Weddings

Livin' The Pie Life Reviews

Livin' The Pie Life

Livin' The Pie Life

Arlington, VA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • Ashley
    Ashley S. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pies to die for!

    These pies were AMAZING. They held up well and were well worth their price. I would highly recommend the Salted Caramel Chess Pie. I had people begging for extra slices!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect fall wedding dessert

    After reaching out to several local bakeries to inquire about wedding cakes, finding Livin the Pie Life was a gift from the wedding planning gods. I tired very quickly of sampling sessions with cover fees, the extensive questionnaires about my color schemes, and price minimums ($800+) of local bakeries for a wedding cake. And, let’s be honest, pies are better anyways. You get more flavors, meaning that there is literally something for everyone!

    I took my parents to Livin the Pie Life one day with the intent of buying some slices for us to sample. We met one of the owners, Heather, and told her that we were interested in buying slices to sample options for my wedding. To our surprise, we emerged not with slices but ENTIRE PIES. She gave us 3 (!) to sample for our wedding. After a couple of bites of each, we were all sold on the necessity of having Heather’s pies at our wedding.

    The rest of the process was super smooth sailing. Heather recommended 10 pies for our ~70 guests, but we went with 11 pies to have a bit of wiggle room. (And in case the cousins really loved the pies…which they did! It wasn’t all bad to have some pie leftover for post-wedding consumption either.) We paid the deposit and pie price in full, including a very reasonable delivery fee to our local wedding venue. Heather subsequently coordinated with our venue directly, removing us from the picture, but ensuring that our pies were baked and delivered on time.

    We chose 3 fall(-ish) flavors: caramel apple crumb, pumpkin praline, and s’mores. We added one s’mores pie as gluten free to accommodate several guests. All of the pies were AMAZING, and our guests LOVED sampling them. We had the easiest time working with Heather and the best wedding desserts in the greater DMV. Can’t wait to head back for more pies soon!
  • S
    Sam Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best pies in DMV

    Instead of a wedding cake, we opted for wedding pies, ordering 20 large pies from Living' the Pie Life for our 140+ guests in 4 fall flavors (mile high chocolate, triple berry crumb, pumpkin, apple). During the tasting, Heather gave us 3 WHOLE pies to bring home for us to taste and they were absolutely the best pies we've ever had.

    Heather and her team were responsive, professional, and great to work with, answered all questions we had, and made delivery to our venue seamless. Our guests raved about the pies most of all, and we were so happy to have our favorite dessert to cut into at our wedding.
  • A
    Alex A. Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Pies, Amazing Service!!

    I was already a big fan of Livin' The Pie Life before we hired them for our wedding, as I had been lucky enough to have been gifted a pie from their Arlington, VA shop. We were super excited when they agreed to prepare special wedding day pies for our dessert, as well as quite a few quiches, cinnamon buns, and mac and cheese pockets for our brunch the day after the wedding. Our guests still talk about the pies, which were delicious, and we only had one slice leftover at the end of the night. The brunch options were also a huge hit, and we were very happy that the mini mac and cheese pockets were a great to-go size, since some of our guests could only swing by to say farewell before heading to the airport. They were so happy to have freshly baked deliciousness to take with them. As our wedding was threatened by an incoming hurricane, Livin the Pie Life was also extremely flexible days before the wedding, reassuring us that if we needed to reschedule at the last minute, they wouldn't charge us anything to move the order to a new date. Luckily, the hurricane changed course and we were able to proceed with our original plans, but it was a huge weight off of our shoulders to know that we wouldn't incur additional fees despite potentially last minute notice.

    We are so glad that we chose Livin the Pie Life for our wedding, and are already counting down the days to our one year anniversary, when we fully intend to recreate the food experience by putting in a replica order (but just for 2!)
  • Z
    Zachary Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sweetz Bakery was a delight to work with throughout our wedding planning process. They have an incredible selection to choose from for different baked goods, including their cupcakes which are absolutely DELICIOUS. Sweetz was very accommodating to our questions and requests, and we had only positive experiences with their staff. All of our guests raved about the cupcakes we got from Sweetz, and we always make a point to stop off at the bakery in Leesburg for a cupcake (or four!) anytime we’re in town. We’re so grateful for all of their support!
  • K
    Katherine Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Livin' the Pie Life came highly recommended by our caterers (Old Blue BBQ) for wedding pie and one look at their extensive pie menu completely sold us! Working with Heather was easy, she was super responsive, friendly, and had great ideas! Better yet, the pies were delicious! We tried the chocolate chess pie with salted caramel, the triple berry crumb pie, and the boozy pecan pie, and the hardest part was really narrowing it down to two flavors! All of our guests were thrilled and every single one of them raved about the pies! I can't recommend Livin' the Pie Life enough!
  • H
    Holly Married on 02/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Want something deliciously different at your wedding? Look no further. Pie Life makes the best pies I've ever eaten, seriously. Plus they are so accommodating and professional! When we told them the types of pies we were considering, they made us three large "test pies" in each flavor for FREE (normally ~$20 dollars each) with no obligation to book with them. They also custom made a peanut butter pie just for us! For the wedding itself, we went with mini-pies and they were the awesome. So many compliments from our guests :) Definitely the highlight of our dessert table!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy that I chose Livin' the Pie Life to provide pies for my October wedding! Working with Heather and her team was fun and easy. Our wedding and reception occurred for at the Barns at Wolf Trap so rustic pies were the perfect dessert. Our wedding guests LOVED the pies! We ordered 144 large slices for 88 guests and by the time the evening was over, not a single slice of pie was left.

    My husband and I are already debating which types of pies we will order for Thanksgiving. We will be lifelong Livin' the Pie Life customers. I highly recommend Livin' the Pie Life!!
  • A
    Abby Married on 01/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Let them eat pie - that's our motto. We went outside the standard wedding cake to feature pie at our wedding. Our guests were quite pleased. Heather if fun to work with and she delivered the pies baked fresh that day. We even had a special "mile high" pie for our "cake cutting." We definitely recommend Heather for our next event!
  • B
    Brian Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    BEST. PIE. EVER. You can stop reading there and you'll have everything you need to know about Heather and Livin' the Pie Life. Heather provided the pies for our wedding (we're not big cake fans). They were absolutely over-the-top amazing. Still, two months after our wedding, our friends and family are raving about the pies. My mother-in-law so loved one of the pies that she requested we bring one home for Christmas. Heather's pies have an incredibly crust that is buttery, flaky, and far and away better than the crust on any pie you've ever had. We had four different pies at our wedding and each was amazing and wonderful in their own way. On top of how good Heather's pies are, she is an even better person. She is so thoughtful, responsive, and kind that working with her is an absolute delight. Heather clearly puts her love for baking into every pie...and you will love eating them. Thank you Heather!
  • C
    Catherine Married on 08/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Heather is a fantastic baker of everything. Her pies are great, and the cake that she made for us was delicious and beautiful. Everything was of the highest quality and exactly what we asked for.
  • User1410968 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you want to try something a bit different than wedding cake, and something that your guest will absolutely LOVE - try serving wedding pie. My husband and I are not huge cake fans, but we always loved pie. Almost every Wednesday at the Clarendon Farmers Market, we would get a pie for the most amazing vendor - Livin the Pie Life. Heather Shiere is a pie goddess!! She makes so many amazing flavors, she custom makes pies to your liking, she is so flexible and easy to work with!

    We had a pie tasting about 4 wks before the wedding. Heather personally delivered a sampling of pies to our house for us to try with friends before we decided on the final flavors for the wedding. They were all delicious - it was so hard to decide. We finally chose a Banana Caramel Cream, Coconut Blueberry, Apple, and Chocolate Pecan. We ordered about 20 pies for 120 people - and it was the perfect amount. Heather even gave us take home boxes for guest so they could enjoy their dessert later.

    We got so many compliments on the pies! It was a perfect choice for our wedding. And I would highly, highly, recommend working with Livin the Pie Life!!! It was an amazing experience and probably one of the best parts of the wedding.