Carissa Lawlor Reviews

36 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for Carissa Lawlor

Recommended by 99%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

9 User photos

Carissa Lawlor 1
Carissa Lawlor 2
Carissa Lawlor 3
Carissa Lawlor 4
Carissa Lawlor 5
Carissa Lawlor 6
Carissa Lawlor 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 12/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hair for wedding

    Carissa was great to work with! She was efficient, professional, extremely skilled, and SO nice! She made everyone look amazing on our wedding day! Great service and awesome stylist!

    Sent on 01/18/2019
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best out there

    Carissa was beyond amazing. On the day of my wedding i asked her to do a whole different hair style than what we'd practiced - even threw in hair extensions & she knocked it out of the park! She did exactly what I wanted! An added bonus is you'll want to become best friends w/Carissa at the end of it all. HIGHLY recommend!!

    Sent on 12/31/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa and her team were incredible! Carissa gave me a few options to choose from during my trial and we were able to find the perfect style for my wedding day. She was incredibly professional and responsive throughout the whole process. On the day of our wedding, her calming nature was a relief - I knew I was in good hands. Myself and my bridesmaids couldn't have been happier with our hair and it stayed in place the whole night!I would highly recommend Carissa and her team for any special event!

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Locks & Lace! She was so fun and creative to work with ... everyone's hair looked great and she wanted to make sure everyone was satisfied!

    Sent on 06/12/2018
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 09/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa came highly recommended from many of my girlfriends in the DC area. Our trial was so fun and we got to try out many different ideas for the big day. On the day of our wedding Carissa was on time and very efficient - we got through five bridesmaids, my mother and myself and finished ahead of schedule which was helpful since the day is chaotic enough. I would definitely recommend Carissa to any bride getting married in the DMV.

    Sent on 12/08/2017
  • G

    Gayden · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa Lawlor with Locks and Lace was fantastic. Friendly, professional, and SO GOOD with my hair! She gave me three beautiful options for updos after looking at some ideas I provided her with. I am very glad I went with her for the wedding. She's a great value and was easy to talk to. She also created absolutely gorgeous updos for my bridesmaids.

    Sent on 11/13/2017

    Carissa Lawlor's reply:

    Thank you Gayden! I loved spending the morning with you and your Bridesmaids, it was such a pleasure. Thank you for choosing me to style you on such a special day. Sending you wishes for the happiest life you can imagine.
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa has been my hair stylist for quite some time so there was no one else I would have trusted to do my hair for my wedding! I had ten bridesmaids which is quite a feat but Carissa organized our schedule perfectly! I never once felt nervous about the timing and everything we needed to get done in just a couple of hours. I received SO many compliments on my classic up do. It was exactly what I was going for. Carissa is truly an artist when it comes to hair but will listen to you every step of the way.

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no need to look for anyone else to do your hair for your wedding day, or any other event, beyond Carissa. I absolutely loved the styles she did for my family and loved ones, all unique and better than the next, and was absolutely thrilled with my hair for my wedding day. She knew exactly what look I was going for and delivered better than I could have imagined. It was clean, classic, intricate, and interesting, and made me feel beautiful. I wore my hair in a low, woven, bun and danced the night away. It stayed put the entire night, but never felt heavy as her products are amazingly light and clean. But just as importantly, Carissa was maybe the most professional of all of my vendors. My mother has kept raving months after the wedding how amazing she was. She was on time, professional, focused, and everyone was happy with their hair. I am so grateful to have found her, and would recommend her to everyone I know. I am so lucky to have had Carissa do my hair for such an important day.

    Sent on 11/25/2017
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa was a pleasure to work with. She is organized, professional, great at what she does and so so kind! All of my bridesmaids and family members were thrilled with their hair styles and the whole process of getting ready for the wedding was smooth and relaxed. Could not recommend Lock & Lace more highly!

    Sent on 10/30/2017

    Carissa Lawlor's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Bridget. It was such a pleasure styling you and your bridal party. Thank you for having us. Many blessings to you and your husband!
  • K

    Krystina · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I normally see Carissa for my hair cuts and color, so when she mentioned that she also does wedding styling after I got engaged, hiring Locks & Lace was a no-brainer. This also made it super easy to have my trial done, as I was able to go to my normal salon! My trial consisted of three styles (I also included photos from that here), all beautiful and based on photos I brought for inspiration, but I ultimately went with the one that was Carissa playing around that we both fell in love with.

    Carissa and her colleague, Mac, were absolutely lovely throughout the whole morning of us getting ready. They arrived early and were super professional, even dealing with a bridesmaidzilla with grace. Tip to everyone getting their hair done by anyone: if you want a style EXACTLY like a photo looks, then say that. Don't ask for "something kind of like this" and then get upset when it's a stylist's interpretation doesn't match your vision. Thankfully, Carissa was able to quickly redo her hair to perfection with just enough time to spare to give me a final shellacking of spray :)

    We were a fairly large group (Two moms, five bridal attendants, and myself, the bride) and they managed time pretty well, especially considering the bit of a snafu mentioned above. Carissa and Mac were able to work their styling magic on a variety of hair lengths (bob to waist-length), textures and volume. We had a mix of updos, half-ups, braids, and completely down, and they all managed to stay put through July heat and post-rainstorm humidity! (I think the only casualty was one tendril of mine fell out towards the end of the evening, but there was some seriously hard partying, so I was impressed it wasn't all out!)

    Sent on 12/07/2017
    Carissa Lawlor 8
    Carissa Lawlor 9
    Carissa Lawlor 10
    Carissa Lawlor 11
    Carissa Lawlor 12
    Carissa Lawlor 13
    Carissa Lawlor 14
    Carissa Lawlor 15
    Carissa Lawlor 16
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa is amazing. When I first reached out to her she responded almost immediately and we set up time to chat and schedule a trial. Carissa's Instagram is filled with tons of gorgeous styles which helped to get a sense of what I wanted to test out at my trial. Carissa let me try three different styles making it easy to narrow down my look for my wedding day. In preparation for the big day she worked closely with my makeup artist to develop a schedule which made everything run super smoothly and stress-free on the morning of my wedding -- something every bride needs! I was beyond thrilled with my final look, which stayed perfectly in place from my 11 am ceremony until I left my after party at midnight.

    Sent on 06/12/2017

    Carissa Lawlor's reply:

    Kathryn,
    It was such a beautiful morning styling you and your bridal party! Thank you for inviting us, we had a lovely time. You looked radiant! Congratulations, a lifetime of happiness to you and your husband.
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Carissa on WeddingWire, and I'm so thankful that I did. I had such a great experience during the trial updo that I decided to start seeing her for regular cut/color as well! During the trial we tried two different looks, and Carissa helped me figure out how to combine elements of both into a wonderfully styled updo.

    She was prompt, fun, and professional the day of the wedding. We got a little behind schedule because one of my bridesmaids has a ton of really long hair, but she was able to make up the time. I loved my look, and felt so pretty on that special day! I highly recommend Locks & Lace for styling your special occasion.

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • R

    rachel · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa Lawlor and her team did a great job on our wedding day. Carissa was responsive, very organized and fun and put so much work into creating a perfect look for all of us. I'd highly recommend Locks and Lace for any bride/bridal party!

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa did a great job! She was super flexible with my hair style and my bridesmaids on my wedding day. We all looked fabulous!

    Sent on 09/03/2016
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa did hairstyling services on my wedding day for myself, my mom and a few other bridesmaids. I cannot say enough amazing things about her and her work. I knew during my trial that I would book her for my wedding day. When contacting other businesses to do a trial, most said they would only allow me to try one hair style. Carissa let me try 3 different options, which was a HUGE help in seeing what looked best on me. Carissa listened to what I wanted done and executed it perfectly. I have thinner hair that doesn't typically hold a curl well, but sure enough my curls remained in all day/night. I received SO many compliments on my hair style, I wish I could have my hair like that every day :) Thank you Carissa for all that you did, everyone looked amazing!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Carissa to style the hair of myself (bride), my bridesmaids, and a few additional family members on my wedding day. Carissa is very talented. She gave me several styles to select from at the trial - all of which were strikingly pretty. On the day of the wedding, she was on time (it was soooo early) and everyone enjoyed her company as well as that of stylist that she brought to help with all the hair styles, Bre. My hair, and that of everyone else she styled, was beautiful! I looked like a princess on my wedding day. You should hire her without reservation!

    Sent on 05/17/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa and Colleen styled me and some of my wedding party. They did a fantastic job!

    I did a hair trial with Carissa. We tried five different styles and she took pictures of each for me so I could get friends' opinions. I came with some inspirational photos and she also had a lot of great ideas. Carissa was very responsive via email leading up to the event, and flexible as my ready time changed after speaking with the photographer. I absolutely loved my hair!

    I didn't get a chance to do a makeup trial with Colleen but that didn't matter - she heard what I wanted and did a great job. I showed up with a few photos of makeup I liked (find one with similar skin/hair color as you) and she matched them. She asked for feedback while going so I could adjust the look as she finished.

    Both Carissa and Colleen added calmness and fun to the getting ready room. I absolutely would recommend them to any bride and her wedding party.

    Sent on 05/02/2016
  • S

    Sammi · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa was so easy to work with leading up to the wedding such a pleasure to have with me while getting ready on my big day! She was responsive, flexible, and brought a great energy to the room. I appreciated that fact that she "booked appointments" for me and my bridesmaids in advance so we all knew exactly what time our hair was getting done. Everything ran smoothly when coordinating with our makeup artist because of Carissa's organization.

    Sent on 02/22/2016
  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Carissa as a last minute change after a surprise cancellation by my previously booked hair stylist for the day of the wedding. From the very beginning, Carissa was responsive with both emails and text messaging. Her calm and caring demeanor instantly put my mind at ease. I appreciated and loved her organizational skills for the wedding day styling, providing multiple updated itineraries as changes were made throughout the planning process. Her passion for hair and wedding styling shown during my trial and continued through the day of the wedding. I absolutely loved how she styled my mother, my now mother-in-law, and all 4 of my bridesmaids hair, as well as mine. Carissa was not only extremely professional, but also caring, kind, and responsive to all of my needs as a bride, as well as all of my bridesmaids, and the mothers. All of us girls received multiple compliments on our hair throughout the day and night of the wedding. I loved how she made the mothers feel like queens, and look stunning for our big day. I enjoyed watching her style all four of my bridesmaids, taking care to style as I requested with half up-dos, however, allowing each bridesmaids personality to shine through with an individual and unique style to fit them. And lastly, but not least, I LOVED my unique and detailed updo. I received so many compliments on my hair throughout the evening - and I was not shy to state who had completed the beautiful updo. :) I was so lucky and honored to find Carissa. Her work was absolutely amazing and it felt as though we had been friends for years. I highly recommend Carissa for any special occasion. Thank you so much for making our day extra special with your amazing talent!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • E

    Erika · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Locks & Lace. Carissa is great at what she does and was able to put together some amazing hair looks for me and my bridesmaids. I gave her a few guidelines and then trusted her to do fantastic work. Colleen did makeup for the moms, me, and a few bridesmaids. People are always nervous about coming out of the makeup chair looking like a different person, but Colleen worked with each person to make sure they had makeup they liked. The best part was that they were both nice people who were fun to hang out with. When hair and makeup starts at 7am and lasts for most of the day, its important to have people you like and trust. I'd strongly recommend Locks & Lace!

    Sent on 08/28/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa is amazing! She is my regular hair stylist and she did an amazing job styling my 8 bridesmaids on my big day. Carissa is on top of the trends. She is a leader in the field - I often see her coworkers come to her with their questions at the salon. She is a professional who takes her work seriously but always styles with a smile. Hire her!

    Sent on 02/01/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa and Colleen styled my June 13, 2015 wedding in Washington, D.C. I started working with Carissa around March to schedule a trial and talk with her about what I wanted for the wedding day. The trial was helpful, and Carissa worked with me much longer than expected to work with a decorative comb that just didn't fit the hairstyle I wanted. While the trial took a long time (sorry Carissa!) I appreciated her willingness to keep trying to make my hair piece work. In the end, I just got a new hair piece. :-)

    Carissa and Colleen arrived on time for the wedding and worked quickly with my bridal party. My bridesmaids were pleased with their hair (I don't think anyone had a do-over!) and most of the time we ran early on appointment times. They also were great with our moms who had some questions about what to do with their hair (aka asking for some direction since they didn't know how to style). What more could you ask for?

    The other thing I appreciated about Carissa is that I feel like her prices were very reasonable and fair. Staying on budget in D.C. is tough and I wanted a quality vendor without the exceptionally inflated prices. Locks and Lace delivered quality, personality, and everything I needed for our wedding day! I have already recommended them to a friend who is having a wedding in D.C. and I hope they end up booking Locks and Lace. Thanks to both Carissa and Colleen again and best wishes for many more weddings ahead!

    Sent on 06/17/2015
  • User5135757 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa is wonderful! She was very attentive in figuring out exactly how I wanted my hair for the wedding and helpful in suggesting possible alternatives when I was having trouble deciding. My hair looked great and I was really impressed with the whole process. I was slightly less excited about the makeup artist that she works with. She wasn't bad, but I felt like I had a hard time explaining exactly what I wanted, where as Carissa was great.

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • A

    Abby · Married on 01/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding! Carissa (and Colleen) kicked off a great day with great hair and fabulous makeup. I loved the ideas and creativity. We all looked amazing...I especially loved the special touches she gave my nieces and mom. Thanks, Carissa!

    Sent on 01/24/2015
  • K

    Katerina · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carissa styled my hair, my bridesmaids' hair, and "the moms" for my wedding and I could not have been happier! She worked with me to find a style that was best and did such a fantastic job. She is very helpful, responsive, and is so sweet and nice. Would recommend to everyone!

    Sent on 10/30/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review