smooth and everything was easy, taking one part of the stress away from our wedding.

    The grounds were amazing for photos and our guests were able to explore the gardens and trails before the ceremony started. The cherry blossoms were out for our photos so couldn't have been more perfect!

    Sent on 09/02/2019
  • J

    Justin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy with this beautiful venue. Loved the grounds of the property and very happy leaves were still on the trees for this time of year. This venue definitely met our expectations for a rustic serene look and feel. The space we had for our reception was comfortable and spacious for our 120 guests. Happy we were able to use the separate room for our food setup which allowed more space for dancing. We recommend having your wedding here or any special event.

    Martin & Justin

    Sent on 02/14/2018
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Locust Grove was the perfect location for my July 2017 wedding of 120 people. There were so many gorgeous spots for photos on the grounds. It was so convenient to have the tables and chairs and not have to pay to bring that in. The venue is so beautiful on its own and needed very few decorations. Our Locust Grove wedding felt intimate and low-key; our guests said they felt like it was out of a story book. Highly recommend this perfect venue!

    Sent on 08/10/2017
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken was absolutely wonderful! He was attentive and professional and things went off without a hitch. Locust Grove is beautiful and the gardens are absolutely gorgeous. The venue where we had all the tables and chairs (these are included in the rental fee) fit all of our guests and vendors perfectly.

    Overall, our wedding in Locust Grove was everything I asked for and more. There's nothing more beautiful than an outside ceremy here. If you pick this place as your venue, don't forget to take a stroll along the gardens before getting married. Trust me!

    Sent on 10/15/2017
  • J

    Janet · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I married on May 20, 2017 at the beautiful Locust Grove Estate. We both fell for the natural beauty of the estate with the lovely gardens, the opportunities for exploration of the grounds, Samuel Morse's home, the many gorgeous trees, the display of local artists' work, and the incredible West Gallery. Swoon! Family and friends were equally enamored by the space and grounds and continue to let us know. The director of the estate, Ken, was wonderful to work with, informative, and so helpful with any questions we had. Thank you, Ken!

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • L

    Linda · Married on 04/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter & son-in-law chose Locust Grove Estate for their wedding for its beauty and location and their love of art & nature. Ken Snodgrass was friendly, professional, and helpfully in so many ways. I can't thank him enough. The grounds are so beautiful and our guests enjoyed roaming, taking in their splendor and exploring the art gallery. Locust Grove Estate made our daughter's wedding a truly wondrous event!

    Sent on 04/30/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wont lie, what first caught my eye with this place was the affordable price. We paid for our wedding ourselves and we're shocked at how much people wanted to charge to rent a space! When we went to look at the place we were sold. It was beautiful on its own, and I realized it would only take a small amount of decorating on our part. Ken was extremely helpful the whole time. He even let us store stuff there a day early. We received so many compliments on how beautiful the location was!! I highly recommend Locust Grove.

    Sent on 03/08/2017
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Locust Grove and received compliments from all of our guests on how beautiful the venue was. It rained on our day and it was stress-free knowing we had an indoor ceremony option! The building is nice and new (with big, clean, new bathrooms for those of you considering barn weddings!) Ken is responsive and helpful. Everything went perfectly (besides the rain!) and we couldn't be more pleased. The grounds provided an amazing and convenient setting for all of our photos.

    Sent on 12/05/2016
  • D

    Danielle R. · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we ever made was having our wedding at Locust Grove. The venue is absolutely beautiful and relaxing. The kitchen is top notch and highly liked by caterers. Working with Ken is a breeze, he is such a sweet and caring person who really wants your special day to go smoothly and he is there for you every step of the way. Your guests will be delighted by the beautiful gardens (especially during the fall) and the beauty of the building itself. It is a gem and it is absolutely amazing.

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • C

    Leslie · Married on 07/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken is fantastic! So quick to respond to questions, very accommodating, and funny! Everyone we encountered there, though, was great. It is a beautiful place and we feel we could not have picked a better spot for our wedding. Recommend very highly.

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The grounds are exquisite and the reception hall is divine. Ken, the events manager is a pleasure to work with and very interested in making sure you event is perfect. We held our wedding on a Monday and they were so helpful with set up and breakdown. It rained midday but Ken was more than happy to wipe down the chairs to have our ceremony in the afternoon when it cleared up. I am so happy to have picked this venue!

    Sent on 08/06/2016
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This gorgeous, historic estate was not only the perfect venue for our 140 person wedding, but also a pleasure to visit and reserve. It was important to us to have a venue that had both indoor and outdoor spaces, historical architecture details, and enveloped our guests. We booked our June 2016 wedding in April 2015 (we’d recommend booking over a year in advance for this venue during popular months). Ken was absolutely wonderful to work with and was helpful, cheerful, and super responsive. The day of, the grounds were in full bloom and guests loved being able to walk through the gardens.

    Sent on 11/05/2016
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception here. We love Locust Grove. One of the best things about Locust Grove is working with Ken. He is super responsive and very helpful. He was truly excellent to work with!

    Sent on 08/02/2016
  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 05/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I celebrated our wedding reception at the Locust Grove Historic Estate on Sunday, May 15th, 2016. We cannot thank Kenneth Snodgrass and the rest of the staff for their unbelievable work. It was such a pleasure working with them! We could not have chosen a better venue. Everyone raved about the beauty of the property and everything was just seamless. We will definitely return for a mansion tour. During our initial conversation, Kenneth was so kind, energetic and knowledgeable. His guidance and support along the way with regards to vendor recommendations was accurate and greatly appreciated. He was always so professional and timely in his responses. Kenneth and the Locust Grove staff helped make our day as perfect as it was.

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • C

    Candice · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This past October my husband and I had gotten married at Locust Grove Estate in Poughkeepsie, NY. We wanted to keep our wedding on the smaller side, about 65 guests, and Locust Grove provided us with a number of great options to choose from. The best part about choosing Locust Grove was Ken, who was always helpful, clear, and answered any questions we had within an hour or so. He was extremely flexible in allowing us to see all the options that the venue offered and guided to ultimately decide on the room that worked best for us. Initially, it was really difficult for us to select a venue because so many local places required certain headcounts and did not work with smaller events. Locust Grove has many options in rooms that work for small intimate weddings all the way to large weddings.
    Hands down, Locust Grove is one of the most beautiful locations in the Hudson Valley area. We were not only given access to a beautiful room for our reception but also had a lovely ceremony out on the lawn by the flower gardens, a cocktail hour outdoors, and access to all of the grounds for photography and cocktail hour. We were lucky enough to have a beautiful fall day that gave us some of the most stunning wedding photos.
    Locust Grove and Ken took care of almost everything for us – we were actually surprised by how little we had to do for our big day! Ken knows a number of local vendors (we chose Lola’s Café for our caterer and DJ Domenic for our DJ) and they worked seamlessly together. Another really important feature for us was that Locust Grove does not double book events, so it is only your wedding party who has access to the venue and grounds for the evening. As a recommendation, we would suggest you plan ahead at least a year or two before booking because spots for Locust Grove fill up fast and you don’t want to miss out. Locust Grove and Ken far exceeded our expectations of what we wanted to our wedding day!

    Sent on 01/03/2017
  • R

    Renee · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our ceremony at Locust Grove. It was difficult to find a venue that had both indoor and outdoor options. We wanted outdoor but the option for indoor if the weather would not allow for it, which this venue offered without having to commit to in/out until the day prior. Ken was amazing! He was so helpful, responsive and professional throughout the planning process, which was complicated by the fact that we live in FL but he made everything so smooth. He was running around helping make everything perfect that day. He anticipated our needs and went out of his way to accommodate us and our guests. We cannot thank him enough. I cannot recommend this beautiful venue or Ken more highly. Thank you for making our day amazing!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful venue! It was absolutely perfect in every way! The grounds are breath-taking. I love this place! All my guests were very surprised at how beautiful the venue turned out.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • User6120788 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at Locust Grove in July, and the venue was exquisite. Every part of the property was immaculate, and the gardens were fully in bloom. The outdoor space was perfect for our cocktail hour, and the West Gallery was perfect for dinner and dancing. The views were wonderful for our wedding pictures! It was the perfect balance of indoor/outdoor. The comfort of air conditioning with all the beauty of the Hudson Valley surrounding. Ken was a delight to work with as well! We could not have chosen a more beautiful or perfect venue for our celebration!

    Sent on 12/31/2015